Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image


New Employer Handbooks Now Available

The Discrimination, Harassment and Workplace Accomodations: A Civil Rights Handbook for Oregon Employers
was recently updated and is now available.  
The Wage and Hour Laws Handbook 2017 is now available.  This updated version includes information about Oregon Sick Time, Oregon’s three-tier minimum wage and Oregon’s new itemized pay statement requirements.
The Policy Writing Guldelines Handbook was recently updated.  Now is a good time to review your existing employee handbook for sections to update. 
Order information for handbooks and composite posters is HERE
Publications Available:
We offer a variety of handbooks on employment law topics including but not limted to, civil rights law, family leave laws and policy writing guidelines, legal hiring practices, and documentation, discipline & discharge. Workplace posters can also be purchased from Technical Assistance
Information on BOLI Publications can be found HERE.


On November 22, a federal judge in Texas blocked the U.S. Department of Labor's (DOL's) new federal overtime rule, which would have raised the Fair Labor Standards Act's (FLSA's) salary threshold for exemption from overtime pay from $23,660 to $47,476 on December 1, 2016. 


Employers subject to the FLSA are not required to comply with the new requirements as of December 1, 2016.  Prudent employers will be vigilant because changes may come soon; those changes may even have retroactive application.  If you are classifying employees as exempt who would not be exempt under the blocked rules, you might consider tracking the hours of these employees in order to mitigate the risk.  


More information is on the U.S. Department of Labor’s website at https://www.dol.gov/featured/overtime