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Kate Brown, Governor

April 19, 2016 Fax: 503-378-2322
bcd.oregon.gov

To: INTERESTED PARTIES

From: BRETT SALMON, MANAGER

POLICY AND TECHNICAL SERVICES

Subject: MULTNOMAH COUNTY FEE ADOPTION

The State Building Codes Division (division) has received the enclosed notice of intent to adopt
building inspection program fees from the above listed municipality. Pursuant to Oregon
Administrative Rule 918-020-0220, municipalities seeking to adopt fees are required to provide
the following summary information 45 days prior to the proposed adoptive date.

(A) The affected specialty code or program areas;

(B) A description of the proposed building inspection program fees including the approximate
percentage change when applicable;

(C) The proposed effective date;

(D) The date of the last fee increase in the specialty code or program area if applicable;

(E) The anticipated date, time and location of the local municipal hearing scheduled pursuant to
Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 294.160;

(F) The name, phone number, and title of a contact person; and

(G) A narrative explaining the purpose of the proposed fee adoption.

The division is required to notify interested parties after receiving a notice of intent to adopt
building inspection program fees from a municipality. Enclosed is the information the
municipality provided to the division pursuant to the above administrative rule requirements.

If you have concerns about this proposed fee change, you may contact the municipality directly
by contacting Deborah Sievert Morris, Sr. Business Operations Manager, 503-823-7338,
Deborah.SievertMorris@portlandoregon.gov or attend the local municipal hearing Thursday,
June 2, 2016 at 9:30 a.m., Multnomah Building, First Floor Commissioners Boardroom 100, 501
SE Hawthorne Blvd, Portland. If you still have unresolved concerns, you may appeal this fee
adoption (pursuant to ORS 455.210(3) and 479.845) by sending a written request to the division
within 60 days of the municipality’s letter of notice to the division.

cc: MULTNOMAH COUNTY
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brett.d.salmon@oregon.gov

Brett D. Salmon

Policy & Technical Services Manager

Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services
Building Codes Division '
PO Box 14470

Salem, OR 97309-0404

RE Proposed Fee Changes
Dear Mr. Salmon:

Multnomah County proposes to make changes to fees related to inspection, plan review, and
permit issuance services it provides under the Oregon Structural Specialty Code.

Multnomah County reviews its fees, fee structures, revenues, expenditures and contingency
funds on an annual basis. Through this study, it was determined that the following fee changes
are needed to better align cost recovery and long-term financial goals:

Building Permit Fee — 3% reduction (last fee increase — 7/1/2012)

Manufactured Dwelling Park (last fee increase - 7/1/2012)

Occupant Load Sign Fee, Simple and Complex (New fee)

Recreational Park (last fee increase —7/1/2012)

Temporary Certificate of Occupancy — Associated with Phased Seismic Agreement
(New fee)

il

The proposed date of the changes is July 1, 2016.




Brett D. Salmon

RE: Proposed Fee Changes
April 14,2016

Page 2

The anticipated date, time and location of our Board hearing scheduled pursuant to ORS 294,160
is 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, June 2, 2016, in the Multnomah Building, First Floor Commissioners
Boardroom 100, at 501 SE Hawthorne Boulevard, Portland, Oregon.

This notice is provided pursuant to the notification requirements of OAR 918-020-0220 and ORS
455.210.

Should have you have any questions about the proposed fee changes, please contact Deborah
Sievert Morris, Sr. Business Operations Manager for the City of Portland, at 503-823-7338 or at
Deborah.sievertmorris@portlandoregon.gov.

