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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL 

833-001-0000 

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking 

Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule, the Board of Licensed Professional 
Counselors and Therapists must:  

(1) Publish notice of the adoption, amendment, or repeal in the Secretary of State's Bulletin 
referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 21 days prior to the effective date.  

(2) Deliver by electronic or postal Mmail such notice to persons on the Board of Licensed 
Professional Counselors and Therapists mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(1)(c), 
and deliver by electronic mail to the legislators specified in 183.335(1)(d) at least 49 days before 
the effective date of the rule.  

(3) Mail or dDeliver by electronic mail such notice to the following: 

(a) United Press International and Associated Press; 

(b) Oregon Counseling Association; 

(c) Oregon Chapter of the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists; and 

(d) Oregon Mental Health Counselors Association; and 

(ed) Oregon college and university departments offering graduate degrees in counseling and 
marriage and family therapy. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. ef. 9-1-90; LPCT 2-1992, f. 11-30-
92, cert. ef. 12-1-92; LPCT 1-1994, f. 12-30-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; LPCT 1-1998, f. 1-2-98, cert. ef. 1-5-98; BLPCT 1-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  
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833-001-0005  

Model Rules of Procedure 

The most current Model Rules of Procedure as promulgated by the Attorney General of the State 
of Oregon under the Administrative Procedures Act, are by this reference adopted as the rules of 
procedure of the Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists and must be 
controlling except as otherwise required by statute or rule.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.341 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. ef. 9-1-90; LPCT 2-1992, f. 11-30-
92, cert. ef. 12-1-92; LPCT 1-1994, f. 12-30-94, cert. ef. 1-1-95; LPCT 1-1998, f. 1-2-98, cert. ef. 1-5-98: BLPCT 2-
2001, f. 9-19-01, cert. ef. 10-1-01; BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-001-0010  

Requiring an Answer to Charges as Part of Notices to Parties in Contested Cases 

In addition to the requirements stated in OAR 137-003-0000 of the Attorney General's Model 
Rules of Procedure adopted by 833-001-0005, the notice to parties in contested cases may 
include a statement that an answer to the assertions or charges will be required, and if so, the 
consequence of failure to answer. A statement of the consequences of failure to answer may be 
satisfied by enclosing a copy of 833-001-0015 with the notice.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. ef. 9-1-90; BLPCT 1-2010, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-001-0015  

Hearing Request and Answers; Consequences of Failure to Answer 

(1) A hearing request must be made in writing to the Board by the party or the party's attorney 
within 21 calendar days after the date the notice was issued.  

(2) If an answer is required, it must be made in writing to the Board by the party or the party's 
attorney within 21 calendar days after the date the notice was issued and must include the 
following:  

(a) An admission or denial of each factual matter alleged in the notice;  

(b) A short and plain statement of each relevant affirmative defense the party may have.  

(3) Except for good cause:  
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(a) Factual matters alleged in the notice and not denied in the answer will be presumed 
admitted;  

(b) Failure to raise a particular defense in the answer will be considered a waiver of such 
defense;  

(c) New matters alleged in the answer (affirmative defenses) will be presumed to be denied 
by the agency; and  

(d) Evidence will not be taken on any issue not raised in the notice and the answer.  

(4) Contested case hearings are closed to the public. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.413 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. ef. 9-1-90; BLPCT 1-2010, f. & 
cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-001-0020  

Obtaining Information 

(1) The Board will provide the following information to members of the public in response to in-
person or telephone inquiries regarding a particular applicants, registered interns, andor 
licensees: name, license/registration number, date licensed/registered, if license/registration is 
active or expired, business address and telephone number, summary of education and experience, 
and if there are or have been any disciplinary actions proposed by the Board plus the status, 
disposition, or resolution of the proposed disciplinary actions, unless otherwise subject to or 
prohibited by law, statute, rule or regulation.  

(2) Requests for any information other than that listed in section (1) of this rule, including 
written verifications of licensure, may be required to be in writing, and may require payment for 
copies of documents.  

(3) Pursuant to ORS 676.175, information regarding complaints against or information obtained 
through investigations into the conduct of licensees, non-licensed individuals, or applicants for 
licensure will not be disclosed.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192 
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. ef. 9-1-90; LPCT 2-1992, f. 11-30-
92, cert. ef. 12-1-92; LPCT 1-1998, f. 1-2-98, cert. ef. 1-5-98; BLPCT 2-2001, f. 9-19-01, cert. ef. 10-1-01; BLPCT 
1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 10 

DEFINITIONS 

833-010-0001  

Definitions 

The definitions of terms used in ORS 675.705 to 675.835 and these administrative rules of the 
Board are:  

(1) “AAMFT” means the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy. 

 "Accredited college or university" means the college or university is a fully accredited member 
of one of the regional institutional accreditation bodies.  

(2) “Accredited program” means the graduate program is fully accredited by COAMFTE, 
CACREP, or CORE.  

(3) “Board” means the Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists. 

(4) “Board approved program” means a graduate program that the Board hads found to be 
comparable to an accredited program.  

(45) “CACREP“” means the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 
Programs.  

(6) “CRCC” means the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification. 

(57) “Client record” means any information maintained in a written or electronic form about a 
client.  

(68) “Clinical experience” means the professional practice of applying principles and methods to 
provide assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of individuals and families with mental health 
disorders.  

(79) “COAMFTE” means the Commission on Accreditation of Marriage and Family Therapy 
Education.  

(810) “CORE” means the Council on Rehabilitation Education.  

(911) “Direct client contact hours” means only those clinical experience hours that are 
therapeutic or a combination of assessment and subsequent therapeutic interactions.  

laree
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(1012) “Distance learning" means coursework, or training that does not involve attending a 
presentation or program in the presence of the instructor or facilitator and other courses through 
electronic communication.  

(1113) “Distance Services” means any use of technology that replaces face to face delivery of 
counseling or therapy service. Such technologies include, but are not limited to, use of computer 
hardware and software, telephones, the internet, online assessment instruments and other 
communication devices.  

(1214) “Electronic communication” means communication through use of videoconference, 
telephone, teleconference, internet, electronic mail, chat-based, or video-based.  

(1315) "Equivalent" means comparable in content and quality, but not identical. 

(16) “Hour Equivalents” means that when requirements for licensure are given in quarter hours, 
the following formula will be used to determine equivalent hours:  

(a) Two semester hours is equal to three quarter hours;  

(b) One semester is equal to 1.5 quarters;  

(c) One quarter credit hour equals 10 clock hours;  

(d) One semester credit hour equals 15 clock hours.  

(1417) “Intern registration plan” means a written description of post-graduate supervised work 
experience activities an applicant must complete to qualify for a license as a professional 
counselor or marriage and family therapist.  

(18) “LMFT” means licensed marriage and family therapist. 

(19) “LPC” means licensed professional counselor. 

(20) “NBCC” means the National Board for Certified Counselors. 

(1521) "Official transcript" means a document certified by an accredited college or university 
indicating degree earned, hours and types of coursework, examinations and scores, completed by 
the student; and submitted by the school to the Board.  

(1622) "Practicing" means engaging in any of the activities listed in the definitions of marriage 
and family therapy and professional counseling set forth in ORS 675.705, including but not 
limited to providing clinical supervision to another mental health professional who is providing 
counseling or therapeutic services to clients.  

(1723) "Receipt" means the date received by the Board office as shown by US Postal Service 
postmark, or date received stamp if document was not mailed or without postmark. 
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(24) "Regional accrediting agency" means of one of the regional institutional accreditation 
bodies recognized by the United States Secretary of Education and established to accredit senior 
institutions of higher education.  

(1825) "Registered intern" means an applicant for licensure who has met the educational 
requirement for licensure, and is in the process of obtaining the required supervised work 
experience under a registration plan approved by the Board.  

(19) “Hour Equivalents” means that when requirements for licensure are given in quarter hours, 
the following formula will be used to determine equivalent hours:  

(a) Two semester hours is equal to three quarter hours;  

(b) One semester is equal to 1.5 quarters;  

(c) One quarter credit hour equals 10 clock hours;  

(d) One semester credit hour equals 15 clock hours.  

(2026) “Supervision” means a professional relationship between a qualified supervisor and an 
intern, counselor, or therapist during which the supervisor provides guidance and professional 
skill development and oversight to the intern, counselor or therapist.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.715 & 675.785  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785  
Hist.: LPCT 1-1990(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 3-6-90; LPCT 2-1990, f. 8-31-90, cert. ef. 9-1-90; LPCT 2-1992, f. 11-30-
92, cert. ef. 12-1-92; LPCT 1-1993, f. 12-30-93, cert. ef. 1-1-94; LPCT 1-1998, f. 1-2-98, cert. ef. 1-5-98; BLPCT 1-
2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 4-2012, f. 10-24-12, cert. ef. 11-1-12  
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 20 

APPLICATION METHODS 

833-020-0011  

Applications 

(1) Application for licensure as a professional counselor and marriage and family therapist must 
be submitted to the Board and be on forms provided by the Board.  

(2) Application for licensure must include gender, date of birth, social security number, practice 
and residence addresses, email address,; similar licenses held in other states, and history of 
professional discipline, litigation, and criminal involvement and be accompanied by:  

(a) The non-refundable application fee;  

(b) Official transcript sent directly to the Board from the college or university and supporting 
documentation as necessary showing education requirements have been met;  

(c) Documentation to prove experience requirements have been met or request for registration as 
an intern with a proposed plan to obtain required experience;  

(d) Verification that approved examination has been passed, or state examination is being 
requested;  

(e) Proposed professional disclosure statement for review and approval; and  

(f) Criminal history information as specified in OAR 833-120-0021; and 

(g) Other clarifying information requested by the Board.  

(3) Applicants will be allowed one year from Board  receipt of an application to file a completed 
application which documents that the applicant meets the educational and experience 
qualifications for licensure.  

(4) Failure to withdraw the application or complete the process within the allowed time will 
result in closure of the file. An incomplete application includes but is not limited to an 
application in which:  

(a) Required information or original signatures are not provided;  

(b) Required forms are not submitted; or 
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(c) No fee or an insufficient fee is received.  

(5) The Board retains the right to extend the one year period to complete application for good 
cause.  

(6) Applicants who submit complete documentation but are not approved for registration, 
examination, or licensure will be notified in writing that the application is being denied and state 
the reason(s) for denial.  

(7) To be reconsidered for licensure, applicants who failed to become licensed, who were refused 
licensure, who withdrew from consideration, or interns who have allowed their registration to 
expire will be required to file a new application, fee, and resubmit all documentation necessary 
to meet the standards for licensure in effect at the time of reapplication. Applicants reapplying 
must fulfill any deficiencies that are the result of changes to requirements that may have been 
implemented between former and current application.  

(8) An applicant must notify the Board immediately, but not less than within 30 days, if any 
information submitted on the application changes, including but not limited to: name, address, 
email address, telephone number, complaints, disciplinary actions, litigation, criminal 
involvement, and employment investigations which results in disciplinary action.  Failure to do 
so may be grounds for denial of the application or revocation of the license, once issued. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 1-2011, f. 1-13-11, cert. ef. 2-1-11  

833-020-0021  

Methods of Application 

(1) Applications for licensure must indicate one of the following: methods. 

(a) Intern registration method pursuant to OAR 833 Division 50;  

(b) Direct method pursuant to OAR 833-020-0041;  

(c) Reciprocity method pursuant to OAR 833-020-0051;  

(d) Re-licensure method pursuant to OAR 833-020-0061; or  

(e) Reapplication method pursuant to OAR 833-020-0071; or  

(f) Counselor educator.  

(2) Applicants may request permission to change their method of application or license requested 
without re-application if they do so within the year allowed to complete application.  
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 1-2012. f. 4-23-12, cert. ef. 5-15-12  

833-020-0031  

Intern Registration Method 

(1) The intern registration method is required for applicants who seek acceptance of post-degree 
supervised clinical experience completed in Oregon after June 30, 2002. The intern registration 
method requires applicant to obtain Board approval of a proposed plan for completing required 
hours of supervised clinical experience. No less than 1,000 hours of supervised clinical 
experience must be completed under an approved plan.  

(2) Applicants approved for registration as an intern who maintain registration status and meet 
the conditions for annual renewal will be allowed five years to complete the experience 
requirements, as specified in OAR 833 division 50, to be approved for licensure or for 
examination. Failure to meet the experience requirements for licensure within five years will 
result in expiration of registration and closure of the application file. 

(3) The intern may petition the Board to allow renewal for up to one year of registration beyond 
the maximum five years if he/she can show good cause for such extension. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-020-0041  

Direct Method 

(1) The direct method is required for applicants who seek acceptance of supervised clinical 
experience completed in another jurisdiction or in Oregon before June 30, 2002.  

(2) The direct method requires the applicant to document no less than the total minimum number 
of supervised clinical experience hours required for licensure, all of which must have been 
completed prior to the date of application for licensure.  

(3) Supervised clinical experience hours must include no less than 480 post-degree client contact 
hours completed within 60 months immediately prior to the application for licensure.  

(34) Applicants seeking licensure as a professional counselor must meet the requirements 
specified in OAR 833, division 30.  

(45) Applicants seeking licensure as a marriage and family therapist must meet the requirements 
specified in OAR 833, division 40.  

laree
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-020-0051  

Reciprocity Method 

(1) The reciprocity method is for applicants who seek acceptance of education and supervised 
clinical experience previously used to obtain a comparable license in another jurisdiction. The 
reciprocity method requires the applicant to document that the education and experience 
requirements under which the applicant obtained a comparable license held in another state are 
equivalent to the standards required for Oregon licensure as a professional counselor or as a 
marriage and family therapist.  

(2) Applicants for licensure by reciprocity must possess a current, active license to practice 
professional counseling or marriage and family therapy issued by another state credentialing 
entity. The Board will review each application designating the reciprocity method to determine if 
licensing is appropriate. The Board will compare the minimum standards in effect in the other 
jurisdiction when it granted a license with the current education, clinical experience, and 
examination standards required for Oregon licensure.  

(3) Application for licensure must be submitted to the Board office in accordance with OAR 
833-020-0011.  

