Oregon Calculated Recovery Rates by Wasteshed

A "wasteshed" is defined in Oregon law as being an area of the state that shares a common solid waste disposal system, or an appropriate area in which to develop a common recycling system. For the most part, individual Oregon counties are designated as wastesheds. Three exceptions are that:

- The greater Portland tri-county area, consisting of Clackamas, Multnomah and Washington Counties, is designated as the Metro wasteshed.
- Milton-Freewater, a city within Umatilla County, is designated as a separate wasteshed.
- For most cities such as Albany that have populations in two counties, the entire city was included in the wasteshed that included the larger portion of the city population. The exception is Salem, where most of Salem is in the Marion Wasteshed, but West Salem is included in the Polk Wasteshed.

Wasteshed	2020 Rate	2021 Rate	Wasteshed Representative Contact		
Baker	19.5%	19.0%	Bruce Nichols	Baker County Commission Chair	541-524-2040
Benton	39.3%	34.4%	Daniel Redick	Benton County Community Development	541-766-6841
Clatsop	36.8%	31.2%	Meredith Reiley	Clatsop County Public Health	503-325-1000 x1927
Columbia	24.4%	24.2%	Jake Anderson	Columbia County Public Works	503-397-7259
Coos	21.1%	21.0%	Jessica Johnson	Coos County Solid Waste Department	541-396-7660
Crook	22.2%	21.9%	Seth Crawford	Crook County Commission	541-447-6555
Curry	24.3%	20.3%	John Herzog	Curry County	541-247-3296
Deschutes	33.2%	28.9%	Chad Centola	Deschutes County Solid Waste Department	541-317-3163
Douglas	30.7%	27.8%	Garrett Lampton	Douglas County Solid Waste	541-430-2135
Gilliam	13.7%	13.2%	Delaney Watkins	Gilliam County Court	541-384-2381
Grant	17.4%	17.3%	Scott W. Myers	Grant County Court	541-575-0059
Harney	18.3%	19.1%	Bill Hart	Harney County Court	541-573-6356
Hood River	24.6%	23.4%	Mike Matthews	Hood River County Health Department	541-387-7129
Jackson	34.2%	19.2%	Contracia Carrier	Jackson County	541-774-6007
Jefferson	19.8%	19.9%	Matt Powlison	Jefferson County Public Works Department	541-475-4459
Josephine	34.8%	31.6%	Jason Canady	Josephine County Health Department	541-450-6110
Klamath	21.9%	19.4%	Tom Crist	Klamath County - Solid Waste Management	541-883-4294
Lake	6.7%	8.8%	David Berman	Lake County Landfill	541-947-1255
Lane	53.9%	49.7%	Angie Marzano	Lane County PW - Waste Management Division	541-682-6536
Lincoln	25.2%	27.9%	Paul Seitz	Lincoln County Solid Waste District	541-574-1285
Linn	46.1%	40.0%	Shane Sanderson	Linn County Environmental Health Department	541-967-3821 x2374
Malheur	16.9%	20.9%	Eric Evans	Malheur County Environmental Health	541-473-5186
Marion	**48.4%	**40.5%	Brian May	Marion County Environmental Services	503-365-3147
Metro	46.5%	44.2%	Pam Peck	METRO	503-797-1760
Milton-Freewater	23.4%	29.9%	Brian Steadman	Public Works Department	541-938-8274
Morrow	13.7%	16.2%	Eric Imes	Morrow County Public Works Department	541-989-9500
Polk	46.4%	39.3%	Christina Tisdell	Polk County	503-623-9237
Sherman	10.2%	26.6%	Joe Dabulskis	Sherman County Judge/Commissioners	541-565-3416
Tillamook	30.1%	32.8%	David McCall	Tillamook County Public Works	503-815-3975
Umatilla	28.3%	31.3%	Gina Miller	Umatilla County Planning Department	541-278-6300
Union	26.9%	25.8%	Scott Hartell	Union County Planning Department	541-963-1014
Wallowa	17.5%	28.4%	Ed Gomes	Wallowa County Public Works Department	541-426-3332
Wasco	14.8%	21.6%	Morgaine Riggins	Wasco County	541-506-2529
Wheeler	16.5%	14.1%	Lynn Morley	Wheeler County Court	541-763-3460
Yamhill	35.8%	30.2%	Ashley Watkins	Yamhill County Solid Waste	503-434-7516
OREGON TOTALS	42.0%	37.7%			

^{**}does include certain Marion County recyclable materials burned for energy

