



550 Capitol St. NE Salem, OR 97301 Phone: 503-378-4040 Toll Free: 1-800-221-8035 FAX: 503-373-7806 www.oregon.gov/energy

To: Energy Facility Siting Council

From: Todd Cornett, Assistant Director/Council Secretary

Date: January 6, 2023

Subject: Agenda Item H (Action Item): EFSC Appointment to The Climate Trust's

Oregon Offset Committee – for the October 22-23, 2020 EFSC Meeting

Attachment 1: Morgan Rider Resume

BACKGROUND

The Climate Trust (TCT) is the sole "qualified organization" to be eligible to receive offset funds related to the Council's Carbon standard. In order for TCT to be a "qualified organization" they must meet several requirements that are established in rule and statute. One of those requirements is listed in OAR 345-001-0010(49)(c)(B), the definition of a "qualified organization."

Require that decisions on the use of the offset funds are made by a decision-making body composed of seven voting members of which three are appointed by the Council (emphasis added), three are Oregon residents appointed by the Bullitt Foundation or an alternative environmental nonprofit organization named by the body, and one is appointed by the applicants for site certificates that are subject to OAR 345-024-0550, 345-024-590, and 345-024-0620 and the holders of such site certificates; and

Previously, the Council would make the three appointments to the TCT Board. Since TCT has expanded the scope of their organization beyond activities related to the Council's carbon standard, the body that now makes the decision regarding offset funds is the Oregon Offset Committee (OOC).

The Council's current three appointments to the OOC are:

- 1. <u>Cindy Condon</u> EFSC member. Appointed on October 23, 2020 with a term expiration of October 23, 2024.
- 2. <u>Brad Hunter</u> Vice President & Senior Business Lender with Craft3. Appointed on April 27, 2018 with a term expiration of April 27, 2022.

3. <u>Arya Behbehani</u> – General Manager of Environmental and Licensing Services with Portland General Electric. Re-appointed on July 1, 2018 with a term expiration of June 30, 2022.

Julius Pasay, Executive Director of The Climate Trust has requested Morgan Rider replace Ms. Behbehani and Mr. Hunter be appointed to another four-year term. As indicated in Ms. Rider's resume, she was previously appointed to the Department of Environmental Quality's Commission and has served on other boards, including currently serving on The Climate Trust Board.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends Council appoint Council make the following appointments to the Oregon Offset Committee:

- Brad Hunter April 27, 2022 April 27-2026
- Morgan Rider January 20, 2023 January 20, 2027

Attachment 1: Morgan Rider Resume

January 19-20, 2023 Page 2 of 2