Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

ABOUT OUR SEMINARS
Technical Assistance: Seminars
 
The Technical Assistance for Employers program offers a variety of training seminars for Oregon employers, supervisors, managers, and human resource professionals. Technical Assistance trainers work closely with bureau enforcement divisions to provide you with educational seminars that cover the latest developments in employment law. BOLI seminars are acclaimed as an effective and proactive way to help keep your organization in compliance with labor laws -- and out of court!
 
Scroll down for further information or click on the appropriate quick link below.
 
QUICK LINKS FOR TA SEMINARS  
 

PLEASE READ OUR 
CANCELLATION POLICY
 
TO CANCEL A SEMINAR REGISTRATION, NOTIFICATION MUST BE RECEIVED A MINIMUM OF 5 BUSINESS DAYS PRIOR TO THE SEMINAR DATE TO RECEIVE A REFUND - SEE BELOW.
 
If a 5 business day or more notification was given, a refund will be issued in the original amount of the transaction minus a $25 processing fee.  No credits or rescheduling will be allowed.  All cancelled registrations that were not paid prior to cancellation will still owe a $25 processing fee.
 
Cancellations with less than a 5 business day notification prior to the seminar will NOT receive a refund.  No credits or rescheduling will be allowed.  The same applies to a "NO SHOW."  All seminar registration fees not paid prior to seminar still remain due in full within 30 days.
 
If you are unable to make it to a seminar, you may send a substitute in your place.
 
The agency will comply with PCI security standards related to chargebacks.
 
PLEASE NOTE:  We DO NOT have the capabilities to make changes, corrections, or transfers in our new online registering system.  Please be sure you are registering for a seminar that you can attend and the information that you enter is accurate.  All cancellations will incur a $25 processing fee even if it is to correct an error.
  

 
 
Dealing with a Difficult Employee
Developing an Employee Handbook Description
Documentation, Discipline & Discharge
Effective Supervisory Practices
Employee Supervision
Employment Law Update Description
Leave Laws in Oregon
Beginning Leave Laws in Oregon Description
Advanced Leave Laws in Oregon
Leave Laws in Oregon: Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)
Legal Hiring Description
Life of a Workers' Compensation Claim
New Supervisor Training Series (6 Part Series)
Oregon Statewide Sick Time Description
Payroll Issues 
Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace Description
Recordkeeping Requirements
Wage & Hour Laws
Wage & Hour / Payroll Issues Description
Workplace Accommodations Description
Workplace Drug & Alcohol Issues Description
Workplace Harassment and Discrimination Description
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif 

 
 
Our schedule of upcoming seminars appear below. You will find the seminar dates, titles/descriptions, locations, times and check-in time, and the cost.
 
If you have any questions, please contact TA at (971) 673-0824, or by email at bolita@boli.state.or.us  
 
SEMINAR SCHEDULE DISCLAIMER
We reserve the right to make changes to our seminar schedule at any time. These changes may include, but are not limited to, additions, cancellations, and/or location changes. Every attempt will be made to keep registrants apprised of any changes that might affect their ability to attend.
 
PLEASE NOTE:  We DO NOT have the capabilities to make changes, corrections, or transfers in our new online registering system.  Please be sure you are registering for a seminar that you can attend and the information that you enter is accurate.  All cancellations will incur a $25 processing fee even if it is to correct an error.
 
 
 
 November 2016
 
Nov 30-Dec 1
Wage & Hour / Payroll Issues  Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
 
 
 December 2016
 
Dec 8
Recordkeeping Requirements
Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am

 Register Here

Dec 14
New Supervisor Training Series: Part 6 of 6 (6 mo)
Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
 
 
January 2017
 
Jan 17-18
Leave Laws in Oregon  Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Jan 24 Employment Law Update Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Jan 25 New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 1 of 6) Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Jan 26 ​Wage & Hour Laws ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
 
 
February 2017
 
Feb 1
Legal Hiring Practices  Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Feb 1 ​Documentation, Discipline & Discharge Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​1pm -4pm
Check-in 12:30pm
Register Here
​Feb 2 ​Workplace Accommodations Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Feb 2 Employment Law Update Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​1pm -4pm
Check-in 12:30pm
Register Here
​Feb 7 Workplace Harassment & Discrimination ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Feb 8 New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 2 of 6) ​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am

