Rulemaking

Adopted rulemaking

Donald Hendrix, 503-229-6918

DEQ proposes rules to increase Title V operating permit fees by the change in the consumer price index as authorized by federal and state law. The proposed fee increases are necessary for DEQ to provide essential services associated with Oregon’s Title V permitting program.
 
The proposed rules would increase the fees in two phases. This approach would save administrative costs by holding a single public notice and comment period for the two rulemakings.
 

Phase One - adopted

Administrative Order No. DEQ 7-2016
Filed and effective June 9, 2016
See Oregon Bulletin July 2016
 
DEQ proposed the phase one rules at the commission’s meeting in June 2016. The proposed fee increase effective for the 2016 invoice year is 0.45 percent based on the Bureau of Labor Statistics September 2015 consumer price index for the period of September 2014 to August 2015. DEQ will apply this CPI increase to permit fees on the invoices DEQ issues in August 2016 for annual emissions during 2015 and the operating period Nov. 15, 2016 to Nov. 14, 2017. 
 

Phase Two - adopted

Administrative Order No. DEQ 1-2017
Filed and effective Jan. 19, 2017
See Oregon Bulletin March 2017

The EQC adopted the proposed phase two rules on Jan. 18, 2017. The fee increase effective for the 2017 invoice year is 0.80 percent based on the Bureau of Labor Statistics September 2016 consumer price index for the period September 2015 to August 2016. DEQ will apply this CPI increase to permit fees on the invoices DEQ will issue in August 2017 for annual emissions during 2016 and the operating period Nov. 15, 2017 to Nov. 14, 2018.

Public involvement

Comment period closed at 4 p.m. on Feb. 22, 2016.
 
 
Public Notice Packet
Includes invitation to comment, notice, proposed rules, and any supporting documents.

EQC action

Phase 1 adopted by EQC on June 9, 2016
EQC Staff Report - Item L
(includes adopted rules)
 
Phase 2 adopted by EQC on Jan. 18, 2017
(includes adopted rules)