Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

FULL REGULAR 2-YEAR LICENSES -
All expire January 30, 2018. The renewal deadline is December 31st, 2017. Renewals processed after that date are subject to additional fees and possible civil penalties.
 
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST

* Masters Degree in Speech-language Pathology or Communication Disorders

* Post Graduate Clinical Fellowship Experience of 1,260 hours​​

* Official Transcripts for Master’s Degree
You may send these in if they are in a sealed envelope from the university; otherwise they need to come directly from the university to us. If your degree is from an ASHA-accredited program, we only need the Master’s degree transcripts. If it isn't, we will need you to supply documentation of your clinical practicum hours, and may require additional information about coursework and other accreditations.
 
* Either:
ASHA CCC’s (Certificate of Clinical Competence) - You need to request verification from ASHA.  We will accept verifications faxed from ASHA.   
     OR:

Passing Praxis Exam Report - You must select our Board as a recipient (#8699).

Clinical Fellowship Report & Rating Form - A copy of the ASHA form signed by you and your CFY supervisor.

 

* Professional Development (PD)

There are two options for professional development (see Supplement 1 of the license application):

1. If you have completed your graduate program or clinical fellowship within the 12 months preceding the date you apply: No professional development hours are needed; check this box and sign and date the bottom of the page. You do not need to fill in the grid to report PD hours.

2. If you have completed your graduate program or clinical fellowship more than 12 months preceding the date you apply you must submit 15 hours completed within the 12 months preceding the date you apply: Complete the reporting form, and be sure to include copies of your certificates of attendance for all activities you report. Read our professional development page for more information on acceptable professional development.

 


 

* Verification of Good Standing From Other Licensing Bodies

We need to have a letter of good standing from every other state or other jurisdiction (including Oregon's Teacher Standards and Practices Commission and other states' educational licensing bodies) in which you have held a professional license, regardless of how long ago it was. This verification must come from the jurisdiction to us; the Board does not accept information in on-line directories. If the state does not hold a record of your licensure anymore, we will accept a letter from them stating as much.​


 

* Complete Background Check
A background check must be completed with every application by our agency. The prints must be taken through Fieldprint, Inc. See the application for submission instructions.
​​

$75 is due now for application review. The license fee will be $210 for a license that expires on January 30, 2018. The fee for the background check is $44.50. You may combine these fees and submit one $329.50 check now for faster processing. We accept checks or money orders made out to Oregon Speech Board.

All regular licenses expire on January 30 of every even numbered year and must be renewed prior to the renewal deadline of December 31st of every odd numbered year.

For SLPs the professional development requirment to renew a license is 30 hours. SLPs who are initially licensed in the middle of the two year cycle may have a pro-rated amount of professional development due to renew. See our Professional Development Page for more details. ​​

 
CONDITIONAL SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST                    
 - Only valid for limited time to complete clinical fellowship year requirements for full licensure
 
(Only for people needing to complete a clinical fellowship year)
 
 
AUDIOLOGIST

* Official Transcripts for AuD or Master’s Degree

You may send these in if they are in a sealed envelope from the university; otherwise they need to come from the university to us.

 

If you earned an AuD from an ASHA-accredited school, then we will need an official transcript.

 

If you completed your Audiology training prior to August 1, 2007, your transcript must document that you earned a Master’s degree from an ASHA-accredited program with at least 75 semester credits in Audiology.  In addition, you will need to submit documentation of your successful completion of post-graduate supervised clinical experience (currently 1,820 hours).

 

* Official score report from ETS passing AUD praxis exam

​​

* Official Transcripts for AuD or Master’s Degree

You may send these in if they are in a sealed envelope from the university; otherwise they need to come from the university to us.

 

If you earned an AuD from an ASHA-accredited school, then we will need an official transcript and a copy of your Audiology Praxis test report showing a passing score.

If you completed your Audiology training prior to August 1, 2007, your transcript must document that you earned a Master’s degree from an ASHA-accredited program with at least 75 semester credits in Audiology.  In addition, you will need to submit documentation of your successful completion of post-graduate supervised clinical experience (currently 1,820 hours), and a passing score on your Praxis exam.

If your graduate program was not ASHA-accredited at the time you earned your degree, we will need you to supply documentation of your clinical practicum hours, and may require additional information about coursework and other accreditations.

