
    OREGON BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

        FIRM REGISTRATION RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS 
    January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2015 

  
 

  

 

Please read these instructions before completing the renewal application. You may 
review the relevant administrative rules on the Board Web site: http://oregon.gov/BOA/.  
 
You may also direct questions to the Board by phone, fax or e-mail:   
Phone (503) 378-2264; Fax (503) 378-3575; e-mail – kristen.m.adamson@state.or.us 
 
You must respond to this renewal! 
 
General Requirements  
Public accounting firm registrations expire December 31 of odd-numbered years.  
 
Firms are required to be registered in Oregon if: 
(1) The firm has an office located in Oregon and performs attestation or compilation 

services; or 
(2) The firm does not have an office located in Oregon and performs attestation 
 services for clients located in Oregon.  
 
Postmarks must be printed by a U.S. post office or other delivery service. The date stamped 
by a private postage meter will not be used to determine if the renewal application was 
submitted on or before December 31st. Firm renewal applications postmarked after December 
31st must include additional payment of a late renewal fee in the amount of $175.  
(OAR 801-010-0010)  
 
Firms that fail to renew by December 31, 2013 and continue to operate under the 
unregistered firm name are subject to disciplinary action and civil penalties up to $5,000 for 
each violation. (ORS 673.160, ORS 673.170 and ORS 673.400). Firm registrations which do 
not meet renewal requirements by March 3, 2014 will be terminated. 
 
 

 
 

REMEMBER! 
Requirement to Register with the Oregon Secretary of State 

 

CPA firms that are required to be registered under the rules of the Oregon Secretary of 
State, Corporation Division, must attach a printout of the current registration to the  
Firm Renewal application. You may print a copy of the firm record from the Corporation  
Division Web site, http://www.filinginoregon.com, or call the Corporation Division for 
information at 503-986-2200. 
 

If registration with the Corporation Division is not currently active, the public accounting 
firm registration will not be issued. The Board will not register a firm name that is  
different than the name registered with the Oregon Corporation Division.  
 
 
 

http://oregon.gov/BOA/
mailto:kristen.m.adamson@state.or.us
http://www.filinginoregon.com/
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Firms Not Required to Register or Wanting to Terminate 
If a firm is not required to register under ORS 673.160, or if a firm wishes to terminate its 
registration, you still must complete the form and sign on page 4. Not responding to this firm 
renewal may subject the firm to a $500 civil penalty. 
 
Corrections 
Please update any incorrect firm name, mailing and physical address, or contact person 
information printed on the form. 
 
 
  1   Principal Place of Business 

Indicate whether or not the firm’s principal place of business is in Oregon. 
[OAR 801-010-0345(3)(a)] 
 
Indicate whether the firm is registered with the Secretary of State’s Corporation Division. 
 
List the physical address of each branch office in Oregon, the hours the branch is open to 
the public and the name and license number of licensee on duty during business hours. If 
more than one address, please list on a separate sheet of paper and attach to this form. 
[OAR 801-010-0345(3)(a)(C)] 
 
 
  2   Commissions, Referral Fees and Contingent Fees 

Indicate if the firm pays or receives compensation in the form of commissions, referral 
fees or contingent fees.  State the name of the regulatory authority, if any, that requires a 
license for providing such services and the number of the license, if any, held by the firm 
such as insurance or securities broker/dealer licenses. [OAR 801-030-0005(3)] 
 
 
  3   Firm Litigation Report 

All firms, whether located in Oregon or another jurisdiction, must disclose litigation actions that 
have not already been reported to the Board on the CPA Firm Renewal. If you are unsure 
about prior disclosures, check “yes” in the appropriate box and provide the information 
requested. For every “yes” response, attach factual documentation that includes the name of 
the court or regulatory body in which the action was filed, the date of filing, and description of 
the outcome. 
 
Firms are required to: 

(1) Disclose on each renewal application whether any jurisdiction has denied, suspended 
 or revoked the public accounting license of any person associated with the firm. 
 [OAR 801-010-0345(3)(a)(D)] 

 
(2) Provide written notice to the Board of any lawsuit, settlement or arbitration relating 
 to the  professional services of the firm if an essential element of such lawsuit 
 involved fraud, dishonesty or misrepresentation. Notice must be submitted 
 within 45 days of the filing of such action OAR 801-010-0345(5)(d), and also with 
 the next renewal application. [OAR 801-010-0345(3)(a)(E)] 
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(3) Disclose on each renewal application the filing of any criminal actions in which the 
firm, or any partner, owner, shareholder, manager or professional staff member of 
the firm was a named defendant, whether or not such action is final and whether 
any jurisdiction has denied, suspended or revoked the public accounting license of 
any person associated with the firm. [OAR 801-010-0345(3)(a)(F)] 

 
 
  4   Firm Employee and Ownership Information 

Provide the name, license number and state of issuance for every licensed certified public 
accountant and public accountant who provides services on behalf of the firm for clients 
located in Oregon or Oregon licensees who perform services for clients located outside of 
Oregon. Please indicate the ownership interest in the firm, if any, held by any licensee. 
Provide the name, title and percentage of ownership for all non-licensee owners. 
[OAR 801-010-0345(3)(a)(B)] 
 
 
  5   Attestation and Compilation Services 

Please show the average number of engagements performed annually in Oregon or for 
Oregon clients during each of the past two years in the service categories indicated. 
 
