Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

News Releases
Appliance rebate program helping low-income homeowners
1/24/2011
ODOE masthead
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
 
 
11-11
Contacts:
Rebecca Sweetland, 503-551-2849
Ann Grim, 503-378-4912
In Oregon 1-800-221-8035
 
SALEM—Low-income homeowners in Oregon can still qualify for rebates of 70 percent on Energy Star® appliances through a program administered by the Oregon Department of Energy (ODOE). The rebates are for Energy Star® heat pumps, furnaces, water heaters, refrigerators, dishwashers and clothes washers.
 
Eligible Oregonians are those who own their home and earn less than 60 percent of the state’s median income levels (see chart below). The program – made possible through $3.6 million in American Recovery & Reinvestment Act funds – is a partnership with the Oregon Department of Housing and Community Services (OHCS). OHCS also provides additional assistance benefits for those in crisis situations.
 
The appliance rebate program ends on Feb. 17, 2012 or when the money runs out – whichever comes first.
 
Homeowners who meet the income requirements and qualify for a voucher must purchase and pay for eligible Energy Star® appliances. The homeowner then seeks reimbursement from ODOE for 70 percent of the purchase price of the equipment – up to a specified maximum. The used appliance being replaced must be legally recycled (not sold or reused) in order to receive rebate funds.
 
Rebecca Sweetland, who manages ODOE’s appliance rebate program, said that Oregon targets low-income homeowners because they generally do not participate in other incentive programs. Oregon’s Residential Energy Tax Credit (RETC) program has been available for many years and is aimed at Oregonians who purchase premium-efficiency appliances and pay taxes. However, low-income homeowners usually don’t participate in the RETC program because they generally can’t afford the more expensive premium-efficiency appliances and/or don’t earn enough to have a state tax liability.
 
For more information on the program, please go to www.oregon.gov/OHCS/, call 1-800-453-5511 (option 2, selection 4) or e-mail appliancerebate@hcs.state.or.us.

Rebate maximum amounts for ENERGY STAR
  • Furnaces – 70% up to $2,000
  • Heat pumps – 70% up to $2,000
  • Refrigerators – 70% up to $700
  • Electric heat pump water heaters – 70% up to $1,400
  • Gas tankless water heaters – 70% up to $1,200
  • Gas storage water heaters – 70% up to $1,400
  • Dishwashers – 70% up to $400
  • Clothes washers – 70% up to $800
 
Income Guidelines for Oregon*
 

Size of
family
unit
Annual
income 60%
of median
Monthly
income
60% of median
1
$22,321
$1,860.08
2
$29,189
$2,432.42
3
$36,057
$3,004.75
4
$42,925
$3,577.08
5
$49, 793
$4,149.42
6
$56,660
$4,721.67
7
$57,949
$4,829.08
8
$59,237
$4,936.42
9
$60,524
$5,043.67
10
$61,812
$5,151.00
11
$63,100
$5,258.33
12
$64,388
$5,365.67
Each additional member
$1,288
$107.33
*For October 2010-October 2011
 
###
 
About the Department of Energy: The Oregon Department of Energy (ODOE) provides tax credits, loans, technical assistance and energy information for homes, businesses, manufacturing, farms, ranches, schools and governments. For more information, visit ODOE’s website at www.oregon.gov/energy.
 

 

Oregon Department of Energy
Main OfficeHermiston Field Office
625 Marion St. NE, Salem, OR 97301-3737
395 E Highland Rd.
Phone: 503-378-4040Hermiston, OR 97838
Toll-free in Oregon: 1-800-221-8035P: 541-567-3840
Fax: 503-373-7806