
2009-11 Biennium Recap 
The two-year budget and legislative cycle 

ending June 30, 2011, saw significant 

changes for the Oregon Board of  

Optometry. Here’s a brief recap: 

Faces: 

New to the Board in this last year are 

members Jessica Lynch, OD, and Rose 

Thrush, JD. The Board’s long-time Execu-

tive Director David Plunkett fully retired in 

September 2010, after more than 17 years 

of service. David’s successor, Kelly Paige, 

left the Board in August. She is succeeded 

by Executive Director Nancy Sellers.  

Budget: 

The Board’s budget cycle finished with 

additional funds going into reserves. Reve-

nues from all sources totaled $647,112, 

against expenses of $591,271, for a net 

revenue of $55,840. 

New Business Entity Rules: 

The Board adopted a new rule (OAR 852-

020-0045) governing requirements for 

business entity organization. (Note: This is 

in addition to all other State of Oregon  

provisions governing professional corpora-

tions, LLCs and partnerships.)  

In essence, the rule requires that a major-

ity of the principals in an optometry 

practice must be Oregon-licensed op-

tometrists. All officers must be doctors 

of optometry, except for the secretary 

and treasurer positions, if any. 

If you have a multidisciplinary practice 

with two or more health-related licensed 

professionals, rules require that the ma-

jority ownership must be held by persons 

licensed in Oregon. 

Business entities organized before the 

effective date of the rule have until Janu-

ary 1, 2012 to comply. Failure to comply 

with this rule may subject a license 

holder or owner to discipline pursuant to 

ORS 683.140. If you have questions, 

please go to the OBO website or call the 

Board’s office.  

OBO Mailing Address  

The Board’s office was able to get deliv-

ery to its street address, so please send 

all correspondence to:  

Oregon Board of Optometry 

1900 Hines Street, SE, Suite 290 

Salem, Oregon 97302  
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lish a reasonable charge for copies of 

the records. 

An important exception to the signed 

release requirement is that the  

Oregon Board of Optometry, as the 

regulatory body for the profession, 

may request and require patient’s 

records for its use without a signed 

release. If the Board requests patient 

records, you must provide them to us 

within the timeline given in the re-

quest. Failure to do so may result in 

significant sanctions. 

I hope this helps you to understand 

your responsibilities in this important 

area. You can read the complete text 

of the Board’s records rule on the 

next page. If you still have questions, 

please feel free to contact the Board’s 

office.  

We often get questions (and some-

times complaints) about the release of 

optometric prescriptions and patient 

records.  

Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 

683.190(3) requires the release of a 

prescription for correcting refractive 

errors, if any, immediately upon com-

pletion of the visual examinations 

necessary to reach the prescription. 

Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 

852-020-0031(5)(c) further defines 

the requirements for prescription re-

lease in accordance with Federal 

Trade Commission rules. Basically, it 

means that a doctor of optometry may 

not require a patient to sign a waiver 

in order to have their prescription re-

leased directly to them as the patient 

or to their legal guardian or legal rep-

resentative. This specifically applies 

to the time the examination is com-

pleted and the prescription is con-

firmed by the doctor.  

You also must provide the prescrip-

tion to the patient again at a future 

date, if requested. The complaints we 

receive are often related to a failure 

by the physician to release the pre-

scription to the patient. 

We also get many questions about 

providing records to other doctors of 

optometry. Federal HIPAA regula-

tions and Oregon law requires medi-

cal providers to protect patient infor-

mation, and governs how that infor-

mation can be released to a third 

party. Both clearly require that re-

leases must be in writing and signed 

by the patient. ORS 192.519(5)(h) 

specifically lists the record release 

requirement as applying 

to optometrists. ORS 192.522 pro-

vides a sample authorization to re-

lease records. Nothing in the Oregon 

Board of Optometry’s Administrative 

Rules changes this requirement. 

Under OAR 852-010-0051(4), a doc-

tor of optometry can release the pre-

scription and medical records directly 

to the patient without a signed release, 

but may not convey them to a third 

party – even upon the verbal request 

of the patient – without a release. Al-

though many optometrists respond 

much more quickly, the doctor does 

have up to 30 days to forward the re-

quested information, and may estab-

President’s Message:  

Records Release Requirements 
by Robert Mans, OD 
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Note:  

The Oregon Board of  
Optometry does not provide  
legal advice. Consult your own 
legal counsel for interpretations 
of Oregon law applicable to any 
given situation. 

