Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Unarmed Security Professional

What are the minimum standards for Private Security certification?

Private security providers must be:
  • At least 18 years of age; and
  • Must have earned one of the following:
    • A high school diploma; a General Education Development (GED) certificate; or a four-year, post-secondary degree issued by an accredited degree-granting college or university.
Be of good moral fitness as determined by a criminal background check, department investigation or other reliable sources. A lack of good moral fitness includes, but is not limited to, mandatory and discretionary disqualifying misconduct as described in OAR 259-060-0300. Security professionals must demonstrate the Core Values of:
 
Honesty
Good Character
Public Trust
Fair Treatment of Others
Respect for the laws of this state and nation
 
Here is the link to the Criminal Disqualifiers.
Back to Top

I hold a Private Security certification or license from another State. Can I work in Oregon?

Unfortunately at this time, no other other state meets or exceeds the standards of this state with regards to the certification or licensing standards.  All applicants need obtain Oregon private security professional certification before performing security services in the state of Oregon.
Back to Top

How do I find an Unarmed Private Security Instructor?

The list of Unarmed Private Security Instructors can be found here: 

Instructor List

Back to Top

What is involved in the Private Security Professional course?

Basic Classroom Instruction. Basic classroom consists of 14 hours of live classroom instruction which may include use of a subject matter expert, audio and visual instruction. Instructors must provide individuals with a manual of the basic curriculum. Applicants must complete a closed-book written examination. All private security courses and examinations are based upon a curriculum approved by the Board.
 
All required training and testing must be conducted by a certified private security instructor as defined in OAR 259-060-0010 or by a Department designee.
 
All required firearms courses must be administered by a certified private security firearms instructor.
 
The Department website provides names of certified instructors.
 
All training must be delivered in English and assessments and written exams must be completed in English, without assistance.
 
Only a certified private security instructor delivering the training may sign a Form PS-6 (Affidavit of Instructor and Private Security Provider Testing Results).
 
It is the responsibility of the applicant or private security provider to submit the original Form PS-6 to the Department upon completion of courses as specified in these rules.
 
To satisfy the training requirements for private security certification or licensure, training must be submitted to the Department within 180 days of the training being completed.
Back to Top

What forms do I need to submit for an Unarmed Private Security certification?

Applicants must complete an application packet containing:
    1.  PS-1 (Application for Licensure or Certification of Private Security Services Provider);
   
    2.  A completed fingerprint packet. A fingerprint packet must include a pre-printed FBI fingerprint card and a Form PS-4 (Affidavit of Person Rolling Fingerprints) completed by the person rolling or scanning the fingerprints.  The card and form must be enclosed in a tamper-proof bag and sealed by the person who rolled the fingerprints before the packet is returned to the applicant.  The Department will supply pre-printed FBI fingerprint cards and tamper-proof bags.
 
    3.  The original Form PS-6 (Affidavit of Instructor and Private Security Provider Testing Results) documenting completion of the training is required. 
 
    4. PS-27 Code of Ethics form
 
    5.  If currently employed, an original, completed Form PS-20 (Private Security Services Provider Temporary Work Permit).
 
    6.  Nonrefundable certification or licensure fees
    Link to forms and fees
Back to Top

How do I locate a fingerprinting service?

For applicants in the Portland Metropolitan area; you can use this link to locate a fingerprinting service.

For applicants outside of the Portland Metropolitan area; please use a search engine of your choice and search for fingerprinting services in your city and state.
Back to Top

What forms do I need to submit when RENEWING my Unarmed Private Security certification?

All applicants for renewal of certification or licensure must complete a renewal application packet containing:
  1.  A completed Form PS-21;
  2. PS-27 Code of Ethics
  3. The original Form PS-6 completed, documenting completion of the training required;
  4. If currently employed, an original, completed Form PS-20 (temporary work permit);and
  5. Nonrefundable certification or licensure fees.
Back to Top

How do I add a new certification to my current certification?

An application packet for adding a certification or licensure as a private security provider must be completed in its entirety and must include:
  1. A completed Form PS-1;
  2. The original Form PS-6 completed, documenting completion of the training required;
  3. A completed form PS-27.
  4. If currently employed, an original, completed Form PS-20 (temporary work permits will not be issued to armed private security professionals or private security instructors);and
  5. Nonrefundable certification or licensure fees
  6. Individuals currently certified as an unarmed private security provider applying to add armed private security certification may work as an armed professional while waiting for their certification card. The applicant must carry a copy of the Form PS-6 and the Form PS-23 (Change of Information) while performing private security services until a new certificate is received.
Link to forms and fees
Back to Top