What happens once I am eligible to sit for the test?
Once you are qualified, we will mail you a letter of qualification and a study guide.
What should I study for the test?
should study the test subjects listed in the study guide, plumbing,
HVAC, electrical and structure. The Oregon Revised Statutes and the
Oregon Administrative Rules are included to help you study for the
Standards of Practice portion of the test.
Can I get a sample test or previous tests to study?
No, but sample questions are in the study guide.
I am ready to take the test, what do I do now?
the copy of the qualification letter and $50 non-refundable test fee.
Once the letter and fee are received, our staff will call you to
schedule the test in the Salem office.
What if I change my mind and decide not to take the test or what if I do not pass the test – are the fees refunded?
No, all fees are non-refundable.
How often and where is the test given?The test is given at the Construction Contractors Board – Salem office each business day at 9am and 1pm.
Tell me about the test.
test has five sections, each section has 40 questions. You have four
hours to complete the test. The passing score is 75 percent on each
section of the test. You may not bring anything into the testing room
other than the test, scratch paper and pen or pencil.
How will I find out the results?
notify you by mail approximately 10 to 15 business days from your test
date. Results cannot be given over the phone, faxed or e-mailed.
What if I did not pass?
may retake any missed section(s) of the test you did not pass 30 days
after your previous attempt. You must pass all sections of the test
within one year of the first test date or you will need to start the
Is there a fee to retake the test?
Yes, there is a $25 retake fee (each sitting) no matter how many sections of the test you need to retake.
Can I review the results or see the test I failed?