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After serving for
three years as the
public member of

this Board, I have some
observations to make.  In
general, it has been an
interesting three years and
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the professionalism and
efficiency of the Board and staff is impressive.  I
can say that I have largely enjoyed the experience
of becoming acquainted with and working with the
other members of the Board.

After experiencing the kinds of situations con-
sidered by the majority of the OBD committees, I
have come to the conclusion that only members of
the dental profession are qualified to evaluate and
make recommendations on them. Certainly it is
good for the professionals to hear and consider
how a lay person looks at situations, but the final
decisions usually require a significant degree of
understanding of the art and science of the practice
of dentistry.

This comes to mind because of some recent
mention by State Legislators that professional
Boards like the OBD should perhaps be enlarged,
especially in the area of public representation.  My
opinion is that if the public membership were
increased to two or three, this might serve the public
interest, but public membership should never
approach being a majority of Board membership.

Now is the time for all members of the dental
profession in the state of Oregon to pay attention to
any significant potential changes to the OBD’s
make-up and any other proposed changes that don’t
further the goals of true public protection.  ■

DENTAL RENEWAL NOTICES

Dental license renewal applications will be
mailed out the week of January 14, 2008
to those dentists whose licenses expire

on March 31, 2008.  If you have not received your
license renewal by January 31, 2008, please
contact the Board office at (971) 673-3200 or
e-mail the Board’s Licensing Manager at
Teresa.Haynes@state.or.us so that a new renewal
application can be sent.

Completed renewal applications must be
received by March 21, 2008, to guarantee that
your license is renewed by April 1, 2008.  If the
Board receives your completed renewal after
March 21, 2008, the Board cannot guarantee
your license will be renewed by April 1, and
you cannot practice with an expired license.
Practicing with an expired license can result in
the Board taking disciplinary action.  Before
you begin to practice on April 1, 2008, check
either the Board’s Web site at www.oregon.gov/
dentistry or contact the Board office to make
sure your license is renewed.  ■
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SO WHERE ARE WE TODAY
Patrick D. Braatz, Executive Director

audit of 15% of the licensees.  We are able to
open and complete the investigation of com-
plaints on average in about 2 months.  We
process licensing paperwork both new and
renewal in about 3.5 days and based on our
stakeholders surveys, 86% of those completing
the survey tell us that they have an overall
positive satisfaction with the OBD.

So what is in the future?  Most recently the
OBD, as well as all other health regulatory
boards, have come under increased review and
scrutiny by the Governor’s Office and the
Oregon Legislature; this is a result of an audit
of the Oregon Board of Nursing.  This audit
showed some serious issues with how the
Oregon Board of Nursing was being run and
how it carried out its mission.

The result has been a call by some legisla-
tors that health care regulatory boards need an
overhaul.  Those boards should have the
number of public members increased to at least
50% of the membership of the board.  This
change would have a serious impact on how
the OBD is able to process, investigate and
resolve the complaints as public members do
not have the dental expertise that the profes-
sional members of the OBD have.

I think that having public members on a
health care regulatory board are important;
they play a very serious role in the integrity of
the OBD.  Increasing the number of public
members on the OBD would not be a bad idea,
but making the public membership equal to or
reducing the number of professional members
would be a serious blow as to how efficient
and effective the OBD has become.

We have come a long way in the last 120
years, and more specifically in the last four
years, and there is much more to do.

Please feel free to contact me with your
questions, concerns or comments at (971) 673-
3200 or by e-mail Patrick.Braatz@state.or.us
or by stopping by the OBD office in downtown
Portland. ■

Oregon licenses.  Not all are actually practicing
in Oregon, but the numbers do continue to grow.

 In fiscal year 2003 the OBD opened 250
cases; in fiscal year 2007 we opened 327 cases, a
record number.  In fiscal year 2003 the OBD took
an average 221 days to complete an investigation
and prepare it for the Board to review.  In fiscal
year 2007 that number was on average 49 days
for those cases that were opened within that year.
Quite a remarkable achievement and I am not
sure that we can process and investigate com-
plaints much faster than that and not have the
quality of our end product suffer. During that
same time in 2003 the Board issued disciplinary
orders to about 14% of the cases that it com-
pleted; in 2007 it was about 12%.

Today the OBD has a voluntary Confidential
Diversion Program that has 15 participants and
the numbers will continue to grow.  This program
allows dentists and dental hygienists who have
had problems with alcohol and substance abuse to
be able to practice but at the same time their
recovery is being highly monitored giving an
assurance to the public that they are safe to
practice.

Today the OBD has a volunteer license pro-
gram that has nine dentists and one dental hy-
gienist participating and we are always looking
for more to join.

Our 2007 Annual Performance Progress Report
shows that we have a 100% compliance rate with
the continuing education requirement based on an

As the Oregon
Board of
Dentistry (OBD)

completes 120 years of
existence it might be a
good time to reflect on
just where we are today or
what has happened over
the last few years.

Today approximately
3,643 dentists and 3,440
dental hygienists hold
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Gary T. Chiodo, DMD, FACD
Chief Integrity Officer,
Professor, Department of Community Dentistry,
Associate Director, Center for Ethics in Health Care
Oregon Health & Science University

Introduction and Background

Health care professionals enjoy a very high
degree of public trust and are held in high
esteem by those who seek their services.