(4) The application must also include an official verification of each healthcare professional 
license, registration or certification held, sent directly from the credentialing entity, of from the 
sending state that includes applicant:  

(a) The license type and current statusHas a current, active license in that state;  

(b) The license is comparable to the Oregon license requested;  

(cb) Verification that theApplicant’s license from other state is not temporary, probationary, 
expired, revoked, or suspended;  

(dc) Any history of adverse licensure action (disciplines), including proposed actionsThe 
applicant has not been disciplined, including a reprimand or letter of concern; and  

(ed) Documentation of the education, clinical experience, and examination requirements for 
licensure in that state at the time licensure was granted (if applicable).  

(5) To be considered equivalent, the applicant’s license in the other state upon which reciprocity 
is based must have:  
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(a) Required at least a graduate degree in counseling, a graduate degree in marriage and family 
therapy, or a related degree. A related degree must have systemic coursework for a license as a 
marriage and family therapist;  

(b) Been issued to an applicant whose qualifying degree meets the educational requirements 
specified in: Majority Standards for Graduate Degrees specified in OAR 833 Division 60;  

(A) OAR 833-030-0011 for licensure as a professional counselor; or 

(B) OAR 833-040-0011 for licensure as a marriage and family therapist. 

(c) Required passage of a state or national competency exam; and  

(d) Been obtained by a method of application that involved state review of documentation of 
education and clinical experience under adopted standards, and not obtained through reciprocity; 
act of portability; mutual recognition; recognition of non-governmental, professional certification 
or membership; waiver of any of the education, experience, or examination requirements; or 
"grandparenting".  

(6) Five years or more of licensed clinical experience in another state may substitute for a 
maximum of 15 semester or 20 quarter credits of academic education required for licensure. 
Clinical experience may not substitute for diagnosis training.  

(76) Completed The applicant must meet the supervised clinical experience requirements 
specified in: 

(a) OAR 833-030-0021 for licensure as a professional counselor; or 

(b) OAR 833-040-0021 for licensure as a marriage and family therapist. performing direct client 
counseling or marriage and family therapy, which must have included no less than:  

(a) At least 2,000 hours in at least two years or the equivalent for licensed professional 
counselor;  

(A) A minimum of 1,000 hours of the required 2,000 must be direct client contact;  

(B) A maximum of 1,000 hours of the required 2,000 may be from supervision, consulting, 
reporting.  

(b) At least 2,000 hours earned in at least 3 years must be in the presence of a client for licensed 
marriage and family therapist.  

(c) For those who apply on or after January 2, 2014, at least 2,000 hours earned in at least two 
years or the equivalent must be in the presence of a client for licensed marriage and family 
therapist.  

laree
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(8) Five or more years of post license clinical experience may substitute for 1,000 hours of the 
required, supervised direct client contact hours required for Oregon licensure.  

(97) The applicant must meet the examination requirements specified in:  

(a) OAR 833-020-0081 and 833-030-0041 for licensure as a professional counselor; or  

(b) OAR 833-020-0081 and 833-040-0041 for licensure as a marriage and family therapist.  

(10) Documentation of acceptance on the national credentials registry for professional counselors 
may substitute for education and experience requirements for licensure as a professional 
counselor.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 1-2011, f. 1-13-11, 
cert. ef. 2-1-11; BLPCT 1-2013, f. 1-11-13, cert. ef. 2-1-13; BLPCT 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-14 

833-020-0061  

Re-Licensure Method 

(1) The re-licensure method is required for applicants who have previously been licensed by the 
Board. The re-licensure method requires the applicant, as a previous Board licensee, to request a 
new license with a new license number, but without documenting further supervised clinical 
experience.  

(2) To be considered for re-licensure, all of the following items must be received from licensees 
an applicant no more than two years from the expiration date of the prior licensewhose licenses 
have been expired for less than two years from last date of renewal must file:  

(a) An application for re-licensure, using forms provided by the Board that must include a sworn 
statement that there is no reason for denial, including that applicant:  

(A) Has not been subject to any disciplinary action by a professional mental health licensing or 
certification agency; and  

(B) Has not been convicted of a crime related to practice within the mental health field.  

(b) Payment of tThe current application fee plus one current annual renewal fee;  

(c) Updated professional disclosure statement, statement that the applicant is not currently 
practicing professional counseling or marriage and family therapy, or request for waiver of the 
professional disclosure statement; and  

(d) Report listing 20 hours of at least the minimum continuing education meeting the standards 
set forth activities required in OAR Chapter 833, Division 80-080-0011, completed within 

laree
Text Box
AASCB's National Credential Registry no longer exists.

laree
Text Box
Literally interpreted, this is one year. The intent and practice is two years.

laree
Text Box
Change from 20 hours in one year to 40 hours within two years.  Makes clear that ethics, CCCE, and other things are required.
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onetwo year prior to the date the Board will receive the new application or within the year 
allowed for application to be completed.  

(3) To be considered for re-licensure more than two years after the expiration date of the prior 
license, all of the following items must be received from an applicantlicensees whose licenses 
have been expired for two or more years from last date of renewal must file:  

(a) A new application, using forms provided by the Board, to show compliance with the 
standards in effect at the time the Board will receive this new application;  

(b) The application fee;  

(c) Proposed professional disclosure statement, statement that applicant is not currently 
practicing professional counseling or marriage and family therapy, or request for waiver of the 
professional disclosure statement; and  

(d) Request for examination or proof of passage of a competency examination acceptable to the 
Board which was passed within 10 years of date of new application.  

(4) All applicants for re-licensure must successfully pass the current Oregon law and rules 
section of the state examination.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10 

833-020-0071  

Reapplication 

(1) Former applicants who reapply for licensure must submit a new, fully completed application 
form and application fee to the Board.  

(2) Applicants may request to transfer previously filed documents to the new application file if 
the documents have not been destroyed under state records retention schedules and are still in the 
possession of the Board. Such documents include, but are not limited to, documentation of 
supervised work experience, examination results, and transcripts.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 

833-020-0081  

Examination 
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(1) All applicants must pass a competency exam and an Oregon law and rules exam approved by 
the Board.  

(2) Applicants who have passed the competency exam within 10 years prior to applying for 
licensure are not required to retake the exam.  

(3) Applicants applying by the reciprocity method who have passed the exam 10 years or more 
prior to applying for licensure in Oregon must:  

(a) Retake the exam; or  

(b) Document a minimum of 40 clock hours of continuing education in the core curriculum areas 
specified in OAR 833, division 60. Continuing education that substitutes for passage of the exam 
must be completed within two years prior to licensure.  

(4) Registered interns may take the competency exam any time during their registered 
internships.  

(45) For all application methods except for intern registration, Ffailure to document passage of 
an acceptable competency examination or failure to register and attempt to pass the competency 
portion of the state examination at least once per year will result in denial of licensure.  

(56) Applicants must Registered interns, after meeting the experience requirements for licensure, 
must register and attempt to pass the competency examination at least once per year, and must 
pass the competency exam within two years. after meeting experience requirements for 
licensureFailure to comply with this rule will result in denial of licensure and termination of 
internship registration. The Board will only approve a subsequent reapplication under the direct 
method.  

(67) Applicants who fFailure to achieve a passing score on the competency portion of the state 
examination after taking the exam three times will result in denial of licensure.  The Board will 
not review a reapplication until at least one year has elapsed from the date of the previous 
denial., must:  

(a) Complete graduate level coursework in the content areas failed in the exam;  

(b) The graduate level coursework must be completed from:  

(A) A program accredited by CACREP, CORE, or COAMFTE; or  

(B) A regionally accredited college or university;  

(c) Re-apply for licensure.  

(78) Applicants are allowed 30 days, from the date the board sends the law and rules exam to the 
applicant, to must complete and return the Oregon law and rules portion of the state examination 
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within 30 days of the date the Board sends the examination to the applicant. Failure to complete 
and return the examination to the Board office will result in closure of the application. To be 
considered for licensure, the person must reapply pursuant to OAR 833-020-0071. 

(8) The Board may extend the deadline to take an exam for good cause upon written request of 
the applicant, which must be received or postmarked prior to the exam deadline.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; BLPCT 1-2013, f. 1-11-13, 
cert. ef. 2-1-13  

833-020-0091  

Effective and Expiration Dates of Licenses 

(1) Initial licenses will be issued for no more than one year, expiring on the last day of licensee’s 
birth month.  

(2) Date of issue will be the date all qualifications for licensure are met.  

(3) Licenses will not be issued without payment of the required initial license or renewal fees.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-020-0101  

License Renewal/Late Renewal 

(1) Before the Board will renew a license, a licensee must, no more than 45 days before or during 
the renewal month:  

(a) Submit a completed renewal form provided by the Board which will include responses to all 
character and fitness questions and a sworn statement that there is no reason for denial of 
renewal; 

(b) Pay the appropriate renewal fee;  

(c) Submit continuing education information detailing compliance with the requirements, if 
applicable;  

(d) Submit an updated professional disclosure statement, if there have been changes or if renewal 
information indicates that the one on file with the Board contains false, incomplete, outdated or 
misleading information; and 

laree
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(e) Complete the required healthcare workforce data survey and pay the fee established by the 
Oregon Health Authority pursuant to ORS 676.410. 

(2) A licensee may renew a license in the month following the renewal month by, in addition to 
completing the requirements of section (1) above, submitting to the Board the required 
delinquent fee.  If these are not timely submitted, then the license shall lapse. 

(3) The licensee holds the burden of proof of submission of the items required for renewal.  
Failure to receive a courtesy reminder from the Board shall not relieve a licensee of the renewal 
requirements and consequences. 

(4) The Board shall have discretion to waive the delinquent fee in cases of documented hardship. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-020-0112  

Duplicate Licenses 

(1) Duplicate licenses or certificates may be obtained by:  

(a) Certifying, by signed statement, that the current license or certificate has been lost or 
destroyed; or  

(b) Requesting a duplicate for additional place(s) of business;  

(c) In either case, payment of the required fee.  

(2) Reproduction of a license or certificate by anyone other than Board staff for use as a license 
document or for display is prohibited.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-020-0201  

Licensee Professional Disclosure Statement 

(1) To be approved by the Board, the professional disclosure statement shall include the 
information set forth in and required by ORS 675.755 and:  

(a) The name, address and telephone number of the business;  
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(b) Philosophy and approach to counseling or marriage and family therapy, including reference 
to any codes of standards or ethics to which the licensee subscribes;  

(c) A statement indicating adherence to the Oregon Licensing Board's Code of Ethics set forth in 
OAR chapter 833, division 100;  

(d) The bill of rights of clients listed in OAR 833, division 100, Code of Ethics;  

(e) Formal education and training, title of highest relevant degree earned, school granting degree, 
and major coursework;  

(f) Oregon licensure requirements for continuing education as well as any significant post-degree 
work relating to professional practice;  

(g) The standard fee for service, including discounted rates or sliding scale and a statement that 
no fees will be charged and no additional fee will be added to another set fee such as a hospital 
room daily charge; and  

(h) A statement indicating the following: “Additional information about this counselor or 
therapist is available on the Board’s website: www.oregon.gov/oblpct.”     

(2) The Professional Disclosure Statement must also include the Board’s:  

(a) Name;  

(b) Address;  

(c) Telephone number; and  

(d) Email address.  

(3) Licensees must provide each client with a professional disclosure statement consistent with 
the content and in a format as specified in OAR 833-020-0201(1) and (2).  

(4) Licensees must make a reasonable effort to assist the client to understand the information 
presented in the disclosure statement as required by the Code of Ethics.  

(5) Exemptions to the professional disclosure statement requirements set forth in ORS 675.755 
include:  

(a) Applicants for licensure not practicing professional counseling or marriage and family 
therapy in Oregon, except those seeking registration as an intern;  

(b) Licensees not practicing professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in Oregon;  

(c) Licensees providing crisis response; and  
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(d) Licensees who have submitted a written request and can satisfy the Board that there is good 
cause to be exempt from specific requirements and have received written exemption from the 
Board.  

(6) Prior to providing services, the licensee must furnish each client with a copy of a professional 
disclosure statement. If the licensee fails to provide the statement, the licensee may not charge 
the client a fee for services.  

(7) Whenever a licensee changes a professional disclosure statement, the new statement must be 
presented to the Board for approval.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.755 & 675.785  
Hist.: BLPCT 2-2010(Temp), f. 1-8-10, cert. ef. 1-11-10 thru 7-9-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; 
BLPCT 2-2012, f. 9-5-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12; BLPCT 3-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-11-12  

833-020-0301  

Current Information to Board 

(1) All licensees must provide current contact information to the Board, including:  

(a) Physical residence address and post office box, if applicable;  

(b) Electronic mail address;  

(c) Home and work telephone numbers; and 

(d) An updated, current Professional Disclosure Statement being provided to clients.  

(2) Licensees must inform the Board office in writing of any changes to information within 30 
days of the change.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.755 & 675.785 
Hist.: BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-020-0401  

Client Records  

(1) A licensed professional counselor and licensed marriage family therapist or registered intern 
must:  

(a) Maintain client records for each client;  

(b) Ensure that client records are legible;  
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(c) Keep records in a secure, safe, and retrievable condition; and  

(d) Notify the Board if client records have been destroyed or lost.  

(2) At a minimum, client records should be recorded concurrently with the services provided and 
must include:  

(a) A formal or informal assessment of the client;  

(b) Counseling goals or objectives; and  

(c) Progress notes of therapy or counseling sessions.  

(3) A licensee must retain client records for at least seven years from the date of the last session 
with the client.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 2-2012, f. 9-5-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12; BLPCT 4-2012, f. 10-24-12, cert. ef. 11-1-12  

833-020-0501  

Custodian of Record  

(1) A licensee or registered intern must:  

(a) Arrange for the maintenance of and access to client records that ensure the client’s right to 
confidentiality and access to records in the event of the death or incapacity of the licensee;  

(b) Register with the board the name and contact information of a custodian of record that will 
have case files and can make necessary referrals if licensee becomes incapacitated or dies; and  

(c) Notify the board of changes of the custodian of record.  

(2) If the licensee or registered intern is an employee of an organization, the organization may be 
named as the custodian of record.  

(3) The board will not release the name of the custodian of record except in the following cases:  

(a) The death or incapacity of the licensee; or  

(b) When a client is unable to locate the licensee.  

