Secretary of State FILED
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING HEARING* 5-9-14 8:59 AM
A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form . ARCHIVES DIVISION

SECRETARY OF STATE
Oregon Board of Dentistry 818
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number
Stephen Prisby (971) 673-3200
Rules Coordinator Telephone
QOregon Board of Dentistry, 1500 SW 1st Ave., Suite 770, Portland, OR 97201
Address

RULE CAPTION

Amends Rules regarding Fees, Practice, Conduct, infection Control. Continuino Education, Hygiene, Anesthesia and Radiologic Proficiency.
Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.

Hearing Date Time Location Hearings Officer
6-26-14 HT:OO p.m. iOHSU Center for Health & Healing, 749 SW Whitaker St. Conference IBoard President
RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.
ADOPT:
AMEND:

818-001-0087, 818-012-0005, 818-012-0030, 818-012-0040, 818-021-0060, 818-021-0070, 818-026-0050, 818-026-0055, 818-026-0060, 818
-026-0065, 818-026-0070, 818-035-0025, 818-035-0030, 818-035-0040, 818-042-0040, 818-042-0050, 818-042-0060, 818-042-0080, 818
-042-0120 and 818-042-0130

REPEAL:
RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

Statutory Authority:
ORS 183.325-183.355, 183,400, 679.250, 679.255, 680.150, 680.200, 680.205.

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:

670.260, 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676.200, 679.010, 679.020, 679.025, 679.060, 679.090, 679.115, 679.120, 679.140, 679.160, 679.170,
679.250, 680.050, 680.072,

680.075, 680.082, 680,100, 680.150, 680.200, 680.205.

RULE SUMMARY

The Board is amending 818-001-0087 Fees to add a Non-Resident Dental Permit fee.
The Board is amending 818-012-0005 Scope of Practice to correct the name of an organization referenced in rule.

The Board is amending 818-012-0030 Unprofessional Conduct so thaf failure to maintain a current BLS/CPR training or its equivalent is
unprofessional conduct.

The Board is amending 818-012-0040 Infection Centrol Guidelines to clarify the rule regarding testing and proper function of heat sterilization
devices each calendar week.

The Board is amending 818-021-0060 Continuing Education - Dentists to add 2 hours of continuing education related to infection control.

The Board is amending 818-021-0070 Continuing Education - Dental Hygienists to add 2 hours of continuing education related to infection
control. '



The Board is amending 818-026-0050 Minimal Sedation Permit- to add that after training a dental assistant may administer oral sedative
agents or anxiolysis agents calculated and dispensed by a dentist under direct supervision.

The Board is amending 818-026-0055 Dental Hygiene and Dental Assistant Procedures Performed Under Nitrous Oxide or Minimal Sedation
to clarify the protocols and pre and post operative care required.

The Board is amending 818-026-00680 Moderate Sedation Permit to allow dental assistants to dispense oral medications that have been
prepared by the dentist permit holder for oral administration under direct supervision.

The Board is amending 818-026-0085 Deep Sedation Permit to clarify the criteria for recovery and transportation of a patient that has been
sedated.

The Board is amending 818-026-0070 General Anesthesia Permit to clarify that a patient remain in operatory for the duration of treatment until
criteria for recovery have been met.

The Board is amending 818-035-0025 Prohibitions to remove the word prescribe from the rule. OBD legal counsel has opined that dental
hygienists do not have statutory authority to prescribe drugs referenced in OARs.

The Board is amending 818-035-0030 Additional Functions of Dental Hygienists to remove the word preseribe from the rule. OBD legal
counsel has opined that dental hygienists do not have statutory authority to prescribe drugs referenced in rule. The rule change would also
allow the removal of cement and adhesive material when using high-speed handpieces.

The Board is amending 818-035-0040 Expanded Functions of Dental Hygienists to add the abllity to administer local anesthetic reversal
agents and clarify the age and weight of patients for this.

The Board is amending 818-042-0040 Prohibited Acts to clarify that over the counter medications may be administered per package
instructions.

The Board is amending 818-042-0050 Taking of X-Rays - Exposing of Radiographs
to clarify the rules regarding assistants exposing radiographs.

The Board is amending 818-042-0060 Certification- Radiologic Proficiency to rename agency referenced in rule,
The Board is amending 818-042-0080 Additional Functions of EFDAs to clarify the wdrding of the rule.
The Board is amending 818-042-0120 Certification by Credential to rename a state agency referenced in rule.

The Board is amending 818-042-0130 Application for Certification by Credential to rename a state agency referenced in rule.

The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative
economic impact of the rule on business.

06-26-2014 4:00 p.m. Stephen Prishy stephen.prisby@state.or.us
Last Day (m/d/yyyy} and Time Rules Coordinator Name Email Address
for nublic comment

*The Cregen Bulfetin is published on the 1st of aach month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation.



Secretary of State FILED
STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT 5.9-14 8:59 AM
A Notice of Pronnsed Rulemakina Hearina accomnanies this form. ARCHIVES BIVISION
SECRETARY OF STATE
Oregon Board of Dentistry 818
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Amends Rules regarding Fees, Practice, Conduct, Infection Control, Continuing Education, Hygiene, Anesthesia and Radiologic Proficiency.

Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.}
in the Matter of:

The amendment of OARs
818-001-0087
818-012-0005
818-012-0030
818-012-0040
818-021-0060
818-021-0070
818-026-0050
818-026-0055
818-026-0060
818-026-0065
818-026-0070
818-035-0025
818-035-0030
818-035-0040
818-042-0040
818-042-0050
818-042-0060
818-042-0080
818-042-0120
818-042-0130

Statutory Authority:
ORS 183.325-183.355, 183.400, 679.250, 679.255, 680,150, 680.200, 680.205.

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:

670.260, 676.185, 676.190, 676.195, 676,200, 679.010, 679.020, 679.025, 679.060, 679.090, 679.115, 679.120, 679.140, 679.160, 679.170,
£79.250, 680.050, 680.072,

£80.075, 680.082, 680.100, 680.150, 680.200, 680.205.

Need for the Rule(s):
The amendment to 818-001-0087 Fees is to add a Non-Resident Dental Permit Fee.

The amendment to 818-012-0005 Scope of Practice is to correct the name of an organization referenced in rule.

The amendment to 818-012-0030 Unprofessional Conduct so that failure to maintain a current BLS/CPR training or its equivalent is
unprofessional conduct.

The amendment to 818-012-0040 infection Control Guidelines is to clarify the rule regarding testing and proper function of heat sterilization
devices each calendar week. '

The amendment to 818-021-0080 Continuing Education - Dentists is to add 2 hours of centinuing education related to infection control.

The amendment to 818-021-0070 Continuing Education - Dental Hygienists is to add 2 hours of continuing education refated to infection
control.



The amendment to 818-026-0050 Minimal Sedation Permit is to allow dental assistants to administer oral sedative or anxiolysis agents
dispensed by a dentist under direct supervision.

The amendment to 818-026-0055 Dental Hygiene and Dental Assistant Procedures Performed Under Nitrous Oxide or Minimal Sedation is to
clarify the protocols and pre and post operative care required.

The amendment to OAR 818-026-0065 Deep Sedation Permit is to clarify the recovery procedures for patient.

The amendment to 818-026-0060 Moderate Sedation Permit is to allow dental assistants to dispense oral medications that have been
prepared by the dentist permit holder for oral administration under direct supervision.

The amendment to 818-026-0070 General Anesthesia Permit is to clarify that a patient remain in operatory for the duration of treatment unil
criteria for recovery have been met.

The amendment to 818-035-0025 Prohibitions is to remove the word prescribe from the rule. OBD legal counsel has opined that dental
hygienists do not have statutory authority to prescribe drugs referenced in OARs.