A recent (2003-04) Gallup Poll found that nurses,
pharmacists, physicians, and dentists were among
those perceived as the most honest and ethical of a
long list of professions.  In fact, these professionals
were deemed more trustworthy than clergy or
judges.1  Such a high degree of trust brings with it a
substantial power differential and an increased level
of vulnerability for those who place their confidence
and lives in the hands of these health care providers.
This creates a dynamic in which the unethical
provider may take advantage of that power and high
esteem for unscrupulous motives.  This is more than
a hypothetical risk and the Oregon Board of Den-
tistry receives periodic patient complaints related to
dentists who have crossed an ethical and, in some
cases, a legal line, and brought unprofessional issues

BOARD MEMBERS
David Smyth, BS, MS

President
Public Member

Term expires 2008
●

Darren Huddleston, DMD
Vice-President

Grants Pass
Term expires 2009

●

Rodney Nichols, DMD
Milwaukie

Term expires 2011
●

Ronald Short, DMD
Klamath Falls

Term expires 2008
●

Melissa Grant, DMD
Vancouver/Salem

Term expires 2009
●

Jill Mason, MPH, RDH
Portland

Term expires 2009
●

Mary Davidson, BS,
RDH, LAP
The Dalles

Term expires 2010
●

Norman Magnuson, DDS
Eugene

Term expires 2010
●

Patricia Parker, DMD
Albany

Term expires 2010

QUESTIONS?  Call the Board office at
971-673-3200 or e-mail your questions to us
at information@oregondentistry.org.

PROFESSIONAL BOUNDARIES & UNPROFESSIONAL

CONDUCT:  ETHICAL & LEGAL ISSUES

into the doctor-patient relationship.  This article will
address the types of issues and behaviors that have
no place in a healing relationship and discuss the
ethical and legal perils associated with those issues
and behaviors.

Crossing Lines

Patients come to dentists for oral health promo-
tion and maintenance.  They expect that these
licensed professionals will have the requisite exper-
tise, professional judgment, technical skills, and
current knowledge to address their oral health issues
or to refer them to those with specialized skills.
They do not expect, nor should they encounter,
personal expositions related to non-dental matters,
invitations for personal relationships, or other
behaviors that cross professional boundaries.
Examples of such unethical and prohibited conduct
include, but are not limited to:
● Comments of a sexual or intimate nature,

including invitations to engage in a romantic
relationship or intimations of such;

● Physical touching or gestures of a sexual nature;
● Political discussions or commentary related to

endorsements of a particular party, candidate,
measure, or other political matter;

● Religious discussions; or
● Derogatory or disrespectful comments related to

race, color, religion, national origin, sexual
orientation, age, disability, gender, or any other
attribute that could be interpreted as invidious
intolerance.

Both the ADA Principles of Ethics and Code of
Professional Conduct (ADA Code) and Oregon’s
Dental Practice Act Administrative Rules address the
perils of inappropriate interpersonal relationships

(continued on page 4)
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PROFESSIONAL BOUNDARIES
(Continued from page 3)

with patients.2,3  The Code correctly points out that
such interpersonal relationships risk impairing
“…professional judgment or risk the possibility of
exploiting the confidence placed in [the dentist] by a
patient.”  The Administrative Rules are more specific
and direct in addressing verbal or physical behaviors
with sexual connotations as unprofessional conduct
for which a licensee may be disciplined.

The American Medical Association (AMA) is
even more specific and detailed in addressing the
types of behaviors that are considered unethical and
prohibited by physicians.4  The AMA Code of Ethics
establishes standards that apply to physicians.  While
these ethical standards do not apply to non-physician
health care professionals, such as dentists, these other
professionals are well-advised to not fall below these
standards, lest they be perceived as being lesser
professionals who need only adhere to a second tier
code of ethics.  The AMA Code contains four sub-
sections that speak to the doctor-patient relationship
and inappropriate conduct.  They are:
● Sexual Misconduct in the Practice of Medicine.

Sexual or romantic relationships between doctors
and patients are prohibited.  Advice on terminat-
ing the professional relationship prior to pursuing
a romantic relationship with a patient is provided.

● Disrespect and Derogatory Conduct in the
Patient-Physician Relationship.  Mutual respect
in the doctor-patient relationship is critical.  This
is compromised by derogatory comments about a
group or attribute and the integrity of the relation-
ship is damaged.

● Physicians’ Political Communications with
Patients and Families.  Doctors are encouraged to
be politically involved and aware.  They are not
to bring conversations about political matters or
events into the doctor-patient relationship.

● Patient-Physician Relationship:  Respect for Law
and Human Rights.  Doctors are not permitted to
engage in prohibited discrimination.

All of these examples of unprofessional and
unethical behavior seem obvious.  Patients come to
health care professionals seeking specific types
of health care.  In this dynamic, the patient is auto-
matically dependent on the provider and this depen-

dency brings with it vulnerability.  The patient
expects to reveal personal and private details about
him or her self and understands that such information
will be used appropriately in providing care and will
be held in strict confidence.

Patients do not come to dentists or physicians
expecting to be asked out on a date or seeking
information and advice unrelated to their health
condition.  Moreover, the doctor who presumes that
a particular patient’s political, religious, or social
views are in agreement with the doctor’s is likely to
be wrong.  The result will be alienating the patient,
damaging the doctor-patient relationship, and,
perhaps, creating feelings of resentment or hostility.
Even if the patient is not a member of the group
about which the doctor has made a derogatory or
critical comment, it is quite likely that the patient
knows and cares about someone who is a member
of that group.  The derogatory or critical comment
serves to challenge the doctor-patient relationship
and drives an unnecessary wedge into the trust and
respect that have been established.  Similarly, the
doctor who makes a romantic overture to a patient
immediately introduces a non-therapeutic factor
into the relationship.  The patient must readjust
his/her interpretation of the relationship and
determine how much information to provide the
doctor and what to withhold.

Legal Considerations

Sexual contact between doctors and patients
exposes the doctor to several levels of legal risk.5

First, and most serious, the doctor may be at risk of
criminal conviction.  While criminal prosecutions
for sexual contact with patients have not been
universally applied, they have been upheld in some
states and could be used to argue for similar sanc-
tions in future cases.