(4) A custodian of record under this rule must be a licensed mental health professional licensed 
under Oregon law, a licensed medical professional, a health care or mental health organization, 
an attorney, a school, or a medical records company.  
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 4-2012, f. 10-24-12, cert. ef. 11-1-12 
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 30 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR 

 

833-030-0011  

Educational Requirements for Licensure as a Professional Counselor 

To qualify for licensure as a professional counselor under ORS 675.715(1)(b)(2), an applicant 
must hold a graduate degree from one of the following:  

(1) A graduate degree in counseling received from a program approved by the Council for 
Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) as of the date the 
degree was conferred;  

(2) A graduate degree in counseling received from a program approved by the Council on 
Rehabilitation Education (CORE) as of the date the degree was conferred;  

(3) A graduate degree  program at an institution of higher learning that was accredited by a 
regional accrediting agency as of the date the degree was conferreddetermined by the Board to 
be comparable in both content and quality by meeting the academic and training program 
standards for graduate degrees set out in OAR 833 division 60; or   

(4) A graduate degree determined by the Board to meet a majority of the graduate degree 
standards defined in OAR 833 division 60 and the degree coursework standards set forth in OAR 
833, division 60, including additional graduate training as set forth in OAR 833, division 60 that 
together meet the graduate degree standards of graduate academic coursework related to a degree 
in counseling. 

(4) A foreign program that has been evaluated by a credentialing body recognized by the Board. 
Submission of foreign degree evaluation and cost of the foreign degree qualification 
determination are the responsibility of the applicant. 

(5) A graduate degree under sections (1) or (2) must have included at least two semester credit 
hours or three credit quarter hours of coursework in the diagnosis of mental disorders. 

(6) A graduate degree under sections (3) or (4) must have included all of the following 
requirements: 

(a) At least two years in duration, including at least: 
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(A) 48 semester credit hours or 72 quarter hours for graduate degrees granted before October 1, 
2014; or  

(B) 60 semester credit hours or 90 quarter credit hours for graduate degrees granted on or after 
October 1, 2014. 

(b) At least two semester credit hours or three credit quarter hours in each of the following 
coursework: 

(A) Counseling Theory;  

(B) Human Growth and Development;  

(C) Social and Cultural Foundations;  

(D) The Helping Relationship;  

(E) Group Dynamics Processing and Counseling;  

(F) Lifestyle and Career Development;  

(G) Diagnosis of mental disorders;  

(H) Research and Evaluation; and 

(I) Professional Orientation (Ethics). 

(c) At least 16 semester hours or 24 quarter hours of supporting coursework for specialty areas; 
and 

(d) A supervised clinical practicum or internship experience that: 

(A) Included at least 600 total clock hours, including 240 direct client contact hours, for graduate 
degrees granted before October 1, 2014;  

(B) Included at least 700 total clock hours, including 280 direct client contact hours, for graduate 
degrees granted on or after October 1, 2014;  

(C) Had supervisory staff with a minimum of a master's degree in the program emphasis and 
with pertinent professional experience; 

(D) Made provision for faculty monitoring of operations;  

(E) Kept records of student-client contact hours including summary of student progress by the 
supervisor;  
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(F) Had a written agreement with the program and student specifying learning objectives; and  

(G) Had a mechanism for program evaluation. 

(e) Deficiencies in the credit hour requirements of sections (a), (b) or (c) may be remedied by 
completing graduate level coursework in the deficient area(s) at a regionally accredited 
institution. 

(f) For reciprocity applicants only, five years or more of licensed clinical experience in another 
state may substitute for a maximum of 15 semester or 20 quarter credits of academic education 
required for licensure. Clinical experience may not substitute for diagnosis training. 

(g) Deficiencies in the supervised experience requirement of section (d) may be remedied by 
completion of: 

(A) At least 700 clock hours of supervised clinical experience, including 280 direct client contact 
hours; or 

(B) At least five years of full-time post-degree clinical experience. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-030-0021  

Experience Requirements for Licensure as a Professional Counselor  

(1) To qualify for licensure as a professional counselor under ORS 675.715(1)(c)(3) and 
675.720, an applicant must have completed the equivalent of at least three years, defined as 36 
months, of full-time supervised clinical counseling experience. 

(2) To qualify for licensure through the internship registration method, supervised clinical 
experience must meet the requirements of OAR chapter 833, divisions 50 and 130. 

(3) To qualify for licensure through direct method, supervised clinical experience must have that  
consisted of no less than 2,400 supervised direct client contact hours of counseling. The 
supervised clinical counseling experience must have included any combination of the 
followingbe:  

(a) CPost-graduate degree supervised experience completed in Oregon prior to June 30, 2002;  

(b) CPost-graduate degree supervised experience completed in another jurisdiction pursuant to 
the jurisdiction’s laws and rulesstate or country prior to application;  

(c) CExperience completed while a registered intern with the Board; or 
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(d) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience and 400 hours of supervised direct 
client contact completed during the clinical portion of the qualifying graduate degree program.; 
or  

(e) Any combination of hours completed as indicated in (a), (b), (c) and (d). 

(4) To qualify for licensure through the reciprocity method, supervised clinical experience must 
have consisted of no less than 2,400 hours of supervised post-graduate experience: 

(a) A minimum of 1,200 hours of the required 2,400 must be direct client contact;  

(b) A maximum of 1,200 hours of the required 2,400 may be from supervision, consulting, 
reporting. 

(c) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience and 400 hours of supervised direct 
client contact may have been completed during the clinical portion of the qualifying graduate 
degree program; 

(d) Five or more years of post-license clinical experience may substitute for 1,000 hours of 
required supervised direct client contact. 

(25) Direct client contact hours must have been face to face with a client or clients and/or contact 
via electronic communication consistent with OAR chapter 833, division 90. 

(6) For direct and reciprocity methods, the experience must be a formal arrangement under the 
supervision of a person who holds a graduate-level state-issued license or registration, as a 
professional counselor or equivalent as determined by the Board such as a clinical psychologist, 
clinical social worker, or marriage and family therapist.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 
4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-14 

833-030-0031  

Supervision of Direct Client Contact Hours 

(1) For those applying for licensure through the direct or reciprocity methods, supervision must 
satisfy the following requirements:  

(a) Taken place within the same calendar month as the completed direct client contact hours;  

(b) Been provided by someone other than a spouse or relative by blood or marriage or a person 
with whom the applicant has or had a personal relationship;  
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(c) Been the result of a professional relationship between a qualified supervisor and a counselor. 
Such relationship involves discussions based on case notes, charts, records, and available audio 
or visual tapes. The supervisee presents assessments and treatment plans for the clients being 
seen. The supervisor focuses on the appropriateness of the plans and the supervisee's therapeutic 
skill. In contrast to consultation, the supervisor has the authority to direct treatment plans. In 
contrast to therapy, the supervisor will identify counter-transference issues and develop a plan 
for the supervisee to work through those issues independently;  

(d) Total no less than two (2) hours of supervision for months where 45 or less direct client 
contact hours are completed; or total no less than three (3) hours of supervision for months where 
46 or more direct client contact hours are completed; and  

(e) Been conducted in a professional setting, face to face, one to one, except:  

(A) Up to 75 percent of the individual supervision hours may have been by electronic 
communication; and  

(B) Up to 50 percent of the supervision may have been received in a group setting, which:  

(i) Included no more than ten (10) supervisees for supervision taking place before July 1, 1998 or 
six (6) supervisees for supervision on or after July 1, 1998;  

(ii) Where the leadership did not shift from one supervisor to another; and  

(iii) Was not a staff or team meeting, intensive training seminar, discussion group, consultation 
session, or quality assurance or review group.  

(2) The supervisor, at the time of supervision must have:  

(a) Three years of post-graduate clinical experience as a licensed mental health professional; and  

(b) 30 clock hours of training in supervision theory and practice through post-master's workshops 
or post-master's graduate level academic coursework for any supervision hours provided after 
June 30, 1992.  

(3) The supervisor at the time of supervision also must have:  

(a) Been a National Certified Counselor (NCC), Certified Clinical Mental Health Counselor 
(CCMHC), Certified Rehabilitation Counselor (CRC); or Certified Career Counselor (CCC); or  

(b) Held a license as a professional counselor in the State of Oregon or held an Oregon or other 
state certification or licensure judged comparable by the Board, such as standard school 
counselors or psychologist associates or those state-licensed as clinical psychologists, clinical 
social workers, and marriage and family therapists.  
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(4) In lieu of sections (2) and (3) the supervisor at the time of supervision may have been an 
approved supervisor through American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, the Center 
for Credentialing and Education, or the American Association of Pastoral Counselors.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-030-0041  

Examination Requirement for Licensure as a Professional Counselor 

(1) All applicants for licensure as a professional counselor must pass an examination consisting 
of two separate sections: a competency examinationsection and an Oregon law and rules 
sectionexamination pursuant to OAR 833-020-0081.  

(2) To qualify for licensure as a professional counselor under ORS 675.715(1)(d)(5), an 
applicant must pass, or have passed within ten years prior to the date the application was 
received by the Board, one of the following competency examinations within 10 years from the 
date of application for licensure prescribed by the Board or have passed other approved 
alternative exams:  

(a) National Counselor Examination;  

(b) CertifiedNational Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination; or 

(c) Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination.; or  

(d) Other exams as approved by the Board.  

(3) Applicants applying via the reciprocity method may meet the competency exam requirements 
specified in 833-020-0081.  

(4) To qualify to sit for the competency examination, a LPC applicant must:  

(a) Submit an application; and  

(b) Meet the graduate program and coursework requirements in OAR 833-030-0011 division 60.  

(5) Candidates will pay exam and exam administration fees to the prescribed examination 
providers.  

(6) Passing scores will be:  

(a) Established by the National Board of Certified Counselors for applicants who plan to take the 
exam after applying for Oregon licensure.  
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(b) Established by the agency verifying passage of its examination for applicants who took a 
state competency exam before applying for Oregon licensure.  

(7) The Board will notify examinees, in writing only, of the results of their examination.  

(8) Following passage of the approved competency examination, the Board requires passage of 
an Oregon state law and rules examination with a passing score determined by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 1-2013, f. 1-11-13, cert. ef. 2-1-13  

833-030-0051  

Documentation of Requirements for Licensure as a Professional Counselor 

Applicants for licensure as a professional counselor must document meeting the requirements for 
licensure as follows:  

(1) Educational requirements by official transcript, and by a completed graduate degree 
standards form with required attachments if supporting documentation is necessary; 

(2) Experience requirements by submission of attestations from employers or supervisors 
regarding the setting, hours of experience and supervision received, and background and training 
of supervisor; and  

(3) Examination requirement by submission of verification an approved examination was taken 
and passed by the approved testing, licensing, or certification organization, or passage of the 
state examination.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 40 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

 

833-040-0011  

Educational Requirements for Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist 

To qualify for licensure as a marriage and family therapist under ORS 675.715(1)(b)(2), an 
applicant must hold a graduate degree from one of the following:  

(1) A graduate degree in marriage and family therapy received from a program approved by the 
Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE) or a 
marital and family therapy program fully accredited by the Counsel for Accreditation of 
Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP); or  

(2) A graduate degree program at an institution of higher learning that was accredited by a 
regional accrediting agency as of the date the degree was conferreddetermined by the Board to 
be comparable in both content and quality by meeting the academic and training program 
standards for graduate degrees set out in OAR 833 division 60; or  

(3) A graduate degree determined by the Board to meet a majority of the graduate degree 
standards defined in OAR 833 division 60 and the degree coursework standards set forth in 833 
division 60, including additional graduate training as set forth in 833 division 60 that together 
meet the graduate degree standards of graduate academic coursework related to a degree in 
marriage and family therapy.  

(3) A foreign program that has been evaluated by a credentialing body recognized by the Board. 
Submission of foreign degree evaluation and cost of the foreign degree qualification 
determination are the responsibility of the applicant. 

(4) A graduate degree under section (1) must have included at least two semester credit hours or 
three credit quarter hours of coursework in the diagnosis of mental disorders. 

(5) A graduate degree under sections (2) or (3) must have included all of the following 
requirements: 

(a) For graduate degrees granted before October 1, 2014: 

(A) At least two years in duration, including at least 48 semester credit hours or 72 quarter credit 
hours; 
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(B) At minimum, the following coursework: 

(i) Human Development- four semester hours or six quarter hours;  

(ii) Marital and Family Theoretical Foundation Studies- two semester hours or three quarter 
hours;  

(iii) Marital and Family Therapy Diagnosis and Assessment, Treatment, Principles and 
Techniques Studies- eight semester hours or 12 quarter hours;  

(iv) Professional Studies- two semester hours or three quarter hours;  

(v) Research Methods or Statistics- two semester hours or three quarter hours;  

(vi) Supporting Coursework Focusing on the Systems Paradigm for Specialty Areas- 16 semester 
hours or 24 quarter hours; and 

(C) A supervised clinical practicum or internship experience of at least 600 clock hours, 
including 240 direct client contact hours. 

(b) For graduate degrees granted on or after October 1, 2014:  

(A) At least two years in duration, including at least 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours of 
graduate-level credit; 

(B) At minimum, the following graduate-level coursework: 

(i) Individual and Family Development- four semester hours or six quarter hours;  

(ii) Couple and Family Theoretical Foundation Studies- six semester hours or nine quarter hours;  

(iii) Couple and Family Therapy, Treatment, and Techniques Studies- six semester hours or nine 
quarter hours;  

(iv) Diagnosis of mental disorders- two semester hours or three quarter hours;  

(v) Diversity studies that include issues related to diversity, power and privilege- two semester 
hours or three quarter hours; 

(vi) Ethical and Professional Studies- two semester hours or three quarter hours;  

(vii) Research Methods or Statistics- two semester hours or three quarter hours;  

(viii) Supporting coursework focusing on counseling and/or systems approaches- 36 semester 
hours or 54 quarter hours; and 
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(C) A supervised clinical practicum or internship experience of at least 700 clock hours with 280 
hours of direct client contact. 

(c) The program’s clinical practicum or internship experience must have:  

(A) Had supervisory staff with a minimum of a master's degree in the program emphasis and 
with pertinent professional experience; 

(B) Made provision for faculty monitoring of operations;  

(C) Kept records of student-client contact hours including summary of student progress by the 
supervisor;  

(D) Had a written agreement with the program and student specifying learning objectives; and  

(E) Had a mechanism for program evaluation. 

