October 10, 2012
SALEM—Taxpayers who received an extension earlier this year for filing their
2011 State of Oregon income taxes need to submit their return by Monday, or
they could face financial penalties.
October 15 is the
extended due date for filing Oregon and federal income taxes. If people granted
an extension don’t file their return by that date, a 5 percent failure-to-file
penalty calculated on the unpaid tax will be imposed.
“Paying and filing
your taxes in a timely manner keeps you from having to pay unwanted penalty and
interest charges,” said Theresa Schuh, manager of Revenue’s Personal Income Tax
reminded that even if they received an extension to file their return, their
tax payment still was due on April 17. People who did not pay their taxes by
April 17 need to include a 5 percent failure-to-pay penalty when they file
their extended return. In addition,
interest is charged on any unpaid tax from the April 17th due date
until paid. The current interest rate is 5 percent per year (.04167 percent per
If you have an
extension to file, please be sure to mark the extension box on the Oregon
return. This will help in the processing of the return.
Visit www.oregon.gov/dor to get tax forms, check the status
of your refund or make tax payments, or call 1-800-356-4222 toll-free from an
Oregon prefix (English or Spanish); 503-378-4988 in Salem and outside Oregon;
or e-mail, firstname.lastname@example.org. For TTY (hearing or speech impaired),