A second legal risk is the possibility of a malprac-
tice claim by the patient.  This is an intriguing appli-
cation of malpractice theory that is based upon the
deliberate exploitation of the doctor-patient relation-
ship.  It seems a stretch to apply malpractice law to
sexual misconduct; however, this has been success-
fully done in an Oregon case involving a physician.
That case was settled out of court for $465,000.

PROFESSIONAL BOUNDARIES
(Continued from page 3)

(continued on page 5)
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Dentists should be aware that malpractice insurance
is not likely to pay such a settlement, since it repre-
sents a fine for illegal conduct.  Thus, the provider
would be personally responsible for the settlement
amount, court costs, and all legal fees.

A third legal risk is that a sexual advance by a
dentist toward a patient is behavior that will be
investigated by the Oregon Board of Dentistry and, if
substantiated, discipline will be applied.

While it is not the subject of this article, dentists
should be aware that sexual advances toward office
staff may trigger an entirely separate set of legal
prohibitions and potential fines that are described in
federal law.6  This set of laws is specific to the
employment situation, but is informative in defining
sexually inappropriate or “harassing” behaviors in
other contexts, such as the doctor-patient relationship.
One component of this definition is that the sexual
advance or behavior is unwelcome by the recipient.
This is a critically important point.  In many cases,
the person making the comment, joke, or innuendo
did not intend it to be disrespectful.  Oftentimes, the
commenter thinks of the comment as flattering or
intends it as a sincere invitation to engage in an
intimate relationship with the recipient.  However, it
does not matter that a dentist who comments on a
patient’s physical attributes meant it as a comple-
ment.  It does matter that the patient interpreted it as
sexual harassment, inappropriate, and unprofessional.

In addition, it does not matter that a dentist making
a comment thinks that it is “safe” to do so because
he/she thinks the patient is Christian or Jewish,
Democrat or Republican, gay or straight, in favor of a
measure or against a candidate, or of any other
attribute that is irrelevant to the doctor-patient rela-
tionship.  If a dentist’s comment relates to such an
attribute and is intended to signal values agreement
between the dentist and patient, but the patient takes
offense and the comment is unwelcome, then the
dentist has engaged in unprofessional and unethical
behavior and done the patient a disservice.  If the
dentist’s comment about such an attribute is disparag-
ing or disrespectful, then the behavior is unprofes-
sional and unethical regardless of how the patient
perceives it and is a disservice to the profession.  The
preamble of the ADA Code calls upon dentists to

demonstrate “compassion, kindness, integrity,
fairness, and charity.”  Expressing disrespectful
comments about a group or trait and opining on
matters and issues that have nothing to do with oral
health do not meet that expectation.

Legitimate Discussions about Sensitive Issues

Nothing in the above discussion should be inter-
preted to imply that dentists must not discuss sexual
matters with patients.  To the contrary, a comprehen-
sive medical history review is imperative in providing
care for patients and sexual issues are normally a part
of that review.  Use of oral contraceptives or erectile
dysfunction medications, history of venereal diseases,
bleeding problems associated with menses, preg-
nancy, and similar issues are examples of sexual
issues that are routinely discussed in the dental care
situation.  In addition, counseling patients about the
transmissibility of oral lesions associated with herpes
viruses, gonorrhea, syphilis, human papilloma virus,
and others is certainly within the purview of dentists.

However, the line between these expected and
appropriate discussions and inappropriate dialogue
about intimate issues unrelated to oral health is very
bright.  Similarly, the line between palpating supra-
clavicular lymph nodes and fondling a breast is quite
clear.  Even if a patient does not immediately under-
stand the reason for questions of a sexual nature or
the complete head and neck examination, a thorough
and sensitive explanation for why these things are
done will normally alleviate any concerns.  In the rare
circumstance where a patient still does not accept
these procedures as part of the normal oral health
evaluation and decides to complain to the Board, the
dentist will be well-situated to provide a meaningful
response to the allegations so long as the procedures
are part of the routine for all patients and they are
documented in the patient’s chart.

Summary

Dentists provide patient treatment that, of necessity,
invades the comfort zone of interpersonal space
for many people.  In addition, most health care
providers, including dentists, must review sensitive

PROFESSIONAL BOUNDARIES
(Continued from page 4)

(continued on page 6)
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information of a personal and sexual nature with
patients.  Permitting this type of treatment relation-
ship requires a very high level of trust and vulner-
ability on the part of the patient.  Dentists must
never betray that trust by making sexual advances
toward patients and must never challenge the
relationship by engaging in discussions of social,
political, or other non-health-related matters with
patients.  While the legal risks of such behaviors
continue to evolve and be defined by courts, the
ethical transgression has long been established.
This is not an area that is vague or ill-defined.  It is
expected that health care providers will hold strong
beliefs about social issues and have firm values
related to such things.  It is not permissible for those
providers to bring their personal beliefs and values
into the doctor-patient relationship.

PROFESSIONAL BOUNDARIES
(Continued from page 5)
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The 2007 Legislative Session brought
many significant changes to the
regulation of dentists in Oregon.

The first is Chapter 517 (2007 Laws)
known as Senate Bill 704.

This new legislation requires that a dentist
practicing in Oregon who places or removes
from the oral cavity dental material contain-
ing mercury needs to have installed an
amalgam separator following the effective
date of this law, which is January 1, 2008.

However, the law provided that existing
offices constructed on or before January 1,
2008 would have until January 1, 2011 to
install amalgam separators if the dentists
were to follow the guidelines for best man-
agement of dental wastes recommended by
the Oregon Dental Association and who
become certified by a special district that
manages wastewater treatment.

