Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

  • Land Board Appoints New Agency Director

    The State Land Board on February 9 appointed Jim Paul as the director of the Department of State Lands. Jim has served as one of the agency’s three assistant directors for nearly six years. He replaces interim director Stephanie Hallock and the previous director, Mary Abrams.

    Jim's career in public service began in 1996 in the Oregon Department of Forestry’s forest practices monitoring program. He went on to serve as the hydrologist for the agency from 1999 to 2003, providing technical and policy support on water quality and forest riparian protection rules and initiatives.

    In 2006 Jim was appointed State Forests Division Chief at Forestry, and then to Private Forests Division Chief in 2008. He came to State Lands in 2010 to oversee the Land Management Division. Since an agency-wide reorganization in 2014, Jim has been the assistant director of the Common School Fund Property Program.
    During his tenure at DSL Jim has overseen a number of agency initiatives, including the 2012 Real Estate Asset Management Plan, the Remediation Rules Advisory Committee for state-owned waterways, the Filled Lands Advisory Group, the remodeling of the DSL headquarters office, and the Elliott State Forest project.
    Jim holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Whitman College and a Master of Science in Forest Hydrology from the University of Washington.
Agency Leadership Current Information

Operations Division
Bill Ryan, Deputy Director
The Operations Division includes two program areas: 1) the Aquatic Resource Management Program whose functions are to conserve and protect waters of the state, including wetlands, through the removal-fill and wetlands planning programs, and to preserve the public's right to use state-owned waterways; and 2) the Common School Fund Property Program, which includes agency functions that generate funds for the Common School Fund: Trust Property (Estates and Unclaimed Property) and Real Property.
Administration Division
Cynthia Wickham, Deputy Director 
The Administration Division is responsible for two program areas: 1) Business Operations and Support Services, which includes agency-wide accounting, budget, human resources, rulemaking, information technology and clerical support services; and 2) the South Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve, a partnership with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.