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Section 1.1.  Uniform Aviation Citation 

 

ORS 837.100 authorizes the Director of the Oregon Department of Aviation to issue a 

citation for certain offenses described in ORS 837.990, as if the Director were a police 

officer.  The Director may also specifically designate employees of the ODA to issue 

citations.  Violations cited by the Director and designated employees shall be on the 

Oregon Uniform Aviation Citation and Complaint Form (Form xxxxx).  All entries are to 

be made in ink and PRINTED, except for the signature of the issuing employee.  

Employees must take utmost care to ensure that all entries are legible, correct, and 

complete. 

 

If a citation that has been filed with the court contains an error, ODA employees should 

bring the error to the court’s attention and request an amendment to the citation.  NOTE:  

Some courts automatically dismiss any citation in which there is an error. 

 

When a base fine is more than $6,250, the citation should be directed to Circuit Court 

because Justice Courts are able to assess fines only up to $6,250. 

 

Section 1.2.  Possible violations 

 

A citation may be issued for violations of any provision of ORS chapter 837 or for 

violation of any rule or order adopted under ORS chapter 837.  Some possible violations 

include: 

 

 ORS 837.015:  failure to register or renew registration of an aircraft when 

required by ORS 837.040 to 837.070; 

 

 ORS 837.020:  failure to register or renew registration as a pilot; 

 

 ORS 837.030:  failure to exhibit federal certificate of competency and state 

certificate of registration on demand; 

 

 ORS 837.075:  failure to obtain or renew an aircraft dealer’s license when 

required; 

 

 ORS 837.085:  dropping articles from an aircraft unless authorized by law; 

 

 ORS 837.090:  unauthorized non-emergency landing on public highway or public 

parks or other public grounds; 

 

 OSR 837.095:  unauthorized flight over or photography of military or naval 

property. 

 

This list is not comprehensive. 
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Section 1.3 Required Information 

 

The Complaint and Summons must contain certain information to be valid.  ORS 

153.048; ORS 153.051.  The field numbers shown below correspond with the required 

fields shown in the citation example at page ___. 

 

 Name of the court – fields 

 Name of the defendant – field 

 Statement of the offense(s) that can be readily understood - fields 

 Date, time and place at which violation is alleged to have occurred – field 

 Signature of citing officer certifying to the allegation – field 

 Date the citation was issued – field 

 Name of citing officer - field 

 Time and place at which person cited is to appear in court – field 

 The amount of base fine, if any, fixed for each offense – field 

 

Section 1.4.  Procedures for Issuing an Oregon Uniform Citation and Complaint 

 

When a violation of the law has occurred, the officer must: 

 

1.  Decide whether a citation should be issued for the offense.  (List considerations.) 

 

2.  Decide whether the authorized employee has authority to issue the citation.   

a. ODA authorized employees have authority to issue citations only for violations, 

not for misdemeanors;  

b. The conduct alleged to constitute a violation must have taken place in the 

presence of the ODA authorized employee; and 

c. The authorized employee must have reasonable grounds to believe that the 

conduct constitutes a violation.  ORS 153.042. 

 

3.  Guidelines for issuing multiple violations on the same citation.  Up to three violations 

may be listed on the same citation form. (List guidelines, if any.) 

 

4.  To issue a citation: 

 

a. Obtain the defendant’s identification (driver’s license, ODA registration, or other) 

and identifying information about the aircraft, if any. 

b. Inform the defendant of the violation and that a citation is being issued. 

c. Complete the citation (the numbers on the following pages correspond with the 

numbers on the sample citation form shown on page __). 

d. Citations must be written so that the defendant, the owner, the court, and other 

involved persons can understand the information (be careful with abbreviations). 

 

5.  Deliver the summons to the person cited and the complaint and abstract to the court. 
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NOTE:  Defendants shall be scheduled to appear at the Court designated by ___, unless 

the defendant specifically requests to appear in another court having concurrent 

jurisdiction.  Generally, the wishes of the local magistrates and the District Attorney 

should be followed.  ODA employees shall not suggest or advise a defendant to request to 

be cited into a particular court. 

 

Section 2.1.  Courts with Authority to Hear Violations 

 

A violation proceeding may be started in: 

 

a. The county in which the violation was committed (circuit court or justice court of 

the county or, if the violation occurred within a city, the municipal court of that 

city). 

b. Another county whose county seat is a shorter distance by road from the place 

where the violation was committee than the county seat of the county in which the 

violation was committed.  (circuit court or, if the violation occurred within a city, 

the municipal court of that city).  ORS 153.036. 

 

(State any general rules about where ODA citations are heard, unless defendant asks for a 

different court.) 

 

Section 2.2.  Stop, Detention, and Arrest for Violations 

 

An ODA employee with citation authority may stop and detain: 

a. any person if the authorized employee has reasonable grounds to believe that the 

person has committed a violation; 

b. any employee, agent or representative of a firm, corporation, or organization if the 

authorized employee has reasonable grounds to believe that the firm corporation 

or organization has committed a violation.  ORS 159.039 

 

An authorized ODA employee may stop and detain a person only long enough to: 

a. establish the identity of the person, firm, corporation or organization believed to 

have committed the violation; 

b. Conduct any investigation reasonably related to the violation; and 

c. Issue a citation for the violation. 

 

ODA employees may not arrest any person for a violation. 

