SUPERVISION FOR LICENSURE

REQUIREMENTS
REPORTS
COMPLETION

OREGON BOARD OF LICENSED SOCIAL WORKERSAPRIL 23, 2021HOST: PACIFIC UNIVERSITY

What is the Board of Licensed Social Workers and what does it do?

THE MISSION OF THE BLSW IS TO "PROTECT THE CITIZENS OF OREGON THROUGH LICENSING AND REGULATION OF SOCIAL WORKERS."

Board of Licensed Social Workers

A professional regulatory and licensing board, as well as a state government agency with:

- A seven-member volunteer board whose members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.
- An office in Salem and a staff of 7 full-time positions, three that work in licensing, three in compliance and the director.
- ▶ A biennial budget of \$2 million for the 2019-21 biennium.
- Over 7,000 regulated social workers in 4 different licenses: RBSW, LMSW, CSWA and LCSW

Public Protection takes two forms:

- Standards sets standards of competency and issues professional licenses to those who meet the standards.
 - Educational requirements
 - **Experience**
 - Background checks

- Accountability holds licensees accountable to established standards.
 - Public complaint process
 - Investigation and review
 - Sanctions, including suspension or revocation of license, and fines

What is "Clinical" Social Work?

"...assessment, diagnosis or treatment of mental, emotional or behavioral disorders or conditions..."

- You must have a license issued by the BLSW to practice "clinical" social work in Oregon.
- Either the Clinical Social Work Associate (CSWA) certificate or the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) license.

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) is the independent practice license in Oregon

To get an LCSW, you must first be a CSWA

How do you become a CSWA?

- 1. Application;
- 2. A Master of Social Work degree;
- 3. A passing score on the BLSW Rules and Laws exam;
- 4. An approved plan of supervision;
- 5. Criminal background check; and
- 6. Fees.

NO national exam at this point in the process.

Without a current, approved plan of supervision, a CSWA cannot practice clinical social work. Working without an approved plan may be considered unlicensed practice and the CSWA could be disciplined.

- Work hours and supervisor meeting hours accrued without an approved plan DO NOT count toward plan completion.
- □ BLSW cannot back-date approval.

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)

To get an LCSW, you must complete your Plan of Supervision

- Completed Plan of Supervision including 3500 total work hours, 2000 direct client hours and 100 supervised hours (50 hours must be individual supervision);
- Master of Social Work degree (original transcript)*;
- 3. A scaled score of 70 on the national ASWB Clinical-level exam;
- A passing score on the BLSW Rules and Laws exam*;
- Verification of licensure from another state (if any)*;
- 6. Criminal background check*;
- 7. Initial License Form; and
- 8. Fees (\$260 for two years).
- * On file from CSWA application. Do not resubmit unless requested.

Developing a Plan of Supervision

COMPONENTS
PARTICIPANTS
REQUIREMENTS

Plan of Supervision: Components

Approved Plan

- Appropriate work site
- Identify an Administrative
 Supervisor
- Appropriate work assignments
 - Social work related
 - Clinical component

Approved Supervisor

- BLSW-approved supervisor
- Either provided by employer or provided by CSWA from outside
- Authorized to review work assignments and cases

Appropriate Work Site

Supervision must be in an "agency" as defined in OAR 877-020-0000

Characteristics of an Agency

- Either public or private
- Engaged in "clinical social work"
- Cases assigned centrally
- Billing done centrally in agency name
- Agency collects payments
- Agency responsible for records
- Agency name is prominent
- Agency hires/fires staff
- Agency has policies/procedures

Plan of Supervision: Participants Plan Supervisor vs. Administrative Supervisor

Plan Supervisor

- BLSW-approved
- May or may not work at the agency
- Must meet with CSWA at least 2 times per month
- Not responsible for HR tasks like scheduling, time-off or tax reporting
- MUST APPROVE AND SUBMIT PLAN OF SUPERVISION ONLINE

Administrative Supervisor

- BLSW not required to approve
- Works at agency and is aware of CSWA working under a Plan of Supervision and acknowledges plan requirements
- Meeting with CSWA not required
- Responsible for all HR requirements

Plan of Supervision: Requirements

Plan Supervisors must be:

- An Oregon LCSW for at least 2 years;
- An Oregon licensed clinical psychologist or psychiatrist; or *
- An LCSW licensed in another state with requirements "substantially similar" to Oregon's.

