
Revised Sept 2014 In order to process your application without delay, please print legibly Page 1 of 5

Application for Accreditation
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training, Private Security Program
4190 Aumsville Hwy SE Salem, OR 97317   Ph. (503) 378-8531 Fax (503) 378-4600

Application Status (Please indicate appropriate one)
□ Initial Application for Accreditation $75
□ Accreditation Renewal $75
□ Updated Curriculum $75
□ Application to use “Third Party” Accredited Program $75*

*If using a training program that may already be accredited, confirm the accreditation status with DPSST
or the company.

Company Information
1. Company name:

2. Company address:

3. Company PSID#:

4. Instructor* name: PSID #:
*if more than one Instructor, submit a list of names on a separate sheet.

Accreditation Program Manager Information
This person will serve as the official liaison between the agency and DPSST.

1. Name:

2. Telephone: ( ) Fax:( )

3. Email address:

4. Mailing address:

If this is your first request for accreditation, do you plan on allowing another entity to use this program?
□ Yes □ No

If yes, who within your organization is authorized to provide permission for use?

Name: ________________ Title:
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Information Required (must be submitted with application):

□ Course Curriculum with copies of Testing Tools (written tests, assessment modules, etc.)

□ Course Syllabus with an hourly breakdown of course outline and training schedule.

□ In the event multi-media learning tools are used to cover course material specific to the DPSST
required performance objectives written transcripts of the applicable portions must be
submitted along with a copy of the original medium, i.e. CD/DVD, YouTube links, etc.

□ Confidentiality form (Needed from provider if curriculum is to be exempt from public disclosure)

□ Non Refundable $75 fee

□ Proof of permission to become a third party user.

Instructions for completion of Application for Accreditation:

□ Complete the Performance Objective Identification Worksheet.
o If a DPSST performance objective cannot be identified in your curriculum, you should

modify your curriculum to include the performance objective.
□ All testing instruments must be attached.
□ All assessment/scenarios used to evaluate learning of the DPSST performance objective must be

attached.
□ Include disclosure form for accreditation processing.
□ Upon submission of the application, a $75 fee is required for the preliminary review.

Please note that there will be additional fees for the processing of the accreditation request. You will be
notified of the processing fee; and if you wish may continue with the process.
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Notice to Applicant
Public Records Law Requirements

The curriculum and course materials submitted may be subject to disclosure as required by Oregon
Public Records Law, Oregon Revised Statute 192.001 through 192.990. The Department of Public Safety
Standards and Training is a state agency, therefore we are bound by statutes that regulate the
disclosure of public documents. However, we will make every effort to protect your information to the
extent permitted by the law.

Under some circumstances submitted curriculum and training materials may be exempt from disclosure.
For example, testing instruments and materials may be exempt from disclosure. ORS 192.501(4). Any
copyrighted documents may be exempt from copying and distribution, however individuals may look at
them. Trade Secrets may also be exempt from disclosure. ORS 192.501(2).

“Trade Secrets” as used in the Public Record Law, “may include, but are not limited to, any formula,
plan, pattern, process, toll, mechanism, compound, procedure, production data, or compilation of
information which is not patented, which is known only to certain individuals within an organization and
which is used in a business it conducts, having actual or potential commercial value. And which gives its
user an opportunity to obtain a business advantage over competitors who do not know or use it.”

To be withheld from disclosure as a “trade secret,” a record must meet all four of the following criteria:
□ The information must not be patented;
□ It must be known only to certain individuals within an organization and used in a business the

organization conducts;
□ It must be information that has actual or potential commercial value; and
□ It must give its users an opportunity to obtain a business advantage over competitors who do

not know or use it.

If you believe that the curriculum and training materials submitted for accreditation meet the criteria
listed above, please submit a written statement on the following page explaining how the materials
meet the criteria and requesting that the material not be disclosed by DPSST due to the trade secret
exemption. If the materials are copyrighted, please also include that information.
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Disclosure Notification Form and Written Statement

To be withheld from disclosure as a ‘trade secret,” a record must meet all four of the following criteria:
□ The information is not patented;
□ It is known only to certain individuals within the organization and used in a business the

organization conducts;
□ The information has actual or potential commercial value; and
□ It gives its users an opportunity to obtain a business advantage over competitors who do

not know or use it.

If you believe that the curriculum and training materials submitted for accreditation meet the criteria
listed above, please attach a written statement explaining how the materials meet the criteria and
requesting that the material not be disclosed by DPSST due to the trade secret exemption. If the
materials are copyrighted, please also include that information.

Accreditation Program Manager (print) Accreditation Program Manager (sign)

Date:
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ACCREDITATION INFORMATION PAGE
Dear Constituent,

Training standards for public safety constituents are established by the Board on Public Safety Standards
and Training (BPSST). The Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) ensures
compliance with training standards for private security providers. The standard currently requires
fourteen hours of classroom training which includes all assessments and exams, to be conducted by a
certified private security instructor. Accreditation continues to require that all training standards are
met and that training be delivered by Department certified instructors.

As a general rule, DPSST will only consider the accreditation of proprietary training programs. Security
service providers (third party) who request the accreditation of training programs available through
associations or other organizations must provide, with the application, written proof of permission to
use and seek accreditation from the association or organization originating the training program. In the
event a training program is accredited and that program is utilized by more than one Security Service
Provider, each Security Service Provider must apply separately for accreditation.

In the event DPSST cannot accredit your training program or a current accreditation agreement is
terminated, it will be required that the DPSST approved curriculum be used.