​To register, see Part 1  - Jan 25

Feb 15-16 ​Employee Supervision ​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Feb 22-23 Wage & Hour / Payroll Issues ​​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register here
 
 
March 2017
 
Mar 6
Legal Hiring Practices 
Treasure Valley CC
Weese - Board Rm 101
650 College Blvd
Ontario, OR  97914
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 7 ​Developing an Employee Handbook Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 7 ​Wage & Hour Laws City of Baker City
Council Chambers Rm 201
1655 1st Street
Baker City, OR 97814
​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 8 ​Employment Law Update Eastern Oregon University
Integrated Serv Bldg 153
1607 Gekeler Lane
LaGrande, OR
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 8 ​Workplace Harassment & Discrimination Eastern Oregon University
Integrated Serv Bldg 153
1607 Gekeler Lane
LaGrande, OR
​​​1pm -4pm
Check-in 12:30pm
Register Here
​Mar 8 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 3 of 6) ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Jan 25
​Mar 9 ​Dealing with a Difficult Employee ​Blue Mountain CC
Science & Tech Bldg 214
2411 NW Carden Ave
Pendleton, OR 97801
​​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 10 ​Workplace Accommodations Columbia Gorge CC
Lecture Hall - 4th Floor
400 E Scenic Drive
The Dalles, OR  97058
​​​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 14 Recordkeeping Requirements ​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 15 ​Effective Supervisory Practices Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 16 ​Wage & Hour Laws Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
​​​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 21-22 ​Leave Laws in Oregon ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 29 ​Employment Law Update Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Mar 29 ​Wage & Hour Laws

University of Oregon 
Peacehealth North Bldg - Room 478
677 E 12th Ave                  
(12th & Hilyard)              
Eugene, OR

9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
 
 
April 2017
 
Apr 3
Legal Hiring Practices
Klamath County Fire Dist
Board Room
143 Broad Street
Klamath Falls, OR
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 4 ​Effective Supervisory Practices Worksource Oregon
Josephine Room
1569 NE "F" Street
Grant Pass, OR
​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 5 ​Employment Law Update Southern OR University
Stevenson Union - Rm 330
1250 Siskiyou Blvd
Ashland OR 97520
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 5-6 ​Leave Laws in Oregon Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 6 ​Beginning Leave Laws in Oregon Douglas ESD
Douglas Room
1871 NE Stephens
Roseburg, OR  97470
​​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 7 Wage & Hour Laws RCC / SOU
Higher Ed Center - RM 226
101 South Bartlett
Medford, OR  97501
​​​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 12 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 4 of 6) ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Jan 25
​Apr 12 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Salem (Part 1 of 6) Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
​​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
Apr 18 ​Employment Law Update University of Oregon 
Peacehealth North Bldg - Room 478
677 E 12th Ave                  
(12th & Hilyard)              
Eugene, OR
​​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 18 ​Workplace Harassment & Discrimination University of Oregon 
Peacehealth North Bldg - Room 478
677 E 12th Ave                  
(12th & Hilyard)              
Eugene, OR
​​​​1pm -4pm
Check-in 12:30pm
Register Here
​Apr 18 ​Wage & Hour Laws ​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 19 Workplace Accommodations ​​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 19 ​Dealing with a Difficult Employee Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​​​1pm -4pm
Check-in 12:30pm
Register Here
​Apr 25-26 ​Employee Supervision Deschutes County
DeArmond Room
1300 NW Wall St
Bend, OR  97703
​​​​​​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Apr 26 ​Employment Law Update Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
1pm -4pm
Check-in 12:30pm
Register Here
​Apr 26 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Salem (Part 2 of 6) Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Apr 12
​Apr 26-27 ​Leave Laws In Oregon University of Oregon 
Peacehealth North Bldg - Room 478
677 E 12th Ave                  
(12th & Hilyard)              
Eugene, OR
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
 