Sincerely,

Jed T8mbkins
Assistant County Attorney

Enclosures

Ccet Deborah Sievert-Morris




MULTNOMAH COUNTY

PROPOSED

Building and Other Permits Fee Schedule
Effective Date: July 1, 2016
Revised: 3/31/2016

BUILDING PERMIT FEE

Total Value of Construction Work to be Performed:
$1 - $500 $95.00 minimum fee
Maximum number of allowable* inspections: 2

$501 - $2,000 $95.00 for the first $500,
plus $2-44 $2.37 for each additional $100
or fraction thereof, to and including $2,000
Maximum number of allowable* inspections: 2

$2,001 - $25,000 $434-80 $130.55 for the first $2,000,
plus $9:-54 $9.25 for each additional $1,000
or fraction thereof, to and including $25,000
Maximum number of allowable* inspections: 5

$25,001 - $50,000 $354-02 $343.30 for the first $25,000,
plus $7-62 $6.81 for each additional $1,000
or fraction thereof, to and including $50,000
Maximum number of allowable* inspections: 6

$50,001 - $100,000 $626-52 $513.55 for the first $50,000,
plus $4.65 $4.51 for each additional $1,000
or fraction thereof, to and including $100,000
Maximum number of allowable* inspections: 7

$100,001 and up $759:02 $739.05 for the first $100,000,
plus $3-83 $3.72 for each additional $1,000
or fraction thereof

*Inspections exceeding the maximum number of allowable shall be charged at the Reinspection Fee rate
of $97 per inspection.

Total Calculated Permit Valuation:

Permit Valuation Methodology: The Permit Valuation methodology is mandated by the State of Oregon in
OAR 918-050-0100. A structural permit fee for new construction and additions shall be calculated using the
ICC Building Valuation Data Table current as of April 1 of each year, using the occupancy and construction
type as determined by the building official, multiplied by the square footage of the structure. The square
footage of a building, addition, or garage shall be determined from outside exterior wall to outside exterior
wall for each level. The valuation used will be the greater of either the above calculated value or the value as
stated by the applicant. A structural permit fee for aiterations or repair shall be based on the fair market
value of the permitted work as determined by the building official and defined below.

Fair Market Value: The Fair Market Value to be used in computing the permit fee for alterations and repair
shall be the total value of all construction work for which the permit is issued, as well as all finish work,
painting, roofing, electrical, plumbing, heating, air conditioning, elevators, fire extinguishing systems and
other permanent work or equipment, and contractor's profit.

H:AFin\Fee Change July 2016\BCD - Multnomah County\
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MULTNOMAH COUNTY

PROPOSED

Buﬂdlng and Other Permits Fee Schedule
Effective Date: July 1, 2016

Revised:

313112016

Manufactured Dwelling Park
Permit Fee:

11 - 20 spaces
more than 20 spaces

Plan review

Zoning inspection
Cabana installation

and plan review.

(Development or enlargement of a manufactured dwelling park)

1 - 10 new spaces er-fewer $560 $56-each-space

$551 $560 plus $30 for each space over 10
$857 $860 plus $25 for each space over 20

65% of the permit fee
20% of the permit fee
$123

Additional fees are required for separate permits which may include but are not limited to the following:
building, plumbing, electrical, water, sewage, public right of way approaches and improvements,

Occupant Load Sign Fee

For replacement or new occupant load signs in other than new construction.

Simple  $50
Complex $368

Additional fees are required for separate permits which may include but are not limited to the following:

building, plumbing, electrical, water, sewage and plan review.

Recreational Park
(Development or enlargement of a recreational park)
Permit Fee:

11 - 20 spaces
21 - 50 spaces
more than 50 spaces

Plan review
Zoning inspection
Cabana installation

1 - 10 new spaces orfewer-$320

$318 $320 plus $19 for each space over 10
$515 $510 plus $15 for each space over 20
$954 $960 plus $12 for each space over 50

65% of the permit fee
20% of the permit fee
$123

Additional fees are required for separate permits which may include but are not limited to the following: building,
plumbing, electrical, water, sewage, public right of way approaches and improvements, and plan review.

Temporary Certificate of Occupancy - Associated with Phased Seismic Agreement

If a Phased Seismic Agreement proposal is acceptable to the City of Portland. the building owner will be required
to obtain a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy for the periods between the initial and final phases or work. The
fee will be paid on an annual bases. and extended as necessary to cover the period of the agreement.

The Temporary Certificate of Occupancy - Associated with Phased Seismic Agreement fee will be equal to one
half of the monthly Temporary Cerficiate of Occupancy, and may have a duration of no less than one month, and
no greater than 12 months.
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