 

Section 2.3.  Base Fines 

 

Base fines are set by statute and published by the Oregon Judicial Department, Office of 

the State Court Administrator.  ORS 153.125 to ORS 153.145; 2009 Minimum Base-Fine 

Schedule (MBFS-09) (dated October 1, 2009).  The base fine is not the maximum fine 

that a court can impose; it is the fine amount that the defendant can pay to resolve the 

violation offense without having to do anything else, unless the law or the court requires 
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the defendant to appear.  ORS 153.061.  The court can impose a higher fine, up to the 

maximum statutory sanction, if the law or court requires the defendant to appear. 

 

The base fine for a corporation is higher than that for an individual. 

Violations that may be cited by ODA employees under ORS 837.100 and ORS 837.990 

are all classified by statute as Class A violations.  (Violations of ORS 837.080, prohibited 

operation of an aircraft, is a Class B misdemeanor, employees of ODA may not issue 

citations for misdemeanors.) 

 

The current minimum base fines for Class A violations are:   

 

Individual  

1.  Basic $472 

2.  Accident/injury/risk – substantial contributing factor to an accident 

resulting in property damage or injury or substantial risk of injury 

 

$522 

  

Corporation  

3.  Basic $868 

4.  Accident/injury/risk – substantial contributing factor to an accident 

resulting in property damage or injury or substantial risk of injury 

 

$1012 

  

 

The current maximum fines for Class A violations are $720 for an individual defendant 

and $1480 for a corporation that is a defendant.  ORS 153.018.   

 

Section 3.  Completing the Uniform Citation Form 

 

(include instructions and a copy of the form) 

 

 

 

 

 

Section 4.1.  After the Citation is Completed 

 

1.  Write the court’s address on the back of the Summons copy.  As a courtesy to the 

defendant, point out the violation options section located on the back of the Summons. 

 

2.  Give the Summons copy to the defendant. 

 

3.  Explain to the defendant the violation for which the citation was issued, when and 

where to appear in court, the procedure for responding by mail, and the fine amount. 

 

4.  Return to the defendant any documents belonging to the defendant. 

 

Section 4.2.  Distribution of Copies 
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1.  Complaint – To the Court 

2.  Abstract – To the Court?? 

3.  Police Record – Must be retained by ODA (where?)  

4.  Officer Notes – Extra copy 

5.  Summons – To the defendant 

 

Section 4.3.  Records Retention 

 

Retain citations for __ years and store under lock and key.  (Check records retention 

period for ODA citations records.) 

 

How will you make sure that the violations are included in a person’s 

licensing/registration record?   

 

Section 5.  Correcting Citation Errors 

 

Citations cannot contain errors.  If an error is discovered in a citation, determine whether 

the citation was issued in error and needs to be dismissed or the citation needs to be 

reissued. 

 

If the citation should not have been issued or was issued in error, refer to Section 6 for 

instructions on how to dismiss the citation. 

 

Examples of errors on citations that must be corrected: 

 Incorrect base fine amount; 

 Issuing time or date; 

 Citation for violation. 

 

If the complaint copy of the citation has already been provided to the court: 

 

1.  Issue a new citation to correct the error(s). 

2.  Contact the court to advise that the previous citation was in error.  Ask the court to 

dismiss the previous citation and file the amended complaint. 

3.  Write a letter to the driver, and enclose the corrected summons.  See Section __ for a 

sample letter.  Unless the court requests it, the corrected summons need not be sent by 

certified mail. 

4.  Send a copy of the letter to the company involved, if any, and to the court.  Keep an 

office copy. 

 

If the error is discovered before the complaint has been provided to the court: 

1.  Void the original citation and issue a new citation correcting the error(s). 

2.  Write a letter to the driver, and enclose the corrected Summons.  See Section __ for a 

sample letter. 

3.  Send a copy of the letter to the company involved, if any, and the court.  Keep an 

office copy. 
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Section 6.  Dismissal of Citations 

 

Prior to any citation being filed with the court, the Director or the Director’s designee 

shall review the citation to ensure that: 

 

 The citation contains all information required. 

 The violation falls within the scope of authority for an authorized ODA employee 

to issue. 

 The violation could reasonably be expected to be upheld by the court.  This is an 

area that the Director or the Director’s designee may need to discuss with the 

local District Attorney or court clerk prior to filing the citation. 

 

Citations that do not meet the requirements listed above or that may not present ODA or 

the State of Oregon in a professional manner may be dismissed by the Director or the 

Director’s designee. 

 

Before any citation is dismissed by the Director or the Director’s designee, it should be 

reviewed with the issuing employee, provided that the review will not cause an undo 

delay in notifying the defendant of the dismissal. 

 

All enforcement actions may be evaluated by management and are subject to change 

based upon extenuating circumstances.  If changes are made to the original enforcement 

document, the issuing employee will be informed of the changes and reasons for them. 

 

Section 7.  Base Fine Acceptance 

 

No employee of ODA shall accept payment of a base fine from a defendant.  If a 

defendant asks an ODA employee to accept payment of the base fine, sometimes called 

“bail,” please politely decline and advise the defendant how the matter can be dealt with 

by mail or by a phone call to the court. 

 

836.525¹  

Enforcement of ORS 836.510 and 836.520 

The law enforcing agencies authorized to enforce the laws of the state with respect to the 

rules of the road and the regulation of motor vehicles using the public highways of the 

state are likewise authorized to enforce ORS 836.510 (Use of certain ocean beaches as 

landing fields) and 836.520 (Action on petition). [Formerly 492.810 [bad link]] 

 

https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/836.510
https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/836.510
https://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/836.520
http://blog.oregonlaws.org/?p=173