 
  6   Peer Review  

A firm must undergo peer review if it performs any level of the following services for 
clients: [OAR 801-050-0020(1)] 
 

Peer Review Requirements 

The Peer Review Program is an educational and remedial program designed to help 
you improve the quality of your practice. OSCPA administers the peer review 
program in Oregon according to AICPA standards. In this function, we serve as a 
resource by assisting your firm in scheduling a review, selecting a reviewer, and 
finalizing your firm's report through the committee acceptance process. 
  
All firms that perform attest or compilation services in Oregon, or for Oregon clients, 
are required to participate in an approved peer review program as a condition of 
registration under ORS 673.160 and for each renewal period. For details visit the 
Oregon Board of Accountancy. In addition, there are peer review reporting 
requirements in Oregon. 
 
An accounting and auditing practice for the purposes of these standards is defined 
as all engagements covered by Statements on Auditing Standards (SASs); 
Statements on Standards for Accounting and Review Services (SSARS)2 (see 
interpretations); Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements (SSAEs); 
Government Auditing Standards (the Yellow Book) issued by the U.S. Government 
Accountability Office; and audits of non-SEC issuers performed pursuant to the 
standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB). 
 

 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/BOA/PeerReview.shtml
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Peer Review Reporting Requirements in Oregon  

The Oregon Board of Accountancy revised Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 801, 
Division 050, effective January 1, 2010.  
Reporting requirements addressed in OAR 801-050-0040 include major changes:  
 (1)   Firms are required to submit a copy of the most recent acceptance letter from 

the Peer Review Program Sponsor to the Board of Accountancy within 45 
days of receipt or with submission of the firm renewal application, whichever 
occurs first. Completion letters must also be submitted to the Board office 
within 45 day of receipt.  

 
For the majority of firms, the acceptance letter and completion letter are one in 
the same. However, if a firm’s peer review report is accepted with the 
understanding that the firm will complete a monitoring action such as obtaining 
CPE, submission of its next monitoring report, and a pre or post-issuance 
review, the firm will also receive a completion letter once all the items have 
been completed and accepted by the Peer Review Committee.  

 
 (2)   Firms that opt out of participating in the AICPA Facilitated State Board Access 

(FSBA) program, are to provide copies of the following documents to the BOA:  

 Peer review report issued;  

 Letter, if any, from the RAB (Report Acceptance Body which is the 
Peer Review Committee) prescribing corrective actions;  

 Firm’s response letter, if any;  

 A letter from the firm to the Board describing corrective actions taken 
by the firm that relate to requirements of the RAB; and  

 Other information the firm deems important for the Board’s 
understanding of the information submitted.  

 Other information the Board deems important for the understanding 
of the information submitted.  

 

Firms enrolled in both the AICPA Peer Review Program and those enrolled in 
a Non-AICPA Peer Review Program such as the Oregon Peer Review 
Program are provided an opportunity to opt-out of participation in FSBA when 
scheduling the firm’s peer review. 

 
If you have peer review questions, please call the Oregon Society of Certified Public 
Accountants (OSCPA) at (503) 641-7200.  
 
Exemption from Peer Review 
A firm that prepares “management-use-only-financial statements” and does not perform 
any other attest or compilation services is not required to undergo peer review. 
 
  
  7   PCAOB Registration 

PCAOB Rule 2100. Registration Requirements for Public Accounting Firms. 

Effective October 22, 2003 (or, for foreign public accounting firms, July 19, 2004), each 
public accounting firm that: 
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a) prepares or issues any audit report with respect to any issuer; or 

b) plays a substantial role in the preparation or furnishing of an audit report with 
respect to any issuer must be registered with the Board. 

Indicate whether a) a firm is required to be registered with the PCAOB and b) whether any 
PCAOB inspection resulted in a disciplinary order. 

 
 
  8   Certification 

An owner, partner, shareholder or manager who holds an active CPA or PA license must 
complete and sign the firm certification.    
 
 
  9   Method of Payment 

If the renewal fee is being paid by check, please mail to the address indicated. If the 
renewal fee is being paid by Visa or MasterCard, provide the requested information and 
authorized signature. 
 
If paying by check or credit card 
Make check payable to Oregon Board of Accountancy and mail to: 
 

Oregon Board of Accountancy 
3218 Pringle Rd SE #110 
Salem, OR 97302 
 

If paying by credit card 
You may mail or fax to Oregon Board of Accountancy at: 

 

(503) 378-3575 
 