 

* Either:
ASHA CCC’s (Certificate of Clinical Competence) or ABA Certification- You need to request verification from ASHA/ABA.  We will accept verifications faxed from ASHA/ABA   
     OR:

Passing Praxis Exam Report - You must select our Board as a recipient (#8699).

 

* Professional Development (PD)

There are two options for professional development (see Supplement 1 of the license application):

1. If you have completed your graduate program or clinical fellowship within the 12 months preceding the date you apply:  No professional development hours are needed; check this box and sign and date the bottom of the page.  You do not need to fill in the grid to report PD hours.

2. If you have completed your graduate program or clinical fellowship more than 12 months preceding the date you apply you must submit 15 hours (7.5 for SLPA's) completed within the 12 months preceding the date you apply: Complete the reporting form, and be sure to include copies of your certificates of attendance for all activities you report. Read our professional development page for more information on acceptable professional development.

 

* Verification of Good Standing From Other Licensing Bodies

We need to have a letter of good standing from every other state or other jurisdiction (including Oregon's Teacher Standards and Practices Commission and other states' educational licensing bodies) in which you have held a professional license, regardless of how long ago it was.  This verification must come from the jurisdiction to us; the Board does not accept information in on-line directories.  If the state does not hold a record of your licensure anymore, we will accept a letter from them stating as much.

 

* Complete Background Check

A background check must be completed with every application by our agency. The prints must be taken through Fieldprint, Inc. See the application for submission instructions.

​​
$75 is due now for application review. The license fee will be $210 for a license that expires on January 30, 2018. The fee for the background check is $44.50. You may combine these fees and submit one $329.50 check now for faster processing. We accept checks or money orders made out to Oregon Speech Board.
All regular licenses expire on January 30 of every even numbered year and must be renewed prior to the renewal deadline of December 31st of every odd numbered year.
 
For audiologists the professional development requirment to renew a license is 30 hours. audiologists who are initially licensed in the middle of the two year cycle may have a pro-rated amount of professional development due to renew. See our Professional Development Page for more details.
 
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY ASSISTANT

* Official Transcritps Showing:

- 45 quarter credits in General Education

- 45 quarter credits related to Speech-Pathology or Communication Disorders

 

* Documentation of 100 hours of supervised clinical experience

(If you do not have these hours you must obtain them through an accredited University SLPA Practicum Course or you must obtain our Provisional SLPA License. You must be licensed prior to obtaining these hours outside of an academic program. See our Provisional SLPA application)

* Official Transcritps Showing:
- 45 quarter credits in General Education
- 45 quarter credits related to Speech-Pathology or Communication Disorders
 
* Documentation of 100 hours of supervised clinical experience
(If you do not have these hours see our Provisional SLPA application)
 
* Verification of Licensure
Request verifications from any license held in any state. Verifications can be received by fax if directly from licensing office.
 
* Professional Development
If you are within 12 months of completing your 100 hour clinical experience than you have no professional development due.
If you are more than 12 months past comlpeting your 100 hour clinical experience then you must submit documentation of at least 7.5 hours earned within the last 12 months. See our Professional Development page for details on what is applicable.
 
*Complete Background Check
A background check must be completed with every application by our agency. The prints must be taken through Fieldprint, Inc. See the application for submittion instructions.
​​$75 is due now for application review. The license fee will be $65 for a license that expires on January 30, 2018. The fee for the background check is $44.50. You may combine these fees and submit one $184.50 check now for faster processing. We accept checks or money orders made out to Oregon Speech Board.
All regular licenses expire on January 30 of every even numbered year and must be renewed prior to the renewal deadline of December 31st of every odd numbered year.
 
For SLPAs the professional development requirment to renew a license is 15 hours. SLPAs who are initially licensed in the middle of the two year cycle may have a pro-rated amount of professional development due to renew. See our Professional Development Page for more details.
 
PROVISIONAL SLPA LICENSES                    
 - Only valid for limited time to complete 100 hour clinical fieldwork requirement for full licensure
 
(Only for people needing to complete clinical fieldwork experience which is required prior to applying for the SLPA certificate unless fieldwork completed at a Board approved SLPA program)