(e) Deficiencies in the credit hour requirements of sections (a), (b) or (c) may be remedied by 
completing graduate level coursework in the deficient area(s) at a regionally accredited 
institution. 

(f) Deficiencies in the supervised experience requirement of section (d) may be remedied by 
completion of: 

(A) At least 700 clock hours of supervised clinical experience, including 280 direct client contact 
hours; or 

(B) At least five years of full-time post-degree clinical experience, the majority of which must 
consist of work in relationship issues. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-040-0021  

Experience Requirements for Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist 

(1) To qualify for licensure as a marriage and family therapist under ORS 675.715(1)(c)(4) and 
675.720, an applicant must have completed at least three years, defined as 36 months, of full-
time supervised clinical experience. 

(2) To qualify for licensure through the internship registration method, supervised clinical 
experience must meet the requirements of OAR chapter 833, divisions 50 and 130. 

(3) To qualify for licensure through direct method, supervised clinical experience must have: that  
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(a) For those that apply to become a licensed marriage and family therapist before January 2, 
2014, consisted of no less than 2,000 supervised direct client contact hours of therapy with at 
least 1,000 of those hours working with couples and families.  

(2b) TFor those who apply to become a licensed marriage and family therapist on or after 
January 2, 2014, must have completed the equivalent of three years of full-time supervised 
clinical therapy experience that consisted of no less than 2,400 supervised direct client contact 
hours of therapy with at least 1,000 of those hours working with couples and families.  

(3c) The supervised counseling experience must be Included any combination of the following:  

(aA) CPost-graduate degree supervised experience completed in Oregon prior to June 30, 2002;  

(bB) CPost-graduate degree supervised experience completed in another jurisdiction pursuant to 
the jurisdiction’s laws and rulesstate or country prior to application;  

(cC) CExperience completed while a registered intern with the Board; or  

(dD) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience and 400 hours of supervised 
direct client contact completed during the clinical portion of the qualifying graduate degree 
program.; or  

(e) Any combination of hours completed as indicated in (a), (b), (c) and (d).  

(4) To qualify for licensure through the reciprocity method, supervised clinical experience must 
have consisted of no less than 2,400 hours of supervised post-graduate experience: 

(a) A minimum of 1,200 hours of the required 2,400 must be direct client contact;  

(b) A maximum of 1,200 hours of the required 2,400 may be from supervision, consulting, 
reporting. 

(c) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience and 400 hours of supervised direct 
client contact may have been completed during the clinical portion of the qualifying graduate 
degree program; 

(d) Five or more years of post-license clinical experience may substitute for 1,000 hours of 
required supervised direct client contact. 

(45) Direct client contact hours must have been face to face with a client or clients and/or contact 
via electronic communication consistent with OAR chapter 833, division 90. 

(6) For direct and reciprocity methods, the experience must be a formal arrangement under the 
supervision of a person who is trained specifically in the systemic approach to couples and 
family therapy and holds a graduate-level state-issued license or registration, as a marriage and 
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family therapist or equivalent as determined by the Board such as a clinical psychologist, clinical 
social worker, or professional counselor. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 
6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; BLPCT 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-14; BLPCT 4-2014, f. & 
cert. ef. 9-5-14 

833-040-0031  

Supervision of Direct Client Contact Hours 

(1) For those applying for licensure through the direct or reciprocity methods, supervision must:  

(a) Take place within the same calendar month as the completed direct client contact hours;  

(b) Be provided by someone other than a spouse or relative by blood or marriage or a person 
with whom the applicant has or had a personal relationship;  

(c) Be the result of a professional relationship between a qualified supervisor and a counselor. 
Such relationship involves discussions based on case notes, charts, records, and available audio 
or visual tapes. The supervisee presents assessments and treatment plans for the clients being 
seen. The supervisor focuses on the appropriateness of the plans and the supervisee's therapeutic 
skill. In contrast to consultation, the supervisor has the authority to direct treatment plans. In 
contrast to therapy, the supervisor will identify counter-transference issues and develop a plan 
for the supervisee to work through those issues independently; and  

(d) Total no less than two (2) hours of supervision for months where 45 or less direct client 
contact hours are completed; or total no less than three (3) hours of supervision for months where 
46 or more direct client contact hours are completed; and  

(e) Be conducted in a professional setting, face to face, one to one, except:  

(A) Up to 75 percent of the individual supervision hours may be by electronic communication; 
and  

(B) Up to 50 percent of the supervision may have been received in a group setting, which:  

(i) Included no more than ten (10) supervisees for supervision taking place before July 1, 1998 or 
six (6) supervisees for supervision on or after July 1, 1998;  

(ii) Where the leadership does not shift from one supervisor to another; and  

(iii) Is not a staff or team meeting, intensive training seminar, discussion group, consultation 
session, or quality assurance or review group.  
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(2) The supervisor, at the time of supervision must have been:  

(a) A supervisor approved by the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy or a 
diplomate in the American Association of Pastoral Counselors; or  

(b) Licensed as a marriage and family therapist or hold an equivalent certification or license as 
determined by the Board, such as that required for clinical psychologists, clinical social workers 
and professional counselors; and  

(A) Been trained specifically in the systemic approach to couples and family therapy;  

(B) Completed a minimum of five (5) years of clinical experience; and  

(C) For any supervision hours after June 30, 1992, completed thirty (30) clock hours of training 
in supervision theory and practice in post-master’s academic coursework or equivalent training, 
as determined by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-040-0041  

Examination Requirement for Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist 

(1) All applicants for licensure as a marriage and family therapist must pass an examination 
consisting of two separate sections: a competency examinationsection and an Oregon law and 
rules examinationsection pursuant to OAR 833-020-0081.  

(2) To qualify for licensure as a marriage and family therapist under ORS 675.715(1)(d)(5), an 
applicant must pass , or have passed within ten years prior to the date the application was 
received by the Board, a competency examination prescribed by the Board or have passed other 
approved alternative exams, within 10 years from the date of application for licensure.  

(3) The Board prescribes as the competency examinationsection the computerized marital and 
family therapy examination of the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards 
(AMFTRB) in association with the Professional Examination Service.  

(4) Applicants applying via the reciprocity method may meet the competency exam requirements 
specified in 833-020-0081.  

(5) To qualify to sit for the competency examination, a LMFT applicant must:  

(a) Submit an application; and  
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(b) Meet the graduate program and coursework requirements prescribed in OAR 833-040-0011 
division 60.  

(6) Candidates will pay exam and exam administration fees to the prescribed examination 
providers.  

(7) Passing scores will be:  

(a) Established by the AMFTRB for applicants who plan to take the exam after making 
application for Oregon licensure; or  

(b) Established by the agency verifying passage of its examination for applicants who have 
completed an approved alternative examination.  

(8) The Board will notify examinees, in writing only, of the results of their examination.  

(9) Following passage of the approved competency examination, the Board requires passage of 
an Oregon state law and rules examination, with a passing score as determined by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 
1-2013, f. 1-11-13, cert. ef. 2-1-13  

833-040-0051  

Documentation of Requirements for Licensure as a Marriage and Family Therapist 

Applicants for licensure as a marriage and family therapist must document meeting the 
requirements for licensure as follows:  

(1) Educational requirements by official transcript, and by a completed graduate degree 
standards form with required attachments if supporting documentation is necessary;  

(2) Experience requirements by submission of attestations from employers or supervisors 
regarding the setting, hours of experience and supervision received, and background and training 
of supervisor; and  

(3) Examination requirement by submission of verification that an examination was taken and 
passed by the approved testing, licensing, or certification organization, passage of the state 
examination.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 50 

REGISTERED INTERNS 

833-050-0011  

Intern Registration Method 

The intern registration method is required for applicants who seek acceptance of post-degree 
supervised clinical experience completed in Oregon after June 30, 2002. The intern registration 
method requires applicant to obtain Board approval of an internship plan for completing required 
supervised direct client contact.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-050-0021 

Application for Registration as Intern 

(1) An applicant for registration must:  

(a) Meet all registration requirements in effect at the time the application is submitted;  

(b) Request registration on Board approved forms;  

(c) Submit a professional disclosure statement for board approval as part of his or her 
application;  

(d) Submit an application fee as specified in OAR 833-070-0011;  

(e) Meet the graduate degree standardseducational requirements for licensure according to OAR 
833-030-0011 (LPC Intern) and/or 833-040-0011 (LMFT Intern), division 60;  

(f) Agree to complete supervised clinical experience hours to meet the total number of hours 
required for licensure; and  

(g) Abide by the Board’s laws and rules.  

(2) Applicants for professional counselor and marriage and family therapist must pay a fee for 
each license.  
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(3) Internship status is a transitional step toward licensure and is not intended as a means to 
avoid licensure.  Applicants approved for registration as an intern will have five years to 
complete the supervised direct client contact hours necessary for licensure or for examination. 
Failure to meet the experience requirements for licensure within five years will result in 
expiration of registration and closure of the application file.  The intern may petition the Board to 
allow extension of registration for up to one year beyond the maximum five years if he/she can 
show good cause for such extension.  

(4) Registered interns must indicate registration or use the title "registered intern", "LPC intern", 
or "LMFT intern" in connection with a practice that is covered by an approved plan.  

(45) Former applicants who re-apply may transfer direct client contact hours accrued under a 
board-approved plan to their new plan.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 
2-2015, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-15  

833-050-0031  

Registered Intern Professional Disclosure Statement  

(1) Registered interns must furnish clients with a copy of a Board-approved professional 
disclosure statement before providing counseling or therapy.  

(2) A professional disclosure statement must include the following information about the intern:  

(a) Name, business address and telephone number;  

(b) Name of the intern’s supervisor(s);  

(c) Philosophy and approach to counseling or marriage and family therapy, including reference 
to any codes of standards or ethics to which the intern subscribes;  

(d) Formal education and training, title of highest relevant degree, the school that granted the 
degree, and major coursework;  

(e) Supervision requirements;  

(f) A statement indicating adherence to the Oregon Licensing Board’s Code of Ethics set forth in 
OAR Chapter 833, Division 100;  

(g) Fee schedulesThe standard fee for service, including discounted rates or sliding scale and a 
statement that no fees will be charged and no additional fee will be added to another set fee such 
as a hospital room daily charge;  
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(h) The bill of rights of clients listed in OAR 833-100-0021 the Code of Ethics;  

(i) The name, address, telephone number, and email address of the Oregon Board of Licensed 
Professional Counselors and Therapists; and  

(j) A statement indicating the following: “Additional information about this registered intern is 
available on the Board’s website: www.oregon.gov/oblpct.”  

(3) The Pprofessional Ddisclosure statement must be accessible to people with disabilities.  

(4) Registered interns will assist their clients to understand the information in the professional 
disclosure statement.  

(5) Whenever an intern changes the professional disclosure statement, the new statement must be 
provided to the board for approval.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2012, f. 9-5-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12  

833-050-0041  

Intern Professional Disclosure Statement Waiver 

The Board may grant exemptions from requirements of professional disclosure statements. 
Requests for exemption must be in writing to the Board and have received written approval from 
the Board. The Board may grant exemptions from providing a professional disclosure statement 
if:  

(1) Registered intern can satisfy the Board that there is good cause to be exempt from specific 
requirements, including but not limited to: name, practice address and telephone number; fee 
schedules; or other specific board required information; or 

(2) The intern is providing crisis response counseling or therapy.; or  

(3) The intern is practicing outside Oregon and is not required (by his or her employing agency) 
to provide disclosure statements to clients; however, the intern must inform clients that he or she 
is working toward licensure in the state of Oregon, the name of his or her clinical supervisor, and 
provide the address and telephone number of the Oregon Board upon request.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  
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833-050-0051  

Intern Registration Plan 

(1) Applicants for intern registration must submit an intern plan in the form and manner required 
by the Board.  

(2) The intern plan must include information to show how supervised clinical experience hours 
will be accrued and that the activities will meet Board requirements for professional counselor 
and/or marriage and family therapist. The intern plan will include:  

(a) Name, addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses of the parties: intern, supervisor(s), 
and intern's employer(s) if applicable;  

(b) Description of clinical experience: where counseling/therapy will be performed, where 
supervision will be provided, activities or services performed by intern, content of supervision;  

(c) How the intern will meet licensure requirements;  

(d) Responsibilities of all parties;  

(e) Agreement of the supervisor, administrator of agency or employer of the intern, and the 
intern; and  

(f) Signatures of all parties; and 

(g) The fee for supervision, if any.  If the supervisor is to be paid for supervision, then payment 
must be in the form of a per-hour fee.  

(3) An approved intern plan may cover up to three separate practices, such as private practice 
and employment by two different, autonomous programs.  

(4) To maintain registration, the intern must meet the conditions in the approved plan.  

(5) The intern must carry out the registration plan as approved. Changes to the plan must be 
approved by the Board.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  
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833-050-0061  

Effective Dates of Intern Registration 

(1) Initial registration as an intern will be effective when applicant completes the registration 
process that includes approval of completed request and internship plan.  

(2) An intern must practice under supervision until all license requirements are met and the 
license is issuedgranted. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 6-11-14 

833-050-0071  

Direct Client Contact  

(1) Registered interns must accruecomplete at least three years, defined as 36 months, of 
supervised clinical experience which must include no less than 2,400 hours of supervised direct 
client contact to qualify for licensure.  

(a) Registered interns must complete at least 1,000 of the required 2,400 hours direct client 
contact while in a Board-approved intern work plan.  

(b) Registered interns may count direct client contact hours acquired outside a registered intern 
plan as follows:  

(A) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience and 400 direct client contact hours 
accrued as part of a graduate degree internship;  

(B) Post-graduate degree supervised direct client contact hours completed in Oregon prior to 
June 30, 2002; and  

(C) Post-graduate degree supervised direct client contact hours completed outside of Oregon in 
another jurisdiction pursuant to the jurisdiction’s laws and rules that meet the direct application 
method experience requirements Oregon requirements at the time of application for licensure.    

(2) Applicants for LMFT must accrue 2,400 hours of supervised direct client contact with at least 
1,000 of those hours working with couples and families to qualify for licensure.  