The amendment to 818-035-0030 Additional Functions of Dental Hygienists is to remove the word prescribe from rule. OBD legal counsel has
opined that dental hygienists do not have statutory authority to prescribe drugs referenced in rule. The rule change would also allow the
removal of cement and adhesive material.

The amendment to 818-035-0040 Expanded Functions of Dental Hygienists is to add the ability to administer locat anesthetic reversal agents
and clarify the age and weight of patients for this.

The amendment to 818-042-0040 Prohibited Acts is to clarify that over the counter medications may be administered per package instructions.

The amendment to 818-042-0050 Taking of X-Rays - Exposing of Radiographs
is to clarify the rules regarding assistants exposing radiographs.

The amendment to 818-042-0060 Certification- Radiologic Proficiency is to rename agency referenced in rule.
The amendment to 818-042-0080 Additional Functions of EFDAs is to clarify the wording of the rule,
The amendment to 818-042-0120 Cerfification by Credential is to rename a state agency referenced in the rule.

The amendment to 818-042-0130 Application for Certification by Credential is to rename a state agency referenced in the rule,

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
The Oregon Board of Dentistry has a website at www.Oregon.gov/dentistry where all documents are available and posted.

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
none

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

It is not possible to estimate the exact number of small businesses, as the majority of dental practices are considered small businesses, Some
licensees may see a small increase in costs to be in compliance with rule changes.

2, Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:
Some licensees may see a small increase in costs to be in compliance with rule changes.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:
Some licensees may see a small increase in costs to be in compliance with rule changes.

¢. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
Soms licensees may see a small increase in costs to be in compliance with rule changes.

How were small businesses invoived in the development of this rule?
Dentists who are owners of dental practices assisted in the review and writing of the rules as members of the Oregon Board of Dentistry
(OBD) Rules Oversight Committee and the Anesthesia Committee. Professional assoclation representatives are also members of the OBD
Rules Oversight Committee and participated in the drafting of the proposed rules and amendments.



Administrative Ruie Advisory Committee consulted?: Yes

if not, why?:
08-26-2014 4:.00 p.m. _Stephen Prisby stephen.prisby@state.or.us
Last Day (m/dfyyyy) and Time Printed Name Email Address

for public comment

Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Strest NE, Salem, Oregon 97310, ARC 925-2007
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ABOUT THE OHSU CENTER FOR HEALTH & HEALING
The OHSU Center for Health & Healing is located in Portland's South
Waterfront neighborhood and at the foot of the Portland Aerial Tram. The
main lobby includes the Casey Optical Studio, a pharmacy, the March
Wellness spa and fitness center, parking elevators, elevators to access
floors 1-16, the Daily Café and coffee stand. An information desk is
available directly across from the parking elevators.

Portland’s streetcar conveniently stops at the corner of S.W. Moody and
S.W. Gibbs, which is across the street and just north of the OHSU Center

Tram to

OHSU

Center for

Health & Healing .

749 S.W. Whitaker Street OHSU CENTER FOR HEALTH & HEALING

Portland, Oregon 97239

for Health & Healing. The streetcar accommodates bikes and wheelchairs. Schedules and fare
information are available online at www.portlandstreetcar.org.

PARKING

Parking is available undemeath the OHSU Center for Health & Healing. The entrance to the
garage is on S.W. Whitaker, directly across the street from the center. Parking is free for patients.
Once you park your car, take the parking elevators up to the main lobby and transfer to the
building elevators to reach floors 1 through 16.

For more information and directions to the campus, please visit www.ohsuhealth.com/maps or
call 503.494.8311.
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As the only academic medical center in the
state, Oregon Health & Science University
has an extraordinary range of doctors,
scientists, nurses, technicians and others
who work together for the benefit of every
patient, every day. OHSU is dedicated to
providing personalized patient care,
combined with the latest treatments and
therapies, to deliver a quality of healthcare
not available anywhere else in Oregon.
The knowledge of all for the care of one.

We welcome you to visit our 100-acre
Marquam Hill campus located in southwest
Portland, overlooking downtown Portland.
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1 DIVISION 1
2 PROCEDURES
3 818-001-0087
4  Fees
5 (1) The Board adopts the following fees:
6 (a) Biennial License Fees:
7  (A) Dental — $315;
8 (B) Dental — retired — $0;
9 (C) Dental Faculty — $260;
10 (D) Volunteer Dentist — $0;

11 (E) Dental Hygiene — $155;

12 (F) Dental Hygiene — retired — $0;

13 (G) Volunteer Dental Hygienist — $0.

14  (b) Biennial Permits, Endorsements or Certificates:

15  (A) Nitrous Oxide Permit — $40;

16  (B) Minimal Sedation Permit — $75;

17  (C) Moderate Sedation Permit — $75;

18 (D) Deep Sedation Permit — $75;

19  (E) General Anesthesia Permit — $140;

20 (F) Radiology — $75;

21 (G) Expanded Function Dental Assistant — $50;

22 (H) Expanded Function Orthodontic Assistant — $50;
23 (1) Instructor Permits — $40;

24  (J) Dental Hygiene Restorative Functions Endorsement — $50;
25 (K) Restorative Functions Dental Assistant — $50;

26 (L) Anesthesia Dental Assistant — $50;

27 (M) Dental Hygiene, Expanded Practice Permit — $75
28  (N) Non-Resident Dental Permit - $100.00

29  (c) Applications for Licensure:

30 (A) Dental — General and Specialty — $345;

31 (B) Dental Faculty — $305;

32 (C) Dental Hygiene — $180;

33 (D) Licensure Without Further Examination — Dental and Dental Hygiene — $790.

34  (d) Examinations:

Div. 1
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(A) Jurisprudence — $0;

(B) Dental Specialty:

(i) If only one candidate applies for the exam, a fee of $2,000.00 will be required at the time of
application; and

(i) If two candidates apply for the exam, a fee of $1,000.00 will be required at the time of
application; and

(iii) If three or more candidates apply for the exam, a fee of $750.00 will be required at the time
of application.

(e) Duplicate Wall Certificates — $50.

(2) Fees must be paid at the time of application and are not refundable.

(3) The Board shall not refund moneys under $5.01 received in excess of amounts due or to
which the Board has no legal interest unless the person who made the payment or the person's

legal representative requests a refund in writing within one year of payment to the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 293.445, 679.060, 679.115, 679.120, 679.250, 680.050, 680.075,
680.200 & 680.205

Hist.: DE 6-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 9-20-85; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 1-1987, f. & ef. 10-7-
87; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89, corrected by DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89;
Renumbered from 818-001-0085; DE 2-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-30-89; DE 1-1990, f. 3-19-
90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; DE 1-1991(Temp), f. 8-5-91, cert. ef. 8-15-91; DE 2-1991, f. & cert. ef. 12-
31-91; DE 1-1992(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92; DE 2-1993, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-93; OBD 1-1998, f.
& cert. ef. 6-8-98; OBD 3-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction, 8-2-99;
OBD 5-2000, f. 6-22-00, cert. ef. 7-1-00; OBD 8-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-
05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2007, f. 4-26-07, cert. ef. 5-1-07; OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07;
OBD 1-2009(Temp), f. 6-11-09, cert. e. 7-1-09 thru 11-1-09; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef.
11-1-09; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 3-2011(Temp), f. 6-30-11, cert. ef. 7-1-
11 thru 12-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 1-27-12; OBD
1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13

Div. 1
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DIVISION 12

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
818-012-0005
Scope of Practice
(1) No dentist may perform any of the procedures listed below:
(a) Rhinoplasty;
(b) Blepharoplasty;
(c) Rhydidectomy;
(d) Submental liposuction;
(e) Laser resurfacing;
(f) Browlift, either open or endoscopic technique;
(g) Platysmal muscle plication;
(h) Otoplasty;
(i) Dermabrasion;
() Lip augmentation;
(k) Hair transplantation, not as an isolated procedure for male pattern baldness; and
() Harvesting bone extra orally for dental procedures, including oral and maxillofacial
procedures.
(2) Unless the dentist:
(a) Has successfully completed a residency in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery accredited by the
American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA), and
(b) Has successfully completed a clinical fellowship, of at least one continuous year in duration,
in esthetic (cosmetic) surgery recognized by the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial
Surgeons or by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation, or
(c) Holds privileges either:
(A) Issued by a credentialing committee of a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission on
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) to perform these procedures in a hospital
setting; or
(B) Issued by a credentialing committee for an ambulatory surgical center licensed by the State
of Oregon and accredited by either the JCAHO or the [American-Associationfor-Ambulatory
Health-Care {AAAHC)} Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHQ).