All Plan Supervisors must:

- □ Be approved by BLSW;
- Have completed 6 hours of CE in supervision in the past 5 years; and
- Have passed BLSW Rules/Laws exam in the past 5 years.

* No more than 50 hours of the required 100 hours of supervision can be with Oregon licensed psychologist or psychiatrist.

Plan of Supervision: Meeting Requirements

- A CSWA must meet with their Plan Supervisor at least two times each month, for at least one hour each meeting.
- Meetings may be in person, by telephone or video call.**
- Meetings may be one-on-one or in a group. ***

CSWA / Plan Supervisor meetings:

- Must occur regularly to allow CSWA the ability to practice clinical social work;
- Must allow CSWA and Plan Supervisor to discuss cases and practice issues; and
- Must coordinate with Administrative Supervisor and agency requirements.

** COVID emergency rule allows all supervision meetings by phone or video call. No in-person meetings required during COVID emergency.

*** Groups can be no more than 5 CSWAs with a Plan Supervisor.

Plan of Supervision: Reporting

CSWA and Plan Supervisor must regularly report to BLSW their progress toward plan completion, including work hours, supervision hours and concerns or issues, if any. Supervision reports must include:

Reporting period;

- Number of work experience hours, including direct client hours, earned during period;
- Number of Supervisor meeting hours; and
- Supervisor narrative of progress, including areas of focus or concern.

BLSW is moving to align supervision reporting timeline with renewal date. You will see changes to reporting dates in months ahead.

SUPERVISORS: REPORT IMMEDIATELY – DON'T WAIT IF...

- You have serious concerns about CSWA's competence, actions with clients or potential impairment;
- CSWA is not complying with the plan or supervision;
- CSWA takes a leave of absence or goes inactive;
- CSWA's employment changes or ends; or
- The supervision relationship ends.

CONTACT BLSW!

Plan Completion: Practice Requirements

Total Work Hours – 3,500

- □ A minimum of 3,500 hours
- "social work related"

Direct Contact Hours – 2,000

- A minimum of 2,000 of the 3,500 total required hours
- Must be clinical social work, directly with client or group of clients
- May be in-person, by phone or video

Plan Completion: Supervisor Meetings

Total Supervisor Meetings – 100 Hours

- Must be with Oregon or other-state LCSW, Oregon-licensed Psychologist or Psychiatrist
- No more than 50 hours with Psychologist or Psychiatrist will count toward required 100 hours, balance of hours must be with Oregon or other-state LCSW
- No more than 50 hours may be in a group setting (5 or fewer with a supervisor) and count toward the 100 hour requirement.

Plan Completion: Supervision for 2 Years

- A completed plan must demonstrate at least 2 years of active supervision.
- Active supervision does not include inactive status or other unapproved leave or break in supervision. *
- ASWB will not allow BLSW to approve a CSWA to take the national clinical-level exam with less than 2 years supervision.

* Plan supervisors please notify BLSW if your supervisee takes a leave of absence or moves to inactive status.

However... Plans Will Change

- Any change to a Plan of Supervision must be approved by BLSW before it takes effect.
- BLSW cannot back-date plan approval.

If your plans change, change your plan.

Plan Change Process

Changing supervisors:

- Locate new supervisor;
- Verify that new supervisor is BLSW approved;
- □ Revise plan with new supervisor;
- Coordinate with supervisor and submit plan changes online through licensing portal to BLSW for approval; and
- Work with previous supervisor to submit Supervision Report, with all hours accrued with that supervisor.