(3) Applications for dual licensure as professional counselor and marriage and family therapist 
must meet the requirements for both licenses.  

(4) Direct client contact must be face to face with a client or clients and/or contact via electronic 
communication consistent with OAR 833 division 90.  

laree
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(5) Registered interns must receive and document supervision for and report all direct client 
contact hours at places of practice listed as part of their Board-approved plan.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 4-2014, f. & cert. ef. 9-5-14 

833-050-0081  

Supervision 

(1) Supervision of direct client contact must take place within the same calendar month as the 
completed direct client contact hours.  

(2) Supervision meetings must take place at least twice per month, and in different weeks.  

(3) Supervision meetings must be no less than one hour, defined as no less than 50 minutes.  

(4) Supervision each month must total at least:  

(a) Two (2) hours for months in which 45 or fewer hours of direct client contact are completed; 
or  

(b) Three (3) hours for months in which 46 or more hours of direct client contact are completed.  

(5) In addition to all other reporting requirements, during the first three months of supervision:  

(a) At least 25% of the reported monthly supervision hours must be conducted in a professional 
setting, and in person.  

(b) Up to 75% of the reported monthly supervision hours may be conducted through confidential 
electronic communications.  

(6) For the remaining required supervision hours:  

(a) At least 25% of the remaining reported supervision hours must be conducted in a professional 
setting and in person;  

(b) Up to 75% of the remaining reported supervision hours may be conducted through 
confidential electronic communications.  

(7) At least 50% of the required number of monthly supervision hours must be individual 
supervision 1-to-1.  

(8) Group supervision must meet the following requirements at each meeting.  
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(a) Include no more than six (6) supervisees;  

(b) Have leadership that does not shift from one supervisor to another; and  

(c) Not be a staff or team meeting, intensive training seminar, discussion group, consultation 
session, or quality assurance or review group.  

(9) If in any month an intern does not receive the minimum supervision hours required, no client 
contact hours would be credited for that month.  

(10) Interns must take steps to ensure consistency in supervision throughout the internship. The 
intern must request approval from the Board to change supervisors more than three times during 
the internship and provide steps taken to ensure consistency when changing supervisors.  

(101) An approved plan for a single practice, such as private practice or employment by one 
agency offering services at one or more sites, may have no more than two supervisors at any 
given time.  

(12) The supervisor must:  

(a) Review and evaluate appropriateness of client population and caseload, individual charts, 
case records, and methodologies for keeping client confidentiality; and  

(b) Recommend that the intern to refer clients to other therapists when client needs are outside 
the intern’s scope of practice; and  

(13) The supervisor of interns, at the time of supervision must:  

(a) Be someone other than a spouse or relative by blood or marriage or a person with whom the 
intern has or had a personal relationship; and  

(b) Meet registered intern supervisor qualifications as required in OAR chapter 833, division 
130. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 
5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; BLPCT 2-2013, 
f. 8-7-13, cert. ef. 8-15-13 

833-050-0091  

Supervisor’s Responsibilitiesporting 

(1) The supervisor must:  
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(a) Review and evaluate appropriateness of client population and caseload, individual charts, 
case records and management, diagnostic evaluation and treatment planning, and methodologies 
for keeping client confidentiality. 

(b) Recommend that the intern refer clients to other therapists when client needs are outside the 
intern’s scope of practice. 

(c) Ensure that letterhead, business cards, advertisements and directory listings, brochures, and 
any other representation includes the appropriate title as described in OAR 833-050-0021(4) and 
the supervisor’s name and designation as “supervisor.” 

(d) Assist the intern in developing a plan to prepare for and complete the competency exam in a 
timely manner. 

(e) Notify the Board within 14 days and explain any significant interruption to supervision or 
expected termination of the supervisory relationship. 

(f) Create and maintain for at least three years a record of hours of supervision and notes for each 
supervision session contemporaneously as supervision occurs, and provide it to the Board within 
fourteen days of request. 

(g) Be someone other than a spouse or relative by blood or marriage or a person with whom the 
intern has or had a personal relationship. 

(h) Meet registered intern supervisor qualifications as required in OAR Chapter 833, Division 
130.  

(i1) The supervisor must sSubmit a written evaluation of the intern’s skills and progress every 
six months and at the conclusion of the plan. The report must include progress toward 
completion of the intern’s plan. Supervisors may report to the Board at any time deemed 
necessary. Reports must be submitted on forms provided by the Board;.  

(2) If a supervisor has professional or ethical concerns about a supervisee being licensed, the 
supervisor must promptly notify the Board and provide the following information:  

(a) Specific concerns regarding conduct or performance;  

(b) Steps taken to address the concerns;  

(c) A remedial action plan with measureable outcomes to address the concerns; and  

(d) The intern’s progress to address the concerns expressed by the supervisor.  

(3) The Board may take any or all of the following actions to address concerns about registered 
interns:  

laree
Text Box

laree
Line

laree
Text Box
NEW



OAR Ch. 833, Div. 050  9 

(a) Identify a new supervisor to work with the intern;  

(b) Require an assessment of the intern’s mental and/or physical health;  

(c) Require the intern to seek personal therapy;  

(d) Extend the internship;  

(e) Require additional training for the intern;  

(f) Place internship on hold; or  

(g) Deny the intern a license.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-050-0111  

Intern’s Responsibilitiesporting 

(1) The intern must: 

(a) Indicate registration and use the title "registered intern", "LPC intern", or "LMFT intern" in 
connection with a practice that is covered by an approved plan. All signed materials, letterhead, 
business cards, advertisements and directory listings, brochures, and any other representation 
must include the intern’s appropriate title and the supervisor’s name and designation as 
“supervisor”. 

(b) Take steps to ensure consistency in supervision throughout the internship. 

(c) Provide the supervisor with a periodic evaluation of all cases and counseling or therapy 
activities in which the intern is engaged. 

(d) Request approval from the Board to change supervisors more than three times during the 
internship and provide steps taken to ensure consistency when changing supervisors. 

(e) Ssubmit to the Board reports that include the hours of direct client contact accrued by month 
for the six-month period.  

(2A) Reports of direct client contact hours and supervisor evaluation are due in the month 
following each six-month reporting period.  

(3B) If the Board receives the report after the due date, all hours submitted in the report will be 
denied.  

laree
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(4C) The Board may consider exceptions to this rule with documentation of extraordinary 
circumstances.  

(f) Notify the Board within 14 days and explain any interruptions or proposed termination of 
supervision or employment.  

(2) The intern must submit a written request on a board approved form to the Board in order to 
change the intern plan. Approval of the following changes to the plan are required:  

(a) Supervision;  

(b) Employment;  

(c) Practice locations; and  

(d) Supervisor(s).  

(3) A registered intern who files a request to change the internship plan must meet Board 
requirements in place at the time of the change request. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-050-0121  

Changes to Intern Registration Plan 

(1) The intern must report any interruptions or proposed termination of supervision.  

(2) The intern must submit a written request on a board approved form to the Board in order to 
change the intern plan. Approval of the following changes to the plan are required:  

(a) Supervision;  

(b) Employment;  

(c) Practice locations; and  

(d) Supervisor(s).  

(3) A registered intern who files a request to change the internship plan must meet Board 
requirements in place at the time of the change request.  
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-050-0131  

Intern Registration Renewal 

(1) An Iintern must renew registration annually each year following initial registration.  within 
30 days of the intern’s annual renewal date.  Annual renewal date is due by the first day of the 
month of initial registration to be considered timely.  

(2) Registration renewal requires the intern to provide to the Board a renewal fee as established 
in OAR 833-070-0011, renewal forms, and an updated Professional Disclosure Statement if there 
have been changes.  

(3) Late Renewal.  An intern may renew a registration after the first day of the month but within 
the renewal month by, in addition to completing the requirement in section (2) above, submitting 
to the Board the required delinquent fee. If these are not timely submitted intern does not provide 
the required fee and documents within 30 days of renewal, then the internship will be expired. 
Expired interns must reapply pursuant to OAR 833-020-0071 in order to practice as an intern or 
be considered for licensure. 

(4) Renewal may be denied if any of the conditions of the plan are not being met.  

(5) Interns must renew registration annually until being granted a license or the expiration or 
denial of intern registration. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2014, f. & cert. ef. 6-11-14 

833-050-0141  

Placing Internship on Hold 

(1) Intern may request to place internship on hold for up to 90 days by submitting a written 
request to the board with explanation of need for being on hold.  

(2) Intern must notify the Board within 10 days, in writing, of a plan to return to practice.  

(3) If after 90 days, the intern does not submit a plan to return to practice, the internship will 
expire.  
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Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-050-0151  

Termination of Intern Registration Plan 

A registered intern may voluntarily resign registration. A resigned registration will constitute 
withdrawal of application for licensure.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-050-0161  

Current Information to Board 

(1) All registered interns must provide current contact information to the Board, including:  

(a) RPhysical residence address of location and post office box, if applicable;  

(b) Electronic mail address;  

(c) THome and work telephone numbers; and  

(d) An updated, current Professional Disclosure Statement being provided to clients as required 
above.  

(2) Intern must inform the Board office in writing of any changes to information within 30 days 
of the change.  

(3) Interns must submit a change of name form provided by the Board, accompanied by a copy 
of the legal document showing the name change, within 30 days of the change. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 60 

GRADUATE DEGREE STANDARDS 

 

833-060-0012  

Comparable Full Standards  

The Board shall determine which graduate degrees are comparable in content and quality to 
degrees from CACREP, COAMFTE, or CORE approved programs and consistent with the 
Board’s Code of Ethics. Degrees must meet the following standards. The degree was from an 
institution that:  

(1) Was a fully accredited member of one of the regional institutional accreditation bodies at the 
time the degree was granted;  

(2) Offered a minimum of a master's degree;  

(3) Was at least two years' duration and at least:  

(a) 48 semester credit hours or 72 quarter hours for graduate degrees granted before October 1, 
2014; or  

(b) 60 semester credit hours or 90 quarter credit hours for graduate degrees granted on or after 
October 1, 2014.  

(4) Included all coursework requirements set forth in OAR 833-060-0042 or 833-060-0052.  

(5) Included a required supervised clinical experience for all students of no less than:  

(a) 600 total clock hours to include 240 direct client contact hours, for graduate degrees granted 
before October 1, 2014; or  

(b) 700 total clock hours to include 280 direct client contact hours, for graduate degrees granted 
on or after October 1, 2014.  

(6) Facilitated a practicum and/or internship experience that:  

(a) Had supervisory staff with a minimum of a master's degree in the program emphasis and with 
pertinent professional experience;  

(b) Made provision for faculty monitoring of operations;  

laree
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(c) Kept records of student-client contact hours including summary of student progress by the 
supervisor;  

(d) Had a written agreement with the program and student specifying learning objectives; and  

(e) Had a mechanism for program evaluation.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 
6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11; BLPCT 2-2012, f. 9-5-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12; BLPCT 3-
2013(Temp), f. 10-7-13, cert. ef. 10-8-13 thru 3-31-14; BLPCT 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-8-14 

833-060-0022  

Majority Standards for Graduate Degrees 

Pursuant to ORS 675.715(1)(d), a graduate degree will meet a majority of the Board's standards 
if issued by a degree granting program that:  

(1) Was from a regionally accredited institution that provided training in counseling or marriage 
and family therapy;  

(2) Offered a minimum of a master's degree;  

(3) Was at least two years in duration:  

(4) Included coursework requirements for the degree as set forth in OAR 833-060-0042 or 833-
060-0052; and  

(5) Included a degree-required practicum/clinical experience with on-site supervisors having 
competence in counseling or marriage and family therapy and field supervision.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-060-0032  

Additional Graduate Training to Supplement Degree Program  

(1) Training used to supplement a degree program pursuant to OAR 833-060-0022 must be taken 
and successfully completed for graduate credit at an accredited college or university.  

(2) To fulfill the requirements for the clinical/applied experience, the applicant must complete a 
supervised clinical experience of no less than 700 clock hours.  
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(3) The requirement for a graduate program clinical experience may be waived if:  

(a) The applicant has at least five years of full-time post-degree experience; and  

(b) For marriage and family therapy degrees, the majority of clinical experience consisted of 
work in relationship issues.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-060-0042  

Standards for LPC Coursework 

(1) For counseling degrees leading to a professional counselor license, based on a minimum of 
72 quarter or 48 semester hours:  

(a) Counseling Theory, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(b) Human Growth and Development, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(c) Social and Cultural Foundations, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(d) The Helping Relationship, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(e) Group Dynamics Processing and Counseling, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(f) Lifestyle and Career Development, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(g) Diagnosis and Appraisal of Individuals, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(h) Research and Evaluation, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(i) Professional Orientation, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(j) Clinical/Applied Experience of at least 600 clock hours; and  

(k) Supporting Coursework for Specialty Areas, 24–33 quarter hours/16–22 semester hours.  

(2) The curriculum standards for counseling degrees leading to a professional counselor license, 
based on a minimum of 90 quarter or 60 semester hours:  

(a) Counseling Theory, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(b) Human Growth and Development, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  
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(c) Social and Cultural Diversity Studies, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(d) The Helping Relationship, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(e) Group Dynamics Processing and Counseling, three quarter hours/two semester hours; 

(f) Lifestyle and Career Development, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(g) Diagnosis and Assessment of Individuals, three quarter hours/two semester hours; 

(h) Research and Evaluation, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(i) Professional Orientation and Ethical Practice studies including roles and responsibilities 
within the profession and in the community, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  

(j) Clinical/Applied Experience, of at least:  

(A) 600 total clock hours to include 240 direct client contact hours, for graduate degrees granted 
before October 1, 2014; or  

(B) 700 total clock hours to include 280 direct client contact hours, for graduate degrees granted 
on or after October 1, 2014; and  

(k) Supporting Coursework for Specialty Areas, 24 quarter hours/16 semester hours.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-060-0052  

Standards for LMFT Coursework 

(1) An applicant with a qualifying graduate degree granted before October 1, 2014, must have 
completed at least 48 semester or 72 quarter hours.  

(2) An applicant with a qualifying graduate degree granted on or after October 1, 2014, must 
have completed at least 60 semester or 90 quarter hours.  

