Secretary of State

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING*

A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form

Oregon Board of Naturopathic Medicine 850
Agency and Division ' Administrative Rules Chapter Number
Anne Walsh (971) 673-0193
Rules Coordinator Telephone
Qregon Board of Naturopathic Medicine, 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 407, Portland, OR 97232
Address
RULE CAPTION

Correct late fee in 850-030-0195 to agree with 850-030-0035.
Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.

RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing

ADOPT:
AMEND:
OAR 850-030-0195

REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMEBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Adminisirative Rules Unit prior to filing.

Statutory Authority:
ORS 685.125

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 685.100

RULE SUMMARY

OAR 850-030-00195(8) needs to be corrected to $100, as it is in 850-030-0035 fees.
A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the
publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list,
whichever is later. If sufficlent hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon

Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.
The Agency reauests public comment on whether other ontions should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing nesative

FILED
09-25-2013 3:00 p.m. Anne Walsh Anne.Walsh@state.or.us 8-14-13 11:44 AM
Last Day (m/d4yyy) and Time Rules Coordinator Name Email Addrass ARCHIVES DIVISION
for public comment SECRETARY OF STATE

*The Oregon Bullelin is published on the 1st of each mornith and updales the rule text found in the Oregen Administrative Rules Compilaticn, Notice forms must be submitted to the Administrative Rules Unit, Oregon

Slafe Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 87310 by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding menth unless this deadline falls on 2 Saturday, Sunday or lagal holiday when Notice forms are accepted
until 5:00pm en the preceding workday. ARG 923-2003



Secretary of State

STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT

A Notice of Pronosed Rulemaking accomnanies this form.

Oregon Board of Naturopathic Medicine 850

Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Correct late fee in 850-030-0195 to agree with 850-030-0035.,

Rule Caption (Not mare than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.)
In the Matter of:

OAR 850-030-0195

Statutory Authority:
ORS 685,125

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 685,100

Need for the Rule(s):
To provide correct information on fees consistenily in rule

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
ORS 685.100 and OAR 850-030-0035

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
none

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

n/a

2. Cost of compliance effect on smalf business (ORS 183.336)
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:

n/a

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrafive activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:
n/a

¢. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
n/a

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?
no
Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?:No

If not, why?:
the change is not substantive to practice or business. OBNM and all licensee are advised of this correction.

FILED
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SECRETARY OF STATE

for public comment

Adminisirative Rules Unit, Atchives Privision, Secretary of State, 860 Surmmer Sireet NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 ARC 925-2007



850-030-0195

License Renewal Requirements

All Naturopathic physicians licensed under ORS Chapter 685, whether active or inactive or retired must complete an annual
renewal form furnished by the Board. Specific requirements for each license status, renewal procedures and requirements are as
follows: ’
(1} A Naturopathic physician holding an initial license:

(a) Must complete the renewal form furnished by the Board; and

{b) Pay the anmual renewal fee according to OAR 850-030-0090 and 850-030-0035; and

(c) Is exempt from completing CE in the initial year of lcensure.

(2) A licensee doing an accredited residency for at least six months in the calendar year must:

(a) Complete the annual renewal form furnished by the Board; and

(b) Pay the annual renewal fee according to OAR 850-030-0090 and 850-030-0035; and

(c) Provide proof of an accredited residency to meet the CE requirement for an active license.

(3) A Naturopathic physician holding a certificate to practice natural childbirth must complete at least 15 hours of CE each year
in obstetrics and sign an affidavit furnished by the Board confirming these hours. The 15 hours in obstetrics may be used to
satisfy the requirement of an active license in 850-030-0195(4). The licensee must provide proof of current certification in
neonatal resuscitation annually with the renewal.

(4} To maintain an active license, a licensee must:

{a} Complete the annual renewal form furnished by the Board; and

{b) Pay the annual renewal fee according to QAR 850-033-0090 and 8§50-030-0035; and

(c) Complete Board approved CE as required under OAR 850-040-0210 for an active license each year and submit a signed
affidavit furnished by the Board confirming this.

(5) At least 10 of the required CE hours must be in the pharmacology of legend drugs.

(6) A Naturopathic physician holding an inactive lcense must:

(a) Complete the renewal form furnished by the Board; and

(b) Pay the annual renewal fee per OAR 850-030-0035; and

{c) Complete at least 10 hours of Board approved CE each year and submit a signed affidavit furnished by the Board
confirming these hours.

(7) A retired status Naturopathic license, upon completing the renewal form furnished by the Board and paying the annual
renewal fee for a retired license is not required to complete CE for renewal.

(8) By November 1, the Board will send to all licensees an annual renewal form io the last mailing address on record. For a
renewal to be timely, a licensee must submit to the Board a completed renewal application postmarked no later than December
15 each year. A completed renewal application consists of the completed renewal form, the annual license fee if due, and the
late fee, if appropiiate, and the completed affidavit confirming completion of continuing education as required under sections
(1) through (5} of this rule. Failure to meet the December 15 deadline shall result in a late fee of $75-700, which must be
submitted with the renewal application form. Any licensee who does not receive the renewal form by November 15 should
notify the Board. It is the licensee's duty to obtain and subinit the renewal form in a timely manner.

(9) The license of any licensee who fails to submit a completed renewal application by December 31 shall lapse, effective at
midnight, December 31.

{10} Licensees must maintain for a period of at least five years, full and accurate records including verification of attendance to
support hours reported on the signed affidavit.

{11) Each year the Board will audit a mamber of license renewals. These licensees will be asked to provide their CE documents
to verify the signed affidavit. Licensee must provide CE records and verifications that will document compliance with the
renewal requirements.

(12) To apply for reinstatement of a license from inactive to active status a licensee must:

(a) Complete the reinstatement form furnished by the Board; and

(b) Pay the appropriate fees per ORS 685.100 and OAR 850-030-0035, and

(c) Submit an affidavit confirming completion of continuing education as follows:

(A) If the license is inactive for 12 months or less, the licensee must demonstrate completion of the required hours of approved
continuing education during the past 12 months for an active license, with 10 of these hours in pharmacology; and

(B) If the license is inactive for more than one year, licensee must provide an additional five hours of approved continuing
education for each subsequent year or partial year that the license was inactive, in addition to the 10 hours of CE required by
OAR 850-030-0195(6).

{d} If license is inactive for more than five years, licensee must take and pass the state jurisprudence and formulary
examinations furnished by the Board.

{13) After January 1, the Board may reinstate a license that has been lapsed for one year or less, upon submission of the
affidavit of continuing education as required for an active license, completion of the renewal form furnished by the Board and
paying the appropriate fees per ORS 685.100 and OAR 850-030-0035.

(14} Any licensece who has allowed a license to lapse for more than 12 months must apply and meet the qualifications under

ORS 685.060 through 685.085 for licensure.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 685.125

Stats. Implemented: ORS 685.100

Hist.: BNE 1-2003, £ & cert. ef. 2-14-03; Renumbered from 8§50-010-0193, BNE 8-2005, f. & cert. ef. 10-27-05; BNE 3-2008, f. 4-21-08, cett. ef. 6-10-08;
ENE 4-2009, f. & cert. ef. 10-6-09; BNE 5-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef, 10-13-09 thru 12-31-09; ENE 6-2009, £. 11-2-09, cert. ef. 1-1-10