Q. I have a patient who has not paid her bill, despite repeated attempts to collect. Now she is requesting that her patient records 

be sent to a new optometrist. Can I make her pay her bill before I send them? 

A. Despite your legitimate business dispute with this patient, you must release her records if you have received a request directly 

from her, or from someone who provides a signed release from her. You may not require her to pay her arrears account before 

the release. However, doctors of optometry may establish a reasonable charge to the patient for copies of their patient records 

and may establish a reasonable charge to the patient for faxing prescriptions by long distance or for any unusual mailing or  

handling costs. 



OAR 852-010-0051 - Records  

(1) Doctors of optometry shall keep complete and accurate records for each patient, including, but not lim-

ited to, case histories, examinations, diagnostic and therapeutic services, prescriptions, instructions for 

home therapies, referral recommendations and any other information required to make the record com-

plete. Patient records shall be sufficiently detailed and legible so that an appropriate provider could con-

tinue care without detriment to the patient. It shall be considered unprofessional conduct to keep incomplete 

or inaccurate records for a patient.  

(2) A patient's records shall be kept by the doctor of optometry for a minimum of seven years from the date 

of the last office visit or pertinent clinical notation on the record. If a patient is a minor, the records shall be 

kept seven years or until the patient is 21 years of age, whichever is longer.  

(3) When changing practice locations, closing a practice or retiring, a doctor of optometry must retain pa-

tient records for the required amount of time or transfer the care of patient records to a doctor of optometry 

licensed and practicing optometry in Oregon. Transfer of patient records pursuant to this section of this rule 

shall be reported to the Board in writing immediately upon transfer, but not later than the effective date of 

the change in practice location, closure of the practice or retirement. It shall be considered unprofessional 

conduct for a doctor of optometry not to retain patient records or fail to transfer the care of patent records 

as required in this rule.  

(4) Doctors of optometry shall provide copies of records or detailed summaries of records to patients, or 

persons designated by patients, upon the appropriate written and signed request of the patient. Requested 

records shall be forwarded within 30 days of the request.  

(a) Optometric records do not include personal office notes of the doctor of optometry or personal commu-

nications between referring or consulting physicians.  

(b) Doctors of optometry shall preserve a patient's records from unauthorized disclosure and shall release 

them only upon the written and signed request of the patient or the patient's legal guardian.  

(c) Doctors of optometry may establish a reasonable charge to the patient for copies of his/her patient re-

cords.  

(d) Doctors of optometry must release copies of patient prescriptions without additional charges. Doctors of 

optometry may establish a reasonable charge to the patient for faxing prescriptions by long distance phone 

services, or for any unusual mailing or handling costs. 

By the Rules… 

Patient Records Rule 
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Executive Director’s Update   

from Nancy Sellers 

patient files. This change would allow 

the Board to ensure patient record 

security and confidentiality until the 

records are permanently transferred to 

a new owner. 

Looking at administrative rule devel-

opment, there is growing interest in 

clarifying the working relationships 

between doctors of optometry and the 

dispensing optical companies that 

sometimes co-locate in either a space 

lease or other contractual or employer 

relationship.  

Rulemaking on these issues will be 

complex, and likely will elicit much 

input from doctors, consumers and 

optical companies.  

As it begins the task sometime in 

2012, the Board will appoint an  

Administrative Rules Advisory  

Committee to work through the policy 

issues and make recommendations to 

the full Board. While membership on 

the committee will be limited, we will 

call upon invited subject matter ex-

perts, and the meetings will be open 

to the public.  

If you are interested in being in-

volved, please contact me by e-mail at 

nancy.sellers@oregonobo.org or by 

phone at (503) 399-0662, ext. 23. 

I look forward to working with you 

on these and other projects. If you 

have ideas for how the Board can bet-

ter protect public safety and health, or 

for how we may improve our services 

to you as a licensee, please let me 

know.  