(3) A dentist may utilize Botulinum Toxin Type A to treat a condition that is within the scope of

the practice of dentistry after completing a minimum of 16 hours in a hands on clinical course(s)

in which the provider is approved by the Academy of General Dentistry Program Approval for

Div.12
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Continuing Education (AGD PACE) or by the American Dental Association Continuing

Education Recognition Program (ADA CERP).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.010(2), 679.140(1)(c), 679.140(2), 679.170(6) & 680.100
Hist.: OBD 6-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 3-2013, f.

10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-1

Div.12
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DIVISION 12

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
818-012-0030
Unprofessional Conduct
The Board finds that in addition to the conduct set forth in ORS 679.140(2), a licensee engages
in unprofessional conduct if the licensee does or permits any person to:
(1) Attempt to obtain a fee by fraud or misrepresentation.
(2) Obtaining a fee by fraud or misrepresentation.
(a) A licensee obtains a fee by fraud if the licensee obtains a fee by knowingly making or
permitting any person to make a material, false statement intending that a recipient who is
unaware of the truth rely upon the statement.
(b) A licensee obtains a fee by misrepresentation if the licensee obtains a fee through making or
permitting any person to make a material, false statement.
(c) Giving cash discounts and not disclosing them to third party payors is not fraud or
misrepresentation.
(3) Offer rebates, split fees, or commissions for services rendered to a patient to any person
other than a partner, employee, or employer.
(4) Accept rebates, split fees, or commissions for services rendered to a patient from any
person other than a partner, employee, or employer.
(5) Initiate, or engage in, with a patient, any behavior with sexual connotations. The behavior
can include but is not limited to, inappropriate physical touching; kissing of a sexual nature;
gestures or expressions, any of which are sexualized or sexually demeaning to a patient;
inappropriate procedures, including, but not limited to, disrobing and draping practices that
reflect a lack of respect for the patient's privacy; or initiating inappropriate communication,
verbal or written, including, but not limited to, references to a patient's body or clothing that are
sexualized or sexually demeaning to a patient; and inappropriate comments or queries about
the professional's or patient's sexual orientation, sexual performance, sexual fantasies, sexual
problems, or sexual preferences.
(6) Engage in an unlawful trade practice as defined in ORS 646.605 to 646.608.
(7) Fail to present a treatment plan with estimated costs to a patient upon request of the patient
or to a patient's guardian upon request of the patient's guardian.
(8) Misrepresent any facts to a patient concerning treatment or fees.
(9)(a) Fail to provide a patient or patient's guardian within 14 days of written request:

(A) Legible copies of records; and

Div. 12
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(B) Duplicates of study models and radiographs, photographs or legible copies thereof if the
radiographs, photographs or study models have been paid for.

(b) The dentist may require the patient or guardian to pay in advance a fee reasonably
calculated to cover the costs of making the copies or duplicates. The dentist may charge a fee
not to exceed $30 for copying 10 or fewer pages of written material and no more than $0.50 per
page for pages 11 through 50 and no more than $0.25 for each additional page (including
records copied from microfilm), plus any postage costs to mail copies requested and actual
costs of preparing an explanation or summary of information, if requested. The actual cost of
duplicating x-rays may also be charged to the patient. Patient records or summaries may not be
withheld from the patient because of any prior unpaid bills, except as provided in (9)(a)(B) of this
rule.

(10) Fail to identify to a patient, patient's guardian, or the Board the name of an employee,
employer, contractor, or agent who renders services.

(11) Use prescription forms pre-printed with any Drug Enforcement Administration number,
name of controlled substances, or facsimile of a signature.

(12) Use a rubber stamp or like device to reproduce a signature on a prescription form or sign a
blank prescription form.

(13) Order drugs listed on Schedule Il of the Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act, 21 U.S.C.
Sec. 812, for office use on a prescription form.

(14) Violate any Federal or State law regarding controlled substances.

(15) Becomes addicted to, or dependent upon, or abuses alcohol, illegal or controlled drugs, or
mind altering substances.

(16) Practice dentistry or dental hygiene in a dental office or clinic not owned by an Oregon
licensed dentist(s), except for an entity described under ORS 679.020(3) and dental hygienists
practicing pursuant to ORS 680.205(1)(2).

(17) Make an agreement with a patient or person, or any person or entity representing patients
or persons, or provide any form of consideration that would prohibit, restrict, discourage or
otherwise limit a person's ability to file a complaint with the Oregon Board of Dentistry; to
truthfully and fully answer any questions posed by an agent or representative of the Board; or to
participate as a witness in a Board proceeding.

(18) Fail to maintain at a minimum a current Health Care Provider Basic Life Support

(BLS)/Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) training or its equivalent. (Effective January

1, 2015)

Div. 12
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[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140(1)(c), 679.140(2), 679.170(6) & 680.100

Hist.: DE 6, f. 8-9-63, ef. 9-11-63; DE 14, f. 1-20-72, ef. 2-10-72; DE 5-1980, f. & ef. 12-26-80;
DE 2-1982, f. & ef. 3-19-82; DE 5-1982, f. & ef. 5-26-82; DE 9-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84;
Renumbered from 818-010-0080; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef.
2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-011-0020; DE 1-1990, f.
3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; DE 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 2-20-97; OBD 3-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-
99; OBD 1-2006, f. 3-17-06, cert. ef. 4-1-06; OBD 1-2007, f. & cert. ef. 3-1-07; OBD 3-2007, f. &
cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef.
11-1-09

Div. 12



DIVISION 12
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
818-012-0040
Infection Control Guidelines
In determining what constitutes unacceptable patient care with respect to infection control, the
Board may consider current infection control guidelines such as those of the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention and the American Dental Association. Additionally, licensees

must comply with the following requirements:

O 00 N O U b W N -

(1) Disposable gloves shall be worn whenever placing fingers into the mouth of a patient or

[EY
o

when handling blood or saliva contaminated instruments or equipment. Appropriate hand

11  hygiene shall be performed prior to gloving.

12 (2) Masks and protective eyewear or chin-length shields shall be worn by licensees and other
13  dental care workers when spattering of blood or other body fluids is likely.

14  (3) Between each patient use, instruments or other equipment that come in contact with body
15  fluids shall be sterilized.

16  (4) Heat sterilizing devices shall be tested for proper function [era-weekhy-basis} by means of a
17  biological monitoring system that indicates micro-organisms kill each calendar week in which

18 scheduled patients are treated. Testing results shall be retained by the licensee for the

19  current calendar year and the two preceding calendar years.

20  (5) Environmental surfaces that are contaminated by blood or saliva shall be disinfected with a
21  chemical germicide which is mycobactericidal at use.

22 (6) Impervious backed paper, aluminum foil, or plastic wrap may be used to cover surfaces that
23 may be contaminated by blood or saliva and are difficult or impossible to disinfect. The cover
24 shall be replaced between patients.

