
C:\Users\odar004\Desktop\DID YOU KNOW.docPilot Form 2012 (2/12) 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

DID YOU KNOW? 
 

 

  

ORS 837.020 requires every pilot operating within Oregon to register with the Oregon 
Department of Aviation. By law, registration must take place within 60 days of issuance of 
any "appropriate effective federal certificate, permit, rating or license relating to competency 
as a pilot" - with the exception of student pilots, who must register prior to their first solo 
flight. Non-resident pilots must also register with Dept of Aviation if flying in Oregon. Only 
non-resident pilots flying in order for major air carriers are exempt from pilot registration 
requirement, so long as they do not engage in any recreational flying or personal business, 
such as charter, agricultural operations, flight instruction, etc. in Oregon. 
  
Registration fees are set by statute at a mere $12 initial fee for the first year.  They are 
subsequently renewable on the anniversary of the original registration for $24, which 
covers a two-year window of time. Every registered pilot must notify the Department in 
writing within 30 days of a change of address or change of name. 
  
Certificate of Oregon Pilot Registration. Every pilot operating within Oregon must 
present a federal certificate of competency and state certificate of registration upon 
demand. The certificate of registration shall be kept in the personal possession of the pilot 
when operating aircraft within this state. 
  
Dedication of Oregon Pilot Fees to Air Search & Rescue. Pursuant to ORS 837.035, 
proceeds from Oregon Pilot Registration fees are deposited in a dedicated account which 
funds Air Search & Rescue through the Department of State Police, Office of Emergency  
Management.  This revenue stream is dedicated to funding all expenses incurred in 
conducting activities authorized under ORS 401.555 to search for lost planes, as well as 
search and rescue of lost persons. The funds are also used to provide pilot survival 
education and training. 
  
If  you  have  questions  about  registration  requirements,  you  may contact  ODA  by 
telephone:   800-874-0102 or by e-mail at aviation.mail@state.or.us.  

Or visit us at: www.oregon.gov/aviation  
 

  
  

 
 

3040 25th Street, SE  
Salem, OR 97302-1125 
Phone: (503) 378-4880 

Toll Free: (800) 874-0102 
FAX: (503) 373-1688 

 

John A. Kitzhaber, MD, Governor 
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