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APPLICATION FOR 

DENTAL FACULTY LICENSURE IN OREGON 
 
 
SUMMARY: Prior to issuance of a Faculty Dental license, the Board must receive a completed 
application, $305 application fee, $210 biennial licensure fee, $50 Prescription Drug Monitoring 
Fee, an official transcript, certificate of employment, fingerprint card and, if applicable, 
verification of licensure in another state or Canadian Province, or verification of having held an 
instructor’s or faculty license, or verification of having successfully passing any clinical 
examination recognized by the Board, or verification of being certified by the appropriate 
national certifying examination body in a dental specialty. 
 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Submit the following to the Board in care of the Oregon Board of Dentistry, Unit 23, PO Box 
4395, Portland, Oregon 97208-4395 

1. A completed application (a blank form is enclosed).  Your application will be 
forwarded to us after receipt of the fee is verified. 

 
2. A non-refundable application fee of $305, in the form of a cashier’s check or 

money order, payable to the Oregon Board of Dentistry. 
 

3. A biennial license fee of $210.   
 
4. A Prescription Drug Monitoring Program fee of $50. 
 

 
Submit the following to the Oregon Board of Dentistry, 1500 SW 1st, Suite 770, Portland, 
Oregon 97201.  
 

1. Certification of Employment.  Verification of being a full-time instructor of 
dentistry at OHSU, School of Dentistry engaged in dental activities (this 
verification must come directly from the Dean); and 

 
2. a.  An official transcript showing satisfactory evidence of graduation from a 

school of dentistry accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the 
American Dental Association (CODA/ADA) must be submitted by your program 
to the Board; or  

 
 b. If you graduated from a dental school outside the United States or Canada, an 

official transcript showing successful completion of at least two years in an 
accredited, advanced dental education program. Transcript must be submitted by 
your program directly to the Board; and submit 

 
A.  Verification of current licensure to practice dentistry from another state 

or Canadian Province; or 
 

B.  Verification of having held an instructor’s or faculty license to practice 
dentistry in another state or Canadian province immediately prior to 
becoming an instructor of dentistry at the Oregon Health & Sciences 
University; or 

 
C. Verification of having successfully passed any clinical examination 



recognized by the board for initial licensure; or 
 
D. Verification of being certified by the appropriate national certifying 

examination body in a dental specialty recognized by the American 
Dental Association. 

 
3. If you answer “yes” to any of the questions on page two of the application, for any 

reason, you must submit additional supporting documentation for that question 
as indicated on the application.  

 
This documentation should include: 

 
a. Written letter of explanation from you giving full details. 

 
b. Certified copies of disciplinary action, police reports, court documents, and 

medical evaluations or any other pertinent information. 
 

4. Fingerprint Card – Out-of-State Applicants 
Fingerprints of applicants must be taken by a person qualified to take 

fingerprints. 
(Check with your local law enforcement agency) The fingerprint card and the 
letter “To The Official Taking Fingerprints” must be returned by the Official in the 
enclosed envelope. REQUEST FINGERPRINT CARD 
 

  Fingerprints – Live Scan – Oregon  
Live Scan fingerprints can only be transmitted electronically if fingerprints are 
taken in Oregon.  Once the Oregon Board of Dentistry receives your application 
and application fee, we will send you the Request for Transmission for Live Scan 
Fingerprints form.    
 

 5. Jurisprudence Examination  
 Once the application and application fee are received, the Jurisprudence 

Examination will be mailed to you.  This examination is “open book” and may be 
returned to the Board by mail. 

 
6. Faculty Practice Plan 
 Copy of your Faculty Practice Plan from Oregon Health and Science University. 
 

 
Application Valid For 180 Days (OAR 818-021-0120): 
 

1.      If all information and documentation necessary for the Board to act on an 
application is not provided to the Board by the applicant within 180 days from the 
date the application is received by the Board, the Board shall reject the application as 
incomplete. 

2.      An applicant whose application has been rejected as incomplete must file a new 
application and must pay a new application fee. 

 
Fees Non-refundable – (ORS 679.120(8)): 
 
All fees paid to the Board are non-refundable or transferable. 
 
 

mailto:information@oregondentistry.org?subject=Request%20Fingerprint%20Card


Please anticipate a minimum of 6 – 8 weeks for complete application processing.  Once 
requested, documentation from other states or jurisdictions and background checks can take 
several weeks for processing. 

