Offices of the HECC

The HECC state agency is led by Executive Director Ben Cannon, who oversees eight distinct offices described in the links below. For more information on the agency structure, see the organizational chart here.​

Office of the Executive Director, Policy, and Communications

Office of Community Colleges and Workforce Development (CCWD)

  • Patrick Crane, Director

Office of Operations

  • David Zerbe, Director

Office of Private Postsecondary Education

  • Juan Baez-Arevalo, Director

Office of Research & Data

  • Amy Cox, Director

Office of University Coordination

  • Veronica Dujon, Director, University Academic Planning and Policy
  • Andrew Rogers, Director, University Budget and Finance

Office of Student Access and Completion (OSAC)

  • Juan Baez-Arevalo, Director

Office of Workforce Investments

  • Karen Humelbaugh, Director

Commitment to Equity and Diversity 

The Equity Lens​ is a focal point of our work, both internally and externally.  Throughout our organization, we hold high expectations to contribute to the access, growth and success of all the individuals and stakeholders we are privileged to work alongside and serve.  Equity, diversity and inclusion is essential to achieving state education goals and promoting a workplace culture and climate that supports the success of all who learn, work and engage with the agency.

HECC Affirmative Action/Diversity and Inclusion Plan 2017-19​

For more information, also see Equity and Student Success.

For More Information

Contact the HECC

To locate information for frequently asked questions and a full staff directory, see Contact Us.