Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

News Releases
LOW-INCOME HOMEOWNERS QUALIFY FOR APPLIANCE REBATES
7/20/2010

For Immediate Release
Contacts:   
 Ann Grim 503-378-4912
 Rebecca Sweetland 503-551-2849
#10-29
In Oregon 1-800-221-8035
 
Ed appreciates the new ENERGY STAR ductless heat pump recently installed in his 40-year-old home, especially since it replaced a gas forced-air furnace that was “on its way out.”  
 
“I like the high efficiency of the ductless heat pump,” Ed said. “I’d been looking for something real efficient for the past couple of years.”
 
Ed didn’t anticipate that he could purchase a new heat pump this year, however, as he is currently unemployed. Then he heard about the Oregon Department of Energy’s Appliance Rebate Program for low-income Oregon homeowners and decided to look into it.
 
The Appliance Rebate Program is funded by $3.6 million of federal Recovery Act (stimulus) funds awarded to the Oregon Department of Energy (ODOE) by the US Department of Energy. On January 1, 2010, ODOE began to provide eligible low-income Oregon homeowners with a 70 percent reimbursement (up to $2,000) for ENERGY STAR heat pumps and furnaces purchased on or after January 1, 2010.
 
Eligible Oregonians are those who own their home and earn less than 60 percent of the state’s median income levels (see Income Guidelines). ODOE is partnering with the Oregon Department of Housing and Community Services (OHCS).
 
Effective July 1, 2010, the appliance program has been expanded to include eligible low-income homeowners who purchase ENERGY STAR water heaters, refrigerators, dishwashers and clothes washers. Purchases must be dated on or after July 1, 2010.
 
“Those homeowners who believe they are eligible must first receive their rebate voucher that verifies their eligibility,” said Rebecca Sweetland, ODOE Program Manager for the State Efficient Appliance Rebate Program. “Then they need to purchase their ENERGY STAR appliance before applying for their rebate check from the Oregon Department of Energy.”
 
Available rebate vouchers are distributed on a “first-come, first-served” basis. Interested Oregon homeowners can contact OHCS 1-800-453-5511 (option 2, selection 4) to learn about the program and apply for a rebate voucher. After purchase and installation of eligible ENERGY STAR appliances, qualified homeowners may redeem vouchers for 70 percent of the purchase price, up to a specified maximum. Old appliances must be legally recycled (not re-sold or re-used) in order to receive rebate funds.
 
For more information, see www.ohcs.state.or, call 1-800-453-5511 (option 2, selection 4) or e-mail appliancerebate@hcs.state.or.us.
 
Appliance Rebate Program maximum amounts for ENERGY STAR appliances (equipment only, not installation):
 
Furnace – 70% up to $2,000
Heat pump – 70% up to $2,000
Refrigerators – 70% up to $700
Electric heat pump water heater – 70% up to $1,400
Gas tankless water heater – 70% up to $1,200
Gas storage water heater – 70% up to $1,400
Dishwashers - 70% up to $400
Clothes washers – 70% up to $800