 
 
 
WHERE FORMS ARE TO BE SENT: 
 

The Application and the Biennial Licensure Forms and their fees are to be sent to Oregon Board of 
Dentistry, Unit 23, PO Box 4395, Portland, Oregon 97208-4395. 

 
All supplemental forms, Official Transcripts, and Certificates of Standings from other states are to be 

sent directly to the Oregon Board of Dentistry, 1500 SW 1st Avenue, Suite 770, Portland, OR 
97201. 

 
 
Please note: the Board will match up all the above documents with the application which you 
send to Oregon Board of Dentistry, Unit 23, PO Box 4395, Portland, Oregon 97208-4395 with 
your fee. 
 
 
ISSUANCE OF A DENTAL FACULTY  LICENSE 
 
Once all application materials and fees have been received, it will take approximately ten 
business days to issue a dental faculty license.   A dental faculty license issued under this 
provision is restricted to the practice of dentistry in a facility devoted to dental care on the 
campus of Oregon Health and Science University. 
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 OREGON 

 BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
      
  
 
 
1.  Please complete on typewriter or in dark ink. Print legibly. 
2.  If additional space is needed, attach a separate sheet. 
3.  Make checks payable to the Oregon Board of Dentistry. 
4.  Mail completed application to the Oregon Board of Dentistry, Unit 23, PO Box 4395, Portland, OR 97208-4395. 
 
I HEREBY APPLY FOR A LICENSE TO PRACTICE: 
 

Dental Faculty Practice 
 Application fee (2111) $305 
 Licensure fee (2101) $210 
 Prescription Monitoring Program (1706) $50 

Dental Hygiene Faculty Practice 
 Application fee (2113) $140 
 Licensure fee (2103) $100 

 

 
First Name                                                   Middle Name                                                    Last Name  

 
Other Names Used Telephone Number 

 
 
Mailing Address/City, State, ZIP Code 

 
Social Security Number  
 

 
Place of Birth 

 
Date of Birth 
 

 
College Education (Name and Location) 
 

 
From 

 
To 

 
Degree 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
Dental/Dental Hygiene School (s) (Name and Location) 

 
From 

 
To 

 
Degree 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
Specialty Training or Specialty Board Membership 
 

 
From 

 
To 

 
Degree 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Date Application Received: License No: 
 
 
 
Date License Issued: 
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If the answer to any of the following questions is yes, provide details on a separate sheet (except 10a). 
(see “IMPORTANT INFORMATION” on Instruction Sheet) 
 
  
1. Are you aware of any physical or mental condition 

that would inhibit your ability to practice safely? 
 Yes 

 
 No 

 
 
2. Have you ever been denied a license to practice 

dentistry or dental hygiene or denied the right to take 
an exam for such licensure? 

 Yes 
 

 No 
 

 
3. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to 

practice dentistry or dental hygiene? 

 Yes 
 

 No 
 

 
4. Has there been any disciplinary action, pending or 

final, regarding any dental or dental hygiene license 
you now hold or have ever held? (Include any 
disciplinary actions by the U.S. Military, U.S. Public 
Health Service, Drug Enforcement Administration, 
state licensing board or other entity.) 

 Yes 
 

 No 
 

 
5.   Has there been any investigation or disciplinary 

action taken against you by any dental or dental 
hygiene school or program? 

 

 Yes 
 

 No 
 

 
6. a. Have you ever been convicted of any offense, 

misdemeanor or felony which could have resulted in 
your imprisonment in a state, local or federal 
institution? (Even if not imprisoned.) 

 
     b. Are there any pending criminal actions against you 

that could result in your imprisonment in a state, local 
or federal institution?  

 Yes 
 
 
 
 

 Yes 
 

 No 
 
 
 
 

 No 
 

 
7. Have you ever been convicted of any violation of any 

federal, state or local law relating to the possession, 
distribution, use or dispensing of mind altering or 
controlled substances? 

 Yes 
 

 No 
 

 
8. Have you ever used or possessed any drugs, or mind 

altering substances in violation of any law? 

 Yes 
 

 No 
 

 
9. Have you ever received treatment or counseling for 

abuse of alcohol, drugs or mind altering substances? 

 Yes 
 

 No 
 

 
10. a. Do you currently hold, or have you ever held, a 

license in this or any other state to practice a health 
care profession other than dentistry or dental 
hygiene?  If yes, list on page 3. 

 
      b. Has there been any disciplinary action, pending or 

final, regarding any health care professional license 
(other than dental or dental hygiene) by a licensing 
board? 