25  (7) All contaminated wastes and sharps shall be disposed of according to any governmental
26  requirements.

27

28  Stat. Auth.: ORS 679.120, 679.250(7), 680.075 & 680.150

29  Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.140, 679.140(4) & 680.100

30 Hist.: DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 2-

31 1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. ef. 6-1-04; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08,
32 cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14

33
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DIVISION 21

EXAMINATION AND LICENSING
818-021-0060
Continuing Education — Dentists
(1) Each dentist must complete 40 hours of continuing education every two years. Continuing
education (C.E.) must be directly related to clinical patient care or the practice of dental public
health.
(2) Dentists must maintain records of successful completion of continuing education for at least
four licensure years consistent with the licensee's licensure cycle. (A licensure year for dentists
is April 1 through March 31.) The licensee, upon request by the Board, shall provide proof of
successful completion of continuing education courses.
(3) Continuing education includes:
(a) Attendance at lectures, study clubs, college post-graduate courses, or scientific sessions at
conventions.
(b) Research, graduate study, teaching or preparation and presentation of scientific sessions.
No more than 12 hours may be in teaching or scientific sessions. (Scientific sessions are
defined as scientific presentations, table clinics, poster sessions and lectures.)
(c) Correspondence courses, videotapes, distance learning courses or similar self-study course,
provided that the course includes an examination and the dentist passes the examination.
(d) Continuing education credit can be given for volunteer pro bono dental services provided in
the state of Oregon; community oral health instruction at a public health facility located in the
state of Oregon; authorship of a publication, book, chapter of a book, article or paper published
in a professional journal; participation on a state dental board, peer review, or quality of care
review procedures; successful completion of the National Board Dental Examinations taken
after initial licensure; a recognized specialty examination taken after initial licensure; or test
development for clinical dental, dental hygiene or specialty examinations. No more than 6 hours
of credit may be in these areas.
(4) At least three hours of continuing education must be related to medical emergencies in a
dental office. No more than four hours of Practice Management and Patient Relations may be
counted toward the C.E. requirement in any renewal period.
(5) All dentists licensed by the Oregon Board of Dentistry will complete a one-hour pain
management course specific to Oregon provided by the Pain Management Commission of the
Oregon Health Authority. All applicants or licensees shall complete this requirement by January

1, 2010 or within 24 months of the first renewal of the dentist's license.
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(6) At least 2 hours of continuing education must be related to infection control.
(Effective January 1, 2015)

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(9)

Hist.: DE 3-1987, f. & ef. 10-15-87; DE 4-1987(Temp), f. & ef. 11-25-87; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88,
cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-020-0072; DE 1-
1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90; OBD 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-00; OBD 16-2001, f. 12-7-01,
cert. ef. 4-1-02; OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09;
OBD 3-2011(Temp), f. 6-30-11, cert. ef. 7-1-11 thru 12-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-
11
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DIVISION 21

EXAMINATION AND LICENSING
818-021-0070
Continuing Education — Dental Hygienists
(1) Each dental hygienist must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years. An
Expanded Practice Permit Dental Hygienist shall complete a total of 36 hours of continuing
education every two years. Continuing education (C.E.) must be directly related to clinical
patient care or the practice of dental public health.
(2) Dental hygienists must maintain records of successful completion of continuing education for
at least four licensure years consistent with the licensee's licensure cycle. (A licensure year for
dental hygienists is October 1 through September 30.) The licensee, upon request by the Board,
shall provide proof of successful completion of continuing education courses.
(3) Continuing education includes:
(a) Attendance at lectures, study clubs, college post-graduate courses, or scientific sessions at
conventions.
(b) Research, graduate study, teaching or preparation and presentation of scientific sessions.
No more than six hours may be in teaching or scientific sessions. (Scientific sessions are
defined as scientific presentations, table clinics, poster sessions and lectures.)
(c) Correspondence courses, videotapes, distance learning courses or similar self-study course,
provided that the course includes an examination and the dental hygienist passes the
examination.
(d) Continuing education credit can be given for volunteer pro bono dental hygiene services
provided in the state of Oregon; community oral health instruction at a public health facility
located in the state of Oregon; authorship of a publication, book, chapter of a book, article or
paper published in a professional journal; participation on a state dental board, peer review, or
guality of care review procedures; successful completion of the National Board Dental Hygiene
Examination, taken after initial licensure; or test development for clinical dental hygiene
examinations. No more than 6 hours of credit may be in these areas.
(4) At least three hours of continuing education must be related to medical emergencies in a
dental office. No more than two hours of Practice Management and Patient Relations may be
counted toward the C.E. requirement in any renewal period.
(5) Dental hygienists who hold a Nitrous Oxide Permit must meet the requirements contained in
OAR 818-026-0040(9) for renewal of the Nitrous Oxide Permit.

Div. 21
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(6) At least 2 hours of continuing education must be related to infection control.

(Effective January 1, 2015)

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(9)

Hist.: DE 3-1987, f. & ef. 10-15-87; DE 1-1988, f. 12-28-88, cert. ef. 2-1-89; DE 1-1989, f. 1-27-
89, cert. ef. 2-1-89; Renumbered from 818-020-0073; DE 1-1990, f. 3-19-90, cert. ef. 4-2-90;
OBD 9-2000, f. & cert. ef. 7-28-00; OBD 2-2002, f. 7-31-02, cert. ef. 10-1-02; OBD 2-2004, f. 7-
12-04, cert. ef. 7-15-04; OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 2-2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef.
11-1-09; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 3-2011(Temp), f. 6-30-11, cert. ef. 7-1-
11 thru 12-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11

Div. 21
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DIVISION 26

ANESTHESIA
818-026-0050
Minimal Sedation Permit
Minimal sedation and nitrous oxide sedation.
(1) The Board shall issue a Minimal Sedation Permit to an applicant who:
(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon;
(b) Holds a valid and current Health Care Provider BLS/CPR level certificate, or its equivalent;
and
(c) Completion of a comprehensive training program consisting of at least 16 hours of training
and satisfies the requirements of the ADA Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to
Dentists and Dental Students (2007) at the time training was commenced or postgraduate
instruction was completed, or the equivalent of that required in graduate training programs, in
sedation, recognition and management of complications and emergency care; or
(d) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equivalent training or experience in
minimal sedation anesthesia.
(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use
during the procedures and during recovery:
(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating
table or in an operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely
move about the patient;
(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team
can maintain the patient’s airway, quickly alter the patient’s position in an emergency, and
provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;
(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient’s skin and mucosal color and a
backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in
the event of a general power failure;
(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a
backup suction device which will function in the event of a general power failure;
(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full facemask and appropriate connectors that is
capable of delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an
adequate backup system;
(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate

continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;

Div. 26
13



35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67

(9) Sphygmomanometer, stethoscope, pulse oximeter, and/or automatic blood pressure cuff;
and

(h) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the
drugs used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives
and anticonvulsants.

(3) Before inducing minimal sedation, a dentist who induces minimal sedation shall:

(a) Evaluate the patient;

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate
due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient’s guardian;

(c) Certify that the patient is an appropriate candidate for minimal sedation; and

(d) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient’s guardian for the anesthesia.
The obtaining of the informed consent shall be documented in the patient’s record.

(4) No permit holder shall have more than one person under minimal sedation at the same time.
(5) While the patient is being treated under minimal sedation, an anesthesia monitor shall be
present in the room in addition to the treatment provider. The anesthesia monitor may be the

[ehairside] dental assistant.

(a) After training, a dental assistant, when directed by a dentist, may administer oral

sedative agents or anxiolysis agents calculated and dispensed by a dentist under the

direct supervision of a dentist.

(6) A patient under minimal sedation shall be visually monitored at all times, including recovery
phase. The dentist or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient’s condition.

