Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Ethical Practices System

DHHAP Information and Technical Assistance Series
Ethical Practices System
(Source: Registry of Interpreter´s of the Deaf, Inc.)
About the Ethical Practices System
The Ethical Practices System (EPS) is the third component of RID´s triad. This component provides an avenue to address concerns or file complaints regarding the quality of interpreter services. The EPS seeks to bring accountability to the field of interpreting. Effective communication is mandated by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and other statutes and regulations. The EPS is the method of enforcing the RID Code of Ethics to which all RID members subscribe.
The EPS is currently comprised of three levels of action that include the Regional Ethical Practices Committees (which correspond to RID´s five regional divisions), the National Ethical Practices Committee and the National Review Board. The three levels are designed to provide fairness and the means for appeals to all parties involved.
Each committee and/or board is comprised of certified interpreters, consumers, and professionals. The EPS follows the American judicial concept of a "jury of your peers." The Ethical Practices guidelines specify a wide range of certification levels to ensure that experienced professionals are among committee members. A minimum of one committee member is Deaf or Hard of Hearing.