If you have questions regarding the imple-
mentation of this legislation, please feel free to
contact the Oregon Board of Dentistry (OBD)

IMPORTANT LEGISLATIVE CHANGES

at (971) 673-3200 or the Oregon Dental Associa-
tion on their Web site at www.oregondental.org.

The second new law is Chapter 528 (2007
Laws) known as Senate Bill 879.

This new legislation requires that all Oregon
licensed dentists must complete one pain
management education program developed by
the Oregon Pain Management Commission.

The law becomes effective January 1, 2008
and rules recently adopted by the OBD require
that a dentist complete this mandatory pain
management education program by January 1,
2010 or within 24 months of the first renewal of
their Oregon dental license.

The pain management education program is a
computer based program.  The OBD has placed
a link to the Oregon Pain Management
Commission’s Web site on the OBD Web site
which can be found at www.oregon.gov/den-
tistry on the home page.

If you have any questions regarding this
requirement, please feel free to contact the
OBD.  ■
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ADDITIONS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN IN JANUARY, 2006

Unacceptable Patient Care ORS 679.140(1)(e)

Case #2005-0179 and #2006-0025
Based on the results of two investigations, the
Board issued a Notice of Proposed License Revo-
cation alleging that a dentist ordered controlled
substances for office use using a prescription form;
failed to document a dental justification before
extracting teeth; failed to obtain informed consent
prior to extracting teeth; failed to document with
“PARQ” or its equivalent that informed consent
had been obtained prior to providing treatment;
failed to document the dates and the treatment that
was rendered on those dates; failed to include a
health history in the patient records; failed to
document the  date, quantity and strength of drugs
that were prescribed; failed to sterilize surgical
instruments; self prescribed controlled substances;
failed to document treatment that was provided;
and failed to provide original patient records upon
request of the Board.  Aware of the Licensee’s
right to a hearing, and wishing to resolve these
matters, the Licensee voluntarily entered into a
Consent Order in which the Licensee agreed to be
reprimanded, to resign the Licensee’s license to
practice dentistry, and to not seek future licensure
from the Board.

Case #2003-0197 Based on the results of an
investigation, the Board issued a Notice of Pro-
posed Disciplinary Action alleging that on numer-
ous occasions, a dentist failed to document with
“PARQ” or its equivalent that informed consent
had been obtained prior to providing treatment;
failed to document dental justifications prior to
extracting teeth; failed to seek consultation or refer
patients to specialists when it was indicated; and
failed to document dental justifications prior to
initiating orthodontic therapy. Aware of the
Licensee’s right to a hearing, and wishing to
resolve this matter, the Licensee voluntarily
entered into a Consent Order in which the Lic-
ensee agreed to be reprimanded and to perform
orthodontic services for a two-year period only in
consultation with a licensed orthodontist.

Case #2006-0055 Based on the results of an
investigation, the Board issued a Notice of Pro-
posed Disciplinary Action alleging that a dentist
failed to extract all of a tooth and then failed to
discover the remaining tooth fragment until three
months later and also failed to complete the
Board’s 40 hour continuing education require-
ment for re-licensure.  Aware of the Licensee’s
right to a hearing, and wishing to resolve this
matter, the Licensee voluntarily entered into a
Consent Order in which the Licensee agreed to be
reprimanded.

Case #2006-0024 Based on the results of an
investigation, the Board issued a Notice of Pro-
posed Disciplinary Action alleging that a dentist
failed to document the presence of periodontal
disease; administered nitrous oxide without a
current nitrous oxide permit; failed to document
the use of nitrous oxide; failed to document the
dosage of gases administered; failed to document
the use of local anesthetic; failed to document the
name, amount, and dosages of local anesthetic
that was administered; failed to document a
dental justification for placing restorations; failed
to document a dental justification for extracting
teeth; failed to document a dental justification for
initiating orthodontic therapy; failed to document
updates to the patient’s health history; and failed
to document that periodontal probing was done.
Aware of the Licensee’s right to a hearing, and
wishing to resolve this matter, the Licensee
voluntarily entered into a Consent Order in which
the Licensee agreed to be reprimanded and to
complete at least 21 hours of Board approved
continuing education in the diagnosis and treat-
ment of periodontal disease and six hours of
Board approved continuing education in pharma-
cology within one year, requirements that would
be stayed if the Licensee either retires the
Licensee’s dental license or does not renew the
Licensee’s dental license in the next renewal
period.

(continued on page 8)
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Unacceptable Patient Care ORS 679.140(1)(e)

Case #2007-0040  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist failed to diagnose caries in numerous
teeth that was evident on radiographs, failed to
remove all caries from numerous teeth prior to
placing restorations in the teeth, and then per-
formed a formocresol pulpotomy in a necrotic
tooth with a draining fistula.  Aware of the
Licensee’s right to a hearing, and wishing to
resolve these matters, the Licensee voluntarily
entered into a Consent Order in which the Lic-
ensee agreed to be reprimanded, to pay $873.00
in restitution to the patient’s parent, and to com-
plete seven hours of continuing education in the
area of pediatric dental diagnosis and treatment
planning.

Case #2007-0130  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued an Order of
Immediate Emergency License Suspension based
on findings that the Licensee did not perform any
spore testing of the Licensee’s sterilizing auto-
clave and used instruments that were processed in
the autoclave, and concluded the Licensee posed
a serious danger to the public’s health and safety.
Aware of the Licensee’s right to a hearing, and
wishing to resolve these matters, the Licensee
voluntarily entered into a Consent Order in which
the Licensee agreed to have the Emergency
License suspension vacated; to be reprimanded;
to provide 40 hours of Board approved commu-
nity service; to submit to random, unannounced
visits and inspections for two years; and to
provide the Board with the results of all spore
testing for two years.

