Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • Welcome to the Board of Naturopathic Medicine

    ocean_rocks5.jpg

     The mission of the Oregon Board of Naturopathic Medicine is to protect the public by licensing and regulating naturopathic physicians.  The Board will promote physician excellence and will foster communication within the profession and with the public.

    The State Board of Naturopathic Medicine, established by the 1927 Legislature, is empowered to protect the public by licensing and regulating naturopathic physicians in Oregon.

     

     

     

      

    CURRENT INFORMATION/UPDATES
     
     
    OREGON NATUROPATHIC PHYSICIAN LICENSE RENEWAL OPEN
           (Don’t wait too long to get started)
     
     WHAT IS NEW
       Additional questionnaire:  Licensees will be required to complete a separate questionnaire at the time of renewal for the Oregon Work Force Database (OWFD) This may add up to an additional 5-10 minutes to complete your renewal. https://www.oregon.gov/oha/OHPR/rulemaking/notices/409-026_Text.pdf

       Additional $2.00 added to the renewal feeState legislation enacted in 2015 mandates all health licensing boards (including OBNM) collect health workforce data from renewal applicants, and to forward that data to the Oregon Health Authority (OHA). OHA charges the OBNM $2 per renewal each year.

       Law Enforcement Data Systems (LEDS) background check: With the 2016 license renewal the Board will conduct a criminal background check on each renewing licensee. Per OAR 850-030-0020(3).

     

     

    WHAT TO DO  
     To access your renewal you will need:
    · Your four-digit license number (no letters, just the number) and
    · Your social security number  
    · Information on any address changes you may have (enter changes carefully to avoid errors)  
    · Your CE records to enter, which must include (for an active license) 50+ hours of CE, with at least 10 hours in pharmacy and 2 in ethics  
    · Your DEA Registration number and current expiration date; must be updated to reflect the most current number and expiration date  
    · If licensed within the last two years, information on pain management education.
    · If you hold a certificate in natural childbirth, you need to fax or email a copy of a current neonatal resuscitation certification  
    · If you have a name change in the last year, contact the office on how to proceed  
     
    (Deadlines for renewal is December 15 –after December 15, add a $100 late fee; after December 31, add a $150 restoration fee)  

     

    CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE)
    Each Licensee should be familiar with and use the rule on continuing education. OAR 850-030-0195 will tell you what you are required to do to renew, including the number of CE hours required for each license status; OAR 850-040-0210 will help you determine what is approved as continuing education. 
     
    Online CE with renewal:  Unless you are being audited — you will know this as soon as you get to the CE page – you can enter your CE hours in the dialog box on the CE page. You need to enter the name of the program, the date(s) and CLEARLY delineate any pharmacy or ethics hours you want credit for. If you do not delineate these hours, your renewal may be returned until you do so, and it will be considered late if not processed in this office by December 15 
                CE AUDIT:  Up to 10% of renewals are audited for CE compliance each year.  If you are audited, you will be told on the CE page (bold red type) and you are required to submit verification of attendance/participation for all CE obtained. If you are being audited, here are the guidelines you need to follow:
      You must use the OBNM CE Tracking Form – CE TRACKING FORM 
                Supporting documentation should be in the same order as listed on the CE tracking form - it may be returned if not in order; 
                An OBNM CE Approval is NOT verification of attendance or participation;
                Daily research in practice does not fit the definition of research as found in rule;
       Pharmacy hours and Ethic hours must be clearly delineated, both on the CE tracking form and in the supporting documentation.
     

                Pain Management: If you are in the second renewal cycle (licensed 2014 or earlier) you need to submit proof of Pain Management. You can find information on the required tutorial on our home page. Call Robin if you are not sure if we have it as part of your file.

     
    HOW TO PAY:
    You can pay online via credit card after you have completed your renewal. Or you can print out the last page and pay by check or money order. If you are submitting anything by mail, please do so right away. Your license will not be processed until we have everything we need and late fees will be charged if a renewal is not complete by the due date.
     
