Skip to the main content of the page

 Newsroom Detail


Brown to appear before the Health, Education, Labor & Pensions Committee
Salem, OR—Governor Kate Brown will testify on the opioid crisis in Oregon in front of the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor … (HELP) in Washington, DC on Thursday, March 8 at 10:00 AM EST/7:00 AM PST.

Governor Brown's testimony during "The Opioid Crisis: Leadership and Innovation in the States" will be live streamed here . She will discuss statewide impacts and priorities, as well as her recently passed legislation (HB 4143) and the work of the Opioid Epidemic Task Force.

“In Oregon, in addition to increasing treatment resources, we need to make sure that we're focusing on decreasing stigma as well. We must break through the barriers of shame to provide the best treatments possible first and the most effective assistance now,” said Governor Brown. “At a federal level, there is so much that can and must be done—improving data sharing from the federal to the state level, making affordable generic overdose drugs more available, and rejecting a punitive approach to addiction.”

Following her testimony, Governor Brown will then host a call with members of the media at 3:15 PM EST/12:15 PM PST. Embargoed copies of Governor Brown's written and oral testimony will be available upon request to members of the media; please email Press Secretary Kate Kondayen (

Media call info:
Thursday, March 8
3:15 PM EST/12:15 PM PST
USA Toll-Free: 866-434-5269
Access code: 4750921


Chris Pair
Bryan Hockaday
Kate Kondayen
Media Advisory / Event