(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows:

(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse oximetry. The patient’s blood
pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be taken if they can reasonably be obtained. If the
information cannot be obtained, the reasons shall be documented in the patient’s record. The
record must also include documentation of all medications administered with dosages, time
intervals and route of administration.

(b) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist in the patient’s record indicating the patient’s
condition upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was
discharged.

(8) The dentist shall assess the patient’s responsiveness using preoperative values as normal
guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;

Div. 26
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(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and
preoperative psychological status;

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;

(d) The patient can sit up unaided;

(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and

(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.

(9) A dentist shall not release a patient who has undergone minimal sedation except to the care
of a responsible third party.

(9) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Minimal Sedation Permit, the permit holder must provide
documentation of having a current Health Care Provider BLS/CPR level certificate, or its
equivalent. In addition, Minimal Sedation Permit holders must also complete four (4) hours of
continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation, physical
evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or
pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain current Health
Care Provider BLS/CPR level certification, or its equivalent, may not be counted toward this
requirement. Continuing education hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing
education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10)

Hist.: OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 3-2003, f.
9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert.
ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10
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DIVISION 26

ANESTHESIA
818-026-0055
Dental Hygiene and Dental Assistant Procedures Performed Under Nitrous Oxide or
Minimal Sedation
(1) Under indirect supervision, dental hygiene procedures may be performed for a patient who is
under nitrous oxide or minimal sedation under the following conditions:
(a) A licensee holding a Nitrous Oxide, Minimal, Moderate, Deep Sedation or General

Anesthesia Permit administers the sedative agents;

(b) The permit holder, or an anesthesia monitor, monitors the patient; or

(c) if adental hygienist with a nitrous oxide permit administers nitrous oxide sedation to

a patient and then performs authorized procedures on the patient, an anesthesia monitor

is not required to be present during the time the patient is sedated unless the permit

holder leaves the patient.

(d) The permit holder performs the appropriate pre- and post-operative evaluation and
discharges the patient in accordance with 818-026-0050(7) and (8).

(2) Under direct supervision, a dental assistant may perform those procedures for which the

dental assistant holds the appropriate certification for a patient who is under nitrous oxide or
minimal sedation under the following conditions:

(a) A licensee holding the Nitrous Oxide, Minimal, Moderate, Deep Sedation or General
Anesthesia Permit administers the sedative agents;

(b) The permit holder, or an anesthesia monitor, monitors the patient; and

(c) The permit holder performs the appropriate pre- and post-operative evaluation and
discharges the patient in accordance with 818-026-0050(7) and (8).

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10)

Hist.: OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-
2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12
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DIVISION 26

ANESTHESIA
818-026-0060
Moderate Sedation Permit
Moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and nitrous oxide sedation.
(1) The Board shall issue or renew a Moderate Sedation Permit to an applicant who:
(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon;
(b) Either holds a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) or Pediatric Advanced Life
Support (PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated, or
successfully completes the American Dental Association’s course “Recognition and
Management of Complications during Minimal and Moderate Sedation” at least every two years;
and
(c) Satisfies one of the following criteria:
(A) Completion of a comprehensive training program in enteral and/or parenteral sedation that
satisfies the requirements described in Part V of the ADA Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control
and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students (2007) at the time training was commenced.
(i) Enteral Moderate Sedation requires a minimum of 24 hours of instruction plus management
of at least 10 dental patient experiences by the enteral and/or enteral-nitrous oxide/oxygen
route.
(if) Parenteral Moderate Sedation requires a minimum of 60 hours of instruction plus
management of at least 20 dental patients by the intravenous route.
(B) Completion of an ADA accredited postdoctoral training program (e.g., general practice
residency) which affords comprehensive and appropriate training necessary to administer and
manage parenteral sedation, commensurate with these Guidelines.
(C) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equivalent training or experience in
moderate sedation anesthesia.
(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use
during the procedures and during recovery:
(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating
table or in an operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely
move about the patient;
(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team
can maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and

provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;

Div. 26
17



35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68

(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a
backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in
the event of a general power failure;

(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a
backup suction device which will function in the event of a general power failure;

(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask and appropriate connectors that is
capable of delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an
adequate backup system;

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate
continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;

(9) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets.
The recovery area can be the operating room;

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter, oral
and nasopharyngeal airways, larynageal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration
equipment, automated external defibrillator (AED); and

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the
drugs used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives
and anticonvulsants.

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under moderate sedation, minimal
sedation, or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time.

(4) During the administration of moderate sedation, and at all times while the patient is under
moderate sedation, an anesthesia monitor, and one other person holding a Health Care
Provider BLS/CPR level certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the operatory, in addition
to the dentist performing the dental procedures.

(5) Before inducing moderate sedation, a dentist who induces moderate sedation shall:

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American Society of Anesthesiologists Patient
Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate candidate for moderate
sedation;

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate
due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian; and

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia.
(6) A patient under moderate sedation shall be visually monitored at all times, including the
recovery phase. The dentist or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient's

condition.
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(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows:

(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse oximetry and End-tidal CO2 monitors.
The patient's blood pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be recorded at regular intervals
but at least every 15 minutes, and these recordings shall be documented in the patient record.
The record must also include documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital signs, all
medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of administration. If this
information cannot be obtained, the reasons shall be documented in the patient's record. A
patient under moderate sedation shall be continuously monitored;

(b) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored by an individual trained to monitor
patients recovering from moderate sedation.

(8) A dentist shall not release a patient who has undergone moderate sedation except to the
care of a responsible third party.

(9) The dentist shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal
guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and
preoperative psychological status;

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;

(d) The patient can sit up unaided;

(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and

(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.

(10) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist in the patient's record indicating the patient's
condition upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was
discharged.

(11) After adequate training, an assistant, when directed by a dentist, may dispense oral

medications that have been prepared by the dentist permit holder for oral administration

to a patient under direct supervision or introduce additional anesthetic agents into an

infusion line under the direct visual supervision of a dentist.

(12) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Moderate Sedation Permit, the permit holder must
provide documentation of having current ACLS or PALS certification or current certification of
successful completion of the American Dental Association’s course “Recognition and
Management of Complications during Minimal and Moderate Sedation” and must complete 14
hours of continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation,

physical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or
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pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain current ACLS or
PALS certification or successful completion of the American Dental Association’s course
“Recognition and Management of Complications during Minimal and Moderate Sedation” may
be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours may be counted toward

fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10)

Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 1-1999, f. 2-26-99, cert. ef. 3-1-99; OBD 6-
1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-
00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-00; OBD 2-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03,
cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f. 1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef. 2-1-
05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru
1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13; OBD 3-
2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14
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DIVISION 26

ANESTHESIA
818-026-0065
Deep Sedation
Deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, and nitrous oxide sedation.
(1) The Board shall issue a Deep Sedation Permit to a licensee who holds a Class 3 Permit on
or before July 1, 2010 who:
(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon; and
(b) Holds a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) or Pediatric Advanced Life Support
(PALS) certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated.
(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use
during the procedures and during recovery:
(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating
table or in an operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least two individuals to freely
move about the patient;
(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team
can maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and
provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;
(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a
backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in
the event of a general power failure;
(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a
backup suction device which will function in the event of a general power failure;
(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask and appropriate connectors that is
capable of delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an
adequate backup system;
(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate
continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;
(9) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets.
The recovery area can be the operating room;
(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter,
electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), automated external defibrillator (AED), oral and
nasopharyngeal airways, laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration equipment;

and
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(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the
drugs used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, antihistamines, antihypertensives
and anticonvulsants.

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under deep sedation, moderate sedation,
minimal sedation, or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time.

