Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Pain Management CE Requirements
Why are psychologists required to take Pain Management education?
The Oregon State Legislature created Oregon’s Pain Management Program in 1999 to raise awareness about pain management issues among healthcare providers, policy makers and the general public, and to improve access to resources.
How many hours do I need?
Seven hours of pain management-related CE.  One hour must be an online course provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission (OPMC) (scroll down to the "Pain Management Module"). The remaining six hours can be your choice of pain management topics. This is a one-time requirement, so if you have already completed your pain management CE, you don't have to do it again. 
Will the Pain Management CE be required in addition to the currently required forty hours?
No, qualifying Pain Management CE will be included in the total. 
When do I need to have my hours completed?
Licensees who have renewed at least twice should have already completed this requirement.  If you are a new licensee, you must complete this requirement in your first CE reporting period, and report it at your second renewal.  For example: a candidate becomes licensed in January, 2010.  Her birth month is June, so she will have her first renewal in June, 2010 and report no CE.  When she has her second renewal in June of 2012, she will report CE for the first time and needs to have completed the pain management requirement. You must report all 7 hours of pain management CE in one reporting (i.e., do not report 1 hour in one reporting period and 6 hours in the next reporting period.)
What if I have completed Pain Management education in the past?  Will it qualify?
If the program was completed after January 1, 2004, it can qualify.  However, the one-hour online course requirement provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission must be taken. Any program completed prior to your first CE reporting period may be used to meet the pain management requirement, but may not be counted towards the required forty hours in that reporting period.
How do I know if a particular Pain Management course will meet the CE program prerequisites?
As with all CE requirements, you must be able to reasonably relate the curriculum to your practice, the course must be presented by a qualified professional with expertise in the field, and you must obtain qualifying evidence of completion. 

Am I required to prove I have taken the Pain Management CE? What proof do I need to show the Board?
As with any other CE, licensees will attest to having completed the seven hours of pain management CE on their renewal and affidavit form. Documentation must be retained, and provided to the Board if you are audited.

Where can I find Pain Management CE courses?
Pain management CE courses are offered occasionally by recognized mental health organizations such as the Oregon Psychological Association. You may also check OPMC's list of training opportunities.