 
Yes 

 
 
 

 Yes 
 

 
 No 

 
 
 

 No 
 

 
 

Paste photograph here. 
Must be a passport type of 

 photo taken within one year of 
application. 

 
On the photograph, sign and 

date across bottom in ink. 
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List all states in which you are or have been 
licensed or in which application is pending.  
Enter “None” or “Not Applicable” if 
none.  

Type of License(s) License 
No. 

Date 
Issued 

Status 

State Dental Dental 
Hygiene 

Other 
(Specify) 

   

 
 
 

   
 

   

 
 
 

   
 

   

 
 
 

   
 

   

 
 
 

   
 

   

 
 
 

   
 

   

 
 
 

   
 

   

     

      

 
List in reverse chronological order all positions you have held in which you practiced dentistry or dental hygiene as well 
as any residencies or other formal training not otherwise listed on this application.  Enter “None” or “Not Applicable” 
if none. 

 
Description 

 

 
Name of Institution or Employer 

 
Location 

 
From 

 
To 
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 AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT  
 
 
 
STATE OF                                       

                                                         SS. 
COUNTY OF                                   
 
I, hereby declare that I am the person described in the attached application for licensure. 
 
I have carefully read the questions in the attached application and have answered them completely, without 
reservations of any kind, and I declare under the penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by 
me are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act 
shall constitute cause for the denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene 
in the State of Oregon. 
 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions, or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers 
(past and present), business and professional associates (past and present) and all governmental agencies and 
instrumentalities (local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Oregon Board of Dentistry any information, 
files or records requested by the Board in connection with the processing of this application.  I further authorize 
the Board to release to the organizations, individuals and groups listed above any information, which is material 
to my application. 
 
 
 
 
                                                                   
 Legal Signature                                           
 
                                                                     
 Type name as it appears on the application 
 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this          day of                       , 20       . 
 
 
                                                                    
 Notary Public Signature                               
 
 
 Notary Public for    
 
 My Commission Expires:                           
 
 
  
 



Rev. 12/2013 

Rev. Code 2101 
OREGON BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
UNIT 23 
PO BOX 4395 
PORTLAND, OR  97208-4395           
 
 
 
 

DENTAL BIENNIAL LICENSURE FEE 
 
 
 

Enclose the biennial licensure fee of $210.00, payable by cashier’s check or money order to the 
Oregon Board of Dentistry, with this form and mail to the above address.  
 
a.  Name as you wish it to appear on your formal license 
 
 

 
 
b.  Mailing address   
       Street or P.O. Box 
 
 
    
 City    State   Zip Code 
 
 Business address
       Street 
        
   
     City    State   Zip Code 
 
 
 Home address
       Street 
        
   
     City    State   Zip Code 
 
 
c. Phone:  Home 
      Area Code  -  Telephone Number 
 
          Business  
      Area Code  -  Telephone Number 
 
         Cell  
      Area Code  -  Telephone Number 

  
 

d. Email address  _____________________________________________________________ 
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CERTIFICATE OF LICENSURE 
(Not applicable if no state licenses have been obtained) 

 
 

Name of Applicant (Please Print or Type) 
 
Street Address 
 
City State Zip Code: 

 
License No: 
 

Date Issued: 

 
 
 
I certify that _________________________________________________________ was granted license 

number _________ to practice ___________________________ in the State of ___________________, 

on the basis of successfully passing ______________________________________________________ 

examination. 

 

STATUS OF LICENSE   Current  Expiration Date _________________ 

     Expired  Date __________________________ 

     Inactive  Expiration Date __________________ 

     Revoked Date __________________________ 

 

Type of License Issued   Full 

     Limited 

     Conditional/Restricted (Please explain) 

 

Legal/Disciplinary Action:    Yes    No 

Legal/Disciplinary Action Pending    Yes    No   Unable to disclose 

 

If yes, please attach copies of any disciplinary/legal action or pending disciplinary/legal action. 