 

Greetings! My first update to you 

finds me nearly four months into my 

role as your Executive Director at the 

Oregon Board of Optometry. It has 

been a fascinating time, learning the 

details of the profession of optometry, 

the history of the Board and the work-

ings of the agency. 

I was quickly impressed by the pro-

fessionalism and expertise of the 

Board’s staff, Cathy Boudreau and 

Debbie Hendricks. These two work 

diligently to keep everything relating 

to your licensing, renewals, and con-

tinuing education moving quickly and 

efficiently. I also have been singularly 

impressed by the high level of cus-

tomer service they provide. Questions 

get answered quickly and accurately, 

usually on the spot.  

I’ve had the pleasure of talking with 

some of you on the phone. Thank you 

for your patience as I learned the an-

swers to appropriately respond to 

your questions. I still get stumped 

every once in a while, but it’s getting 

better. 

My background is more than 20 years 

in management and executive service 

for the State of Oregon. I worked for 

six years at the state’s largest regula-

tory agency, the Department of Con-

sumer and Business Services. I then 

spent 12 years in public and legisla-

tive affairs for the Oregon Depart-

ment of Corrections before becoming 

the executive director for the Oregon 

Board of Parole and Post-Prison Su-

pervision. During the last legislative 

session, I worked as senior policy 

analyst for the Oregon Health Licens-

ing Agency, before joining OBO at 

the end of August. 

My goals are to continue the excellent 

customer service and fair and equita-

ble regulatory functions of the Board.  

Working with President Robert Mans, 

OD, and the rest of the Board, we will 

provide you with timely information 

to help you in your work. We also 

will produce information to help your 

patients better understand the role of 

the Board in protecting public safety 

and health through fair, consistent 

regulation of the profession. 

Over the next year, you can expect the 

Board’s website to include new func-

tionality, including online subscrip-

tions to e-mail updates, newsletters 

and notices. You will find more infor-

mation, organized for ease of use by 

both doctors of optometry and con-

sumers. We also will post audio files 

of Board meeting public sessions, so 

you can listen to the work of the 

Board at your convenience 

(remember, you are always welcome 

to attend Board meetings in person). 

To better protect public safety, by the 

first of the year, the Board will con-

duct criminal background checks on 

all active licensee applicants and re-

newals using the Law Enforcement 

Data System (LEDS) through Oregon 

State Police (See ―Background 

Checks to Begin,‖ Page 8). 

Preparing for the 2013 legislative ses-

sion, the Board is discussing potential 

legislative concepts, including re-

questing authority for the Board to 

assign executors in cases where an 

optometrist has abandoned patient 

records. A recent case involved the 

landlord of a rented office space hav-

ing unrestricted access to abandoned 
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Know that prescriptions may not be 

written for conditions that do not yet 

exist. You should refer patients to 

their primary care physician for treat-

ment of any condition that doesn’t 

directly involve the eye or function of 

the eye.   

Please note that any prescription for 

pharmaceutical agents must result 

from a bona fide physician/patient 

relationship that is documented pursu-

ant to OAR 852-010-0051, and must 

be written in accordance with the 

rules of the Board of Pharmacy,  

including the requirement that the 

prescription bear the original signa-

ture of the prescribing physician.   

Oregon optometrists are required to 

be certified in order to use, administer 

and prescribe the nontopical pharma-

ceutical formulary. The formulary is 

categorical rather than itemized in 

order to avoid the frequent changes 

that would be necessary as new phar-

maceutical agents are developed. The 

categories are broad in the sense that 

some of the agents may have many 

applications.  

While these applications may be ap-

propriate for the pharmaceutical 

agent, the prescribing of the agent 

may not be within the scope of prac-

tice for an optometrist simply because 

it falls within an approved category. 

Use the following questions to help 

determine if a procedure — whether 

clinical, writing of a prescription, or 

any other practice — falls within the 

scope of optometry:  

1. Does this procedure involve the 

eye or the scope of functions of  

the eye? 