Changing work site:

- □ Identify new work site;
- Verify that new site meets "agency" requirements;
- Revise plan and describe new job duties and tasks; and
- Coordinate with supervisor and submit plan changes online through licensing portal to BLSW for approval.

Plan change process continued...

Other plan changes – No BLSW approval required

- Changing administrative supervisor
- Change in assigned work tasks or work hours
- □ Change in work site location, if with the same employer

HOWEVER, PLEASE UPDATE YOUR CSWA LICENSING PORTAL WITH THESE CHANGES

Planning Your Plan Change

If a CSWA practices clinical social work under a Plan of Supervision that has not been approved by BLSW, either because they have a new Plan Supervisor or have changed jobs:

- CSWA may be practicing clinical social work without a license and may be subject to a fine (up to \$5,000).
- CSWA will NOT be able to count practice hours or supervision session hours toward completing their plan.
- □ BLSW cannot back-date plan approval.

Plan Ahead

 If CSWA knows that their supervisor is leaving
 If CSWA knows that they are changing jobs

- Submit the Plan Changes online through the licensing portal in coordination with the new Plan Supervisor or new employer.
- Submit changes to BLSW with future effective date.
- Get the new plan approved before it is needed.
- There will be no gap between approved plans.

If CSWA can't plan ahead, they should:

- □ Notify BLSW
- Notify their employer if their plan supervisor leaves
- Notify their plan supervisor if they change jobs

- If a plan supervisor leaves unexpectedly, CSWA MUST notify their employer that they cannot practice clinical social work until they have a new, approved plan.
- If CSWA changes jobs, they cannot start clinical practice until they have a new, approved plan.
- BLSW may work with CSWA to move their license to "inactive" status while they work to get new, approved plan.

BLSW Plan Change Approval Timeline

BLSW will review new plan to:

- Determine if new supervisor has met requirements
- Determine if new work-site meets "agency" requirements
- Make sure that all necessary parties have approved (CSWA, plan supervisor and employer)

Board must approve new plan

- Approval does not have to wait for a board meeting
- Interim approvals are made approximately every two weeks
- Contact BLSW in case of REAL emergency

ASWB Exam Approval Process

- When CSWA has completed at least 75 supervision hours AND has practiced at least 2 years under a Plan of Supervision, CSWA may request exam approval from BLSW.
- BLSW will review the submitted supervision reports to verify at least 75 supervision hours.
- □ BLSW will notify ASWB that the CSWA is approved to take the clinical-level exam.
- ASWB will contact CSWA with information on contacting testing vendor to make arrangements to take the exam.
- □ ASWB will notify BLSW with exam results.

A Completed Plan shows:

- 24 months active supervision
- 3500 work hours, with at least 2000 direct client hours
- At least 100 hours meeting with Plan
 Supervisor
- History of supervision reports
- Exam approval

- CSWA who has completed the Plan of Supervision is considered a "Candidate" for licensure.
- To practice clinical social work, a Candidate MUST continue to be supervised under an approved plan. A Candidate CANNOT practice independently.
- After meeting 100 hour requirement and until receiving LCSW, a CSWA MUST: 1) continue under supervision, 2) meet with the Plan Supervisor for one hour at least once per month, and 3) continue to submit regular supervision reports.

Initial License Form – Submit after passing ASWB Clinical-level exam

DO NOT re-apply for LCSW

- Initial License Form is 2-page information update and mandatory questions and is available from BLSW
- □ Fee is \$260 for first 2-year license

- Initial License Form is reviewed and approved by staff
- Board approval is not required

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) !!!

NO SUPERVISIONREPORTING

- CONTINUING EDUCATION
 NOT REQUIRED FOR 1ST
 RENEWAL
- CONTINUING EDUCATION
 REQUIRED FOR 2ND
 RENEWAL

QUESTIONS?

For more information

Contact us at: (503) 378-5735 oregon.blsw@oregon.gov

randy.harnisch@oregon.gov

Oregon Board of Licensed Social Workers

3218 Pringle Rd SE

Suite 240

Salem, Oregon 97302