Exam Requirements- Summary
All applicants for the LPC and LMFT are required to pass a competency exam and an Oregon law and rules exam as required by OAR 833-020-0081.
Applicants must pass— or have passed within 10 years prior to applying for licensure— a Board-approved competency exam. To qualify for a competency exam, an applicant must submit a licensure application and meet the graduate program and coursework requirements. If you have taken the exam before applying for licensure, you will need to have an official score verification sent directly to the Board.
Applicants pay exam fees directly to the examination provider. Passing scores are established by the examining entity or agency verifying passage of its exam. The Board will notify examinees of the results of their examination once received.
Applicants who passed a competency exam more than 10 years ago must retake and pass a Board-approved exam to qualify for licensure. Exception: Reciprocity applicants only may, instead of retaking the exam, complete 40 clock hours of continuing education in the required core areas within two years prior to licensure.
An LPC applicant must pass one of the following exams to qualify for licensure:
- National Counselor Examination (NCE)
- National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination (NCMHCE)
- Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination (CRC)
An LMFT applicant must pass the marital and family therapy examination of the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB) to qualify for licensure.
Law & Rules Exam
Once your application for license or for registered internship has been accepted by the Board, you may take the national competency exam. Once you pass the national exam, you may take Oregon's Law and Rules Examination. This is a pass/fail exam consisting of 33 true/false, multiple choice and fill in the blank questions. You must answer at least 29 questions correctly in order to pass the exam.
Oregon Law and Rules Exam