2. Can this procedure be done:  

 without invasive surgery? 

 without laser surgery? 

 without closure by suture? 

 either without pharmaceutical  

agents or with pharmaceutical 

agents categorized in Division 

80? 

 without sub-Tenon, retrobul-

bar, intraocular or botulinum 

toxin injection? 

 without conscious sedation, 

deep sedation or general  

anesthesia? 

If the answer to all of these questions 

is ―Yes,‖ then the procedure is within 

the optometric scope of practice. 

Non-Topical Formulary, Prescribing & Scope of Practice 
By Vice President Donald Garris, OD 

All optometrists in Oregon 

are required to be certified 

in order to use the non-

topical formulary. 
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Short Takes… 

Delegation 
The Board allows the delegation of some 

clinical procedures to well-trained 

employees of an optometric physician who 

are directly supervised by the doctor.   

The rule regarding delegation, supervision 

and physician responsibility is OAR 852-

020-0060.  

There are some procedures that may not 

be delegated, including ophthalmoscopy, 

gonioscopy, final central nervous system 

assessment, final biomicroscopy, final 

refraction, and the final determination of 

any prescription or treatment plans.  

The use of Latisse for hypotrichosis of eyelashes (a condition of ab-

normal loss or reduction of hair) was approved by the FDA in 2008. 

Latisse also was deemed as being within the optometric scope of 

practice by the Board at its March 13, 2009, meeting as being a 

pharmaceutical agent on the topical formulary for Oregon optomet-

ric physicians.  

Latisse can be prescribed by optometric physicians and can be sold 

to their patients providing all of the labeling and dispensing require-

ments have been met.  

Remember, however, that prescription drugs cannot be dispensed by 

an optometrist to anyone other than a patient with whom he or she 

has a bona fide physician/patient relationship.  

Prescribing Latisse to Patients 



The PPMP is accessible to practi-

tioners and pharmacies 24 hours a 

day, seven days a week. Pharma-

cies are required to electronically 

report to the PDMP information on 

each prescription prescribed by a 

practitioner. As a licensed opto-

metric physician you will have ac-

cess to the system for your use in 

providing eye care to your pa-

tients. 

PDMP has outreach specialists 

available to promote use of the 

system. They are available by 

phone and also are willing to speak 

to groups. You can reach them by 

e-mail to pdmp.health@state.or.us 

or call 971-673-0741. 

For more information online and 

to request an account, go online to: 

www.orpdmp.com/health-care-

provider.  

According to the Oregon Health 

Authority, more than 1,300 Orego-

nians died from prescription drug 

poisonings between 1999 and 

2008. The 2009 Legislature re-

quired a program be developed for 

monitoring and reporting prescrip-

tion drugs dispensed by pharma-

cies in Oregon that are classified in 

Scheduled II through IV under the 

Federal Controlled Substance Act.  

On September 1, 2011, The Ore-

gon Prescription Drug Monitoring 

Program (PDMP) system went 

online. The program, run by the 

Oregon Health Authority, grants 

PDMP system accounts to Oregon-

licensed healthcare providers and 

pharmacists so they may look up 

controlled substance information 

on their own patients over a secure 

site on the Internet. 

PDMP is used to address prescrip-

tion drug abuse, addiction and di-

version. It can serve several pur-

poses, including: 

 Supporting access to legitimate 

medical use of controlled  

substances; 

 Identifying and preventing 

drug abuse; 

 Facilitating and encouraging 

intervention and treatment of 

persons addicted to prescrip-

tion drugs; and  

 Informing public health initia-

tives by identifying use and 

abuse trends. 

All actively licensed optometrists 

in Oregon have been paying into 

the PDMP system since 2010; this 

is the $25 ―EPMP‖ fee added to 

each renewal. However, to use the 

system, you must apply to PDMP 

for a user account to access infor-

mation from the system.  

Oregon’s Prescription Drug Monitoring Program 
By Legislation Chairperson Jeff Pelson, OD 

details of the custody arrange-

ments you have made for all of the 

patient records generated in that 

location.   

Remember, patient records must 

remain in the custody of an  

Oregon licensed optometric  

physician, in accordance with  

OAR 852-010-0051. Please call 

the office of the Board with any 

questions.  

Optometrists must acquire and dis-

play a certificate of licensure at 

each place of practice, whether the 

practice is temporary or perma-

nent. Additional location certifi-

cates are $45 per location per year.  