 

    
        Signature of Official     
 

 
SEAL                            Title 

 
 

                Date Certificate Prepared 
 

 

   Return directly to: 

Oregon Board of Dentistry 
1500 SW 1st Avenue, Suite 770 
Portland, Oregon  97201       
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Rev. 12/2013 
 

To The Applicant – Fill out this form if licensed in another State  
 
Please complete the identifying information and submit to: 
 

Drug Enforcement Administration 
Attention:  Pandora – Diversion Unit 

300 5th Avenue, Suite 1300 
Seattle, WA  98104 

Telephone:  888-219-4261 
Fax:  206-553-7757 

 
Date:  ____________________ 
 
To Whom It May Concern: 
 
I am applying for a license to practice dentistry in the State of Oregon.  Please indicate 
on the lower portion of this form if I have ever surrendered (for cause) or had a federal 
controlled substance registration revoked, suspended, restricted or denied. 
 
Please send this form directly to the Oregon Board of Dentistry.  Thank you for your 
assistance. 
 
Name: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Date of Birth: ________________________________________________________________ 
 
DEA Registration Number: _____________________________________________________ 
 
Address where DEA No. is Registered:      ________________________________________ 
 

 

 
 

Signature of Applicant     Please Print Name 
 
 

 
DEA Response: 
 
Applicant has surrendered (for cause) or had a federal controlled substance registration 
revoked, suspended, restricted or denied:   YES      NO (Not to be completed by 
applicant!) 
 
Please mail or fax to the following:   Oregon Board of Dentistry 
      1500 SW 1th Avenue, Suite 770 
      Portland, OR 97201 
     Fax: (971) 673-3202    
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Board of Dentistry 
1500 SW 1st Avenue 

Suite 770 
Portland, OR  97201-5828 

(971) 673-3200 
Fax:  (971) 673-3202 

www.oregon.gov/dentistry 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

PRIVACY ACT NOTIFICATION 
 

As part of your application for an initial professional license, you are required to 
provide your Social Security Number to the Oregon Board of Dentistry (OBD).  
This is a mandatory requirement under Oregon Laws 1997, Chapter 746, section 
117 (ORS 25.785) and under Federal Law USC section 666(a)(13)(a). 
 
Failure to provide your Social Security Number will be a basis to refuse to issue 
your license. 
 
The OBD will maintain a record of your Social Security Number in your licensing 
file. 
 
The OBD is required to report your Social Security Number to the following 
entities: 

• Division of Child Support – ORS 25.750 –25.785 
• Oregon Department of Revenue – ORS 305.380 – 305.385 
• United States Health Care Integrity Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) 

– 45 CFR, Part 61, established under Section 1128E of the Social 
Security Act. 

• National Practitioners Data Bank (NPDB) – Section (5) Medicare 
and Medicaid Patient and Program Protection Act of 1987. 
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Rev. December 2013 

INFORMATION REQUESTED 
 
The 2001 Legislature passed Senate Bill 786 (ORS 676.400), which requires that health professional 
regulatory boards maintain information regarding racial, ethnic and bilingual status of licensees and 
applicants and report to the data to the  Legislature. 
 
This law was the result of a study performed by the Governor’s Racial and Ethnic Health Task Force, 
which determined that access to health care by racial and ethnic minorities is inadequate to address the 
chronic health issues these communities face.  People of color and people with native languages other 
than English experience extreme difficulty accessing health services.  Culturally competent health care 
providers are critical in providing appropriate health care and the collection of the information 
requested below will assist decision makers in developing programs to address the disparity in access 
to health care experienced by various communities. 
 
See the reverse of this page for racial and ethnic definitions from the State of Oregon employment 
documents and the US Census Bureau. 
 
Provision of this information is voluntary.  If you choose not to provide the information, it will have 
no effect on the acceptance or processing of your application or renewal. 
 

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦ 
Please print information 

 
Name:  ______________________________   License No.  _______________________ 
 
RACE:  Please check one. 
 

 White/Caucasian (not of Hispanic origin) 
 Black/African American (not of Hispanic origin) 
 Asian 
 Hispanic/Latino 
 Native American Indian/Alaska Native 
 Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander 
 Other:  ____________________________ 

 
Ethnicity:  _______________________________________ (e.g., American Indian tribe, Bengalese, 
Cambodian, Filipino, Guamanian, Haitian, Italian, Kenyan, Lebanese, Mexican, Norwegian, Polish, 
Russian, Samoan, Thai, etc.) 
 
Languages:  Please list languages, besides English, in which you are fully proficient or at least 
conversationally proficient, including American Sign Language. 
 

______________________ ______________________ _______________________ 
 

Thank you for your assistance.  Please return this survey with your application or renewal form, or you 
may mail or fax it at a later date. 
 

OREGON BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
1500 SW 1st Avenue, Suite 770 

Portland, OR  97201 
FAX:  971-673-3202 
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