
Section 4 – Establishing procedures for checking driver records 
 

New personnel  

The best way to have safe drivers in your organization is to hire people who have a history of safe driving. The 
key to this is checking both the driver’s license and driving record. 

 

What do you check the driver’s license for? 
Oregon residents must possess a Class C driver’s license. This allows a person 18 years or older to drive a car or 
any single vehicle with a loaded weight of up to 26,000 pounds and accommodating up to 16 people including 
the driver. (Drivers who are residents of another state must possess an equivalent license issued by their state of 
legal residence.) 

Class C Restricted licenses are NOT acceptable under the Vehicle Rules. Other driver license restrictions may not 
be acceptable depending on the agency driving needs such as those restricted to daylight hours only or those for 
operating a golf cart only. 

 

How do you check driving records? 
Agencies may obtain information from DMV through their Automated Reporting System (A.R.S.), through DMV’s 
Interactive Voice Response System (IVR), or by direct terminal access. Accounts with DMV are required for this 
service.  For further information on these various options, go to: DMV inquiry accounts.  

 
Agencies may also require that finalists provide a certified and sealed copy of their driving record. This is the 
best practice for out-of-state applicants whose records would not be in Oregon’s Department of Motor Vehicles 
system. Be sure that you see the complete driving record for on and off the job incidents. Consider requesting a 
timeframe such as a period of the past five years. 
 
It’s critical that driving records be checked before a job is offered. Ideally, an acceptable driving record a 
minimum qualification to screen out disqualified applicants prior to an interview. 

 

Review the driving record 
Over the preceding 24-month period review the driving record. The following is an example of a High Risk 
Driver’s record. These are the mandatory criteria for agencies on trial service per OAR 125-155-0200. Other 
agencies are free to establish more or less stringent criteria if programs and agency risks indicate a need. 

1. A misdemeanor or felony traffic offense in the last 24 months. This includes reckless driving, driving under 
the influence of intoxicants, failing to perform the duties of a driver, criminal driving while suspended or 
revoked, fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer and others; or 

2. Felony revocation of driving privileges or felony or misdemeanor driver license suspension within the last 24 
months; or 

3. More than three Class B traffic violations in the last 12 months; or 

4. A Class A moving violation in the last 12 months. (Class A is the most serious level of violation, e.g., going 30 
mph over the limit.) 
 

Agencies may also establish an acceptable record based on a maximum number of traffic citations over a specific 
time frame. When driving criteria are established, clearly state them in the recruitment announcement. 

 
If driving is essential for an open position, the recruitment announcement should include a statement 
informing applicants that an offer will be contingent upon proof of a valid driver’s license and an acceptable 
driving record. To be effective, this requirement should apply to all new personnel, including temporary, limited 
duration, and full time employees, current employees applying for the position, as well as job rotations. 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/classes.aspx#restrict
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/records/recinquiry_daveaccts.aspx#ars
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_100/oar_125/125_155.html


If an applicant’s driving record isn’t acceptable, seriously consider having a policy in place that disqualifies the 
applicant unless there’s some exceptional consideration. Past driving behavior is a reliable predictor of future 
driving behavior.  Selecting people for driving positions who have a history of unsafe driving places not only 
place the driver at risk, but also passengers and the general public. 

If driving is incidental for an open position, alternative means of transportation may be considered for an 
individual who does not meet requirements. Options include carpooling, public transit, taxi, and bicycle. 

  

New Hire Checklist 

 
 Verify driver’s license is acceptable under the State Vehicle Use and Access Rules. 
 Verify DMV driving record is acceptable. Check complete driving record. 
 Suspend file for ninety days (essential driving) or six months (incidental driving) for receipt of 

documentation of successful completion of agency’s pre-driving training program. 
 Employee articulates familiarity with the State Vehicle Use and Access Rules, including the definition of 

“personal use” and “official state business.” 
 Employee articulates familiarity with agency, board, or commission policy. 
 Employee articulates expectations of the agency, board, or commission in regard to maintaining a good 

driving record and what the consequences are for not meeting these expectations. 
 

Current Drivers 

The driving records of employees, who operate vehicles on state business to transport clients, drive long 
distances, or drive frequently should be reviewed at least every one to three years. This would apply to drivers 
of state, rental, or private vehicles operated on state business. 
 
If you do establish a new requirement for your agency, you must inform employees of the change in policy and 
give them an opportunity to come into compliance. If it affects represented personnel, it’s a good idea to discuss 
this first with your labor relations manager. 
 
An interim review should also be done of a driver who receives a citizen report (unless it is determined to be for 
unfounded misuse). With the exception of citizen reports, standards for an acceptable driving record should be 
the same for current employees as for newly retained staff. 

 

Checklist For Current Driver Review 

 
 Verify driver’s license is acceptable under the State Vehicle Use and Access Rules. 
 Verify DMV driving record is acceptable. Check complete driving record. 
 Assess citizen reports, if any. 
 Verify and document date of successful completion of defensive driver training. 
 Employee articulates familiarity with the State Vehicle Use and Access Rules, including the definition of 

“personal use” and “official state business.” 
 Employee articulates familiarity with agency, board, or commission policy. 
 Employee articulates expectations of the agency, board, or commission in regard to maintaining a good 

driving record and what the consequences are for not meeting these expectations. 
 

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_100/oar_125/125_155.html
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_100/oar_125/125_155.html
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_100/oar_125/125_155.html
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_100/oar_125/125_155.html