If you work more than one addi-

tional location, an unlimited multi-

ple office certificate is available 

for $90 per year. You still must 

register with the Board for each 

location at which it will be used 

before beginning work there, and 

you take and display the original 

certificate wherever you work. 

Copies of the certificate may not 

be used in lieu of the original.   

You must report to the Board be-

fore you start practicing in a new 

location. Also, as soon as you fin-

ish working at that location, you 

must report immediately, including 

When to Get a Second-Location License 
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tometrist, and that they are in a format 

that is readily accessible and readable.  

If your electronic records are in a pro-

prietary format, it is your responsibil-

ity to ensure that the receiving doctor 

has the appropriate software and ac-

cess for the entire record retention 

period. Another option is to convert 

your electronic records to a format 

that is certified for meaningful use, 

such as .pdf files or paper copies, be-

fore transferring the records to the 

new owner.  

Q. I may move to another state soon. 

What is required of me if I leave the 

state regarding patient records? If I 

plan on retaining my Oregon license, 

will I still be able to retain custody of 

my current patient records? The ma-

jority of my records are electronic.  

 

A. We understand that you would 

like to retain custody of your patient 

records after the move. However, that 

will not be possible. 

Oregon law and Board rules require 

that the records remain in Oregon 

with a licensed doctor of optometry. 

While a doctor may be able to main-

tain patient access from out of state, 

the Board has no subpoena authority 

outside of Oregon.  

This means that those records would 

become inaccessible to the Board in 

investigative matters, and unavailable 

to patients if the doctor does not re-

spond to records requests. 

Upon your relocation, you will need 

to ensure that your patient records are 

transferred to a licensed Oregon op-

Moving Out of State? OK, But Your Records Stay Here 
By Rules Chairperson Rose Thrush, JD 
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Not All COPE Categories are Approved for Oregon CE 
By CE Chairperson Jessica Lynch, OD 

They are: GO (general optometry); 

CL (contact lens); FV (functional vi-

sion); PV (pediatric vision); and LV 

(low vision).  

All of the remaining COPE categories 

are accepted for CE credit and will 

satisfy the nine-hour TMOD requisite 

portion of the annual 18 hours  

required for active status license  

renewal.  

Note: The required CPR certification 

courses aren’t eligible for CE credit. 

Remember, if you have extra qualify-

ing CE credits, they can be carried 

over to next year’s renewal. 

If you still have questions about 

whether a course is approved, please  

contact the office of the Board. The 

staff will make sure your questions 

are answered!   

One of my duties as a member of the 

Board is to review and approve con-

tinuing education courses. It is impor-

tant to know that not all COPE cate-

gories are approved for CE credit in 

Oregon. 

The Board accepts a COPE review 

and approval of continuing optometric 

education for courses categorized as 

―clinical.‖ The question is, how do 

you know whether a COPE course 

falls into a clinical category?   

Each COPE-approved course is as-

signed a number, followed by a two-

letter extension that shows the cate-

gory to which that course has been 

assigned.  

It is important to know that there are 

two categories that are not considered 

clinical: PM (practice management) 

and EJ (ethics/jurisprudence).   

The Board does not give credit for 

any practice management courses, as 

they are related to your business ac-

tivities and not related to the safety 

and health of patients. Most courses 

categorized as ethics/jurisprudence 

also are not approved for CE credit.  

When choosing a course to complete 

the biannual Optometric Ethics/

Oregon Optometry Law requirement, 

don’t rely on a class from the COPE 

EJ category. The Board must review 

and approve each course for the pur-

pose of satisfying this requirement.  

All of the remaining COPE categories 

are considered clinical. However, 

some courses are considered ―general 

optometry‖ and count for continuing 

optometric education (COE) credit, 

but not as  treatment and management 

of ocular disease (TMOD) credit.  



All active status licensees must keep their BLS Healthcare Provider or equivalent CPR certifications current. This is an 

important requirement in protecting the safety and health of your patients.  

For example, ―Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers‖ offered by the American Heart Association is a classroom-

based course where healthcare professionals learn to recognize several life-threatening emergencies, provide CPR to vic-

tims of all ages, use and AED, and relieve choking in a safe, timely and effective manger.  