    If you are CHANGING THE STATUS OF YOUR LICENSE from active to inactive, or inactive to active, you need to contact the OBNM office to obtain the necessary paperwork. Status cannot be changed online.  (Deadlines for renewal, even with a change in status, still holds –after December 15, $100 late fee; after December 31, $150 restoration fee)

     

     ********************************************************
     ********************************************************
    PAIN MANAGEMENT

    ACUTE and CHRONIC CARE RESOURCES
    The Oregon Board of Naturopathic Medicine (OBNM) is obligated under the laws of the State of Oregon to protect the public health and safety.  The OBNM recognizes that principles of high-quality medical practice dictate that the people of the State of Oregon have access to appropriate, safe and effective pain management. The application of up-to-date knowledge and treatment modalities can help to restore function and thus improve the quality of life of patients who suffer from pain, particularly chronic pain.  
     
    The prevalence of inadequately treated chronic pain, coupled with abuse, misuse and illegal diversion of medications used in pain management, has resulted in a complex public health crisis.  Improper use of any opioid can result in serious adverse effects including overdose and death.  Over the last decade, there has been a parallel increase in opioid sales and an increase in morbidity and mortality associated with these drugs.  Due to the complexities of treating people with chronic pain, the prescribing physician has many added responsibilities when deciding to treat people with opioid analgesic medications in chronic non cancer pain patients.  The OBNM recommends the use of community accepted prescribing guidelines and tools.
    UPDATED INFORMATION AS OF MAY 23, 2016
    LEARN MORE
     
    ********************************************************
    PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM
    The tool every physician should be signed up and have accessible in practice.  READ MORE
     
    ********************************************************
    EXAMINEE APPLICATION INFORMATION
    The next state licensing exams are Friday, February 10, 2017.  This examination date is offered to anyone taking the NPLEX exams in February or anyone who has already taken the NPLEX and passed. 
    Application deadline: Applications must be postmarked no later than Monday, January 9, 2017.


    Click here for important Exam Information
     
    ********************************************************
     
    NEW LICENSEES,  DO YOU KNOW......
    Within the first two (2) years of licensure you need to complete seven (7) hours of required pain management?  Click here to be directed to the mandatory one hour Oregon Pain Management module.
      
    ********************************************************
     
    OREGON IMMUNIZATION CHANGES
    SB 132 changes the process for parent's to claim nonmedical exemption regarding vaccines.  This law took effect March 1, 2014.  Here are some links of value:
     
    Oregon Immunization Program:  www.healthoregon.org/vaccineexemption
    Immunization Law, for schools:  http://1.usa.gov/OregonSchool
      
    ********************************************************
CONSUMER RESOURCE LICENSEE/APPLICANT RESOURCE
********************************************************************

This office will be closed in observance of
the following holidays:

 
Thanksgiving Day, Thursday & Friday, November 24 & 25, 2016
Christmas Day, Monday, December 26, 2016
New Year's Day, Monday, January 2, 2017
Martin Luther King Day, Monday, January 16, 2017
Presidents Day, Monday, February 20, 2017
Memorial Day, Monday, May 29, 2017
Independence Day, Tuesday, July 4, 2017
Labor Day, Monday, September 4, 2017
Veterans Day, Friday, November 10, 2017
Thanksgiving Day, Thursday & Friday, November 23 & 24, 2017
Christmas Day, Monday, December 25, 2017
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

​​​​​
 
OBNM  2016  LICENSE  RENEWAL  INFORMATION AVAILABLE NOVEMBER 1, 2016
         
  
******************************************************************* 
Oregon Board of Naturopathic Medicine
FUTURE BOARD MEETINGS 
All are invited to attend the Public Session of any Board meeting.
OBNM Public meetings are scheduled for the 2nd Monday of the even–numbered month.
        
           December 12, 2016
            ********************
            February 13, 2017
      April 10, 2017
     June 12, 2017
        August 14, 2017
        October 9, 2017
             December 11, 2017
 
 
 
                                     *******************
The next Formulary Council meeting will be Spring 2017, exact date to be determined.

*******************
 
 
 
 
MORE LICENSEE RESOURCE LINKS 
·         License verification request
·         Address Change Form
·         Why do charting?
·         What to do in case of a theft
·         Mandatory reporting
·         HcG and the ND responsibility