(3) For marriage and family therapy degrees leading to a marriage and family therapist license, 
based on 72 quarter or 48 semester hours:  

(a) Human Development, six quarter hours/four semester hours;  

(b) Marital and Family Theoretical Foundation Studies, three quarter hours/two semester hours;  
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(c) Marital and Family Therapy Diagnosis and Assessment, Treatment, Principles and 
Techniques Studies, 12 quarter hours/8 semester hours; 

(d) Professional Studies, three quarter hours/two semester hours; 

(e) Research Methods or Statistics, three quarter hours/two semester hours; 

(f) Clinical/Applied Experience of at least 600 clock hours; and 

(g) Supporting Coursework Focusing on the Systems Paradigm for Specialty Areas, 24-33 
quarter hours/16-22 semester hours. 

(4) The curriculum standards for degrees meeting requirements for a marriage and family 
therapist license, based on 90 quarter or 60 semester hours: 

(a) Individual and Family Development -- 6 quarter hours/4 semester hours; 

(b) Couple and Family Theoretical Foundation Studies -- 9 quarter hours/6 semester hours; 

(c) Couple and Family Therapy, Treatment, and Techniques Studies -- 9 quarter hours/6 semester 
hours; 

(d) Diagnosis of mental disorders -- 3 quarter/2 semester hours; 

(e) Diversity studies that include issues related to diversity, power and privilege -- 3 quarter/2 
semester credit hours 

(f) Ethical and Professional Studies -- 3 quarter hours/2 semester hours; 

(g) Research Methods or Statistics -- 3 quarter hours/2 semester hours; 

(h) Clinical/applied experience, including practicum, of at least 700 clock hours with 280 hours 
of direct client contact; and 

(j) Supporting coursework focusing on counseling and/or systems approaches -- 54 quarter/36 
semester hours. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 
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Applicants with degrees from universities outside the United States must submit a degree 
equivalency analysis conducted by an organization accepted by the board. The applicant will pay 
the cost of the analysis. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.150 - 676.405 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.150 - 676.405 
Hist.: BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11 

833-060-0062 

Foreign Degrees 
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 70 

FEES 

833-070-0011 

Fees 

Fees established by the Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists are as 
follows:  

(1) Application for licensure:  

(a) Without criminal background check — $175; or  

(b) With applicants are also required to pay the actual cost to the Board to conduct a criminal 
background check — $222.25.  

(2) Initial license — $125.  

(3) Annual renewal of license: in accordance with OAR 833-120-0011.  

(a) Without criminal background checkActive status license — $125; or  

(b) With criminal background checkInactive status license — $10072.25.  

(4) Restoration fees:  

(a) Delinquent fee for late renewals— $50; 

(b) Reactivation of inactive status license— $125.  

(5) Examination:  

(a) For professional counselor license — Candidates will pay exam and exam administration fees 
to the prescribed examination providers.  

(b) For marriage and family therapist license — Candidates will pay exam and exam 
administration fees to the prescribed examination providers.  

(6) Duplicate license or certificate of licensure — $5.  

(7) Verification of licensure or examination scores for applicant or licensee to other licensing or 
certifying agencies — $10.  
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(8) Annual renewal of registration as intern in accordance with OAR 833-120-0011  

(a) Without criminal background check — $80; or  

(b) With criminal background check — $127.25.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2010(Temp), f. 1-8-10, cert. ef. 1-11-10 
thru 7-9-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10; BLPCT 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 10-2-15  

833-070-0021  

Fee Refunds 

Fees are nonrefundable, except that Ooverpayment of fees or fees submitted as part of 
application before required will be refunded.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-070-0031  

Availability of Public Records 

(1) Members of the public may review all Board documents that are public records other than 
those records that need not be disclosed under law. These documents are on file in the Board's 
office during regular working hours. Copies of public records are available to the public upon 
request. Charges for records will be payable in advance or when the materials are received.  

(2) Copies of documents: $.25 per page.  

(3) Documents and other materials will be provided at a fee reasonably calculated to reimburse 
the Board for actual costs incurred in making records available to the public.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 75 

GENERAL LICENSURE PROVISIONS 

833-075-0010 

Effective and Expiration Dates of Licenses 

(1) Initial licenses will be effective for no more than one year, expiring on the last day of 
licensee’s birth month.  

(2) Date of issue will be the date all qualifications for licensure are met.  

(3) Licenses will not be issued without payment of the required initial license or renewal fees.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.:  

833-075-0020  

License Renewal/Late Renewal 

(1) Before the Board will renew a license, a licensee must, no more than 45 days before or during 
the renewal month:  

(a) Submit a completed renewal form provided by the Board which will include responses to all 
character and fitness questions and a sworn statement that there is no reason for denial of 
renewal; 

(b) Pay the appropriate renewal fee;  

(c) Submit continuing education information detailing compliance with the requirements, if 
applicable;  

(d) Submit an updated professional disclosure statement, if there have been changes or if renewal 
information indicates that the one on file with the Board contains false, incomplete, outdated or 
misleading information; and 

(e) Complete the required healthcare workforce data survey and pay the fee established by the 
Oregon Health Authority pursuant to ORS 676.410. 

laree
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(2) Late Renewal.  A licensee may renew a license in the month following the renewal month by, 
in addition to completing the requirements of section (1) above, submitting to the Board the 
required delinquent fee.  If these are not timely submitted, then the license shall lapse. 

(3) The licensee holds the burden of proof of submission of the items required for renewal.  
Failure to receive a courtesy reminder from the Board shall not relieve a licensee of the renewal 
requirements and consequences. 

(4) The Board shall have discretion to waive the delinquent fee in cases of documented hardship. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.:  

833-075-0030 

Inactive Status 

(1) Inactive status may be granted to licensees who have made a request in writing to the Board. 
Inactive licensees may not practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in the 
State of Oregon, and are required to reactivate to active status in order to practice.  

(2) To reactivate a license from inactive status to active status, the licensee shall submit a written 
request and fee to the Board. 

(a) The licensee must document completion of continuing education activities which at a 
minimum meet the requirements described in OAR Chapter 833, Division 80 within the 24 
month period immediately preceding the requested date of reactivation. 

(b) If the license reactivation is to occur more than five years after inactive status was granted, 
the Board will not reactivate the license until the licensee retakes the Oregon law and rules exam 
and obtains a passing score;  

(c) The residual continuing education requirements from the date of reactivation to the end of the 
reporting period shall be calculated on a prorated basis.   

Stat. Auth.: 
Stats. Implemented: 
Hist.: 
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833-075-0040 

Duplicate Licenses 

(1) Duplicate licenses or certificates may be obtained by: 

(a) Certifying, by signed statement, that the current license or certificate has been lost or 
destroyed; or  

(b) Requesting a duplicate for additional place(s) of business; 

(c) In either case, payment of the required fee. 

(2) Reproduction of a license or certificate by anyone other than Board staff for use as a license 
document or for display is prohibited. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.:   

833-075-0050 

Licensee Professional Disclosure Statement 

(1) To be approved by the Board, the professional disclosure statement shall include the 
following information required by this section and ORS 675.755:  

(a) The name, address and telephone number of the business; 

(b) Philosophy and approach to counseling or marriage and family therapy, including reference 
to any codes of standards or ethics to which the licensee subscribes;  

(c) A statement indicating adherence to the Oregon Licensing Board's Code of Ethics set forth in 
OAR chapter 833, division 100;  

(d) The bill of rights of clients listed in OAR 833, division 100, Code of Ethics; 

(e) Formal education and training, title of highest relevant degree earned, school granting degree, 
and major coursework;  

(f) Oregon licensure requirements for continuing education and supervision, as well as any 
significant post-degree work relating to professional practice;  

(g) The standard fee for service, including discounted rates or sliding scale and a statement that 
no fees will be charged and no additional fee will be added to another set fee such as a hospital 
room daily charge;   



OAR Ch. 833, Div. 075  4 

(h) A statement indicating the following: “Additional information about this counselor or 
therapist is available on the Board’s website: www.oregon.gov/oblpct”; and     

(i) The Board’s name, address, telephone number, and email address.  

(2) Prior to providing services, licensees must provide each client with a professional disclosure 
statement consistent with the content and in a format as specified in section (1).  

(3) Licensees must make a reasonable effort to assist the client to understand the information 
presented in the disclosure statement as required by the Code of Ethics.  

(4) The professional disclosure statement must be accessible to people with disabilities. 

(5) Exemptions to the professional disclosure statement requirements set forth in ORS 675.755 
include:  

(a) Applicants for licensure not practicing professional counseling or marriage and family 
therapy in Oregon, except those seeking registration as an intern;  

(b) Licensees on inactive status or not practicing professional counseling or marriage and family 
therapy in Oregon;  

(c) Licensees providing crisis response; and  

(d) Licensees who have submitted a written request and can satisfy the Board that there is good 
cause to be exempt from specific requirements, and have received written exemption from the 
Board.  

(6) If the licensee fails to provide the statement, the licensee may not charge the client a fee for 
services.  

(7) Whenever a licensee changes a professional disclosure statement, the new statement must be 
presented to the Board for approval.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.755 & 675.785  
Hist.:  

833-075-0060  

Current Information to Board 

(1) All licensees must provide current contact information to the Board, including:  

(a) Physical residence address and post office box, if applicable;  

(b) Electronic mail address;  
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(c) Home and work telephone numbers; and 

(d) An updated, current Professional Disclosure Statement being provided to clients.  

(2) Licensees must inform the Board office in writing of any changes to information within 30 
days of the change.  

(3) Licensees must submit a change of name form provided by the Board, accompanied by a 
copy of the legal document showing the name change, within 30 days of the change. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.755 & 675.785 
Hist.:  

833-075-0070  

Client Records  

(1) A licensed professional counselor and licensed marriage family therapist or registered intern 
must:  

(a) Maintain client records for each client;  

(b) Ensure that client records are legible;  

(c) Keep records in a secure, safe, and retrievable condition; and  

(d) Notify the Board if client records have been destroyed or lost.  

(2) At a minimum, client records should be recorded concurrently with the services provided and 
must include:  

(a) A formal or informal assessment of the client;  

(b) Counseling goals or objectives; and  

(c) Progress notes of therapy or counseling sessions.  

(3) A licensee must retain client records for at least seven years from the date of the last session 
with the client.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Hist.:  

laree
Text Box
NEW

laree
Line



OAR Ch. 833, Div. 075  6 

833-075-0080  

Custodian of Record  

(1) A licensee or registered intern must:  

(a) Arrange for the maintenance of and access to client records that ensure the client’s right to 
confidentiality and access to records in the event of the death or incapacity of the licensee;  

(b) Register with the Board the name and contact information of a custodian of record that will 
have case files and can make necessary referrals if licensee becomes incapacitated or dies; and  

(c) Notify the Board of changes of the custodian of record.  

(2) If the licensee or registered intern is an employee of an organization, the organization may be 
named as the custodian of record.  

(3) The Board will not release the name of the custodian of record except in the following cases:  

(a) The death or incapacity of the licensee; or  

(b) When a client is unable to locate the licensee.  

(4) A custodian of record under this rule must be a licensed mental health professional licensed 
under Oregon law, a licensed medical professional, a health care or mental health organization, 
an attorney, a school, or a medical records company.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Hist.:  

833-075-0090 

Representation of Credentials 

A person may not use the title of “licensed professional counselor” or “licensed marriage and 
family therapist,” including the abbreviations “LPC” and “LMFT,” unless the person holds a 
current license issued by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835  
Hist.:  
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 80 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

833-080-0011  

Continuing Education 

Licensees must complete approved continuing education and report the hours to the Board on 
even numbered years as a condition of license renewal.  

(1) “Reporting period” means the 24-month period between license renewals that occur in even 
numbered years. 

(2) A "clock hour" for continuing education means one hour spent in a program meeting the 
requirements for continuing education. Clock hours exclude refreshment breaks, receptions and 
other social gatherings, and meals that do not include an approved program. 

(3) Licensees must complete at least 40 continuing education clock hours within each reporting 
period.  

(14) New Llicensees: 

(a) There is no continuing education reporting required for individuals licensed who receive their 
initial license less than 12 months on their first even numbered year renewal datebefore the 
continuing education reporting date will not be required to report continuing education.  

(2b) Licensees who receive their initial licenses Individuals licensed between 12 and 23 months 
before the continuing education reporting on their first even numbered year renewal date must 
report at least 20 clock hours of continuing education.  

(3c) Licensees who receive their initial licensesIndividuals licensed 24 or more months before 
the continuing education reporting on their first even numbered year renewal date must report at 
least 40 clock hours of continuing education. 

(5) There is no continuing education reporting required for licensees on or changing to inactive 
status. 

(6) Licensees’ continuing education must include six clock hours of training in professional 
ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of professional 
counseling or marriage and family therapy within each reporting period. 
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(7) For licensees who supervise registered interns, including all licensees on the Supervisor 
Registry, licensees’ continuing education must include three clock hours of supervision-related 
training within each reporting period. 

(8) For renewal periods beginning January 1, 2017 and later, licensees’ continuing education 
must include four clock hours of training in cultural competency within each reporting period. 

(4) A "clock hour" for continuing education means one hour spent in a program meeting the 
requirements for continuing education. Clock hours exclude refreshment breaks, receptions and 
other social gatherings, and meals that do not include an approved program.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2012, f. 9-5-12, cert. ef. 10-1-12  

833-080-0021  

Continuing Education Waiver 

(1) Licensees may request a waiver for meeting the continuing education requirements by 
submitting a written request on forms provided by the Board.  

(2) The Board may approve requests for waivers fromgrant exemptions in whole or in part, 
including extension of deadlines, to licensees who cannot timely attend the required hours of 
training because of a documented medical condition. The licensee must include the following 
information as part of the request.  

(a) The rationale for a waiver;  

(b) The nature of the illness or disability;  

(c) The time period the waiver would cover;  

(d) A statement as to how the condition prevents participation in continuing education;  

(e) Signature by the licensee or legal representative; and  

(f) Signed statement from a recognized medicalhealthcare practitioner who is licensed or 
certified by the state to provide services.  

(3) The Board may approve requests for waivers from licensees who do not plan to practice for 
an extended period of time. The licensee must include the following information as part of the 
request.  