Case #2007-0141  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist failed to provide treatment to seal off the

exposed endodontic fill in the retained root of a
tooth prior to placing a bridge over the retained
root.  Aware of the Licensee’s right to a hearing,
and wishing to resolve these matters, the Lic-
ensee voluntarily entered into a Consent Order in
which the Licensee agreed to be reprimanded.

Case #2005-0075  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist seated a bridge with defective and open
margins.  Aware of the Licensee’s right to a
hearing, and wishing to resolve these matters, the
Licensee voluntarily entered into a Consent Order
in which the Licensee agreed to be reprimanded.

Case #2007-0045  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist failed to dispose of contaminated wastes
and sharps in accordance with government
requirements.  Aware of the Licensee’s right to a
hearing, and wishing to resolve these matters, the
Licensee voluntarily entered into a Consent Order
in which the Licensee agreed to be reprimanded,
to pay a $5,000.00 civil penalty, to forward to the
Board a copy of an office protocol outlining
infection control guidelines including the dis-
posal of contaminated wastes and sharps, and to
forward to the Board copies of receipts or in-
voices from any contaminated waste disposal
service for one year.

Case #2007-0109  Based on the results of
an investigation the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist failed to document with “PARQ” or its
equivalent that informed consent had been ob-
tained prior to providing treatment, failed to
identify a tooth involved with irreversible
pulpitis, failed to document the writing of a
prescription for Toradol, failed to document the

(continued on page 9)

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS (Continued from page 7)

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN BETWEEN

MARCH 1, 2007 AND NOVEMBER 30, 2007
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strength of other medications that were pre-
scribed, and prescribed 10 Duragesic 75 mg
transdermal  patches with out any dental justifica-
tion. Aware of the Licensee’s right to a hearing,
and wishing to resolve these matters, the Lic-
ensee voluntarily entered into a Consent Order in
which the Licensee agreed to be reprimanded, to
pay a $500.00 civil penalty, attend eight hours of
continuing education in pharmacology, to appear
before the Board, to no longer provide dental
treatment to family members, and to immediately
begin using pre-numbered triplicate prescriptions
of prescribing controlled substances.

Case #2007-0228  Based on the results of
an investigation the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist allowed a dental assistant without an
EFDA certification to fabricate and temporarily
cement a temporary crown and a temporary
bridge.  Aware of the Licensee’s right to a hear-
ing, and wishing to resolve these matters, the
Licensee voluntarily entered into a Consent Order
in which the Licensee agreed to be reprimanded
and to pay a $500.00 civil penalty.

Case #2006-0082  Based on the results of
an investigation the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist did not adequately document treatment
provided for several patients and did not com-
plete four hours of continuing education required
for nitrous oxide permit maintenance.  Aware of
the Licensee’s right to a hearing, and wishing to
resolve these matters, the Licensee voluntarily
entered into a Consent Order in which the Lic-
ensee agreed to be reprimanded and to complete
four hours of continuing education required for
nitrous oxide permit maintenance.

Case #2007-0118 Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist failed to document with “PARQ” or its
equivalent that informed consent had been
obtained prior to providing treatment, failed to
document the presence of periodontal disease,

failed to document  dental justification prior to
providing treatment, failed to document the vital
signs and the patient’s condition upon discharge
when administering nitrous oxide, used a pre-
scription blank pre-printed with a DEA registra-
tion number, and failed to ensure that a dental
assistant accurately filled out a referral form
which resulted in a subsequent dentist errone-
ously extracting a tooth.  Aware of the Licensee’s
right to a hearing, and wishing to resolve this
matter, the Licensee voluntarily entered into a
Consent Order in which the Licensee agreed to be
reprimanded, to pay a $2,400.00 civil penalty,
and to complete at least 3 hours of  continuing
education in record keeping.

Unprofessional Conduct ORS 679.140(2)(c)

Case #2007-0236  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist fabricated and made alterations to treat-
ment notes in an attempt to deceive the Board,
and during an interview with Board staff refer-
enced the fabricated alterations to the treatment
notes as being the actual dental records of the
patient.  Aware of the Licensee’s right to a hear-
ing, and wishing to resolve these matters, the
Licensee voluntarily entered into a Consent Order
in which the Licensee agreed to be reprimanded,
and to pay a $5,000.00 civil penalty.

Case #2007-0069  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued an Order of
Immediate Emergency License Suspension based
on findings that due to the nature and extent of
alcohol abuse, an arrest for driving under the
influence of alcohol, and treating a patient while
the Licensee was under the influence of alcohol,
and concluded the Licensee posed a serious
danger to the public health and safety.  The
Licensee subsequently underwent evaluation and
treatment at several facilities.  Aware of the
Licensee’s right to a hearing, and wishing to
resolve these matters, the Licensee voluntarily
entered into a Consent Order in which the
Licensee agreed to not have the Licensee’s

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS (Continued from page 8)
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license reinstated, to undergo a neuro-
psychological examination, and to have the neuro-
psychologist share all information with the Board.

Case #2008-0041  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued an Order of
Immediate Emergency License Suspension based
on findings that due to the nature and extent of the
Licensee’s alcohol abuse, the Licensee’s admit-
tance to a mental health facility, and the
Licensee’s continued denial of a problem with
alcohol dependence, and concluded the Licensee
posed a serious danger to the public health and
safety.

Case #2008-0013  The Licensee entered
into an Interim Consent Order in which the
Licensee agreed to not practice dentistry and to
not order, store, dispense or prescribe any con-
trolled drugs.

