

NEWS RELEASE – for immediate release

Media Contact: Ali Ryan Hansen, 503-510-6860, ali.r.hansen@dsl.oregon.gov

December 13, 2022

Elliott State Research Forest Advisory Committee Honored with State Land Board Award

SALEM, Ore. – Governor Kate Brown, State Treasurer Tobias Read, and Secretary of State Shemia Fagan – Oregon's State Land Board – today honored the Elliott State Research Forest Advisory Committee for their enduring and exemplary partnership.

For nearly four years, the Advisory Committee has worked with the Oregon Department of State Lands and Oregon State University to examine the Elliott's potential to become a publicly owned, working research forest. Committee members of many different perspectives – including conservation, timber, schools, recreation, local government, and Tribes – came together to explore and ultimately endorse a research forest as the right solution for the Elliott.

"In April of this year I was proud to sign Senate Bill 1546, establishing the Elliott State Research Forest. I noted at the time this solution wouldn't have been possible in every state – that the love and care we have for Oregon's natural wonders was clear in each and every stakeholder action," said Governor Brown. "You certainly got it done the Oregon Way, putting aside your individual interests and coming together for the common good."

The Advisory Committee was integral to the success of the bill, which establishes an independent public agency to oversee the forest, sets expectations for public accountability and transparency, and locks in the Elliott's ongoing contributions to conservation, economic growth, recreation, education, and forest research. The State Land Board today took historic action toward a research forest – <u>read the meeting news release</u>.

DSL Director Vicki L. Walker appointed the Advisory Committee in 2019 to provide wide-ranging perspectives to the Department, the State Land Board, and Oregon State University on the transition of the Elliott into a forest dedicated to scientific research. The Advisory Committee will be officially disbanded, with the Director's gratitude after nearly four years of challenging and critical work, this month.

"My heartfelt thanks for serving well beyond the timeframe originally envisioned, and for doing so with unflagging dedication," said Director Walker. "A better example of partnership would be impossible to find."

Today's ceremony featured Oregon Poet Laureate Anis Mojgani performing two poems in celebration of the Advisory Committee. View the awards ceremony on the <u>Department of State</u> Land's YouTube Channel.

Committee members are Asha Aiello, Oregon Outdoor Council ; Colin Beck, Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; Paul Beck, Douglas Timber Operators; Melissa Cribbins, Coos County; Tom DeLuca, Oregon State University; Geoff Huntington, Oregon Department of State Lands; Mike Kennedy, Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians; Michael Langley, Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde; Ken McCall, Oregon Hunter's Association; Mary Paulson, Oregon School Boards Association; Bob Sallinger, the Audubon Society of Portland; Mark Stern, the Nature Conservancy (retired); Keith Tymchuk; and Bob Van Dyk, Wild Salmon Center.

The State Land Board Awards honor exceptional projects and partners for their contributions to protecting and enhancing Oregon's treasured natural resources. <u>Learn more about the awards</u>.

About the State Land Board and the Department of State Lands: The State Land Board consists of Governor Kate Brown, Secretary of State Shemia Fagan and State Treasurer Tobias Read. Established by the Oregon Constitution in 1859, the Land Board oversees the state's Common School Fund. The Department of State Lands is the Land Board's administrative agency, managing the lands and resources that help fund Oregon's public schools and protecting the state's waterways and wetlands for the many benefits they provide.

www.oregon.gov/dsl