(4) During the administration of deep sedation, and at all times while the patient is under deep
sedation, an anesthesia monitor, and one other person holding a Health Care Provider
BLS/CPR level certificate or its equivalent, shall be present in the operatory, in addition to the
dentist performing the dental procedures.

(5) Before inducing deep sedation, a dentist who induces deep sedation shall:

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American Society of Anesthesiologists Patient
Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate candidate for deep sedation;
(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate
due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian; and

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia.

(6) A patient under deep sedation shall be visually monitored at all times, including the recovery
phase. The dentist or anesthesia monitor shall monitor and record the patient's condition.

(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows:

(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring using pulse oximetry, electrocardiograph monitors
(ECG) and End-tidal CO2 monitors. The patient's heart rhythm shall be continuously monitored
and the patient’s blood pressure, heart rate, and respiration shall be recorded at regular
intervals but at least every 5 minutes, and these recordings shall be documented in the patient
record. The record must also include documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital
signs, all medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of administration. If
this information cannot be obtained, the reasons shall be documented in the patient's record. A
patient under deep sedation shall be continuously monitored;

(b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the operatory for the duration of treatment

until criteria for transportation to recovery have been met.

Kby} (c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored by an individual trained to
monitor patients recovering from deep sedation.

(8) A dentist shall not release a patient who has undergone deep sedation except to the care of
a responsible third party.

(9) The dentist shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal

guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:
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(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and
preoperative psychological status;

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;

(d) The patient can sit up unaided;

(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and

(f) The patient does not have uncontrollable nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.

(10) A discharge entry shall be made by the dentist in the patient's record indicating the patient's
condition upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was
discharged.

(11) After adequate training, an assistant, when directed by a dentist, may administer oral

sedative agents calculated by a dentist or introduce additional anesthetic agents into an

infusion line under the direct visual supervision of a dentist.

(12) Permit renewal. In order to renew a Deep Sedation Permit, the permit holder must provide
documentation of having current ACLS or PALS certification and must complete 14 hours of
continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: sedation, physical
evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment, or
pharmacology of drugs and agents used in sedation. Training taken to maintain current ACLS or
PALS certification may be counted toward this requirement. Continuing education hours may be

counted toward fulfilling the continuing education requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10)

Hist. : OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-9-11, cert. ef. 6-1-11
thru 1-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13
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818-026-0070

GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT
General anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation and nitrous oxide
sedation.
(1) The Board shall issue a General Anesthesia Permit to an applicant who:
(a) Is a licensed dentist in Oregon;
(b) Holds a current Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) Certificate or Pediatric Advanced
Life Support (PALS) Certificate, whichever is appropriate for the patient being sedated; and
(c) Satisfies one of the following criteria:
(A) Completion of an advanced training program in anesthesia and related subjects beyond the
undergraduate dental curriculum that satisfies the requirements described in the ADA
Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students (2007)
consisting of a minimum of 2 years of a postgraduate anesthesia residency at the time training
was commenced.
(B) Completion of any ADA accredited postdoctoral training program, including but not limited to
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, which affords comprehensive and appropriate training necessary
to administer and manage general anesthesia, commensurate with these Guidelines.
(©) In lieu of these requirements, the Board may accept equivalent training or experience in
general anesthesia.
(2) The following facilities, equipment and drugs shall be on site and available for immediate use
during the procedure and during recovery:
(a) An operating room large enough to adequately accommodate the patient on an operating
table or in an operating chair and to allow an operating team of at least three individuals to
freely move about the patient;
(b) An operating table or chair which permits the patient to be positioned so the operating team
can maintain the patient's airway, quickly alter the patient's position in an emergency, and
provide a firm platform for the administration of basic life support;
(c) A lighting system which permits evaluation of the patient's skin and mucosal color and a
backup lighting system of sufficient intensity to permit completion of any operation underway in
the event of a general power failure;
(d) Suction equipment which permits aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavities and a

backup suction device which will function in the event of a general power failure;
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(e) An oxygen delivery system with adequate full face mask and appropriate connectors that is
capable of delivering high flow oxygen to the patient under positive pressure, together with an
adequate backup system;

(f) A nitrous oxide delivery system with a fail-safe mechanism that will insure appropriate
continuous oxygen delivery and a scavenger system;

(9) A recovery area that has available oxygen, adequate lighting, suction and electrical outlets.
The recovery area can be the operating room;

(h) Sphygmomanometer, precordial/pretracheal stethoscope, capnograph, pulse oximeter,
electrocardiograph monitor (ECG), automated external defibrillator (AED), oral and
nasopharyngeal airways, laryngeal mask airways, intravenous fluid administration equipment;
and

(i) Emergency drugs including, but not limited to: pharmacologic antagonists appropriate to the
drugs used, vasopressors, corticosteroids, bronchodilators, intravenous medications for
treatment of cardiac arrest, narcotic antagonist, antihistaminic, antiarrhythmics,
antihypertensives and anticonvulsants.

(3) No permit holder shall have more than one person under general anesthesia, deep sedation,
moderate sedation, minimal sedation or nitrous oxide sedation at the same time.

(4) During the administration of deep sedation or general anesthesia, and at all times while the
patient is under deep sedation or general anesthesia, an anesthesia monitor and one other
person holding a Health Care Provider BLS/CPR level certificate, or its equivalent, shall be
present in the operatory in addition to the dentist performing the dental procedures.

(5) Before inducing deep sedation or general anesthesia the dentist who induces deep sedation
or general anesthesia shall:

(a) Evaluate the patient and document, using the American Society of Anesthesiologists Patient
Physical Status Classifications, that the patient is an appropriate candidate for general
anesthesia or deep sedation;

(b) Give written preoperative and postoperative instructions to the patient or, when appropriate
due to age or psychological status of the patient, the patient's guardian; and

(c) Obtain written informed consent from the patient or patient's guardian for the anesthesia.
(6) A patient under deep sedation or general anesthesia shall be visually monitored at all times,
including recovery phase. A dentist who induces deep sedation or general anesthesia or
anesthesia monitor trained in monitoring patients under deep sedation or general anesthesia
shall monitor and record the patient's condition on a contemporaneous record.

(7) The patient shall be monitored as follows:
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(a) Patients must have continuous monitoring of their heart rate, heart rhythm, oxygen
saturation levels and respiration using pulse oximetry, electrocardiograph monitors (ECG) and
End-tidal CO2 monitors. The patient's blood pressure, heart rate and oxygen saturation shall be
assessed every five minutes, and shall be contemporaneously documented in the patient
record. The record must also include documentation of preoperative and postoperative vital
signs, all medications administered with dosages, time intervals and route of administration. The
person administering the anesthesia and the person monitoring the patient may not leave the
patient while the patient is under deep sedation or general anesthesia;

(b) Once sedated, a patient shall remain in the operatory for the duration of treatment

until criteria for transportation to recovery have been met.

b} (c) During the recovery phase, the patient must be monitored, including the use of pulse
oximetry, by an individual trained to monitor patients recovering from general anesthesia.

(8) A dentist shall not release a patient who has undergone deep sedation or general
anesthesia except to the care of a responsible third party.

(9) The dentist shall assess the patient's responsiveness using preoperative values as normal
guidelines and discharge the patient only when the following criteria are met:

(a) Vital signs including blood pressure, pulse rate and respiratory rate are stable;

(b) The patient is alert and oriented to person, place and time as appropriate to age and
preoperative psychological status;

(c) The patient can talk and respond coherently to verbal questioning;

(d) The patient can sit up unaided;

(e) The patient can ambulate with minimal assistance; and

(f) The patient does not have nausea or vomiting and has minimal dizziness.