 
May 2017
 
May 2
Beginning Leave Laws in Oregon
University of Oregon 
Peacehealth North Bldg - Room 478
677 E 12th Ave                  
(12th & Hilyard)              
Eugene, OR
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​May 9-10 ​Leave Laws in Oregon RCC / SOU
Higher Ed Center - RM 226
101 South Bartlett
Medford, OR  97501
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​May 10 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 5 of 6) ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Jan 25
​May 10 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Salem (Part 3 of 6) Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
​​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Apr 12
May 11 ​Workplace Accommodations ​Clatsop Comm College
Columbia Hall Room 219
1651 Lexington Ave
Astoria, OR  97103
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​May 11 ​Legal Hiring Practices Clatsop Comm College
Columbia Hall Room 219
1651 Lexington Ave
Astoria, OR  97103
​​1pm -4pm
Check-in 12:30pm
Register Here
​May 16-17 ​Leave Laws in Oregon Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​May 24 ​Workplace Harassment & Discrimination Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​May 24 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Salem (Part 4 of 6) Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Apr 12
 
 
June 2017
 
Jun 1
Beginning Leave Laws in Oregon Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Jun 7 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Portland (Part 6 of 6) Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Jan 25
​Jun 7 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Salem (Part 5 of 6) ​​Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Apr 12
​Jun 8 ​Effective Supervisory Practices ​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Jun 13-14 ​Employee Supervision University of Oregon 
Peacehealth North Bldg - Room 478
677 E 12th Ave                  
(12th & Hilyard)              
Eugene, OR
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Jun 20-21 ​Employee Supervision ​​​Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Jun 21 ​New Supervisor Training Series - Salem (Part 6 of 6) ​​Chemeketa Winema
Building 48 - Room 202B
4001 Winema Place NE
Salem, OR  97305
​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
​To register, see Part 1  - Apr 12
​Jun 28 ​Developing an Employee Handbook University of Oregon 
Peacehealth North Bldg - Room 478
677 E 12th Ave                  
(12th & Hilyard)              
Eugene, OR
​​​9am -12pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
​Jun 28 ​Documentation, Discipline & Discharge University of Oregon 
Peacehealth North Bldg - Room 478
677 E 12th Ave                  
(12th & Hilyard)              
Eugene, OR
​​​1pm -4pm
Check-in 12:30pm
Register Here
​Jun 29 Advanced Leave Laws in Oregon Portland State Office Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9am -4pm
Check-in 8:30am
Register Here
 
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif 
 

 
SEMINAR FEES
 
Seminar Fees
Employment Law Update Seminars
 $35 per person
1/2 Day Seminars
 $75 per person
1 Day Seminars
 $185 per person
2 Day Seminars $285 per person
NSTS Series $305 per person
    
 
Sorry, we no longer offer GROUP discounts.
  

 
 
 
Registration includes training materials. To register for one of the above regular seminars, click on the "Register Here" and fill out the online registration form.
 
If you have any questions, please contact TA at (971) 673-0824, or by email at bolita@boli.state.or.us  or nadine.scruton@state.or.us
 
PLEASE NOTE:  We DO NOT have the capabilities to make changes, corrections, or transfers in our new online registering system.  Please be sure you are registering for a seminar that you can attend and the information that you enter is accurate.  All cancellations will incur a $25 processing fee even if it is to correct an error.
 
 
SEMINAR CONFIRMATIONS
 
Your seminar registration will be confirmed via e-mail from the online registration system. 
  
 
 
CONTINUING EDUCATION / RECERTIFICATION CREDIT
 
Currently our seminars entitled: Leave Laws in Oregon, Advanced Leave Laws, Wage and Hour Laws, Payroll Issues, Employer's Guide to Civil Rights Laws and Workplace Harassment, Recordkeeping Requirements, Developing an Employee Handbook, Leave Laws 2-day Training and the 2-day Employee Supervision class are approved for Human Resources Certification Institute (HRCI) recertification for PHR, SPHR and GPHR. The New Supervisor Training Series is not preapproved for recertification credits for PHR, SPHR and GPHR through the HRCI.
 
Landscape Contractors: All of our public BOLI seminars have been approved for CEH credits by the Oregon Landscape Contractors Board.
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif