Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Licensed Master's Social Worker

Degree Required

A Master's of Social Work (MSW) degree from a college or university accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) or Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work (CASSW).

Click Here For a Directory of Accredited Programs.
Back to Top

ASWB Masters Level Exam


National Exam by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) (Master's level)

 

The ASWB Master's Exam can be completed with authorization from the Oregon Board.  Authorization is given immediately following completion of all other application requirements. If an applicant has completed the Master's exam in another jurisdiction, they should simply request that verification of a passing score be sent to this Board, from either the ASWB, or from the state Board which originally authorized the exam.

   

Back to Top

How to Apply

Requirements
The requirements are found in ORS 675.533 and include:
  • A Master's Degree in Social Work
  • ASWB Master's Exam (required beginning January 1, 2013)
  • Oregon Jurisprudence Exam  

 

The LMSW Application includes:

Pages 1-7 are required for all licenses. Pages 8-12 are specifically applicable to CSWA applicants. You may leave this off your submission.

 Each applicant seeking to become licensed must meet and/or complete the requirements for the Licensed Master Soical Worker as outlined in Division 15 of the Oregon Administrative Rules. The applicant must complete and submit the application. Please take note of the sections within the application that may or may not be applicable. 

An applicant may have thier fingers printed with any agency that provides this service. Out of state fingerprinting is perfectly acceptable, however we can only accept Live Scan fingerprints done in Oregon.
In the event of a livescan, a fingerprint card and the corrosponding ID Form are not necessary. Please simply submit the "Request For Live Scan Transmission" form.
Please carefully read the instructions on the form for further information.

 

  • ORIGINAL TRANSCRIPT

An official transcript is required as part of the application process and is to be mailed directly from your graduate school to the Board office at 3218 Pringle Road SE, Suite 240, Salem, OR 97302. Please note on the application if the name printed on your transcript is different from your current legal name. 

Together with Oregon's Rules and Statutes for reference, this is an open-book, self-administered quiz on the Rules and Statutes governing Oregon social workers. 
Once completed, the exam should be mailed, faxed, or emailed back to the Board's office for scoring. As applicable, the Oregon Jurisprudence Exam may be required a second time if there are any changes to Oregon's Rules and Statutes prior to licensure.
It is the policy of the Board that all applicants pass the Jurisprudence exam prior to issuance of a license or certificate.
 
 
 
Back to Top

Fees

The following are the LMSW licensing fees:

Application Fee $  50
Initial LMSW Fee $100
Criminal Background Check Fee $  50
Total:
$200

Back to Top

Where to Submit

Submit the application materials and all fees to the Board Office:
 
 
Board of Licensed Social Workers
3218 Pringle Road
Suite 240
 
Salem, OR  97302-6310

Back to Top