Skip to main content

Speakers Bureau

Professional staff in the Department of State Lands give presentations on the agency’s programs. The following topics and speakers may be available for your event, based on staff availability. 

Gives the history of the agency (one of Oregon’s oldest) and an overview of DSL’s core programs (Common School Fund Property, Aquatic Resources, Unclaimed Property and Estates) as they relate to DSL’s mission of ensuring a legacy for Oregonians and their public schools through stewardship of the Common School Fund.

Jim Paul, DSL Director
Julie Curtis
Public Information Manager
Phone: 503-986-5298
Julie.Curtis@state.or.us  

​At statehood, the federal government granted sections 16 and 36 in every township to Oregon “for the use of schools.” Today, the agency oversees all programs that generate revenue for the Common School Fund from these trust lands and from other land management activities under State Land Board jurisdiction. 

Specialized presentations include the department’s Real Estate Asset Management Plan, which guides land management activities and outlines priorities for growing the Common School Fund over the next decade and beyond; and such topics as mineral and energy resources on state lands and Oregon rangelands. 

Bill Ryan
Deputy Director, Operations Division
503-986-5259
Bill.Ryan@state.or.us 

Shawn Zumwalt
Property Manager
541-388-6033
Shawn.Zumwalt@state.or.us​

Randy Wiest
Rangeland Manager
541-388-6456
Randy.Wiest@state.or.us ​

Presentations focus on the services and regulatory functions of the agency and may be oriented toward a general or a technical audience.

Oregon's removal-fill law, enacted in 1967, to conserve, restore and protect "waters of the state" for public navigation, fisheries, commerce and recreation. Provides information on how to obtain a removal-fill permit, an overview of DSL's regulatory responsibilities, and permit streamlining initiatives. 

Wetlands and their functions, including how to identify wetlands, benefits of Local Wetland Inventories and planning, wetland restoration, wetland mitigation, and mitigation banking. 

Bill Ryan
Deputy Director, Operations Division 
Phone: 503-986-5259 
bill.ryan@state.or.us 

Lori Warner-Dickason
Operations Manager
Phone: 503-986-5271
Lori Warner-Dickason@state.or.us 

Eric Metz
Planning and Policy Manager 
Phone: 503-986-5266 
Eric.Metz@state.or.us  

State-owned Waterways – How the agency protects navigable waterways for public navigation, recreation, commerce and fishing; also provides information on waterway authorizations, waterway navigability, and the Territorial Sea and marine planning.

Nancy Pustis
Proprietary Specialist
Phone: 503-986-5309
Nancy.Pustis@state.or.us 

Chris Castelli
Senior Policy and Legislative Analyst
Phone: 503-986-5280
Chris.Castelli@state.or.us

​Provides detailed information regarding Oregon laws pertaining to unclaimed property, how individuals may claim their unclaimed property, and state requirements of individuals and organizations holding unclaimed property. DSL holds unclaimed property in trust forever until the rightful owner can be found. Examples of unclaimed property include savings or checking accounts, uncashed payroll or dividend checks, and safe deposit box contents.

Patrick Tate
Trust Property Manager
Phone: 503-986-5248
Patrick.Tate@state.or.us​ ​​

Oregon law requires the Department of State Lands to be notified immediately upon the death of a person when it appears there are no known heirs or a valid will. This notification is provided by anyone knowledgeable of the death, including county medical examiners, landlords, nursing home administrators, hospitals, funeral homes, neighbors, friends and attorneys. This presentation includes how organizations and businesses can comply with Oregon’s estate law.

Greg Goller
Estate Representative
Phone: 503-986-5247
Greg.Goller@state.or.us 

Sally Wells
Estate Representative 
Phone: 503-986-5299
Sally.Wells@state.or.us

Staff of the South Slough provide both technical and informational presentations on a wide variety of topics, including: Introduction to Estuaries, the National Estuarine Research Program; Tides and Sea Level; Restoring Native Oysters; Coastal Wetland Restoration; Salmon in Estuaries; Watershed Stewardship; and Dealing with Coastal Natural Resources. The Reserve provides an array of educational programs for preschoolers through senior citizens, information for coastal visitors, and technical research and monitoring programs for scientists and coastal decision makers. 

For further information regarding available speakers, contact:

Gary Cooper
Reserve Manager
Phone: 503-888-8270, ext. 315
Gary.D.Cooper@state.or.us

Rebecca Muse
Operations Manager
Phone: 503-888-5558, ext. 134
Rebecca.Muse@state.or.us  


Contact

Julie Curtis
Public Information Manager
Phone: 503-986-5298
Julie.Curtis@state.or.us

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×