Case #2006-0226  Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist viewed a patient and employee undress in
preparation of using a tanning bed in the
Licensee’s office, viewed another patient undress
in preparation of using a tanning bed in the
Licensee’s office, and entered into a Settlement
Agreement and Release of All Claims in a civil
matter that obstructed the Board’s ability to
investigate the matter.  Aware of the Licensee’s
right to a hearing, and wishing to resolve these
matters, the Licensee voluntarily entered into a
Consent Order in which the Licensee agreed to be
reprimanded, to pay a $15,000.00 civil penalty, to
have the Licensee’s dental license suspended for
30 days, to be placed on indefinite probation, to
undergo an assessment by a Board approved
evaluator, to participate in and complete any care
programs and recovery treatment plans, to appear
before the Board twice a year, to not treat any
female patient unless a second adult is in close
proximity to the patient being treated, and to
present to the Board the Licensee’s office
protocols for contact and communication between

Licensee, patients and staff members and to have
each employee review the protocols annually.

Practicing Dentistry Without a License ORS
679.020

Case #2007-0260 Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that
between April 2, 2007 and April 12, 2007, a
dentist practiced dentistry without a license.
Aware of the Licensee’s right to a hearing, and
in order to resolve this matter, the Licensee
voluntarily entered into a Consent Order with
the Board in which the Licensee agreed to be
reprimanded and to pay a $5,000.00 civil penalty.

Case #2007-0272 Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that
between April 2, 2007 and April 16, 2007, a
dentist practiced dentistry without a license.
Aware of the Licensee’s right to a hearing, and
in order to resolve this matter, the Licensee
voluntarily entered into a Consent Order with
the Board in which the dentist agreed to be
reprimanded and to pay a $5,000.00 civil penalty.

Violation of an Order Issue by the Board ORS
679.140(1)(d)

Case #2006-0111 Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
License Suspension alleging that a dental hygien-
ist failed to pay a $500.00 civil penalty, failed to
complete 24 hours of continuing education for
each of two licensing periods, and failed to
complete 10 hours of community service required
in a previous Consent Order.  Although the
Licensee was served with the Notice of License
Suspension and Notice of Rights, the Licensee
failed to request a hearing in a timely manner so
the Board issued  a Default Order in which the
Licensee’s license to practice Dental Hygiene
was indefinitely suspended.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS (Continued from page 9)

(continued on page 11)
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SCHEDULED
BOARD MEETINGS

2008

● February 29, 2008

● April 25, 2008

● June 20, 2008

● August 15, 2008

● October 10, 2008

● December 5, 2008

BOARD STAFF

Patrick D. Braatz, Executive Director
Patrick.Braatz@state.or.us

Teresa Haynes
Licensing and Examination Manager
Teresa.Haynes@state.or.us

Sharon Ingram, Executive Assistant
Sharon.Ingram@state.or.us

Paul Kleinstub, DDS, MS
Dental Director and Chief Investigator
Paul.Kleinstub@state.or.us

Daryll Ross, Investigator
Daryll.Ross@state.or.us

Lisa Warwick, Office Specialist
Lisa.Warwick@state.or.us

Harvey Wayson, Investigator
Harvey.Wayson@state.or.us

The Board office is open from 7:30 a.m. to
4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday except
State and Federal holidays.
Phone:  971-673-3200   Fax:  971-673-3202

Case #2001-0039 and #2002-0055
Based on the results of an investigation, the
Board issued an Amended Notice of Proposed
Disciplinary Action alleging that a dentist failed
to respond to three written requests for informa-
tion from the Board required in these Consent
Orders.  Aware of the Licensee’s right to a
hearing, and wishing to resolve this matter, the
Licensee voluntarily entered into an Amended
Consent Order in the above matters in which the
Licensee agreed to be reprimanded and to pay a
$2,500.00 civil penalty.

Failure to Complete Continuing Education
Required for License Renewal OAR 818-021-
0060(1)

Case #2007-0264 Based on the results of
an investigation, the Board issued a Notice of
Proposed Disciplinary Action alleging that a
dentist failed to complete the 40 hours of
continuing education for the  2005-2007 license
renewal period.  Aware of the Licensee’s right to
a hearing, and in order to resolve this matter, the
Licensee entered into a Consent Order with the
Board in which the Licensee agreed to be
reprimanded and to complete the 40 hours of
continuing education.

Applicant Issues ORS 679.060(4)

Case #2007-0196 Based on the results of an
investigation into the information provided in an
application for a license to practice dentistry in
which the Applicant provided information that the
Applicant’s dental license was suspended in
another state, the Board determined that legal
cause existed to deny the Applicant’s application
for licensure and issued a Notice of Proposed
Denial of Application for License.  The Applicant
failed to request a hearing in a timely manner so
the Board issued a Default Order in which the
license application  of the Applicant was denied. ■

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS (Continued from page 10)
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There is always some confusion when it
comes to renewal time so we thought we’d
answer some questions that come up

frequently after the renewals go out in the mail.

Do I need my CPR card to renew my
license?

No, you do not need your CPR card to renew
your basic dental or dental hygiene license.  An
appropriate level of CPR card is required for your
anesthesia permit only.  If you have a CPR class
scheduled soon, but not in time to get your
renewal mailed and processed, send your renewal
in now.  After you’ve taken your CPR class, you
can mail or fax us a copy of your most current
card and we’ll add your anesthesia permit back to
your license.

What level of CPR card do I need for
my license?

Class 1 or 2 Permit: Health Care Provider
BLS/CPR Card

Class 3 or 4 Permit: ACLS/PALS Card

I have been audited again! This
cannot be random!

As you all know, the OBD does a random audit of
our Licensee’s continuing education.  Every year,
15% of renewing licensees are audited.  It is a
completely random audit with the Licensee
selection being chosen via a computer program.
Theoretically, it would be possible to have one
Licensee that will get audited every single time
and another who goes their entire career without
ever being audited, although that’s highly
improbable.

Do I have to send in my Continuing
Education (CE) Log with my renewal
form?

