Skip to the main content of the page

 Newsroom Detail


Portland, OR—The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) announced today members of the Cleaner Air Oregon Advisory Committee. The committee will provide input on new regulations designed to better incorporate health standards into Oregon's industrial air toxics regulations.

The Cleaner Air Oregon Advisory Committee consists of 24 members representing a broad range of perspectives and two co-chairs with significant experience in Oregon public policy: former Senator Jackie Dingfelder and natural resources attorney Claudia Powers.

Advisory Committee helps guide development of new regulations

DEQ and OHA are convening the advisory committee as part of the Cleaner Air Oregon initiative Governor Kate Brown announced on April 6, 2016. As part of the initiative, the agencies have begun a formal rulemaking process that, with the input from the advisory committee and public, will reform industrial air toxics regulations and better align them with public health considerations.

Advisory committee members will evaluate input solicited in a series of regional public policy forums: that will take place in September and October. The committee will also evaluate input from a technical: workgroup, which met in June and July. Their discussions will inform policy decisions and the development of draft regulations. DEQ and OHA will ask for input from each committee member and reflect the committee's overall level of support for the different components of the Cleaner Air Oregon draft regulations. The draft regulations will then be proposed for broader public review and comment as part of DEQ's rulemaking process.

"We're pleased that Oregonians with such diverse perspectives have made this commitment to help us explicitly connect human health to the air contaminant permit process for industrial sites," said DEQ Interim Director Pete Shepherd.

Oregon Health Authority Director Lynne Saxton said, “The goal of the Cleaner Air Oregon regulatory reform is to make sure Oregon adopts science-based rules that ensure public health, maintain the quality of Oregon's unique environment and support a thriving and competitive state economy. The Advisory Committee reflects the leadership and expertise we need to achieve these important goals.”

The advisory committee selection process was designed to reflect the range of stakeholders who will be affected by implementation of a new air toxics permitting program. DEQ and OHA identified 14 committee seats, which were filled by nominees from stakeholder organizations. An additional 10 seats were created based on input received from the public during a comment period that was open between May and July.

A total of 41 applications were received for the 10 seats established in response to public input, which included diverse perspectives from a wide-range of neighborhood groups, small and large businesses, unions, as well as people with technical expertise in pollution control or air toxics and people with related health and environmental knowledge. Each of Oregon's nine federally-recognized tribes also has the opportunity to designate an additional committee member.

Co-chairs to lead inclusive and transparent process
Additionally, Agency directors appointed two co-chairs to the advisory committee: Jackie Dingfelder and Claudia Powers. The role of the co-chairs is to implement a process that focuses the committee on intended outcomes, ensures all perspectives are considered and provides transparency.

Ms. Dingfelder, who is completing a Fullbright Public Policy Fellowship in New Zealand, has over 30 years of professional environmental planning and policy experience in the private, non-profit, and public sectors. She also served in the Oregon Legislature (both the House of Representatives and the Senate) from 2001-2013, and served as chair of both the House and Senate Energy and Environment Committees.

Ms. Powers is an environmental and energy lawyer at Ater Wynne LLP and has over 30 years experience in private and public sector environmental law. She brings to the committee a wealth of knowledge and expertise in state, local and federal environmental regulation as well as broad problem-solving experience.
For a roster of committee members, visit:

The advisory committee will hold its first meeting in October 2016. The last meeting is scheduled in April 2017. Members are expected to attend each meeting to ensure continuity throughout the process. All meetings are open to the public, and DEQ and OHA will allot time during the meetings for public comment. Non-committee members may attend and observe, but not actively participate in committee deliberations.

To receive updates on the advisory committee, please sign up at DEQ GovDelivery:

Jennifer Flynt, DEQ, Portland, 503-730-5924,
Robb Cowie, OHA, Portland, 503-421-7684,


Environment & Energy