Busy healthcare professionals who need a flexible training option can choose to take the first part of the course online, 

and then meet with an AHA instructor for the hands-on practice and testing portion. 

Certifications are good for two years; remember that  you don’t have to wait … you can retake the class well in advance 

of your current card’s expiration date.   

When you renew, Board staff will verify whether your CPR certification has remained current during the entire previous 

renewal period. If it has lapsed (even for one day) you’ll be charged a $50 fee.  

Keep Your CPR Certification Current 
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Criminal Background Checks to Begin for 2012 

tion file. As with any investigation, that file is confidential 

until and unless a final order is made that discloses the de-

tails of the Board’s action. 

Please take these questions seriously. Past failure to dis-

close – whether accidental or intentional – would be com-

pounded by making a false statement to the Board today. 

In making any fitness determination, the Board considers 

the nature of the crime, the facts that support the conviction 

or pending indictment or that indicate the making of the 

false statement; the relevancy, if any, of the crime or the 

false statement to the specific requirements of the appli-

cant’s or licensee’s present or proposed license; and inter-

vening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities and 

circumstances of the license.  

Intervening circumstances may include the amount of time 

since the commission of the crime, the age of the person 

when the crime was committed, the likelihood of a repeti-

tion of offenses or of the commission of another crime, the 

subsequent commission of another relevant crime, and 

whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of 

setting aside the conviction.  

If you have questions, please contact Board Executive  

Director Nancy Sellers at (503) 399-0662, ext. 23.   

By the first of the year, the Board expects to begin 

criminal background checks on all new license appli-

cants and active renewals through the Oregon State Po-

lice Law Enforcement Data System. In some circum-

stances, fingerprints for national criminal data collec-

tion may be required.  

Because this is an area of growing importance in the 

public safety responsibilities of health-related licensing 

boards, we will be asking two new questions for renew-

als over the next year: 

 ―Have you ever been arrested for or convicted of a 

misdemeanor or felony that you have not previously 

reported to the Oregon Board of Optometry?‖  

―Are you now, or have you ever been, the subject of 

any active or inactive disciplinary action or voluntary 

resignation of a certificate, license, permit or registra-

tion imposed by any licensing or regulatory authority in 

this or any other state? (Disciplinary action includes, 

but is not limited to, probation, suspension, civil pen-

alty, or any other sanction limiting, in any way, a li-

cense, certificate, registration or permit.)‖ 

If the answer to either question is ―Yes,‖ the Executive 

Director of the Board will contact you directly for more 

information, which will be kept in a separate investiga-



Parting Glance: 

Don’t Wait to Renew! 
While the notation on your license renewal 

says it must be postmarked by the first day of 

your birth month, there is a good reason to 

renew earlier: 

Board staff review each renewal to ensure it 

meets the requirements for continuing educa-

tion hours, current CPR certificate, answers to 

the questions about criminal history, and to 

ensure your check is for the proper amount. If 

there is any problem, OBO staff will work to 

resolve it with you by phone, fax, e-mail or 

US mail.  

The board sends renewals out approximately 

six weeks before they are due. By getting your 

renewal in early, you can ensure that all your 

materials are received and approved before 

your renewal date, and avoid a late fee.  

Board Activities Report  - November 2011  

Active Licensees 743 

­ Active ATI 563 

­ Active AT 180 

Inactive/Military Licensees 485 

­ Inactive/Military ATI 60 

­ Inactive/Military AT 40 

­ Inactive/Military T 231 

­ Inactive/Military DPA (only) 135 

­ Inactive/Military No DPA 19 

Total Licensees 1,228 

FY 2011-12 Applications for License Received 15 

FY 2011-12 New Licenses Issued by Examination 24 

FY 2011-12 Reactivations/Reinstatements 6 

FY 2011-12 AT Certifications 2 

FY 2011-12 ATI Certifications 2 

FY 2011-12 Lapsed Licenses 13 

FY 2011-12 Voluntary Terminations 5 
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First-Time Licenses and Birth Date Renewals 

These application fees cover the review and verification of 

application materials, establishing records, conducting 

background checks, and Board review. There is no 

―licensing fee‖ for that first license, and there is no pro-

rating of the application fees. 