 No, you don’t have to.  It is nice for OBD staff to
receive everything together, but if you’re taking a
class that’s close to the cutoff for your renewal

cycle, please send in the renewal form and
payment with a note attached saying that your CE
Log will follow.

I don’t have all of my CE completed.
Do I have to wait to mail in my
renewal?

No, you don’t have to wait until all of your CE is
completed.  The form will ask if you completed
or will complete your CE by September 30 for
dental hygienists or March 31 for dentists.
Marking “No” will not prevent the renewal of
your license.

Do I need to sign the form or can I
have staff do that?  Is a stamp okay?

It’s very important that you sign your renewal
form yourself, instead of leaving it to office staff
or family.  Original signatures are required in
order for us to renew your license.  If we receive
a renewal form signed by anyone other than the
Licensee or a stamp, then we have no choice but
to return the form for signature, which could
delay processing your renewal.

Why does the letter with my renewal
form say to mail the completed
renewal 10 business days before my
renewal expires?

We want to have everything mailed by our
Licensees 10 days prior to the license expiration
date to allow enough processing time to renew
everyone as quickly and efficiently as possible.
Currently the OBD has a two step process that
takes all renewals to our cashiers office, located
in a separate location, for fee processing and then
to us for renewal processing.  It can take as long
as a week for renewals to arrive from our
cashier’s office to us.

RENEWAL FAQS
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Why was my renewal returned?

Renewals are returned for a number of reasons.
The most common reason is that a question was
not answered or that the form was not signed or
dated.  When the renewal is returned to a
Licensee, the problem area is highlighted for
completion.

Can my check be sent separately?

No, unfortunately at this time we require all
payments to accompany the renewal forms. If
there is no payment included, the form will be
returned to you.  If there is no form, the payment
will be returned to you.

Can I pay by credit card?

No, currently we are unable to accept credit card
payments for renewals.

The return envelope is addressed to a
PO Box.  Is that correct?

This is the address for our cashier’s office. The
OBD currently has a two step process for
processing renewals.  The first step of that
process is our cashier’s office.

Why can’t I send my renewal to your
office address?

Technically you can, but it slows down the
processing time for your renewal since we have
to send it to our cashier’s office for fee processing
before we can renew your license.

My check has been cashed but my
license hasn’t been renewed.
What’s going on?

That typically means that it’s somewhere between
our cashier’s office and our Licensing Manager
and will be renewed shortly.  If you feel the time
has been too long, please call us and we can
check into the situation for you.

I accidentally renewed a day or two
late and now I’m getting a letter from
the Board.  What did I do wrong?

Maybe nothing…it depends.  Renewing your
license in a timely manner assures that there will
be no gaps in your legal ability to practice.  In the
state of Oregon, you MUST have a CURRENT
license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene. At
midnight on September 30 for dental hygienists,
and March 30 for dentists, licenses issued for that
two-year period expire.  They are no longer valid
and a new license must be issued in place of the
old one.  If it has not been renewed, you are in
violation of the law IF you practice.  If you know
you’re late and you don’t practice during that
time, you’re fine and have done the appropriate
thing in this situation.  ■

Congratulations to Carrie Keswick,
R.D.H., of Portland.  Carrie was the
first dental hygienist to renew their

dental hygiene license during the last
renewal cycle.  License renewal applications
were mailed July 16, 2007 and Carrie’s
application and fees were received on
July 20, 2007.    ■

IMPAIRED LICENSEES

The Oregon Board of Dentistry has a
 confidential Voluntary Diversion
 Program to address the needs of

Licensees who struggle with substance abuse
matters.  This program permits a Licensee to
be in recovery and continue to practice
without discipline by the Board.

If you have questions about the program, or
concerns about a Licensee, call –

Investigator Harvey Wayson
(971) 673-3200

7:00 a.m. — 3:00 p.m.
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Thirty one March, 2008 will be my last day
as a member of the Oregon Board of
Dentistry.  I never in my wildest dreams

ever thought that this old dirt-farmer/cowboy from
Klamath Falls would ever attempt, let alone make
such a ride without getting bucked off a time or two.
Now it is time for me to saddle up and ride on to
new adventures.

 My eight years as a member of the OBD has
been a long and interesting ride. Sort of like
drovering a herd of cattle.  90% of the herd goes
along nicely doing what they should do. About 8 %
step out of line occasionally and have to be brought
back to order and about 2% are just plain ornery and
take up the majority of the drover’s time getting
them out of mud holes, brush patches and canyons.
You usually get kicked and horned a few times for
your efforts.

I have a beat up saddle, a tattered Stetson, a dingy
bedroll, a worn-out lariat, saddle sores, multiple
bruises from where I least expected and a poke that
is much lighter than when I signed on for the drive.
The owners of the herd were a little shy about
informing me of their expectations and the trail
route and the pay.  I should have been suspicious
when they asked for all sorts of details about me but
were short on telling me about them.  I wish they
would have given me their trail map and the book of
rules before I made my marks on that contract thing.
Never in my life have I ever seen so much gobble-
dygook where the words could mean so many
different things, depending on who read them.  Sure
did get us into some interesting pickles.  Sort of like
trying to rope a big-horned steer while sitting on
your horse backwards or putting the feed bag on the
wrong end of your horse.

The owners trail map wasn’t much either.  It
didn’t match up with the country we were traveling
over and then too often they would send us a mes-
sage to go in some other direction that made no
sense whatsoever.  We had to spend a lot of time
keeping the herd calmed down during all the confu-
sion of back-tracking, going in circles and taking
terrible trails when other better trails were handier.

TIME FOR ME TO SADDLE UP AND RIDE ON
by Ronald Short, D.M.D.
Board Member 2000-2008

 My Dad told me years ago that he had learned
from his Dad that you never, ever, ask a man to
do something that you would not do yourself and
that you never tell a man how to do a job when
you don’t know how it should be done and you
never treat a learned man like he is a fool to cover
up your own ignorance.  He also always
reminded me that slavery was illegal.

