Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Becoming Licensed with the CCB
Who Needs to be Licensed
Oregon law requires anyone who works for compensation in any construction activity involving improvements to real property to be licensed with the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). This includes roofing, siding, painting, carpentry, concrete, on-site appliance repair, heating and air conditioning, home inspections, tree service, plumbing, electrical, floor covering, manufactured dwelling installations, land development and most other construction and repair services.
 
A CCB license is also required for: 
  • those who purchase homes, fix them up themselves and resell them.
  • material suppliers that receive compensation for installing or arranging the installation of the materials.

Back to the Top
Steps to Becoming Licensed
To become a licensed contractor in Oregon you must:
  • Complete the prerequisite training and pass CCB’s statewide test. This is the person who becomes the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI). Click here for information on the training and test.
  • File your assumed business name, corporation or LLC at the Oregon Corporation Division.  
  • Obtain and submit a CCB surety bond in the required amount(s).  
  • Obtain and provide proof of general liability insurance in the required amount.  
  • Provide evidence of worker’s compensation and other employer account numbers if applicable.  
  • Submit a completed CCB application with the $325 fee for two years.  


 

Back to the Top
Filling out the CCB application
Please be sure to review both the instructions and the application.
 
CCB Application and Instructions Packet

Choosing your business entity
The CCB developed the below step-by-step slide presentations based on business entity to assist contractors filling out the official licensing application. Please do not use the presentation slides in place of the official application.
 
Please click on the presentation below that corresponds with your chosen business entity.
To read a summary of the accepted business entities for CCB licenses, see page 4 of the Instructions (above).
 
Sole Proprietor
 
Corporation
 
Limited Liability Company (LLC)
 
Limited Liability Partnership (LLP)
 
Partnerships or Joint Ventures
 
Limited Partnerships
 
Trusts
 

Choosing an endorsement
Effective July 1, 2008, new and renewing licensees will be required to choose from an endorsement system instead of a licensing category. The new licensing endorsement system distinguishes between residential contractors and commercial contractors. Some contractors may be required to have a dual endorsement.

The licensing endorsements will eventually reflect the type of work the licensee will be allowed to do.
 
Contractors licensed with a residential endorsement may perform work on the following structure types:
  • Residential
  • Small commercial
 
Contractors licensed with a commercial endorsement may perform work on the following structure types:
  • Large commercial
  • Small commercial

Contractors that will perform work on residential and large commercial structures must obtain a dual endorsement.
 
Contractors who perform work on only small commercial structures may choose either a residential or a commercial endorsement.
 
Click here to view a slide show explaining endorsements

Back to the Top
Prerequisite Training and Testing Requirements

New CCB licensees are required to complete 16 hours of training on law and business practices, and pass a state test.  
 
The person that takes the training and passes the test is the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI) for the license. The RMI must be an owner in the business or a designated employee and exercise management or supervisory authority over the construction activities of the business. Oregon law requires that a licensee must always have a RMI.
 
For individuals that completed the training on or after October 1, 2006, the training and testing is valid for 24 months from the date the training was completed. Training and testing that is past the 24 months from the date of the completed training will not be considered for the purposes of fulfilling the requirements set forth in OAR 701.122.
 
Click here  for more information on Contractor Education.


Back to the Top