Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only

Press Release: November 18, 2011

Governor Kitzhaber applauds senate confirmation of Oregon Education Investment Board

(Salem, OR.) — Governor Kitzhaber today applauded the Senate for confirming 84 nominees to Oregon Boards and Commissions, including the Oregon Education Investment Board.

“I am pleased the Senate confirmed this talented and diverse group of Oregonians,” said Governor Kitzhaber. “Their range of experience will help us create a public education system starting in early childhood as a foundation to ensure the economic, health and academic success of Oregonians and our communities.”

The Oregon Education Investment Board, chaired by the Governor, is overseeing an effort to create a seamless, unified system for investing in and delivering public education from early childhood through high school and college so that all Oregonians are prepared to be productive members of our communities and for careers in our economy. Governor Kitzhaber has designated Springfield Schools Superintendent Nancy Golden to serve as his alternate in the role of Board Chair.

Oregon Education Investment Board

Richard C. “Dick” Alexander
Julia Brim-Edwards
Dr. Consuelo Yvonne Curtis
Matthew W. Donegan
Dr. Samuel D. Henry
Nichole Maher
Dr. Mark Mulvihill
David Rives
Ron Saxton
Dr. Mary Spilde
Kay D. Toran
Johanna "Hanna" Vaandering
The board will hold its first meeting on Monday, November 21. For more information on the OEIB: http://www.oregon.gov/Gov/OEIB/OregonEducationInvestmentBoard.shtml

Media Contacts:
Tim Raphael, 503-689-6117
Amy Wojcicki, 503-689-5324

Keep up with Governor Kitzhaber