Secretary of State
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING*

A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form.

Bureau of Labor and Industries 839

Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number
Marcia Ohlemiller 800 NE Oregon St. Ste. 1045 Portland, OR 97232 971-673-0784

Rules Coordinator Address Telephone

RULE CAPTION
Amendment for Clarification of Eligibility of OMFLA and Clarification for Leave due to Harassment

Not morethan 15 wordsthat reasonably identifiesthe subject matter of the agency’sintended action.

RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of new rule numbers (Adopted or Renumbered rules) with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing
ADOPT:

AMEND:
839-009-0335, 839-009-0390, 839-009-0410

REPEAL:

RENUMBER:
AMEND & RENUMBER:

Stat. Auth.: ORS 659A.805

Other Auth.: ORS 659A.093(6)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 659A.270 - 659A.285, ORS 659A.090 - 659A.099

RULE SUMMARY

The amendment to OAR 839-009-0335 will add harassment to the title of OAR 839-009-0335 to conform to ORS 659A.270 to
ORS 659A.285.

The amendments to OAR 839-009-0390 and 839-007-0410 will clarify that an eligible employee need not be eligible to take
protected leave under the Oregon Family Leave Act in order to qualify for protected leave under the Oregon Military Family
Leave Act and conform with ORS 659A.090(1) and ORS 659A.093.

The agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule€' s substantive goals
while reducing the negative economic impact of the rule on business.

November 9, 2012 5:00 p.m.
Last Day for Public Comment (Last day to submit written comments to the Rules Coordinator)

Marcia.l.ohlemiller@state.or.us Marcia Ohlemiller 9/14/12

Email address Printed name Date

* Rulemaking Notices published in the Oregon Bulletin must be submitted by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month
unless this deadline falls on a weekend or legal holiday, upon which the deadline is 5:00 pm the preceding workday. A public
rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21
days following the publication of the Rulemaking Notice in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people
on the agency mailing list, whichever islater. If sufficient hearing requests are received, notice of the date and time of the
rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing. ARC 923-2005
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