Oregon's First Organic Law - 1843

The first section of the organic law adopted by the people at Champoeg July 5, 1843, was as follows:

For the purpose of temporary government, the Territory shall be divided into not less than three nor more than five districts, subject to be extended to a greater number when the population shall require it.

The law finally adopted provided as follows:

First District, to be called the Tualitan District, comprising all the country south of the northern boundary of the United States, west of the Willamette or Multnomah River, north of the Yamhill River and east of the Pacific Ocean.

Second District, to be called the Yamhill District, embracing all the country west of the Willamette or Multnomah River, and a supposed line running north and south from said river, south of the Yamhill River, to the parallel of forty-two degrees north latitude, or the boundary line of the United States and California and east of the Pacific Ocean.

Third District, to be called the Clackamas District, comprehending all territory not included in the other three districts.

Fourth District, to be called the Champoeg District, and bounded on the north by a supposed line drawn from the mouth of the Haunchauke River, and a supposed line running due east to the Rocky Mountains, east of the Willamette or Multnomah River, and a supposed line running due south from said river to the parallel of forty-two degrees north latitude, south by the boundary line of the United States and California, and east by the summit of the Rocky Mountains.

The above districts to be designated by the name of Oregon Territory.