Water Quality Permits

MS4 Phase II General Permit

As part of its efforts to protect and improve Oregon's water quality, DEQ issues stormwater discharge permits to small municipal storm sewer systems that discharge stormwater into streams, rivers, lakes and streams. DEQ currently regulates municipal stormwater discharges from 19 regulated small MS4s under “Phase II” MS4 individual permits. Those individual permits expired in 2012. Additionally in 2012, the number of regulated Phase II communities in Oregon increased due to population growth. Seven new regulated communities were notified by DEQ that they are required to obtain NPDES Phase II permit.
DEQ has proposed to permit existing and future Phase II communities under a general permit, the MS4 Phase II Stormwater general permit.

Current Action

DEQ invites the public to provide written comments on the conditions of the proposed MS4 Phase II stormwater permit.


DEQ has posted a redline version of the proposed Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Phase II Stormwater general permit. As summarized in the Errata, DEQ has made corrections to address typographic errors, section headings, and other formatting issues. Additionally, DEQ has rescheduled the Public Hearing to Jan. 29, 2018 and extended the comment period to Feb. 20, 2018.

Public Notice Documents

Includes the request for comments, draft permit, and permit evaluation

Public Comment details:

DEQ will accept written comments on the proposed permit through 5 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2018.

Public Hearing details:

DEQ will hold a public hearing on Monday, Jan. 29 at 1:30 p.m.
Where: DEQ Eugene Office, Willamette Conference Room
165 East 7th Avenue, Eugene, OR 97401
Remote connection will be provided at the following regional DEQ offices:
  • Bend - 475 NE Bellevue Drive, Suite 110,
  • Medford - 221 Stewart Avenue, Suite 201

Permit Development Workshop and Webinar:

On Dec. 7 2017, DEQ hosted a workshop to provide information about the proposed permit conditions.

You may submit comments by mail, fax or email to:

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Stormwater, MS4 Phase II Comments, 7th Floor
700 NE Multnomah St., Suite 600
Portland, OR  97232
Fax:  503-229-6037
Email: MS4PermitComment@deq.state.or.us
​On July 1, 2016 DEQ posted a proposed MS4 Phase II general permit for public comment. DEQ hosted a Public Hearing associated with the permit on Aug. 3, 2017. The formal comment period ended Sept. 2, 2016.
​In July 2016 DEQ posted the draft MS4 Phase II general permit for public notice and received 250 separate comment documents or oral testimonies. Based on several requests received, DEQ hosted two facilitated listening sessions to further explore issues raised during the public process.

Dec. 6, 2016
Feb. 7, 2017
​DEQ convened an Advisory Committee associated with the development of a MS4 Phase II general permit. The committee helped identify issues, provide feedback on implementation timelines and regional issues.

Meeting 7: May 10, 2016 Meeting 6: Nov. 19, 2015 Meeting 5: Nov. 4, 2015 Meeting 4: Sept. 24, 2015 Meeting 3: July 9th, 2015
​Identified are the 19 Phase II communities, and the seven new communities that will require coverage.

City of Albany*   
City of Ashland   
City of Bend   
City of Corvallis   
City of Eagle Point*   
City of Gold Hill**   
City of Grants Pass*  
City of Jefferson **   
City of Keizer   
City of Medford   
City of Millersburg*   
City of Milton-Freewater**   
City of Philomath   
City of Rogue River*   
City of Springfield   
City of Tangent**   
City of Troutdale   
City of Turner
City of Wood Village   
Benton County

Josephine County*

Lane County
Linn County*
Marion County
Polk County
Umatilla County** 
Rogue Valley Sewer Services - RVSS  
RVSS - City of Central Point
RVSS - City of Phoenix
RVSS - City of Talent
RVSS - Jackson County
*New Urbanized Areas identified based on 2010 US Census data. Communities are automatically designated for coverage by EPA and notified by DEQ.
** New Urbanized Areas identified based on 2010 US Census data. Community applied for waiver of coverage and DEQ approved request.

​Stormwater runoff is generated when precipitation from rain and snowmelt flows over land or impervious surfaces and does not percolate into the ground. As runoff flows over land and impervious surfaces in urbanized areas (such as paved streets, parking lots and building rooftops), it can accumulate chemicals, nutrients, sediment or other pollutants in quantities that could adversely affect water quality. If stormwater runoff discharges from MS4s that serve these urbanized areas, and the runoff is untreated or allowed to accumulate pollutants, it may adversely affect local aquatic life and beneficial uses of water such as swimming, fishing and drinking water.

If you are interested in receiving updates about the Phase II General Permit development, please email your name, affiliation and email address.