I did have some good times though.  The camp
and chuck wagon crew were a fine bunch.  Best I
have seen.  I will miss them a lot!  The crew had a
book of rules and regulations that didn’t make
much sense to me.  Not very practical.  They did
cook very good chuck considering what the
owners allowed for supplies.  The crew always
kept a warm fire burning at night even when they
had to look hard for fire fixings.  The other drovers
were a super bunch also.  Tough and trail wise.
One of the best was the new guy who had never
been around this sort of thing before.  He learned
to sit a horse real fast!  I will really miss him.
Should only have one like that though.  More than
one will just slow things down and cost more.

I hope the owners keep the same line up of
drovers and crew.  They are the best.  But they
need the authority to be able to make their own
trail quickly as the herd and terrain change and
they need less burdensome books of rules.  Less
nit-picking by the owners would be good also.

The drovers should be able to solely determine
the makeup of the herd.  After all, the drovers are
the ones responsible to keep the herd in good
condition and to get it smoothly along the trail to
its destination.  You can’t have a successful trip if
you have a bad herd to start with.  A little better
pay would be good also.  One can only contribute
so much to the “cause.”

This drive makes me wonder about what
qualifications the owners have to be owners?

See you somewhere along the trail.  Keep your
cinch tight and your canteen full!  ■

Ron
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IMPORTANT RULE CHANGES

The OBD held two Rulemaking Hearings in
2007 and the following are some of the
most significant changes to the OBD

Rules.  The new language is underscored.  All
current rules can be found on the OBD Web site at
www.oregon.gov/dentistry or you can contact the
OBD office and request a current copy of the Dental
Practice Act, which can also be downloaded and
printed from the OBD Web site.

818-012-0030 Unprofessional Conduct

The Board finds that in addition to the conduct
set forth in ORS 679.140(2), a licensee engages in
unprofessional conduct if the licensee does or
permits any person to:

(14) Becomes addicted to, or dependent upon, or
abuses alcohol, illegal or controlled substances, or
mind altering substances. 3/1/07

(15) Practice dentistry or dental hygiene in a
dental office or clinic not owned by an Oregon
licensed dentist(s), except for an entity described in
ORS 679.020(3) and dental hygienists practicing
pursuant to ORS 680.205(1)(2). 5/1/07

(16)  Make an agreement with a patient or
person, or any person or entity representing patients
or persons, or provide any form of consideration
that would prohibit, restrict, discourage or otherwise
limit a person’s ability to file a complaint with the
Oregon Board of Dentistry; to truthfully and fully
answer any questions posed by an agent or repre-
sentative of the Board; or to participate as a witness
in a Board proceeding. 11/30/07

818-021-0060 Continuing Education - Dentists

(3) Continuing education includes:
(d) Continuing education credit can be given for

volunteer pro bono dental services; community oral
health instruction at a public health facility located
in the state of Oregon; authorship of a publication,
book, chapter of a book, article or paper published
in a professional journal; participation on a state
dental board, peer review, or quality of care review
procedures; successful completion of Part II of the
National Board Dental Examinations taken after
initial licensure; a board recognized specialty
examination taken after initial licensure; or test

development for clinical dental, dental hygiene or
specialty examinations.  No more than 6 hours of
credit may be in these areas. 11/30/07

818-021-0070 Continuing Education – Dental
Hygienists

(3) Continuing education includes:
(d) Continuing education credit can be given for

volunteer pro bono dental services; community oral
health instruction at a public health facility located
in the state of Oregon; authorship of a publication,
book, chapter of a book, article or paper published
in a professional journal; participation on a state
dental board, peer review, or quality of care review
procedures; successful completion of the National
Board Dental Hygiene Examination taken after
initial licensure;  or test development for clinical
dental hygiene examinations.  No more than 6 hours
of credit may be in these areas. 11/30/07

818-035-0072 Restorative Functions of Dental
Hygienists

Dental Hygienists who have completed specific
board approved training and examination can
apply to receive a Restorative Function Endorse-
ment to their license and would be allowed to do
the following:

(2) A dental hygienist may perform the place-
ment and finishing of direct alloy and direct anterior
composite restorations, under the indirect supervi-
sion of a licensed dentist, after the supervising
dentist has prepared the tooth (teeth) for
restoration(s). 5/1/07

818-042-0095 Restorative Functions Dental
Assistants

Dental Assistants who have completed specific
board approved training and examination can apply
to receive a Restorative Function Endorsement and
would be allowed to do the following:

(2) A dental assistant may perform the placement
and finishing of direct alloy or direct anterior
composite restorations, under the indirect supervi-
sion of a licensed dentist, after the supervising
dentist has prepared the tooth (teeth) for
restoration(s). 11/30/07  ■



OREGON BOARD OF DENTISTRY

1600 SW 4th Avenue, Suite 770
Portland, OR  97201-5519

Licensees are required to report any change of address within 30 days.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS FORM

Licensee Name: _________________________________________________
Print Name Phone

License Number:_________________________________________________

New Mailing Address: ____________________________________________

______________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________

Above is:     Home Office Other 

Mail or Fax to: OREGON BOARD OF DENTISTRY

1600 SW 4th Avenue, Suite 770
Portland, OR 97201-5519
Phone:  (971) 673-3200
Fax:  (971) 673-3202

✁

IT’S THE LAW!

You must notify the OBD

within 30 days of any

change of address.

An on-line Change of

Address Form is on the

OBD’s Web site at

http://www.oregon.
gov/Dentistry/docs/
Address ChangeFrm.pdf.
All address changes must

be made in writing by fax,

mail or e-mail.
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