California Applicants; FAQs

“Will my license transfer from California to Oregon?”

Oregon does not have “reciprocity”; however if you meet our Application Requirements, your license will

transfer to Oregon. As part of our application packet, Oregon requires an Official Score Report from the

Association of Social Work Boards verifying that you have passed the ASWB Clinical Level Exam.

The California state vignette exam is not accepted in Oregon.

“What if | have not taken the ASWB Clinical Level Exam? Can | be Grandfathered in?”

Unfortunately, there is no getting around the Clinical Exam requirement. If you have not taken the ASWB

Clinical Exam, you are required to come in to Oregon as a Clinical Social Work Associate — Oregon’s

ACSW equivalent.

*What is a CSWA? What is a CSWA Candidate?”

The CSWA program (equivalent to CA’s ACSW program) is a 2 — 5 year process in which an MSW is
allowed to practice clinical social work under the supervision of an LCSW. During this process, the CSWA

is able to accrue hours toward independent licensure.

As an applicant whose hours have already been completed, you will come in to Oregon as a CSWA
Candidate; meaning that your hours are done and you are preparing to take the ASWB Clinical Level

Exam.



http://www.oregon.gov/blsw/Pages/LCSW.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/blsw/Pages/cswa.aspx

“What are Oregon’s hour requirements?”

Total Worked Hours: 3500
Total Direct Client Hours: 2000
Total Supervised Hours: 100*

* A minimum of 50 of these supervised hours must be completed in Individual Supervision.

What is a Six Month Evaluation?

Oregon Rules and laws require all CSWAs to submit Six Month Evaluation Reports, without exception.

Failure to report may result in delayed or denied renewal; A Letter of Concern will be attributed to files in
which failure to report is an ongoing or reoccurring issue.
This form is to be completed with your supervisor biannually.

Candidate Evaluations are different from a normal 6 month evaluation, so be sure to download the correct

form.

OAR 877-020-0010 Plan of Practice and Supervision

(d) The associate must submit to the board, on a form provided by the board, each evaluation by the
supervisor (or supervisors in the event two are authorized) required by OAR 877-020-0012(2)(e)(A) of the

progress by the associate toward completion of the plan.

**If you pass the exam within six months of your approval date, you will not need to submit a report!

What is the total cost of the CSWA?

The fees for the CSWA total 260.00 and are broken down as follows:
Application fee — 150.00

Initial Certificate fee — 60.00

Background Check fee — 50.00

**Exam fees do apply, but are not paid to The Oregon Board of Licensed Social Workers, and therefore

should be discussed directly with ASWB (information can be found at www.aswb.org).



http://www.oregon.gov/blsw/AnalyticsReports/2%20-%20CSWA%20CANDIDATE%20%20-6-%20MONTH%20EVALUATION%20REPORT%20--UPDATED--01.14.2014.pdf
http://www.aswb.org/

“Supervision?”

*Why do | need it?

Oregon Rules and Laws state that all Clinical Social Work Associates must practice under supervision.
OAR 877-020-0009(4)(c)

(c) Provides for all clinical social work practice by the associate to be supervised and that supervision of
the associate meets the requirements of OAR 877-020-0012.

*What are the supervision requirements for Candidates?”
CSWA candidates must meet with a supervisor once monthly for a minimum of one hour per meeting.
OAR 877-0220-0010 Plan of Practice and Supervision (B)

(B) After the associate has completed the plan requirements contained in paragraph (A) of this sub-

section, the associate must continue to meet at least once each month with a plan supervisor for a

minimum of one hour.

*Who can supervise me?

An LCSW who has held licensure for at least 2 years, and has completed 6 hours of Supervision Training.

OAR 877-020-0012 Requirements of Supervision

(b) The supervisor of the associate:

(A) Must have completed two years of licensed practice.

(B) Must have completed and reported to the board at least six hours of continuing education hours
described in OAR 877-025-0006(1) or (2) in techniques of supervision within five years prior to

commencing the supervision of an associate.

*I've been licensed for a while already...what do | talk to my supervisor about?
You can utilize your time with your LCSW Supervisor in any clinically relevant way you wish; however it is

often helpful for candidates to discuss exam preparedness with their supervisor.

**A Complete version of the Oregon Administrative Rules can be found here.



http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_800/oar_877/877_tofc.html

