
A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the
publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list,
whichever is later. If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon
Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.
The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative
economic impact of the rule on business.

AMEND:

OAR 833-020-0075
REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

ORS 675.705 - 675.835
Statutory Authority:

Other Authority:

ORS 675.715 - 675.720; ORS 675.785
Statutes Implemented:

RULE SUMMARY

The Board proposes to repeal the "counselor educator application method" rule, which allowed graduate level teaching to meet education
requirements for licensure as a professional counselor or a marriage therapist through June 30, 2014.
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Repeals the expired counselor educator application method.

Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.)

Printed Name Email Address
LaRee' Felton laree.felton@state.or.us

In the Matter of:

Statutory Authority:

The repeal of OAR 833-020-0075.

ORS 675.705 - 675.835

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 675.715 - 675.720; ORS 675.785

Need for the Rule(s):
The deadline for applications under this rule has passed, and therefore the rule should be repealed.

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
None.

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

None.

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:

None.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:

None.

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
None.

If not, why?:

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?:

Faculty and board members in private practice participated in the rule development process; the application method was set to expire on June
30, 2014.

A rules advisory committee was utilized in the creation of this rule; the application method was set to expire on June 30, 2014.

No

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
OAR Chapter 833, Division 20, and ORS Chapter 675, available on the OBLPCT website at Oregon.gov/OBLPCT/Pages/web-lr.aspx.  Board
meeting minutes for the June 6, 2014, October 3, 2014, April 13, 2012, February 10, 2012, December 9, 2011, April 8, 2011, and October 15,
2010 meeting dates, available on the OBLPCT website at http://www.oregon.gov/oblpct/Pages/October%2012,%202012.aspx.
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OAR Chapter 833, Division 20 

BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 20 

APPLICATION METHODS 

 

833-020-0075  

Counselor Educator Method  

(1) The counselor educator application method is for those who seek acceptance of graduate 
level teaching to meet education requirements for licensure.  

(2) Application for licensure must be submitted to the board office in accordance with OAR 
chapter 833, division 20 by June 30, 2014.  

(3) The application must include documentation that the applicant meets the following 
requirements:  

(a) Teaches graduate level classes that meet coursework required for Oregon licensing as a 
professional counselor or marriage and family therapist, as specified in OAR 833-060-0012 and 
833-060-0022;  

(A) At an Oregon university accredited by a national counselor or marriage and family therapy 
program or regional accreditation body; and  

(B) Full time, for at least 3 years.  

(b) Holds a masters or doctorate degree in  

(A) Counseling;  

(B) Counseling rehabilitation;  

(C) Counselor education and supervision;  

(D) Marriage and family therapy;  

(E) Psychology; or  

(F) Other closely related field as approved by the Board.  

(c) Teaches at least 100 clock hours of clinically related courses within one year after applying 
for license and before license is granted.  



OAR Chapter 833, Division 20 

(A) Clinically related courses include:  

(i) Treatment planning;  

(ii) Practicum; and  

(iii) Supervising graduate students in internship.  

(d) Has a minimum of 100 hours supervising graduate students, interns registered with the board, 
licensed professional counselors, or marriage and family therapists.  

(A) Supervision hours must have been accumulated in no less than 2 years and no more than 5 
years.  

(e) Certification as a supervisor by a national counseling or marriage and family therapy 
organization may substitute for supervising experience.  

(f) Earned at least 2,000 hours of supervised clinical experience or equivalent:  

(A) Acquired in a minimum of 3 years; and  

(B) The supervisor met supervision requirements specified in OAR 833-030-0031 or 833-040-
0031.  

(4) Applicant must pass a board-approved national exam and Oregon law and rules exam as 
specified in OAR 833-020-0085.  

(5) Applicant must provide a letter of recommendation or support for licensing from the 
employing university graduate program director or division attesting to the applicant’s clinical 
skills and ethical and professional behavior. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2012. f. 4-23-12, cert. ef. 5-15-12; BLPCT 3-2014(Temp), f. 6-11-14, cert. ef. 7-
1-14 thru 12-26-14; Administrative correction, 1-27-15 