Your initial licensure is good until your next birth month. 

This means that first-time licensees get a break on up-front 

costs. However, the value that an individual receives de-

pends on how long it is between the initial licensure and his 

or her next birthday.  

For example, if you were born in June and are initially li-

censed in July, you get nearly a year of licensure without 

paying for renewal. However, if you were born in August 

and are initially licensed in July, your first renewal is less 

than a month away.   

The Board tied renewals to the birth month of licensees 

in January 1999. Birth month renewals are recommended 

by the Oregon Legislature to even out revenues for li-

censing boards across the biennium, and they make 

workloads more predictable. This means your annual 

renewal must be postmarked to the Board by the first day 

of the month in which you were born, and your license 

expires at the end of that month. 

We get questions regarding initial licensure, and how 

that first renewal works if the applicant’s birth month is 

less than a year from the date the applicant obtained their 

Oregon license. 

The initial application fee for examination and licensure 

is $200. The initial application fee for endorsement ex-

amination and licensure is $300.   



From July 1, 2008 through November 4, 2011, the Board reviewed a total of 212 complaint cases. In that period of time, 
the Board resolved and closed 91 cases, of which 15 resulted in discipline, as follows: 

 

Lena Barghouti-Afranji, OD – 12/22/2008: Stipulated Final Order  Reprimand for employing an unlicensed person 

in the practice of optometry in violation of ORS 683.140(1)(e).  

William Dunn, Jr, OD – 7/12/2010: Final Order on Default  Reprimand. Civil Penalty $1,000 ($500 for prescribing 

medication not on the non-topical formulary and $500 for exceeding the scope of optometry by prescribing the medica-

tion) pursuant to ORS 683.140(1)(c), ORS 683.010(3), OAR 852-080-0025, and OAR 852-080-0030.  

Kenneth Garchow – 6/05/2009: Final Order of Discipline  Practicing optometry without a valid license as an op-

tometrist pursuant to ORS 683.180(7). Advertising or representing to be an optometrist without a valid license pursuant 

to ORS 683.180(8). Civil penalties assessed $4,000 and hearing costs of $2,914.99 pursuant to ORS 683.140(2)(e).  

Wayne Gerig, OD  - 7/14/2008: Stipulated Final Order  Reprimand for employing an unlicensed person in the prac-

tice of optometry in violation of ORS 683.140(1)(e).  

Jeremy Graziano, OD – 6/5/2009: Final Order on Default  Reprimand to Licensee’s license and assessed licensee a 

$7,500 civil penalty for violations of ORS 683.020 (no person shall engage in the practice of optometry or purport in any 

way to be an optometrist without having first obtained a license from the Oregon Board of Optometry), ORS 683.140(1)

(p) (any violation of the provisions of ORS 683.010 to 683.335), ORS 683.180(7) (practicing optometry in this state 

without having at the time of so doing a valid, unrevoked license as an optometrist) and OAR 852-60-025(2)(b) 

(practicing optometry without a license).  

Gen X Clothing #80 – 2/13/2010: Stipulated Final Order, Civil Penalty  Cease and desist sales of contact lens with-

out a valid prescription pursuant to ORS 683.180(9); $5,000 civil penalty.  

Hub Optix  - 6/5/2009: Final Order of Discipline  Employing an unlicensed optometrist to perform work covered by 

ORS 683.010 to 683.335, in violation of ORS 683.140(1)(e). Aiding an unlicensed person in the practice of optometry in 

violation of OAR 852-060-0027(3). Civil penalty $10,000 and hearing costs of $1,774.59 pursuant to ORS 683.140(2)(e).  

Anna Moran, OD -11/18/2008: Stipulated Final Order  Reprimand for employing an unlicensed person in the prac-

tice of optometry in violation of ORS 683.140(1)(e).  