(a) The rationale for a waiver;  

(b) The time period the waiver would cover; and  
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(c) Signature by the licensee or legal representative.   

(3) The Board will notify the licensee requesting a waiver in writing whether the request is 
approved.  

(4) Following a contractual agreement with the Board that the licensee will not be practicing 
counseling or marriage and family therapy for an extended period of time because the licensee is 
retired; on maternity leave; or voluntarily not working; and that the licensee will not resume 
practice without a Board-approved plan for participating in 20 clock hours of continuing 
education or clinical supervision.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-080-0031  

Continuing Education Content 

Policy. Acceptable cContinuing education must be a learning activity that contributes directly to 
the professional competence of the licensee. 

(1) Continuing education content must focus on increasing knowledge and/or skills in the 
following substantive areas relevant to the field:  

(a) Counseling or marriage and family therapy theory & techniques;  

(b) Human development and family studies;  

(c) Social and cultural foundations in counseling or marriage and family therapy;  

(d) The helping relationship;  

(e) Group dynamics;  

(f) Life style and career development;  

(g) DSM diagnosis and assessment;  

(h) Research and evaluation;  

(i) Professional orientation and ethics;  

(j) Professional supervision training;  

(k) Disability and life transitions;  
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(l) Substance abuse;  

(m) Psychopharmacology;  

(n) Diagnosis and treatment of mental health disorders.  

(2) The program must be conducted by a qualified instructor or discussion leader, which means a 
person whose background, training, education, or experience makes it appropriate for the person 
to make a presentation or lead a discussion on the subject matter. 

(3) A record of attendance, such as a certificate of completion, must be obtained. 

(2) Six clock hours of continuing education in ethics is required each reporting period.   

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-080-0041  

Methods of Obtaining Hours 

(1) Approvable continuing education credits may be obtained in the following ways:  

(a) Continuing education activities with no limits on clock hourscontinuing education units:  

(A) Attending college or university courses -- 15 clock hours per semester credit and 10 clock 
hours per quarter credit.  

(B) Live Sseminars, workshops, conferences and/or trainings. may be “live” or offered through 
distance learning technology. Distance learning trainings must be offered or approved by a 
provider acceptable to the Board e.g., NBCC.  

(C) Home study from approved providers must be offered or approved by a provider acceptable 
to the Board e.g., NBCC.  

(C) Service as an Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists member or 
committee volunteer. 

(b) Continuing education activities for which youlicensees can obtain a maximum of 20 
continuing education unitsclock hours within a two year reporting period:  

(A) Publication activities include:  

(i) Five credits per article or review in a refereed journal that is directly related to counseling;  

(ii) Five credits per chapter in edited books, 20 credits for authorship of an entire book;  
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(iii) Five credits per 30 minutes of initial video production directly related to counseling;  

(iv) Five credits for reviewing a book proposal; and  

(v) Five credits for each year of service on an editorial board of a professional counseling 
journal.  

(B) Professional presentations. Credit is given for the initial research and development of a 
professional presentation. No credit shall be allowed for repeat presentations unless it is 
demonstrated that the program content was substantially changed and such change required 
significant additional study or research. The number of credits given is twice the number of 
hours spent making the presentation; 

(C) Home study (distance learning), including internet and tele-courses.  

(cC) Leadership in the profession -- Continuing education activities for which licensees can 
obtain a maximum of 10 credits aclock hours within a two year for the following reporting 
period:  

(Ai) Serving as an officer of a state or national counseling organization;  

(Bii) Serving as a member of a state counseling/therapy licensing board or national certification 
board; or  

(Ciii) Chairing a national counseling conference or convention; or. 

(D2) Receiving supervision for a fee. One credit/one clock hour for supervision received from a 
supervisor who meets the Board’s standards on supervision, for a maximum of 10 continuing 
education activities within a two year period. Credit shall only be given to the licensee receiving 
supervision, not to a licensee providing supervision.  No credit shall be given to licensees 
receiving supervision to fulfill licensure or discipline requirements. 

(32) An approvable continuing education program is one designed and offered by an agency or 
institution that is recognized as an approved provider of continuing education units, e.g., NBCC-
approved programs, to include:  

(a) Academic courses offered in accredited degree counseling or marriage and family therapy 
programs;  

(b) Presentations sponsored by counseling related departments of accredited educational 
institutions; national, regional, state, or local professional organizations or associations; public or 
private human services agencies or organizations; or individuals that meet all of the following 
approved provider guidelines:  
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(A) Program is presented by competent individuals as documented by appropriate academic 
training, professional licensure or certification, or professionally recognized experience. 
Presenters should have an identifiable involvement with human services;  

(B) Program meets the professional needs of the licensee’s intended clientele;  

(C) Program has a minimum duration of one clock hour;  

(D) Except for non-classroom distance learning, program is offered in a place which is accessible 
to persons with disabilities;  

(E) Distance learning program includes mechanism for evaluation, measurement, or confirmation 
of exchange of information; and  

(F) Programs approved by organizations such as: National Association of Social Workers, 
National Board for Certified Counselors, Oregon Psychological Association, Commission on 
Rehabilitation Counselor Certification, Art Therapy Credentials Board, American Art Therapy 
Association, American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, Commission of 
Rehabilitation Counselor Certification, and American Counseling Association.  

(c) Content of programs are consistent with OAR 833-080-0031.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-080-0051  

Documentation and Submission of Continuing Education 

(1) Licensees must certify to the Board, at the time of annual renewal on even-numbered years, 
that the continuing education requirements were met by providing a summary list of continuing 
education activities/courses as described in OAR 833-080-0041.  

(2) Licensees must maintain documentation as proof that the licensee has satisfied the continuing 
professional education requirements for a minimum of two years after the reporting period. and, 
iIf requested by the Board, licensees will make themcontinuing education records available for 
inspection.  

(3) Responsibility for documenting the acceptability of the program and the validity of credit 
rests with the licensee. Documentation must include proof of actual attendance, participation, 
certification, or completion as well as content, duration, and if relevant, provider as follows such 
as:  

(a) For college or university courses: Academic copy of a transcripts showing satisfactory 
completion of the course;  
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(b) For seminars, workshops, conferences, trainings, or home study: Dated certificates (originals 
or copies) of completion of training;  

(c) Program/activity descriptions, including (but not limited to) written verification of 
professional services, copies of published works or other proof of publication, letter from 
president/director of organization in which professional activity was conducted; and  

(d) Signed statement of professional supervision by the individual providing the supervision.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10  

833-080-0061  

Continuing Education Audit and Penalties 

(1) The Board will conduct an audit of the records of randomly selected licensees to verify actual 
participation, completion, and compliance with standards for content and providers of approved 
continuing professional education. Failure to maintain or document actual completion of 
continuing professional education activities claimed, failure to make such records available to 
the Board for inspection, or falsification of reports may result in disciplinary action by the Board. 
Audited licensees hold the burden of proof of mailing. 

(2) LA licensees selected for participating in the continuing education audit whose hours are 
deficient, including a licensee’s failure to submit complete documentation, is subject to 
disciplinary action, to include but not limited to the following sanctionsthat are unable to 
satisfactorily document that they completed training meeting the standards set forth in OAR 833-
080-0041 will be assessed a civil penalty as follows:  

(a) Persons successfully documenting 31-39 hours -- $250;  

(b) Persons successfully documenting 21-30 hours -- $500;  

(c) Persons successfully documenting 11-20 hours -- $750;  

(d) Persons successfully documenting 10 or fewer hours -- $1,000.  

(3) The civil penalty may not be paid in lieu of training.  

(4) Failure to document required hours, or certifying programs or supervision not meeting 
approval requirements will result in non-renewal or, in the case of discovery after renewal, 
possible suspension of license.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10 
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 110 

COMPLIANCE 

833-110-0011  

Response to Complaints 

(1) Charges or information,The Board will review and accept for consideration a complaint filed 
by any person, group of persons, or the Board on its own action that is specific as to the conduct 
upon which the complaint is based.  A complaint will be rejected if it does not allege a violation 
for which the Board has the grounds to impose sanctions pursuant to ORS 675.745 or 675.825. 

(2) A complaint that a counselor or therapist, licensee, registered intern or applicant for licensure 
is incompetent or has committed an act or acts in violation of ORS 675.745, 675.755, or 675.765, 
the licensingthe law or rules adopted by the Board including the Code of Ethics will be 
considered a complaint of professional misconduct.  A complaint that an unlicensed person has 
practiced or used a title in violation of ORS 675.825 will be considered a complaint of 
unlicensed practice. 

(2) Charges or information, filed by any person, group of persons, or the Board on its own action 
that a person who does not hold a valid license issued under ORS 675.715 is or has indicated 
state licensure as a professional counselor or marriage and family therapist will be considered a 
complaint of title violation.  

(3) The Board will make forms available to the public and encourage complainants to use the 
Board's investigation request form. If a complaint is first made in verbal form, or does not 
contain information substantially equivalent to the Board’s form, then the Board’s representative 
may require the complainant to use the Board’s form to initiate an investigation.  If the 
complainant is a client or former client of the respondent, then the complainant should sign a 
release form allowing the Board and its legal counsel access to records and other materials that 
are the ethical and legal responsibility of the respondent.  Refusal by a complainant to comply 
with this requirement may result in dismissal of the complaint.However, the complaint may be 
filed in any format, written or oral as long as it:  

(a) Is filed at the Board office;  

(b) Includes a first and last name of the counselor or therapist who is the subject of the 
complaint; and  

(c) Indicates incompetence, or action that may be considered misconduct or violation of the law 
or rules administered by the Board.  
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(4) Upon receipt of a valid complaint, a complaint file will be opened. The complaint will be 
immediately assigned to a delegated representative who will conduct a A preliminary 
investigation or review will be conducted toand determine if additional investigation and the 
assignment of additional investigators is necessary, or whether to file a report with the Board 
recommending the complaint be dismissed without further action.  If additional investigation is 
deemed necessary, then  

(5) Additional investigators will be assigned by a delegated representative of the Board and the 
subject of the complaint will be notified that he/she is under investigation and provided with 
general information regarding the allegationsnature of his/her conduct that is being investigated. 
Notification may request a written response.  

(5) Licensees and applicants must Failure to cooperate with Board representatives during an 
investigations constitutes unprofessional conduct which may subject a licensee, intern or 
applicant to disciplinary action.  Cooperation includes: 

(a) Submitting client records to the Board’s representative, with or without a signed release by 
the client, for a full investigation of the allegations;  

(b) Sending a complete case file to the Board’s representative;  

(c) Being available for a personal interview with the Board’s representative; and  

(d) Responding to questions presented by the Board’s representative.  

(6) The Board may delay approving a licensure application or issuing an intern registration or 
license until a complaint has been resolved. 

(76) The investigator shall collect evidence and interview witnesses.  At the conclusion of the 
investigation, a report will be filed with the Board in accordance with the timelines and 
procedures outlined in ORS 676.1650–676.180. The report will clearly set forth the issues on 
which the Board should consider possible action.:  

(a) Describe evidence, summarize witness interviews, and present any disciplinary history with 
the Board; and  

(b) Be submitted within 120 days from the date the complaint was filed, unless a 30-day 
extension or subsequent 30-day extensions were granted by a delegate of the Board for just 
cause, which may include but not be limited to complexity of case, location of evidence or 
witnesses, unavailability of witnesses, number of other pending actions involving 
licensee/applicant that affect ability to obtain evidence, ability of investigator to accomplish task 
due to workload, health, work schedule, or previous personal commitments, end of appointment, 
termination of employment or contract, or legal actions.  

(7) Following review of the investigation report, the Board may dismiss the complaint, issue a 
warning, propose disciplinary action, propose non-disciplinary action, negotiate a stipulated 
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agreement in lieu of hearing, default, or disciplinary action. Board discussions will be in 
executive session, closed to the public. Decisions as to action will be voted upon during a public 
meeting, but case numbers will be used. Decisions to propose disciplinary action, suspension, 
revocation, or denial of license, will be made known to the public if adopted by a majority vote 
of the Board. A notice of intent to propose disciplinary action with opportunity for hearing will 
be issued by the Board Administrator and served upon the applicant or licensee, and may be 
provided to the complainant.  

(8) The Board will maintain written procedures for handling complaints, which will be available 
through the Board office.  

(9) Complaint and information gathered by investigation into licensee or applicant competency 
or conduct will be kept confidential in accordance with ORS 676.1605–676.180. The Board must 
not reveal when a complaint has been filed nor identify the identity of the person or persons 
filing the complaint. Only information included in the notice to take disciplinary action voted by 
a majority of the Board and the final order or stipulated agreement will be available to the public.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 3-2010, f. 4-30-10, cert. ef. 5-3-10  

833-110-0021  

Complaint DispositionDisciplinary Action 

(1) Following review of the investigation report, the Board may: 

(a) Dismiss the complaint; 

(b) Continue the investigation; 

(c) Issue a notice of proposed action;  

(d) Propose non-disciplinary action; or 

(e) Negotiate a stipulated agreement in lieu of hearing, default, or disciplinary action.  

(2) Board discussions will be held in executive session, closed to the public. Decisions as to 
action will be voted upon during a public meeting, but case numbers will be used. Decisions to 
propose enforcement action will be made known to the public if adopted by a majority vote of 
the Board. A notice of intent to propose enforcement action with opportunity for hearing will be 
issued by the Board Administrator and served upon the applicant or licensee, and may be 
provided to the complainant. 
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(1) The Board will initiate disciplinary actions for failure to meet professional conduct and 
practice standards, or violation of the licensing law or rules when it determines probable cause 
of:  

(a) Failure to meet the standards requirements for continuation of licensure that are unlikely to 
harm clients or the public;  

(b) Professional misconduct or incompetence capable of causing or resulting in harm to a client 
or the public; and  

(c) Title violation.  

(2) Proposed disciplinary actions include, but are not limited to:  

(a) Suspension or revocation of licensure;  

(b) Refusal to issue or renew a license;  

(c) Civil penalty of up to $2,500 per occurrence for violation; and  

(d) Reprimand, probation, probation with specific conditions.  

(3) Negotiated disciplinary actions include, but are not limited to, letter of reprimand, limited 
suspension, probation, limited practice, education, enrollment in an impaired professional 
program, rehabilitation, supervision, therapy, payment of disciplinary costs or civil penalties, or 
any combination thereof.  

