Department of Administrative Services
Enterprise Asset Management - Surplus Property Distribution Center

_Ore On 1655 Salem Industrial Drive NE
Salem, Oregon 97301

PHONE: 503-378-6020

FAX: 503-378-8558

Kate Brown, Governor

MEMORANDUM
To: State Agencies
From: Sven Anderson

Oregon Surplus Property Manager
Direct Line: (503) 378-6057

Date: June 15, 2015

Subject: Personal Property Disposition

This memo comes as a result of a change in the State Agency fee structure beginning July 1, 2015 for the
Surplus Property Program. Please see the Surplus Property Program rates at www.OregonSurplus.com

ORS 279A.280 (C) states: The department (DAS), or a public or private person or entity designated by the
department may recycle or otherwise dispose of property when the department determines the value and
condition of the property does not warrant the cost of sale.

The following is a list of options for handling surplus items with a value of $250 or less:

NOTE: For e-waste see DAS Statewide E-waste policy #107-009-0050.
http://www.oregon.gov/das/Surplus/Documents/E-Waste/107-009-0050 E-WastePolicy Final.pdf

Please see ORS 244 regarding Government Ethics and also the Oregon Government Ethics Commission’s
Guide for Public Officials: http://www.oregon.gov/OGEC/docs/Public_Official _Guide/2010-
10_PO_Guide_October_Final_Adopted.pdf

Each agency shall make the determination as to whether the surplus item(s) they are disposing of have a current
value of less than $250. The quantity of items shall be considered when making this determination (i.e.
individually the items are worth less than $250 but when combined with other identical or like items, they are
worth more than $250). Agencies should also consider the cost of transporting the items to the Surplus
warehouse when making this decision. The following methods may be used to make this determination:

1) The item is listed on the DAS Surplus website as having a resale value of less than $250. See below.

2) The original purchase price was less than $250.

3) Using a website that identifies potential resale values. One example is:
http://www.salvationarmyusa.org/usn/www usn 2.nsf/0/d477340ffa28755c8525743d0049d1ef?opendo
cument
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For disposal of items that are determined to be worth less than $250, follow your agency’s guidelines regarding
tracking and/or audit trails. At all times, agencies should strive for the highest and best use of state property.
Agencies should avoid disposing of surplus state property in a way that may appear to be a waste or misuse of
state resources.

I. Reuse it within the agency which currently owns the item(s):

e Make the item available via email and/or other means in an effort to reuse it internally.
e REMEMBER - in MOST cases, your agency extends beyond the walls of your building.

I, Transfer or sale to another State or local government entity: (i.e. city, county, school
district, water district, fire district, etc.)

e |dentify government entity and arrange transfer.

1. Donate to a local government entity or qualified non-profit organization:

o Identify local government entity (city, county, school, fire district, etc.) or any Oregon non-
profit organization registered with the Oregon Department of Justice and arrange donation.
http://www.doj.state.or.us/charigroup/Pages/searchcharities.aspx

V. Recycle in accordance with state and local laws:

e You can go to http://www.recyclingcenters.org/ to locate the nearest recycling center.

V. Place in refuse stream in accordance with state and local laws:

e NOTE: THIS IS A LAST RESORT OPTION - consider all other options first.

VI. Transfer to DAS for resale and/or distribution:

e Selling agency enters information in the DAS Surplus Property Inventory system.

e Current DAS Surplus Property Program fees and/or reimbursement schedule will apply. For
more information please see: www.OregonSurplus.com

e To have DAS Surplus sell the item from your location rather that transporting it to the Surplus
Property warehouse, please contact the Surplus Property Program at (503) 378-6020.

For Surplus items with a value greater than $250, please utilize the Surplus inventory system available
at this link: http://surplus.msnmedia.com/ For a tutorial on how to use this system, please visit this
link: http://www.oregon.gov/das/Surplus/Documents/ReuseTutorialDocs/ReuseTutorial.pdf

Please call me directly if you have any questions or concerns — (503) 378-6057. Thank you.
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ltems that historically have commonly sold for $250 or less*:

e All Office Furniture
o Including — Desks, Chairs, Tables, File Cabinets, Bookshelves, Map Cabinets, etc.
= Even when sold as lots, these items do not make the $250 threshold.

o Especially broken furniture — these items will be either recycled or placed into our
dumpster and fees will be charged.
o Exception: A matched set of conference room table and chairs in good condition.

e Misc. Office Supplies
o Including — Binders, Inboxes, Office Supplies, File Folders, Hot Files, Fans,
Heaters, Staplers (even electric ones), Paper Cutters, etc.

 Even when sold as lots, these items do not make the $250 threshold.

e Cubical Walls — Almost always.

e Damaged or Non-working Power Tools

e Office equipment
o Including Shredders, Letter openers, Postage Machines (never send in postage meters
because they are the property of Pithey Bowes and must be returned to them).

e Appliances
o Including Stoves, Microwaves, Washer and Dryers, Coffee Makers, etc.
o Refrigerators and Freezers may be charged additional fees for proper disposal of
DEQ regulated refrigerants - if necessary.
o Exceptions:
= Large appliances that are less than 4 years old
» All commercial grade appliances.

e Tires

* These are examples to provide you with general guidance. Items of exceptional
quality and/or condition may have a value greater than $250. We are happy to
consult with you at any time — 503.378.6020

Last updated 6/16/2015



	250dollars
	250_less_examples