Omar Noles, Jr, OD – 6/5/2009: Final Order of Discipline  Employed unlicensed optometrist to perform work cov-

ered by ORS 683.010 to 683.335, in violation of ORS 683.140(1)(e). Engaged in unprofessional conduct, gross igno-

rance, or inefficiency in the profession, in violation of ORS 683.140(1)(c). Permitted another person to use license, in 

violation of ORS 683.140(1)(h). Engaged in unprofessional conduct in aiding unlicensed person in the practice of op-

tometry, in violation of OAR 852-060-0027(3). Reprimand and Civil Penalty of $5,000 and hearing costs of $3,444.61 

pursuant to ORS 683.140(2)(e). 

Marie Pearson, OD – 12/17/2008: Stipulated Final Order  Reprimand for employing an unlicensed person in the 

practice of optometry in violation of ORS 683.140(1)(e). Assessed hearing costs of $1,000 pursuant to ORS 683.140(2)(e). 
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Richard Roth, OD – 8/26/11: Final Order of Discipline (five cases)  Immediate revocation of license for the follow-

ing acts and conduct: 

 ORS 683.140(1)(c) - Unprofessional conduct or for gross ignorance or inefficiency in the profession; 

 ORS 683.140(1) (p) - Violation of the provisions of ORS 683.010 to 683.335; 

 OAR 852-010-0051(1) and 852-060-0027(19) - Failure to keep complete and accurate records for each patient; 

 OAR 852-010-0051(2) - Failure to keep all patient records for a minimum of seven years from the date of the last 

office visit;    

 OAR 852-060-0027(1) - Fraud, misrepresentation or dishonesty;  

 OAR 852-060-0027(10) - Willfully deceiving or attempting to deceive the Board, or an employee of the Board in 

reference to any matter under investigation by the Board;   

 OAR 852-060-027(11) - Failure to respond in writing to the Board request for information as required; 

 OAR 852-060-027 (20) - Failing to retain or make appropriate transfer of the care of patient records; 

 OAR 852-050-018(1) - Failure to notify the Board in writing of the practice location;   

 OAR 852-050-018 (2) - Failure to notify the Board in writing of the change in the Licensee’s official address; 

 OAR 852-010-051(3) - Failure to retain records or transfer them to a practicing optometrist when closing a practice 

or changing practice locations;  

 OAR 852-010-051 (4) - Failure to provide copies of records to a patient when requested; and  

 OAR 852-050-016(1) failure to notify the Board in writing of the termination of a practice location. 
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About the Board... 

The Oregon Board of Optometry (OBO) is a semi-independent state agency that licenses more than 1,200 

doctors of optometry. The Board was established by the Oregon Legislature in 1905. It is composed of four 

doctors of optometry licensed to practice in Oregon and one public member representing consumers.  

OBO regulates the practice of optometry in Oregon to ensure the health and safety of its citizens through 

setting standards for the examination of candidates, licensure, certification standards, continuing optometric 

education, and enforcement of the laws and rules governing optometry.  

The Board is active in ensuring that Oregon’s laws and administrative rules reflect the current and highest 

standard of care practice standards. OBO’s budget is supported by licensing fees and any civil penalties 

levied for violations of optometric laws and rules, and receives no General Fund taxpayer dollars.   

 



Oregon  Board  of  Optometry 

1900 Hines St. SE, Suite 290 

Salem, OR 97302 

Members: 

Robert A. Mans, OD, President, Personnel Chair (Florence)  

Donald R. Garris, OD, Vice-President, Budget Chair (Portland) 

Jeffrey S. Pelson, OD, Legislative Chair (Grants Pass) 

Jessica Lynch, OD, Continuing Education Chair (Forest Grove) 

Rose L. Thrush, JD, Administrative Rules Chair (Portland) 

Staff:  

Nancy Sellers, Executive Director  
nancy.sellers@oregonobo.org  503-399-0662, ext. 23 

Cathy Boudreau, Executive Assistant  
cathyb@oregonobo.org  503-399-0662, ext. 21 

Debbie Hendricks, Accounting/Licensing Specialist 
debbieh@oregonobo.org  503-399-0662, ext. 22 
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The mission of the  

Oregon Board of Optometry 

is to protect the people of 

the state of Oregon from 

the dangers of unqualified 

and improper practice of 

optometry. 

 

www.oregonobo.org 