(4) Non-disciplinary actions include, but are not limited to, letter of concern or voluntary 
diversion.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11  
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 120 

CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECKS 

833-120-0011  

Purpose and Scope  

(1) The purpose of these rules, OAR 833-120-0011 to 833-120-0041, is to provide for the 
screening under ORS 181A.195181.534 of licensees, registered interns, and applicants for 
licensure with the Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists to 
determine if they have a history of criminal behavior such that they would be unable to, or 
should not be allowed to, perform the services of a Licensed Professional Counselor or Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapist. 

(2) The following persons (“subject individuals”) must take the steps necessary to complete a 
nationwide criminal history check under ORS 181A.195181.534:  

(a) All applicants person who, on or after January 1, 2010, submits an application for licensure to 
the Board in accordance with OAR 833 Division 20; and 

(b) A licensee or registered intern who is the subject of inquiry or investigation by the Board. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 181.534, 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 181.534, 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-13-11, cert. ef. 5-15-11 
thru 11-10-11; Administrative correction 11-18-11; BLPCT 3-2011, f. 12-3-11, cert. ef. 12-15-
11; BLPCT 4-2016, f. & cert. ef. 4-1-16. 

833-120-0021   

Procedural Requirements 

(1) To complete a criminal history check, the Board will require each subject individualperson 
to: 

(a) Provide fingerprints pursuant to ORS 181A.170 on a standard Federal Bureau of 
Investigations (FBI) fingerprint card (additional fingerprints may be required if the initial 
fingerprints card is  are rejected by State Police or the FBI);  

(A) Fingerprints must have been taken not more than 60 days prior to submission to the Board.  

(B) Licensees and registered interns must submit fingerprints by their renewal date.  
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(b) Provide personal information necessary to obtain the criminal history check pursuant to OAR 
125-007-0220; and  

(c) Pay $47.25 to the board the actual for costs charged by the Oregon State Police (OSP) and the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).  

(2) The Board may also request, and the applicant, licensee, or registered intern mustwill 
provide, the following information:  

(a) Responses to a criminal history questionnaire; and  

(b) Written response to questions by the Board regarding the person’s criminal history.  

(3) Exceptions. In lieu of completing a new criminal history check, a licensee, registered intern, 
or applicant may submit verification of a fingerprint-based, national criminal history check 
conducted within one year of the person’s application or renewal date by a Board approved 
agency. 

(3) The Board will make a final fitness determination based on criminal offender information and 
other factors, pursuant to ORS 181A.195(10)(d) and OAR 125-007-0260 to 125-007-0270. 

(4) A subject individual may contest an adverse final fitness determination pursuant to OAR 125-
007-0300. 

(5) If a subject individual refuses to consent to the criminal records check or refuses to be 
fingerprinted, the Board will deny the licensure application or revoke the license. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-13-11, cert. ef. 5-15-11 
thru 11-10-11; Administrative correction 11-18-11; BLPCT 3-2011, f. 12-3-11, cert. ef. 12-15-11  

833-120-0031  

Information Considered 

(1) In reviewing the information obtained from a criminal history check, the Board will consider 
the following circumstances related to any criminal conviction, indictment, or pending 
indictment, arrest, and related information: 

(a) The nature of the crime of which the person has been convicted, indicted, or arrested;  

(b) The facts that support the conviction, indictment, or arrest;  

(c) The relevancy to the specific requirements of the person’s position as a licensee or applicant;  
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(d) The passage of time since the commission of the crime;  

(e) The age of the person at the time of the crime;  

(f) The likelihood of a repetition of an offense or of the commission of another crime;  

(g) Whether the person accepts responsibility for past actions;  

(h) The commission of other relevant crimes;  

(i) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of setting aside the conviction;  

(j) A recommendation from an employer who employed the person after the conviction;  

(k) Charges, arrests, and other behavior involving contact with law enforcement;  

(l) Periods of incarceration;  

(m) Compliance with parole, post-prison supervision, or probation;  

(n) Drug or alcohol issues related to criminal activity including history of use, manufacturing, 
delivery, treatment, rehabilitation, and relapse;  

(o) Other treatment or rehabilitation related to criminal activity includes assessments, 
evaluations, and risk assessments conducted before, after, or during treatment or rehabilitation;  

(p) Protective services investigations or abuse and neglect reports;  

(q) Local or national healthcare practitioner databases; and  

(r) Previous complaints and investigations on file with the Board or any other licensing or 
professional oversight authority.  

(2) False or misleading statements, or omissions made for the purpose of misleading the Board 
are grounds for denial of an application for licensure, refusal to renew a license or registered 
internship, or disciplinary action authorized under ORS 675.785.  

(3) A refusal to submit or consent to a criminal records check including fingerprint identification 
will result in disciplinary action as mandated by ORS 181.534. In the case of such a refusal by an 
applicant, the Board will consider the application incomplete and the application will be denied.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-13-11, cert. ef. 5-15-11 
thru 11-10-11; Administrative correction 11-18-11; BLPCT 3-2011, f. 12-3-11, cert. ef. 12-15-11  
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833-120-0041  

Record Keeping and Confidentiality 

(1) Information obtained by the board in carrying out its responsibilities under this rule is 
considered part of an investigation and Criminal offender information is confidential under ORS 
181A.195(11) and 676.175 and OAR 125-007-0310, and will not be disseminated by the Board 
except to persons with a demonstrated and legitimate need to know the information, including:. 

(a) The subject of a fingerprint-based criminal history check may be provided a copy of the 
results, if requested in writing prior to the completion of the criminal history check process; and  

(b) Criminal history information may be used as exhibits during a contested case hearing 
process. 

(2) Information obtained directly from the Law Enforcement Data System will be managed by 
the Board in accordance with applicable OSP requirements.  

(3) Fingerprint cards, if returned to the Board by OSP or the FBI, will be destroyed. No copies, 
facsimiles, or other materials from which the fingerprints could be reproduced will be maintained 
by the Board.  

(4) Criminal history information will not be disseminated by the Board, with the following 
exceptions:  

(a) The subject of a fingerprint-based criminal history check may be provided a copy of the 
results, if requested in writing prior to the completion of the criminal history check process; and  

(b) Criminal history information may be used as exhibits during a contested case hearing 
process.  

(c) The Board may disclose criminal history information that reasonably relates to the regulatory 
or enforcement function of another public entity as authorized under ORS 676.177.  

(54) Challenges to the accuracy or completeness of criminal background information must be 
made to the reporting agency and not to the Board.  

(65) A person against whom disciplinary action is taken by the bBoard on the basis of 
information obtained as the result of a criminal records check conducted pursuant to this rule is 
entitled to notice and hearing in accordance with the provisions for contested cases in ORS 
Chapter 183.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.785 - 675.835 & 676.160 - 676.180  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.785 - 675.835  
Hist.: BLPCT 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-5-10; BLPCT 2-2011(Temp), f. 5-13-11, cert. ef. 5-15-11 
thru 11-10-11; Administrative correction 11-18-11; BLPCT 3-2011, f. 12-3-11, cert. ef. 12-15-11 
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BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 

DIVISION 130 

REGISTERED INTERN SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS 

  

833-130-0010  

Registry Established 

(1) Effective September 1, 2010, the Board will establish a Supervisor Registry that consists of 
licensed professional counselors and licensed marriage and family therapists.  

(2) The Board may approve placement of a licensee on the Supervisor Registry if the licensee is 
a Supervisor Candidate or an Approved Supervisor.  

(3) Registered interns pursuing licensure will be encouraged to find qualified supervisors from 
the registry.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10  

833-130-0020  

Placement on Supervisor Registry 

Licensees wishing t(1) To be placed on the Supervisor Registry, an active licensee must submit a 
request on forms provided by the Board.  

(2) Licensees on inactive status will be denied or removed from placement. 

(3) Licensees may request in writing to be removed from the registry. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10  

833-130-0030  

Registry Renewal 

A licensee who wishes to remain on the Supervisor Registry must complete the following every 
5 years:  
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(1) Complete a renewal form provided by the Board;  

(2) Successfully pass the Board’s law and rules exam; and  

(3) Obtain at least 5 clock hours of supervision-related training.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10  

833-130-0040  

Supervisor Candidates 

(1) Supervisor Candidates must work toward meeting the requirements of an Approved 
Supervisor. If after five years as a Supervisor Candidate, the candidate has not met Approved 
Supervisor requirements, the candidate will be removed from the registrymay no longer 
supervise registered interns.  

(2) To qualify as a Supervisor Candidate, a licensee must meet the following requirements:  

(a) Be licensed inHold an active Oregon license as a professional counselor or as a marriage and 
family therapist;  

(b) Complete 30 clock hours of post-master’s degree supervision training;  

(c) Receive supervision during supervisor candidacy from a board-approved supervisor;  

(d) Successfully complete all requirements to qualify as an Approved Supervisor within five 
years;  

(ce) Successfully pass the Board’s law and rules exam; and  

(f) Be free of Board disciplinary action.  

(d3) ForS supervisors of marriage and family therapist interns only: must also have supervision 
training that includes systems components.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10  
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833-130-0050  

Approved Supervisors 

(1) To qualify to supervise registered interns,as an Approved Supervisor, a licensee who is not 
on the Supervisor Registry must meet the following requirements:  

(a) Meet or have previously met all of the requirements to qualify as a Supervisor Candidate per 
OAR 833-130-0040; and 

(ba) Hold an active Oregon license as a professional counselor or marriage and family therapist, 
and: 

(A) BeHave been actively licensed in Oregonby the Board for at least 3 years as a professional 
counselor or marriage and family therapist; or  

(bB) Have an active Oregon license as a professional counselor or marriage and family therapist 
and bBe an Approved Supervisor through the AAMFT American Association for Marriage and 
Family Therapy or the NBCC Center for Credentialing and Education., or be an American 
Association of Pastoral Counselors diplomate.  

(2) Before placement on the Supervisor Registry, a licensee must also:  

(a) Complete 30 hours of supervision training;  

(b) Successfully pass the Board’s law and rules exam;  

(c) Be free of Board disciplinary action;  

(2) To qualify as in Approved Supervisor for purposes of placement on the Supervisor Registry, 
in addition to the requirements of section (1) above, the licensee must: 

(ad) Provide the Board with dDocumentation of at least 12 hours of supervision by a Board 
Approved Supervisor within the past 2 to 5 years. The licensee may have up to two Approved 
Supervisors, and both Approved Supervisors must complete an evaluation. Approved supervision 
may include one on one or group supervision of not more than 6 supervisees; and  

(be) Document a minimum of 100 hours between 2 and 5 years of experience supervising at least 
two registered interns or student interns from Board-Approved Oregon graduate programs.  

(3) Supervisors of marriage and family therapist interns must also have supervision training that 
includes systems components.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10  
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833-130-0060  

Current and former supervisors 

(1) As of September 1, 2010, Licensed Professional Counselors and Licensed Marriage and 
Family Therapists may be placed on the Supervisor Registry as Approved Supervisors if they 
have:  

(a) A current, active license in Oregon as a professional counselor or as a marriage and family 
therapist;  

(b) Within the last five years.  

(A) A minimum of three years supervising graduate students, registered interns, or counselors or 
therapists;  

(B) Passed the Board’s law and rules exam; and  

(C) Are free of disciplinary action from the Board; and  

(c) Completed 30 clock hours of supervision training.  

(2) Current supervisors of registered interns who are operating under an approved clinical 
experience plan on September 1, 2010, may complete the plan without meeting requirements for 
placement on the registry.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10  

833-130-0070  

Supervisors Not on the Registry 

(1) Licensed Professional Counselors or Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists who wish to 
supervise interns registered with the Board must meet the following requirements:  

(a) Have a current, active license in Oregon as a professional counselor or as a marriage and 
family therapist;  

(b) Been licensed as a professional counselor or marriage and family therapist in Oregon for at 
least 3 years or have national supervisor certification by the National Board of Certified 
Counselors Center for Credentialing and Education, the American Association of Marital and 
Family Therapists, or as a diplomate of the American Association of Pastoral Counselors;  

(c) Complete 30 hours of supervision training;  
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(d) Successfully pass the Board’s law and rules exam; and  

(e) Are free of disciplinary action from the Board.  

(2) Other mental health professionals may serve as supervisors of registered interns if they meet 
the following requirements:  

(a1) Holdave a current, active license in Oregon as a mental health professional;  

(b2) Have been licensed in Oregon as a mental health professional for at least 3 years;  

(c3) Complete 30 clock hours of post-master’s degree supervision training;  

(d4) Successfully passed the Board’s law and rules exam; and  

(e) Are free of disciplinary action from his or her state licensing board.  

(35) For Ssupervisors of marriage and family therapist interns only:must also have supervision 
training that includes systems components.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 
Hist.: BLPCT 5-2010, f. 6-15-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10 

833-130-0080  

Supervisor Registry Appeal Discipline Review Process 

(1) A proposed supervisor must disclose any history of disciplinary action, which must be 
reviewed by the Board. LPC and LMFT supervisor applicants denied placement on the registry 
may appeal the decision if the denial was based on discipline imposed by the Board.  

(2) A licensee that receives Board disciplinary action subsequent to placement on the Supervisor 
Registry must discontinue supervision of registered interns pending discipline review by the 
Board. 

(23) During discipline review of the appeal, the Board will consider:  

(a) Type of violation and imposed discipline;  

(b) The passage of time since the violation and discipline;  

(c) Whether discipline was corrective, punitive or both;  

(d) Compliance with imposed discipline;  

laree
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(e) Results of national health care database search;  

(f) Whether behavior resulted in harm to clients;  

(g) Previous complaints resulting in discipline;  

(h) Results of criminal background check; and  

(j) Any other information the bBoard finds relevant.  

(4) At the conclusion of the review, the Board will determine whether to approve or deny: 

(a) The licensee or other mental health professional to provide supervision; and/or 

(b) The licensee for initial or continued placement on the Supervisor Registry. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 & 676.150 - 676.405 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 675.705 - 675.835 & 676.150 - 676.405 
Hist.: BLPCT 6-2010, f. 12-13-10, cert. ef. 1-1-11 
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