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FINAL ORDER
As of: June 10,2014

BEFORE THE ELECTRICAL AND ELEVATOR BOARD OF THE STATE OF

OREGON
, )

IN THE MATTER OF: ) NOTICE OF PROPOSED ASSESSMENT
) OF A CIVIL PENALTY

JARED LYNN KIMBER, AN INDIVIDUAL )

dba COLUMBIA VOICE AND DATA ) FINAL ORDER ON DEFAULT

: B :
RESPONDENT ) CASE NO. C2014-0018

)
)

Under Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 455.895 and 455.895(1)(b), and Oregon
Administrative Rules (OAR) 918-001-0036, the Oregon Electrlcal and Elevator Board (Board)
proposes disciplinary action against Respondent in the fom of civil penalties totaling $6,000 for
violations of Building Codes Division statutes and rules'/a_s follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On or about January 6, 2014, at 1231 NW Hoyt $tfeet, Suite 401, Portland, Oregon,

- Respondent installed voice and data cabling in a;cci)mmercial building, for the account of
another, without an Oregon electrical contractor’s license.

2. Respondent installed the voice and data cabling without first obtaining an electrical
permit. |

f

3. At no relevant time did Respondent possess a valid electrician license.

APPLICABLE LAW

1. Under ORS 479.620(1), a person may not, withofuf an electrical contractor’s license,
engage in the business of making electrical installations, advertise as or otherwise purport
to be licensed to make electrical installations or purport to be actlng as a business that
makes electrical installations."'

2. ORS 479.530(10) defines electrical installation as the construction or installation of
electrical wiring and the permanent attachment or installation of electrical products.

3. Under ORS 479. 550(1) no person shall work on any new electrlcal installation for which
a permit has not been issued.

4. Under ORS 479.620(3), no person may make anf)' electrical installation without a
supervising or journeyman electrician’s license.’

" Pursuant to’'OAR 918-030-0010(8), for purposes of ORS 447.040, 479.620, 480.630 and any other license

regulated by ORS chapter 455, "engaging in the business" means to advertise or solicit, contract or agree to perform,
or to perform, work for which a license or permit is required under Oregon law, including a single instance.

S
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5. Under ORS 479.905(4), limited energy electrical 4ctivity means installation, alteration,
maintenance, replacement or repair of electrical wiring and electrical products that do not
exceed 100 volt-amperes in Class 2 and Class 3 installations.

CONCLUSIONS OF KLAW
1. Voice and data systems are limited energy system%, as defined by ORS 479.905(4).

2. When Respondent installed voice and data cabling, for the account of another,
Respondent made electrical installations, as definéd by ORS 479.530(10).

3. By making electrical installations as described in Findings of Fact (1), without an Oregon
electrical contractor’s license, Respondent violated ORS 479.620(1).

. 4. By making electrical installations, without first obtaining a valid electrical permit,
Respondent violated ORS 479.550(1).

5. By making electrical installations, without an electrician’s license, Respondent violated
ORS 479.620(3).

ORDER

Under ORS 455.995 and 455.895(1)(b), and OAR 918-001-0036, the Electrical and
Elevator Board assesses the following:

1. a$3,000 civil penalty for violating ORS 479.620(1)
2. a$1,000 civil penalty for violating ORS 479.550(1)
3. a$2,000 civil penalty for violating ORS 479.620(3)

The civil penalties assessed total $6,000.
NOTICE OF RIGHT TO HEARING

Respondent is entitled to a hearing as provided by the Administrative Procedures Act,
Oregon Revised Statutes, chapter 183. If Respondent requests a hearing, the request must be in
writing and filed with the Building Codes Division no later than 20 days from the service date.
If this Notice was served to Respondent in person, the service date is the date Respondent
received this Notice. If this Notice was served through the mail, the service date is the day the
Notice was mailed, not the day Respondent received it.

If a request for hearing is not received within 20 days, Respondent’s right to a hearing is
considered waived. Mail hearing requests to Building Codes Division, Enforcement Section,
P.O. Box 14470, Salem, Oregon, 97309.

Respohdent has the right to be repreéented by legél counsel. ORS 183.457 provides that a
corporation may be represented by an authorized representative at the hearing. If Respondent
requests a hearing, Respondent will be notified of the time and place of the hearing and be given

|| information on procedures, right of representation and other rights of parties relating to the
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hearing before it begiris.
NOTICE TO ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS

Active duty service members have a right to stay proceedings under the federal
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. Contact the Oregon State Bar at 800-452-8260 or the Oregon
Military Department at 800-452-7500 for more information. If you need help finding legal
assistance, visit the United States Armed Forces Legal Assistance Legal Services Locator
website at http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php.

NOTICE OF FINAL ORDER

If Respondent does not request a hearing within 20 days, withdraws a hearing request,
notifies the Board or the administrative law judge that they will not appear, or fails to appear at a
scheduled hearing, the Board will issue a Final Order by Default. If the Board issues a Final
Order by Default, it designates the file, including any materials submitted by Respondent that
relate to this matter, as the record for purpose of proving a prima facie case.

Respondent is entitled to judicial review of any final order issued in the matter of this
Notice of Proposed Assessment of a Civil Penalty. Judicial review may be obtained by filing a
petition for review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 60 days after the Final Order is
served. See ORS 183.482. If the Order was served in person, the service date is the date
Respondent received the Order. If the Order was served through the mail, the service date is the
day the Order was mailed, not the day it was received by Respondent. If Respondent does not
file a petition for judicial review within 60 days, Respondent will lose the right to appeal. The
phone number for the Oregon Court of Appeals is 503-986-5555.

Dated thstOM ) __day of //WW ,2014

e Wb .

Chair
Electrical and Elevator Board
State of Oregon
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