(10) A discharge entry shall be made in the patient's record by the dentist indicating the patient's
condition upon discharge and the name of the responsible party to whom the patient was
discharged.

(11) After adequate training, an assistant, when directed by a dentist, may introduce additional
anesthetic agents to an infusion line under the direct visual supervision of a dentist.

(12) Permit renewal. In order to renew a General Anesthesia Permit, the permit holder must
provide documentation of having current ACLS or PALS certification and complete 14 hours of
continuing education in one or more of the following areas every two years: deep sedation
and/or general anesthesia, physical evaluation, medical emergencies, monitoring and the use of
monitoring equipment, pharmacology of drugs and agents used in anesthesia. Training taken to
maintain current ACLS or PALS certification may be counted toward this requirement.
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101  Continuing education hours may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing education

102  requirement set forth in OAR 818-021-0060.

103

104  [Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

105  Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

106  Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.250(7) & 679.250(10)

107  Hist.: OBD 2-1998, f. 7-13-98, cert. ef. 10-1-98; OBD 6-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99;

108  Administrative correction 8-12-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-
109  00; Administrative correction 6-21-01; OBD 3-2003, f. 9-15-03, cert. ef. 10-1-03; OBD 1-2005, f.
110  1-28-05, cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 2-2011 (Temp), f. 5-9-
111 11, cert. ef. 6-1-11 thru 11-27-11; OBD 4-2011, f & cert. ef 11-15-11; OBD 1-2013, f. 5-15-13,
112 cert. ef. 7-1-13

113
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DIVISION 35

DENTAL HYGIENE
818-035-0025
Prohibitions
A dental hygienist may not:
(1) Diagnose and treatment plan other than for dental hygiene services;
(2) Cut hard or soft tissue with the exception of root planing;
(3) Extract any tooth;
(4) Fit or adjust any correctional or prosthetic appliance except as provided by OAR 818-035-
0030(1)(h);
(5) fPreseribe;} Administer or dispense any drugs except as provided by OAR 818-035-0030,
818-035-0040, 818-026-0060(11) and 818-026-0070(11);
(6) Place, condense, carve or cement permanent restorations except as provided in OAR 818-
035-0072, or operatively prepare teeth;
(7) Irrigate or medicate canals; try in cones, or ream, file or fill canals;
(8) Use the behavior management techniques of Hand Over Mouth (HOM) or Hand Over Mouth
Airway Restriction (HOMAR) on any patient.
(9) Place or remove healing caps or healing abutments, except under direct supervision.

(10) Place implant impression copings, except under direct supervision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020(1)

Hist.: DE 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92; DE 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 2-20-97; OBD 7-1999, f. 6-25-
99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00 thru 11-18-00; OBD 2-
2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05,
cert. ef. 2-1-05; OBD 2-2007, f. 4-26-07, cert. ef. 5-1-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-
08; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11

Div. 35
28



O 00 N o U A W N

B
o

11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32

DIVISION 35

DENTAL HYGIENE
818-035-0030
Additional Functions of Dental Hygienists
(1) In addition to functions set forth in ORS 679.010, a dental hygienist may perform the
following functions under the general supervision of a licensed dentist:
(a) Make preliminary intra-oral and extra-oral examinations and record findings;
(b) Place periodontal dressings;
(c) Remove periodontal dressings or direct a dental assistant to remove periodontal dressings;
(d) Perform all functions delegable to dental assistants and expanded function dental assistants
providing that the dental hygienist is appropriately trained;
(e) Administer and dispense antimicrobial solutions or other antimicrobial agents in the
performance of dental hygiene functions.

(f) [Preseribe} Administer and dispense fluoride, fluoride varnish, antimicrobial solutions for

mouth rinsing or other non-systemic antimicrobial agents.

(g) Use high-speed handpieces to polish restorations- and to remove cement and adhesive

material.

(h) Apply temporary soft relines to complete dentures for the purpose of tissue conditioning.
(i) Perform all aspects of teeth whitening procedures.

(2) A dental hygienist may perform the following functions at the locations and for the persons
described in ORS 680.205(1) and (2) without the supervision of a dentist:

(a) Determine the need for and appropriateness of sealants or fluoride; and

(b) Apply sealants or fluoride.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j)

Hist.: DE 5-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92;
OBD 7-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-
7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 1-2004, f. 5-27-04, cert. ef. 6-1-04; OBD 2-2005, f. 1-31-05, cert. ef.
2-1-05; OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08; OBD 2-
2009, f. 10-21-09, cert. ef. 11-1-09
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DIVISION 35
DENTAL HYGIENE
818-035-0040
Expanded Functions of Dental Hygienists
(1) Upon completion of a course of instruction in a program accredited by the Commission on
Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association or other course of instruction approved
by the Board, a dental hygienist who completes a Board approved application shall be issued an

endorsement to administer local anesthetic agents and local anesthetic reversal agents

under the general supervision of a licensed dentist. Local anesthetic reversal agents shall

not be used on children less than 6 years of age or weighing less than 33 pounds.

(2) Upon completion of a course of instruction in a program accredited by the Commission on
Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association or other course of instruction approved
by the Board, a dental hygienist may administer nitrous oxide under the indirect supervision of a

licensed dentist in accordance with the Board'’s rules regarding anesthesia.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7)

Hist.: DE 5-1984, f. & ef. 5-17-84; DE 3-1986, f. & ef. 3-31-86; DE 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 6-24-92;
OBD 3-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-13-98; OBD 7-1999, f. 6-25-99, cert. ef. 7-1-99; OBD 8-1999, f. 8-
10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 2-2007, f. 4-26-07, cert.
ef. 5-1-07; OBD 3-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2008, f. 11-10-08, cert. ef. 12-1-08
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DIVISION 42

DENTAL ASISTING
818-042-0040
Prohibited Acts
No licensee may authorize any dental assistant to perform the following acts:
(1) Diagnose or plan treatment.
(2) Cut hard or soft tissue.
(3) Any Expanded Function duty (818-042-0070 and 818-042-0090) or Expanded Orthodontic
Function duty (818-042-0100) without holding the appropriate certification.
(4) Correct or attempt to correct the malposition or malocclusion of teeth except as provided by
OAR 818-042-0100.
(5) Adjust or attempt to adjust any orthodontic wire, fixed or removable appliance or other
structure while it is in the patient's mouth.
(6) Administer or dispense any drug except fluoride, topical anesthetic, desensitizing agents
,over the counter medications per package instructions or drugs administered pursuant to
OAR 818-026-0030(6), OAR 818-026-0050(5)(a), 818-026-0060(11), 818-026-0065(11), 818-
026-0070(11) and as provided in 818-042-0070 and 818-042-0115.
(7) Prescribe any drug.

(8) Place periodontal packs.

(9) Start nitrous oxide.

(10) Remove stains or deposits except as provided in OAR 818-042-0070.

(11) Use ultrasonic equipment intra-orally except as provided in OAR 818-042-0100.

(12) Use a high-speed handpiece or any device that is operated by a high-speed handpiece
intra-orally.

(13) Use lasers, except laser-curing lights.

(14) Use air abrasion or air polishing.

(15) Remove teeth or parts of tooth structure.

(16) Cement or bond any fixed prosthetic or orthodontic appliance including bands, brackets,
retainers, tooth moving devices, or orthopedic appliances except as provided in 818-042-0100.
(17) Condense and carve permanent restorative material except as provided in OAR 818-042-
0095.

(18) Place any type of cord subgingivally.
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(19) Take jaw registrations or oral impressions for supplying artificial teeth as substitutes for
natural teeth, except diagnostic or opposing models or for the fabrication of temporary or
provisional restorations or appliances.

(20) Apply denture relines except as provided in OAR 818-042-0090(2).

