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Agricultural EMPL OYEES

MINIMUM WAGE

Your RightsUnder Oregon’s
$9 25 Minimum Wage L aw
. and Child Labor Law

per hour beginning January 1, 2015 SPECIAL EXEMPTIONSAPPLY TO AGRICULTURAL WORKERS
through December 31, 2015

Oregon law requires the minimum wage rate to be adjusted annually for inflation by September 30 of each year for the following calendar year.

Minimum Wage

Requirements. Employees of agricultural employers must be paid at least the minimum wage
unless exempted.

Agricultural employers are not required to pay minimum wage to the following:

= Members of the employer’ simmediate family.

= Loca hand harvest or pruning workers who are paid on a piece rate basis and who worked fewer
than 13 weeks in agriculture during the preceding calendar year.

=  Workers 16 years of age or under who are paid the same piece rate as workers over 16 years of
age.

= Workers mainly engaged in the range production of livestock.

= Hand harvest and pruning workers who are paid on a piece rate basis and who worked for an
employer who, during any quarter of the previous calendar year, did not use more than 500 piece-
rate work days* of agricultural labor.
*Piece-rate-work-day means any day when an employee (except immediate family of the
employer) performs any agricultural labor on a piece-rate basis for at least one hour.

Overtime

Employees of agricultura employers are exempt from overtime.

Meals and Rest Periods

= Meal periods of not less than 30 minutes must be provided to employees who work six or more
hours in one work period. Under certain exceptional circumstances an adult employee may
receive less than 30 continuous minutes, relieved of al duties, however, the employer must pay
for the entire 30 minutes.

= Paid rest periods of at least 10 minutes for adults (15 minutes for minors) must be provided during
each four-hour work period or major part of four hours worked. Certain employers are required to
provide additional rest periods to employees to express milk for achild.

Meal and rest periods may not be waived or used to adjust working hours; however, meal and rest
period provisions may be modified by the terms of a collective bargaining agreement.
Agricultural employees who are exempt from minimum wage (see above) are al'so exempt from
rest and meal periods.

Child Labor

Minors under 18 years of age may work in non-hazardous farm jobs outside of school hours. Minors
14 to 18 years of age who operate power driven farm machinery or ride in or on machinery must
obtain a certificate of training and the employer must obtain an employment certificate. Employers
must obtain a permit to employ minors under the age of 14.

The Bureau of Labor and Industries may take legal action to recover unpaid wages, penalties and
costs.

Employers may be assessed civil penalties of up to $1,000 per violation for violation of these laws.
The employer is prohibited from discriminating against employees or discharging employees who file
complaints or take part in the Bureau’ sinvestigation.

Federal Laws

Infor mation
Call or Write:

Bureau of Labor and Industries
Wage and Hour Division

800 NE Oregon Street #1045
Portland, Oregon 97232-2180
(971) 673-0761
www.oregon.gov/boli

When state and federal laws differ, the law providing more protection to employees or setting the
higher standard applies.
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