Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only

Press Release: August 22, 2011

Governor Kitzhaber moves forward with education and health care reform

Submits nominees to the Senate for confirmation

(SALEM, Ore.) —  Moving forward on education and health care reform implementation, Governor Kitzhaber today submitted his nominations for two public oversight boards created by the 2011 Legislature – the Oregon Education Investment Board and the Oregon Health Insurance Exchange Board. The Senate will hold confirmation hearings on September 22 and floor consideration on September 23.
“I am pleased to be nominating such a talented and diverse group of Oregonians whose range of experience will serve the state well in our efforts to improve the delivery of health care and education,” said Governor Kitzhaber. “I look forward to their confirmation and getting to work.”
In addition, the Governor submitted nominations for eight other State Boards and Commissions. Altogether he submitted 32 names for confirmation.

Oregon Education Investment Board
The Oregon Education Investment Board, chaired by the Governor, is overseeing an effort to create a seamless, unified system for investing in and delivering public education from early childhood through high school and college so that all Oregonians are well prepared for careers in our economy. Governor Kitzhaber has designated Springfield Schools Superintendent Nancy Golden to serve as his alternate in the role of Board Chair.
Richard C. “Dick” Alexander, Bank Board Chair of Capital Pacific Bank, entrepreneur, Board member of the Children’s Institute, and leader in the Ready for School campaign to ensure early childhood success

Julia Brim-Edwards, Director for U.S. states/global strategy for NIKE, Inc., Government and Public Affairs, Co-Founder of the NIKE School Innovation Fund, and former Co-Chair of the Portland School Board
Dr. Consuelo Yvonne Curtis, Superintendent of Forest Grove School District and former member of Oregon Quality Education Commission for eight years
Matthew W. Donegan, Co-President of Forest Capital Partners and President of the Oregon State Board of Higher Education
Dr. Samuel D. Henry, of Troutdale, professor at Portland State University, former Chair of the Oregon Commission on Children and Families, and member of the Oregon Board of Education
Nichole Maher, Executive Director of the Native American Youth and Family Center in Portland and Co-Chair of the Communities of Color Coalition
Dr. Mark Mulvihill, Superintendent of InterMountain Education Service District in Pendleton and member of the Oregon Quality Education Commission and the Vision and Policy Superintendent Task Force
David Rives, of Tigard, President of the American Federation of Teachers-Oregon and teacher of English to speakers of other languages at Portland Community College
Ron Saxton, Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of JELD-WEN Inc., and former Chair of the Portland School Board
Dr. Mary Spilde, President of Lane Community College and Co-Chair of the Post-Secondary Quality Education Commission
Kay D. Toran, President and Chief Executive Officer of Volunteers of America - Oregon and Board member of the Oregon Community Foundation, University of Portland, and Chalkboard Project
Johanna "Hanna" Vaandering, Vice President Oregon Education Association, Elementary Physical Education teacher, and Chair of the OEA Foundation

Oregon Health Insurance Exchange Board
The Board will oversee the development of a Health Insurance Exchange for Oregon. The Health Insurance Exchange is a central marketplace where individual Oregonians and small employers can compare the quality and value of insurance plans on an apples-to-apples basis, and easily and quickly enroll in coverage that is affordable. The Board of Directors will submit a formal business plan for the Exchange no later than February 1, 2012, for approval by the Legislature.
Bruce Goldberg, Director of Oregon Health Authority.

Teresa Miller, Administrator of the Insurance Division, Oregon DCBS

Ken Allen, Executive Director of Oregon AFSCME Council 75

Teri Andrews, small business owner of CG Industries in Corvallis

Liz Baxter, Executive Director of We Can Do Better, a non-profit organization focused on improving health care and health outcomes for Oregonians.

Aelea Christofferson, small business owner of ATL Communications in Bend

Jose Gonzales, Principal Broker of Tu Casa Real Estate Corporation in Salem 

Sujata Sanghvi, Chief Operating Officer and Executive VP of PacificSource Health Plans in Springfield

George Brown, Chief Executive Officer of Legacy Health System
Other Board and Commission Appointments submitted to the Senate today include:
Psychiatric Security Review Board
Eleana Galduzzi of Portland
Residential and Manufactured Structures Board
Tonya Halong of Beaverton
Jan Lewis of Portland
Rick Torgerson of Albany
Trustees of the State Library
Susan Hathaway-Marxer of Portland
Oregon Board of Naturopathic Medicine
Dr. Sheila Myers of Bend
Oregon Criminal Justice System
Commissioner Mary Stern of McMinnville
Electrical and Elevator Board
Glenda Waddle of Gresham
Commission on Hispanic Affairs
Carlos Perez of Portland
Santiago Ventura of Gervais.
State Board of Direct Entry Midwifery
Dr. Allen Hedges of McMinnville 

Media Contacts:
Tim Raphael, 503-689-6117
Amy Wojcicki, 503-689-5324

Keep up with Governor Kitzhaber