Applying For Licensure in Oregon
|WHEN TO APPLY: As you approach graduation, but not more than six months prior, you may begin to submit documents and references to the Board. Any documents that arrive prior to your application, including the background check, will be held for up to six months. |
APPLICATION FEE: $300.00 (non-refundable). Must accompany application.
WORKING IN OREGON BEFORE BEING LICENSED: To provide psychological services in Oregon prior to being licensed, a person must be: 1) an approved applicant in a Board-approved residency contract; or, 2) working in an exempt setting (see ORS 675.090); or, 3) if licensed in another state, must be granted a limited permit (see OAR 858-010-0055).
STATUTES (LAWS) AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULES: Your legal rights and responsibilities are contained in these documents. Please review the licensure rules and laws carefully prior to completing and submitting your application.
Licensure Flowchart- a diagram showing the steps to licensure as a psychologist in Oregon.
Frequently Asked Questions
|Application & Required Forms|
Please note: Be sure you have the most current version, as forms are updated periodically. Revision dates are noted on the forms. For your convenience, forms are fillable and allow you to save your work.
Standard Application & Checklist - for psychologist applicants who are not licensed in another jurisdiction, and for psychologist associate applicants
Licensure by Endorsement- Application process for psychologist applicants who are currently licensed as a psychologist in another state and in good standing. Please use the application & checklist that applies to you:
For non-APA (or CPA) accredited schools only:
Clinical or applied psychologist (doctoral level) applicants who were trained abroad must have their degrees evaluated by a Board recognized credentialing body. Please use whichever application (standard or endorsement) applies to you.
|Background checks are required for all applicants. The background check process takes approximately 4 weeks from beginning to end, so this should be begun early in the process. |
To request a fingerprinting packet: Please send your check for $44.50 to the Board's office with a note saying you are requesting the fingerprint packet. Make sure to include your name and address.
Included in the fingerprint packet:
|Candidates for licensure are required to take and successfully pass:|
More information: Examinations
- The Oregon Jurisprudence Exam- administered by the Board.
- The Examination for the Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP)- administered by ASPPB (PES).
|All candidates for licensure must complete (or have previously completed) at least one year (not less than 12 months) of qualifying post-doctoral supervised work experience. This must include at least 1,500 hours of psychological services. |
More information: See Residency
|Online applicant tracking allows applicants to monitor their application progress. This information is updated daily. New applicants will receive a status memo containing a unique login and password shortly after applying. |
Applicant Tracking Login