Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • The Wage and Hour Division Welcomes You
    Neon Waterfront
    The Wage and Hour Division serves Oregon wage earners by enforcing laws covering state minimum wage and overtime requirements, working conditions, child labor, farm and forest labor contracting, and wage collection. The division enforces the payment of prevailing wage rates required to be paid to construction workers on public works projects. BOLI determines and publishes prevailing wage rates based on an annual construction industry survey.
  • Effective July 1, 2016...

    Senate Bill 1532 (2016) enacts a series of annual minimum wage rate increases through 2023, after which the minimum wage rate will be indexed to inflation.

    Separate rates will apply to employers located in the urban growth boundary of a metropolitan service district (currently, only the Portland metropolitan area); certain "nonurban" counties named in the bill; and the balance of the state.

    ​A summary of the increases is available here, and a copy of the amended administrative rule is available here.

  • Poster Required for Live Entertainment Facilities

     

    Effective January 1, 2016, operators of live entertainment facilities must display a BOLI poster summarizing the rights of independent contractors and employees who perform live entertainment. 

    Click here for the poster, which is required to be displayed in a conspicuous manner in enough places to be read by all persons working in the establishment. 

    Click here for House Bill 3059 and its requirements.  Click here for additional information regarding live entertainment workers.

Wage and Hour PWR
How to Get Minimum Wage Posters
In a move to contain costs and preserve limited budget resources, BOLI no longer mails copies of minimum wage poster to Oregon's 130,000 employers, which saves about $43,000 in taxpayer dollars each year. The poster, which is required to be posted in all Oregon workplaces, is available for printing for free on the agency's website.
Minimum Wage Posters

BOLI is also warning Oregonians to beware of any solicitations from businesses that sell required postings for profit. All legally required postings are available for free from the issuing agency. BOLI also sells a composite poster, the 8 most commonly required postings together on one 39" x 24" page, for just $12.50 -- about a quarter of what for-profit companies charge.
 

 

 
The Prevailing Wage unit offers free assistance, including HANDBOOKS and SEMINARS, to help contractors and public agencies stay in compliance with PWR law.