Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Become a continuing education provider

Requirements to offer residential construction contractor classes

 
The Construction Contractors Board (CCB) approves providers to offer required continuing education for residential construction contractors. Businesses, educational institutions, nonprofit organizations, construction contractors and others may apply to become a provider.

Community colleges and small business development centers are exempt from certain fees!
 

Before approval  

Providers must:
  • Be able to enter and transmit electronic data to the agency 
  • Be registered to do business in Oregon  
  • Pay required fees (see fee section) 
  • Explain in writing how you will resolve complaints by students, including length of time to contact complainant and method of response. 
  • Explain in writing the process for canceling or refunding requests from students. If you do not permit cancellations or refunds, state that in writing. Explain how the policy is provided to students. 
  • Describe attendance verification procedures. 

 

Fees

 

Application fees 

Providers pay the agency a non-refundable fee of $2,000 for an initial application and for each two-year renewal.  

 

Additional Series A fees 

  • Providers pay a $100 course review fee for each Series A class.  
  • Providers pay a $4 per student per-hour fee for each Series A course. You pay the fees to the agency at the time you submit each student’s records. Students receive credit for Series A courses only after CCB receives provider’s payment. 
  • Providers that offer Series A courses must maintain a $20,000 surety bond issued by a surety company authorized to do business in Oregon.

Oregon public community colleges or small business development centers (including BizCenter Online Learning) do not have to pay the $2,000 application fee or provide a surety bond.

Click here for more information about providing classes.

  

After approval

Providers must: 
  • Employ or contract with instructors who have at least four years' work experience or four years of education, or any combination of both, in the subject that they instruct. 
  • Notify the agency within 24 hours if you change or add course types.  
  • Notify the agency within 24 hours if you change or add instructors. 
  • Give students a chance to evaluate the class through a survey. 
  • Transmit data notifying the agency when a contractor completes a Series A Course by noon 12:00 noon of the business day following the date the contractor completes the course. 
  • Re-submit an application and fees for renewal every two years. Approval is subject to the same requirements as initial approval. 
  • Maintain records available for agency to inspect for at least six years.
 

Required continuing education for residential contractors

Contractors renewing a CCB license must meet the following requirements during their two-year license renewal period:
 

Licensed less than six years 

Subject area

Hours

Laws, Regulations, and Business Practices (taught by the CCB)

3

Series A courses

5

Series A and/or B courses

8

Total

16

 
Licensed six or more years
 

Subject area

Hours

CCB Laws, Regulations, and Business Practices

3

Series A courses

5

Total

8

 
Series A courses cover construction business practices, safety and building codes. They include marketing, customer service, accounting, business law, bidding, safety, building codes and other construction practices. 
 
Series B courses cover trade-specific practices and energy efficiency. Trade-specific practices include roofing, siding, masonry, carpentry, etc.

Key links