(21) Expose radiographs without holding a current Certificate of Radiologic Proficiency issued
by the Board (818-042-0050 and 818-042-0060) except while taking a course of instruction
approved by the Oregon Health Authority, Oregon Public Health Division, Office of
Environmental Public Health, Radiation Protection Services, or the Oregon Board of Dentistry.
(22) Use the behavior management techniques known as Hand Over Mouth (HOM) or Hand
Over Mouth Airway Restriction (HOMAR) on any patient.

(23) Perform periodontal probing.

(24) Place or remove healing caps or healing abutments, except under direct supervision.
(25) Place implant impression copings, except under direct supervision.

(26) Any act in violation of Board statute or rules.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679 & 680

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020, 679.025 & 679.250

Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2000(Temp), f. 5-22-00, cert. ef. 5-22-00

thru 11-18-00; OBD 1-2001, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-01; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD
3-20BD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 3-2007, f. &

cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 1-2010, f. 6-22-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11;

OBD 2-2012, f. 6-14-12, cert. ef. 7-1-12
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DIVISION 42

DENTAL ASSISTING
818-042-0050
Taking of X-Rays — Exposing of Radiographs
(1) A dentist may authorize the following persons to place films, adjust equipment preparatory to
exposing films, and expose the films under general supervision:
(a) A dental assistant certified by the Board in radiologic proficiency; or
(b) A radiologic technologist licensed by the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging and certified by
the Oregon Board of Dentistry (OBD) who has completed ten (10) clock hours in a Board
approved dental radiology course and submitted a satisfactory full mouth series of radiographs
to the OBD.

A dentist may authorize a dental assistant who has completed a course of instruction

approved by the Oregon Board of Dentistry, and who has passed the written Dental

Radiation Health and Safety Examination administered by the Dental Assisting National

Board, or comparable exam administered by any other testing entity authorized by the

Board, or other comparable requirements approved by the Oregon Board of Dentistry to

place films, adjust equipment preparatory to exposing films, and expose the films under

the indirect supervision of a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental assistant who holds an

Oregon Radiologic Proficiency Certificate. The dental assistant must successfully

complete the clinical examination within six months of the dentist authorizing the

assistant to take radiographs.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7)

Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2003, f. 7-14-03 cert. ef. 7-18-03; OBD 4-
2004, f. 11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11
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DIVISION 42
DENTAL ASSISTING
818-042-0060
Certification — Radiologic Proficiency
(1) The Board may certify a dental assistant in radiologic proficiency by credential in accordance
with OAR 818-042-0120, or if the assistant:

(2) Submits an application on a form approved by the Board, pays the application fee and:

(a) Completes a course of instruction [ir-apregram] approved by fthe-Oregon-Health-Authority;

Services;-or} the Oregon Board of Dentistry, in accordance with OAR 333-106-0055 or submits
evidence that the Oregon Health Authority, Center for Health Protection, [RPS} Radiation

Protection Services recognizes that the equivalent training has been successfully completed,;

(b) Passes the written Dental Radiation Health and Safety Examination administered by the
Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. (DANB), or comparable exam administered by any other
testing entity authorized by the Board, or other comparable requirements approved by the
Oregon Board of Dentistry; and

(c) Passes a clinical examination approved by the Board and graded by the Dental Assisting
National Board, Inc. (DANB), or any other testing entity authorized by the Board, consisting of
exposing, developing and mounting a full mouth series of radiographs or by exposing and
mounting a digital full mouth series of radiographic images (14 to 18 periapical and 4 bitewing
radiographic images) within one hour and under the supervision of a person permitted to take
radiographs in Oregon. No portion of the clinical examination may be completed in advance; a
maximum of three retakes is permitted (i.e., three individual radiographic exposures, not three
full mouth series); only the applicant may determine the necessity of retakes. The radiographic
images should be acquired on an adult patient with at least 24 fully erupted teeth. The full mouth

series must be submitted for grading within six months after it is taken.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020, 679.025 & 679.250

Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2003, f. 7-14-03 cert. ef. 7-18-03; OBD 4-
2004, f. 11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 3-2007, f. &
cert. ef. 11-30-07; OBD 4-2011, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-11; OBD 3-2013, f. 10-24-13, cert. ef. 1-1-14
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DIVISION 42

DENTAL ASSISTING
818-042-0090
Additional Functions of EFDASs
Upon successful completion of a course of instruction in a program accredited by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, or other course of
instruction approved by the Board, a certified Expanded Function Dental Assistant may perform
the following functions under the indirect supervision of a dentist or dental hygienist providing
that the procedure is checked by the dentist or dental hygienist prior to the patient being
dismissed:
(1) Apply pit and fissure sealants [previding] provided the patient is examined before the
sealants are placed. The sealants must be placed within 45 days of the procedure being
authorized by a dentist or dental hygienist.

(2) Apply temporary soft relines to [fel} complete dentures for the purpose of tissue
conditioning.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.025(2)(j) & 679.250(7)

Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 15-2001, f. 12-7-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; OBD 1-
2013, f. 5-15-13, cert. ef. 7-1-13
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DIVISION 42

DENTAL ASSITING
818-042-0120
Certification by Credential
(1) Dental Assistants who wish to be certified by the Board in Radiologic Proficiency or as
Expanded Function Dental Assistants, or as Expanded Function Orthodontic Dental Assistants
shall:
(a) Be certified by another state in the functions for which application is made. The training and
certification requirements of the state in which the dental assistant is certified must be
substantially similar to Oregon’s requirements; or
(b) Have worked for at least 1,000 hours in the past two years in a dental office where such
employment involved to a significant extent the functions for which certification is sought; and
(c) Shall be evaluated by a licensed dentist, using a Board approved checkilist, to assure that
the assistant is competent in the expanded functions.
(2) Applicants applying for certification by credential in Radiologic Proficiency must obtain
certification from the Oregon Health Authority, [Oregen-Public Health-Division;] Center for

Health Protection [Office-ef-Environmental-Public-Health], Radiation Protection Services, of
having successfully completed training equivalent to that required by OAR 333-106-0055 or

approved by the Oregon Board of Dentistry.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020, 679.025 & 679.250

Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2003, f. 7-14-03 cert ef. 7-18-03; OBD 4-
2004, f. 11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 4-2011, f. &
cert. ef. 11-15-11
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DIVISION 42

DENTAL ASSISTING
818-042-0130
Application for Certification by Credential
An applicant for certification by credential shall submit to the Board:
(1) An application form approved by the Board, with the appropriate fee;
(2) Proof of certification by another state and any other recognized certifications (such as CDA
or COA certification) and a description of the examination and training required by the state in
which the assistant is certified submitted from the state directly to the Board; or
(3) Certification that the assistant has been employed for at least 1,000 hours in the past two
years as a dental assistant performing the functions for which certification is being sought.
(4) If applying for certification by credential as an EFDA or EFODA, certification by a licensed
dentist that the applicant is competent to perform the functions for which certification is sought;
and

(5) If applying for certification by credential in Radiologic Proficiency, certification from the

Oregon Health Authority, [Oregen-Public- Health-Divisien] Center for Health Protection [Office
of Environmental-Public Health], Radiation Protection Services, or the Oregon Board of

Dentistry, that the applicant has met that agency’s training requirements for x-ray machine

operators, or other comparable requirements approved by the Oregon Board of Dentistry.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 679

Stats. Implemented: ORS 679.020, 679.025 & 679.250

Hist.: OBD 9-1999, f. 8-10-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; OBD 2-2003, f. 7-14-03 cert. ef. 7-18-03; OBD 4-
2004, f. 11-23-04 cert. ef. 12-1-04; OBD 3-2005, f. 10-26-05, cert. ef. 11-1-05; OBD 4-2011, f. &
cert. ef. 11-15-11

Div. 42
37



	SOS public rule notice filing
	OHSU-CHH-MAP



