CBR Renewal Talking Points

® Oregon Department of
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At each monitor visit and renewal inspection, Child Care Licensing Division (CCLD) staff will review
the following:

As a reminder, any Central Background Registry (CBR) due to expire in the next 4-5 months (expiration
dates are on the pre-visit reports and CBR letters mailed to the program).

CBR renewal applications can be submitted up to 120 days before the expiration date. A CBR renewal
notice is mailed to the enrolled individual 120 days before the CBR expiration date.

o CBR enrollment and fingerprinting are free for licensed programs! CCLD pays the fees for
individuals living in or working for Registered Family (RF), Certified Family (CF) and Certified
Center (CC and SC) facilities.

Renewal includes the CBR application (online or paper) AND fingerprinting. Both must be completed for
every CBR enrollment renewal.

It is recommended that CBR renewal applications be submitted at least 30 days prior to expiration
so the enrollment will remain active until fingerprinting and processing are completed. Note: renewal
applications must be received for processing, a minimum of 14 days before the expiration date in order
to be considered timely.

As alicensed child care facility, residents of your home and/or employees are required to maintain
active enrollment in the CBR at all times.

It is your responsibility to keep track of CBR expiration dates and ensure that individuals associated with
your program have a current CBR at all times. Do not rely on reminder notices from CCLD.

Having an individual on site whose enrollment in the CBR has expired will result in a serious valid
noncompliance being issued, and could also result in civil penalties and other sanctions.

Did you know? If an employee of a child care facility or a resident of a child care home lets their CBR
enrollment expire, they must leave immediately and cannot be on site until their CBR re-enrollment is
conditional or active again.

o Individuals turning 18 soon can submit a paper CBR application by mail up to 90 days before their
birthday. or the online application up to 45 days before turning 18 years old. If an individual furns
18 years old and is not yet enrolled in the CBR, they cannot live in a registered or certified family
child care home or continue to work in or be associated with a child care facility (see CEN-0005
CBR FAQs).

If the mailing address changes for an individual on the CBR, they must submit a CBR Name/Address
Change Form (CEN-0004). If mailing addresses are not kept up to date in the CBR system, you or your
employee may not receive the 120-day reminder notice. You are responsible for renewing on time, even
if you don't receive the reminder letter.

The CBR application (CEN-000I) is available online here: oregon.gov/DELC

Apply online for the CBR here: oregon.gov/DELC

Note: Please see the Child Care Licensing Division Central Background Registry OAR 414-061-0000
through 414-061-0120 on the Oregon Secretary of State website.

You are entitled fo language assistance services and other accommodations at no cost. If you need help in your language
or other accommodations, please contact the Child Care Licensing Division at 503-947-1400.
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